• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Yawning gap between Indian S'poreans and new Indian expats

Something is just waiting to happen...

INDIAN High Commissioner T.C.A. Raghavan expounded on the poor interaction between Indian Singaporeans and Indian expatriates ("Indian expatriates 'need time to fit in'"; Sept 26). He also expressed confidence that this issue would get resolved over time.

While I agree that interaction and integration are natural processes that take time to evolve in any country, there is already a yawning gap between these elements here.

Many Indian Singaporeans born and bred here have parents who emigrated from India, seeking a better life.

We have worked hard, made good, served our national service commitments dutifully and, while leading settled and contented lives, have also welcomed Indian arrivals to help expand the talent pool and contribute to the economy.

In the past, many Indian expatriates have assimilated well. But the more recent wave of Indian expatriates prefer to keep to themselves and socialise only with those like them, even at places of worship and at cultural events.

They show little inclination to get involved with Singapore society, despite official and private efforts to encourage closer links.

Attitudes, values, perceptions and practices between expatriates and Indian Singaporeans inevitably differ.

Dr V. Subramaniam

I don't know why this obsession with Indian expats versus Indian locals...How many Pinoy expats what live in condos interact with maids at Lucky Plaza? How many filthy rich Indon that have District 9 condos and concubines and billion dollar bank balances here interact with poor maids from their country or try to help them? How many Chinese Sinkies interact with poor PRC construction workers? How many Thais that are very rich and live luxury life in Singapore interact with poorer thais at Golden mile?

It is not race, it is rich vs poor divide which is there everywhere...only we close eye when convenient to do so..

Mind you, unlike the examples I quoted above, there is a big gap re Indians that is the language gap. Most Indian locals are Tamils, most Indian newcomers are from all the 22+ states. They can't even understand each other...let alone with local Indians..

singaporeans of indian origins are mostly from the "pariah" caste who were brought down by the british to man their plantation.

the "newcomers" are probably of the brahmin caste.

think its between tamil nadu ones vs rest of India.
if one cant even walk in the shadow of another wothout being whacked, what chance is there to integrate?

Local indian got inferior complex lah.

That is over-simplifying things here.

According to my local Indian friends, it is about the foreign Indians who brought with them the outdated CAST system mindset to Singapore that irks them.

Goh Meng Seng

According to my local Indian friends, it is about the foreign Indians who brought with them the outdated CAST system mindset to Singapore that irks them.

Goh Meng Seng

And these FTs from India tend to mingle with only their fellow countrymen.. I have yet to see these Indian FTs staying in HDB estates mixing around with the locals..

The constant calls by the PAP to the locals to help these FTs to integrate is all one big bullshit..

How to help them integrate when these FTs do not take the initiative themselves to integrate with the locals?

1. fat kid.
2. it is the ft who think that they are superior stock hoh.
3. snakes are still snakes everywhere in the land of the ganges!

when i saw the title of this thread and the nick of the TS.....i was expecting some image of a big blac hole :o

1. fat kid.
2. it is the ft who think that they are superior stock hoh.
3. snakes are still snakes everywhere in the land of the ganges!

careful bro...he use nice avatar to fool people. I saw him chionging in Geylang.....he got tattoos and lots of acne. Even his acne got acne :rolleyes:

1. aiyoh!
2. fat kid's avatar is so cute mah.
3. fat boobs too since young!:D

I want to bet how long before they somehow twist this to blame sinkie chinese for it because as you know only sinkie chinese are capable of discrimination.

Anyway if you look at indians their facial features look so different. The northern ones are fairer and not so violent. The southern ones are more violent and darker skinned. Also there has been quite a bit of mixing amongst them too so some of them are mixed with north and south but if you ever have a chance to see a pure unmixed southern one you'll see how similar his/her facial features look to those of aborigines in australia. If you pay attention to the less mixed southern females especially they have more curly/wooly hair like the aborigines/ negroid type of ppl while the northern ones have straighter hair like the chinese. They also have yellowish scelera which is the whites on the eyes. These are for the more darker breed of kelings. In tamil they are called karrupans for the males or karrupis for the females. This means blackie which is derived from the tamil world karrupu.

Goh Meng Seng

There is no CAST system on this planet.

actually they have a 'persecution complex' nomatter how rich they look pll still treat them like pariahs.

Ironic, so they become defensive, it shows in their behaviour.

actually they have a 'persecution complex' nomatter how rich they look pll still treat them like pariahs.

Ironic, so they become defensive, it shows in their behaviour.

Truly agree with this i am very sick of their behavior but what's worse are those that actually give in to them and try to get others to bend to their will.

Cannot tahan PAP government always think that all Indians are the same as in India Indians and Singapore Indians and also all Chinese are the same as in PRC Chinese and Singapore Chinese. Fuck even Singapore Malays are very different from Malaysia Malays for goodness sake.

I don't know why this obsession with Indian expats versus Indian locals...How many Pinoy expats what live in condos interact with maids at Lucky Plaza? How many filthy rich Indon that have District 9 condos and concubines and billion dollar bank balances here interact with poor maids from their country or try to help them? How many Chinese Sinkies interact with poor PRC construction workers? How many Thais that are very rich and live luxury life in Singapore interact with poorer thais at Golden mile?

It is not race, it is rich vs poor divide which is there everywhere...only we close eye when convenient to do so..

Mind you, unlike the examples I quoted above, there is a big gap re Indians that is the language gap. Most Indian locals are Tamils, most Indian newcomers are from all the 22+ states. They can't even understand each other...let alone with local Indians..

we should be lucky the 2 groups of ''black ghosts'' don't work together..............

otherwise they become ''black demons''............then we jialat

I think the Singapore Indian are a very fortunate lots.They are Gods gifted as the Majoirty allow them to “speak to impress” or bluff their way up the society!Especially so when they have either a Chinese mother or wife.I wonder why they are always chosen to be a poster boy role to represent Singapore ??I think our Malays brudder should be given more of these roles as well!This is Singapore own brand of quota system or Bumi policy?The whole world knows that the Chinese can definitely do a better job!

Cannot tahan PAP government always think that all Indians are the same as in India Indians and Singapore Indians and also all Chinese are the same as in PRC Chinese and Singapore Chinese. Fuck even Singapore Malays are very different from Malaysia Malays for goodness sake.

Agreed. wonder which idiots who advise these leaders...must be hallucinating...