• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Local coffee tastes like longkang chui.

LITTLEREDDOT

Local coffee (from the coffeeshop) have deteriorated. Have stopped drinking local coffee for the past 2 years. When dot feels a yearning for local coffee and decided to give it a try again, dot is inevitably disappointed.

The local coffeshop have cut back on on milk (condensed and evaporated) and on sugar. Possibly used lower grade of coffee. Coffee is bitter and tastes like longkang chui (drain water). Got to ask for kopi ka tai (more milk) and pay 10 cents more.

Is dot the only one who feels this way?

have started drinking "oh sooo good" and "it's the best" from philz and never look back.

Local coffee (from the coffeeshop) have deteriorated. Have stopped drinking local coffee for the past 2 years. When dot feels a yearning for local coffee and decided to give it a try again, dot is inevitably disappointed.

The local coffeshop have cut back on on milk (condensed and evaporated) and on sugar. Possibly used lower grade of coffee. Coffee is bitter and tastes like longkang chui (drain water). Got to ask for kopi ka tai (more milk) and pay 10 cents more.

The answer to the solution of your plight is another question - Who did you Vote for?

So which minister is accountable for the poor quality of local coffee?
Issit high land costs -> high rent and abour shortage -> high operating costs for coffeshop -> lousy coffee?

They add too much corn into the mixture.

There is absolutely no kopitiam coffee worth drinking nowadays. If you noticed, they are diluting it even more than before; it used to be half a cup of coffee and then they dilute, nowadays its 1/3 and the rest is hot water.

And then you look at the other end of the equation: The beans - You will notice they cheap brands that they use have such a high pecentage of corn/margarine mix, the coffee itself is machiam 20% real coffee beans while the rest is just corn!

This is the typical stinkie business man mentality, cut corners everywhere possible until quality suffers, no wonder local stinkie SME businessmen can never grow a business into a brand that lasts unless it's a friggin PAP protected monopoly. It also explains why a lot of these fuckers cannot possibly make it outside of Singapore because they simply lack the ambition and mindset towards quality as a long term means of growth, but instead would rather count their small change and milk the business for all it's worth.

That being said, I'd rather buy and enjoy a decent but expensive $4 coffee from Food Republic and sit in a fake kopitiam settings than to bother sitting down at an S11 shithole.

So which minister is accountable for the poor quality of local coffee?
Issit high land costs -> high rent and abour shortage -> high operating costs for coffeshop -> lousy coffee?

in UassA things are cheap even thought worker's salary is high.
one brand of peanut butter selling there for about US2+ , selling in ntUc fineness for about S$8.
the dvd bluray disc and player , the bread , etc are also cheaper.

later the ministers think: ptui! cho minister hum kopi pun tio jiao gor, jin bo eng :o:o:o

I'm paying $1.00 for Kopi at the neighbourhood kopitiams. Out of the 6 around, 3 are now made by PRCs and 3 are still made by locals. Sometimes its very hard to tell who makes worse coffee, PRC or local :confused:

Think the quaLity of kopi varies from pLace to pLace.The coffeeshop at my area stiLL serves a good 80cts cup.

Local coffee (from the coffeeshop) have deteriorated ...
got so many kopitiam, tis 1 no goot, go 1 another 1 la ... until u find ze bestest ...

but, tel u wat, dun ever drink kopi @ dat alfrescohaven ... iz worstest! ... :mad:

TS must have tasted longkang chui before making the comparison and the statement.

I only drink holick at kopitaim. If do t have then I dun order drink. Holick the only drink that difficult to screw up.

Milo also hard to screw up?

Dot, you are so wrong! A lot of coffee shops are using rubbish cocoa powder to serve as milo. I was at a woodlands coffee shop and they served me that. Went up to the cashier and told her, "this is the most horrible milo I ever drank"

The coffee shop at lorong 16 still served very thick and nice milo.

What did they serve? Milo from China?

Dot, you are so wrong! A lot of coffee shops are using rubbish cocoa powder to serve as milo. I was at a woodlands coffee shop and they served me that. Went up to the cashier and told her, "this is the most horrible milo I ever drank"

The coffee shop at lorong 16 still served very thick and nice milo.

I only drink holick at kopitaim. If do t have then I dun order drink. Holick the only drink that difficult to screw up.

Oh Yes HorLicks !..just the mention of it reminds me of it's unmistakeabLe aroma..;)

TS is trying to be polite. He said it tastes like your GF CB but I stopped him. He then ask me to tell it to your face if he got a smart ass reply. Sorri hor.

TS must have tasted longkang chui before making the comparison and the statement.

You know why people buy Made in Australia milo? Even local milo manufacturer now call it "Original Austrlia Recipe". Probably still using fake chocolate powder. Chocolate must be the most faked product around.

As for coffee, even McDonalds is serving shitty tasting coffee. Nice time make your own coffee. Mark and Spencer sell their coffee in a disposable drip in box of 10. Gourmet coffee for $1.00+ per cup, much cheaper than Starbucks. People go there to be seen with their iphones, ipads and macbooks. Those 3 in ones like Owl brank cannot make it. No coffee taste, just stale palm oils.