Its much more difficult to know the price when these Mamas purposely count the items in Tamil..
..even tiLL today when you frequent some outLets at Serangoon Road.
Its much more difficult to know the price when these Mamas purposely count the items in Tamil..
Yes, teochew porridge is also another one which can con unwary customers. and it is not cheap to eat teochew porridge.if you order fish you surely kena kotok! now, teochew porridge is no more poor man's diet. only the rich and those who can afford at least $10 can makan.
I like teochew porridge and the steam fish a lot. I once kenna ketok $16 for a fish at the corner coffeeshop at Joo Chiat Rd & Koon Seng / Dunman Rd. I think the stall is called TEK or something like that. Never go back again.
Bro, it have to be the MiLk fish that you ordered..without being biased, that staLL do have a wide range or other resonabLy priced fares which you can choose from; which is why many taxi drivers wouLd stop to have their Lunches there.
P/s: try not to order any steamed fishes outside..sureLy you tiok chop chop into pieces.DIY from home La..![]()
any brothers ate at the famous cheap and good teochew porridge stall in sin ming road/coffee shop ? the lady boss very efficient. take order.dish out the order.chop the duck. do everything. superb lady.
many helpers. but the stall has disappeared. dont know where now. always packed. very difficult to find a table to makan. cheap and good ...they come and count after you have finished. really cheap and good!
There's a stall at Lor 5 Toa Payoh with the same modus operandi. Husband & wife team. Husband takes order, the wife will come to your table later
to count and collect $$.
Serves lunch only and was very crowded.
I have low EQ. Whenever I ate Teochew Porridge, I am sure to order steam fish. Can't resist the temptation. :o
Bro, nothing to do with EQ La..LikeLy you are same as my kaki.ALways going for steam fishes onLy, nevermind the price..![]()
On my watchList are : youg tau foo, kway chap, ngoh hiang..aLways ask the vendors how much $ is your order on the spot right after your seLections.Never choose your items then go away, onLy to aLLow them to dictate the finaL price to you..
By then aLL your seLections were probabLy cut up, and there's no way for you to recaLL..
Bro, nothing to do with EQ La..LikeLy you are same as my kaki.ALways going for steam fishes onLy, nevermind the price..![]()
I think the reason is for health. Many of us are brought up to believe that steamed fish is healthy and good for our body. But it's pretty expensive. If you can afford it, it's okay. You can also take the black sauce fish also.Not too bad. I love the fish cake,especially the ones home-made from the Sin Ming coffee shop area.Now no more there.
What about the Teochew porridge stalls in Hougang, near Kovan area? Any feedback?
Tried the stall quite good.A wide selection of choice.Quite reasonable.
the teochew muay at Beo Crescent is a ripoff!