• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore is a sports weakling because of lack of will, not size

Extremist

The Straits Times
www.straitstimes.com
Published on Aug 04, 2012

Singapore is a sports weakling because of lack of will, not size

WHILE I offer my unreserved congratulations to paddler Feng Tianwei for doing our country proud with her bronze medal feat in the Olympic women's table tennis competition, my view is that Singapore ought to be striving much harder for sporting success ("Simply Feng-tastic" by Mrs Eunice Ang-Choo Sok Ee; yesterday).

Arguments can be made that we are a tiny nation, and that what we achieved in Beijing 2008 and, now, London 2012 is remarkable.

However, there is a need to be more quantitative and gauge ourselves against countries of similar size.

Let's consider one such quantitative measure - the number of medals based on a country's population.

The top two nations in Beijing 2008 measured by this statistic were the Bahamas and Jamaica.
Remarkably, Jamaica, with a population of 2.7 million, won six gold medals largely because of athletics.

Even if we regard Jamaica as an outlier, Australia, with a population of 21 million in 2008, was ranked fifth in this "normalised" table, grabbing 46 medals of which 14 were gold.

If we were expected to perform as well as Australia in this measure, we should have won 10.3 medals of any colour at the 2008 Olympics.
In fact, another quantitative measure of performance, or key performance indicator, is the medals per gross domestic product.
In this regard, we are 79th out of the 87 countries that won medals in 2008.

We strive to be an economic powerhouse and to excel in every way. But our record in sports has been abysmal.

We are a sporting weakling because of three factors: the collective overemphasis on academic success, the Government's lack of support for promising athletes, and the unwillingness of the Ministry of Defence to grant deferments from national service for male sporting talent in their prime.

We know what the solutions are.
We simply do not have the resolve to do well in sports.

Dr Vincent Tan Yan Fu

We are a sporting weakling because of three factors: the collective overemphasis on academic success, the Government's lack of support for promising athletes, and the unwillingness of the Ministry of Defence to grant deferments from national service for male sporting talent in their prime.

Dr Vincent Tan Yan Fu
ah fu ... u r rite! ... iz ze blahdy gahmen solely 2 brame! ... :mad:

Will is very important. It's just like when you're constipated. If you don't kek and show determination, nothing will come out of your anus.

The failure to do well in sports may corelate with the low population replacement rates.

Both indicates lack of energy to pursue strenuos physical activity caused by fatigue and mental burnout.

That in turn is caused by the chase for the dollar using up all their energies.

Sinkies just have a hard life to make a living. They see Tan Liang Howe and they don't want to end up like him. They see that if you become political lapdogs and runners, then your future is bright.

Even those remotely interested in sports find that rental of facilities will be enough to make them poor, let alone trying to eke a living.

My prediction, with the current efforts at buying sports glory, plus the way things are going in Singapore,

WE WILL NOT WIN AN OLYMPIC GOLD FOR THE NEXT 20 YEARS OR MORE

The failure to do well in sports boils down to dollars and cents.

Take for example, the life of a footballer. Probably earn a maximum of $5,000 per month until hitting the age of 34-35. What's life after that? Coach youth teams for $3k per mth?

Is there a pension system? Job placement programme for life after athletics?

i don't understand the obsession over a olympic medal. there are 195 countries. as of now 56 countries have won a medal. 75% of countries will likely have no medal this olympic and every previous ones. no medal, sport weakling, what's the big deal?

no medal, sport weakling, what's the big deal?

Some motherfuckers just cannot accept that. With the highest salaries as politicians, they malu we are a nobody on the world stage. With the FT they spotted, we will never be a force to be reckoned with. I suggest SEA games kau liao. Forget about Asian and Commonwealth games.

i don't understand the obsession over a olympic medal. there are 195 countries. as of now 56 countries have won a medal. 75% of countries will likely have no medal this olympic and every previous ones. no medal, sport weakling, what's the big deal?

"They" want to have the medal so that "they" can boast to their counterparts from other countries.

And hide the fact we are 东南亚病夫, 穷到只剩下钱。

Bragging rights. In Hokkien, they call it 'ai lian'.

It's like those silly ah bengs who spend a fortune to mod a piece of shit car, with fancy rims, fender, stickers, LED lights etc. They then drive around and think themselves a mighty big fuck. It's a classic case of having a low self-esteem.

Also, I suspect the little triumphs of the imported Tiong ping pong ladies also serve as convenient pro-FT propaganda for the PAP regime.

Will is very important. It's just like when you're constipated. If you don't kek and show determination, nothing will come out of your anus.

You're right. It follows that Feng Tianwei is nothing more than an enema. Guess which Minister enjoys inserting the enema ?

Some motherfuckers just cannot accept that. With the highest salaries as politicians, they malu we are a nobody on the world stage. With the FT they spotted, we will never be a force to be reckoned with. I suggest SEA games kau liao. Forget about Asian and Commonwealth games.

If only Mah Bow Tan's prediction had come true, Spain would not be smiling.

will alone will not help in difficult bowel movement. the more you force, your bowel muscle gets more tensed, producing adverse results. laxative will help, plus a lot of time, patience, gravity and a good back massage. listening to sun ho's china wine will also help in getting rid of anything in the system.

The failure to do well in sports boils down to dollars and cents.

Take for example, the life of a footballer. Probably earn a maximum of $5,000 per month until hitting the age of 34-35. What's life after that? Coach youth teams for $3k per mth?

Is there a pension system? Job placement programme for life after athletics?

hello everyone, this is my first post here.

the problem is we are too used to waiting for the government to fill the void when there is one. if those who have money are willing to sponsor the athletes, much like the rich in the past would patronize artistes, then singapore would have a chance to develop its own olympian champion.

the government is not the solution. private citizens who have the means to, are the solution.

hello everyone, this is my first post here.

the problem is we are too used to waiting for the government to fill the void when there is one. if those who have money are willing to sponsor the athletes, much like the rich in the past would patronize artistes, then singapore would have a chance to develop its own olympian champion.

the government is not the solution. private citizens who have the means to, are the solution.

Then what the fuck are the Mini Toons in white, geting million dollars pay check for?

To burn as offerings, like those used in the 7th month? LOL

I always admire sinkie's will in enduring the pain of thier arse getting screwed daily. Some even go the extramile to put up a smole while getting screw in hoping to get a generous tip after the sinkie session.