• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Local coffee tastes like longkang chui.

A lot of coffee shops are using rubbish cocoa powder to serve as milo. I was at a woodlands coffee shop and they served me that.

Milo is a brand. If ask for Milo, then the coffeshop ought to serve Milo, not other brand of cocoa powder or Ovaltine etc. Only if you ask for chocolate or cocoa drink without specifying a brand, then the coffeeshop can serve whatever brand of cocoa they have.

There was one incident I remember from many years ago.

Me and some of my friends from NTU (they're from NTU, not me) were having a party and having fun in a hostel room. We also did some campus exploring.

After that, we drove to a nearby food centre for supper. I think it was at Boon Lay.

We ordered sugar cane juice. It turned out that was no sugar cane juice at all, but a super-diluted, sugar cane drink that's chock full of ice cubes. You could smell and taste the tap water. It's a darker shade of green. I had never seen such disgusting sugar cane juice before.

It's amazing what things hawkers would do to save costs.

Local coffee (from the coffeeshop) have deteriorated. Have stopped drinking local coffee for the past 2 years. When dot feels a yearning for local coffee and decided to give it a try again, dot is inevitably disappointed.

The local coffeshop have cut back on on milk (condensed and evaporated) and on sugar. Possibly used lower grade of coffee. Coffee is bitter and tastes like longkang chui (drain water). Got to ask for kopi ka tai (more milk) and pay 10 cents more.

Is dot the only one who feels this way?

i totally agreed. our local coffee at the ordinary kopitiam really tastes like longkongchui....in the past, it was first class. now it's hopelessly no class. i start lim kopi now...i go for starbucks or to my niche kopi stalls where i know the owners. special brew. but pay more.

yes, our so called "original undiluted fresh" sugar cane is also another longkangchui juice. everyone is trying to cut cost. almost every drink stall also got sell sugar cane juice. this is getting so competitive that they give you very diluted sugar cane with plenty of ice....

the most ice that i ever got was the one from chomp chomp....$3 of ice!!!!!

Local coffee (from the coffeeshop) have deteriorated. Have stopped drinking local coffee for the past 2 years. When dot feels a yearning for local coffee and decided to give it a try again, dot is inevitably disappointed.

The local coffeshop have cut back on on milk (condensed and evaporated) and on sugar. Possibly used lower grade of coffee. Coffee is bitter and tastes like longkang chui (drain water). Got to ask for kopi ka tai (more milk) and pay 10 cents more.

If you drink at hawker centre is ok, but if you drink at kopitiam those big boy company, what they do is try to reused the coffee power for 2-3 time than they will refill new powder, normal is 1-2 before refill. the more you reused the more the taste bitter.by doing so they save cost and more $$$ for them.

Milo is a brand. If ask for Milo, then the coffeshop ought to serve Milo, not other brand of cocoa powder or Ovaltine etc. Only if you ask for chocolate or cocoa drink without specifying a brand, then the coffeeshop can serve whatever brand of cocoa they have.

Dot also talk until very guailan. I give you the address tomorrow. You go order milo and see what they serve you.

Dotalogy: Are dots guai lan?

yes, our so called "original undiluted fresh" sugar cane is also another longkangchui juice. everyone is trying to cut cost. almost every drink stall also got sell sugar cane juice. this is getting so competitive that they give you very diluted sugar cane with plenty of ice....

Uncle, wait till you drank the one that they collected back from the tables, pour together and add some fresh one. I went to the big hawker center at chomp chomp once to eat, the one beside the petrol station and the stall owner served me that rubbish. I took out sip and spat the whole thing out. I'm very particular with what type of juice goes into my mouth :D

Can ask for 'kick football ice'?

in an ideal world where people are honest & don't cut corners it would work, these days lots of people cut corner to save money, it's a reflection of modern times lah, have you ever wondered if there's any carrot/daikon/白萝卜 in your carrot cake? i think these days its all rice flour cakes(rice flour+water) they use to fry your chai tow kway with eggs, make at home one tastes so nice & different. Even the timsum version which is suppose to be grated daikon/白萝卜 and rice flour water steamed, i see they just use rice flour only to make the cake! why bother to call it carrot cake when there's no carrot in it. Back to the kopi, to find good kopi hunt down those kopitiams that still roast their own beans instead of buying from supplier. Personally the F&B business is a bit like politics, if you don't give a damn & let them cut corner & swindle you, you end up with rubbish! but if complain & make noise or boycott their business, they will be forced to change or go out of business, if you maintain silent majority, boh eng eh, they sure win.

.. I'm very particular with what type of juice goes into my mouth :D

lidat you better hangout with bro GoldenTongueDragon becos he must know his juices very well since he's such an expert! :D

back to the sugar cane, just go to those stalls where they still squeeze the juice from the cane in front of you lor, i know there's not many of them around these days, most have a batch of juice ready made up & can tell becos the colour is not right, same goes for their lime/kalamansi juice, that one really longkang chui, doesn't even taste anything like the real kalamansi juice. i'm very sadden by the state of our hawker food standard these days & that's why i make my own at home if i can.

If you drink at hawker centre is ok, but if you drink at kopitiam those big boy company, what they do is try to reused the coffee power for 2-3 time than they will refill new powder, normal is 1-2 before refill. the more you reused the more the taste bitter.by doing so they save cost and more $$$ for them.

yes that's the modern way of doing it without care & respect for the beans & what the customers want, the old timers will tell you, when they goreng the beans, it's more than one type of beans, there's beans that give nice aroma, there's beans that give bitter tastes, there's beans that give nice malty coffee flavours etc. i think the common mix is like 5 or more different types of beans they will goreng with butter! this gives the kopi a truly unique taste & flavour. but sometimes they can goreng badly & the beans all burnt, this also becomes bitter. If you ever go buy beans from the kopi bean seller at the wet market you would know as they ask which beans you want or what blend. I sometimes still make my own on sunday mornings, take out the grinder & make a batch for the whole day, family & friends come round, lim kopi & TKSS. :)

There was one incident I remember from many years ago.

Me and some of my friends from NTU (they're from NTU, not me) were having a party and having fun in a hostel room. We also did some campus exploring.

After that, we drove to a nearby food centre for supper. I think it was at Boon Lay.

We ordered sugar cane juice. It turned out that was no sugar cane juice at all, but a super-diluted, sugar cane drink that's chock full of ice cubes. You could smell and taste the tap water. It's a darker shade of green. I had never seen such disgusting sugar cane juice before.

It's amazing what things hawkers would do to save costs.

bro, 10% sugar cane mix with water and add sugar to make it sweet. pour straight into a cup full of ice. i saw some hawker did it before.

Waste Coffee Powder

Coffee shops open and close quite regularly - change hands. Out of ten only two can make it type. PRCs are to be blamed too. They don't drink it. Everyone is wasting tons of good coffee powder.

Is Ya Kun good enough for you ?

4032147839_e12b60dbd6_z.jpg

HDR of an old coffee shop at the junction of Beatty Lane & Foch Road in Lavender Singapore. This type of pre-war buildings still exist in the modern city of Singapore. You can find plenty of them along the stretch of Jalan Besar.

Drain Water

Out of the $3, $2.70 goes to the rental and PRC's labour cost ? :D Mahjulah !

Buy Alicafe !
DIY!!

Agree..chomp chomp sugar cane is knn expensive.... giving a big cup w knn full of ice! Think we're stupid or what!