• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The 70's Thread - Anything until the Dec 1979.

They used to have the dishes in wash basins (really) which turned me off. Then one day popped in and life was indeed sedap. The staff were very aloof but very happy and banter endlessly when those Chinese with Sumatran roots turned up. I thought I was intruding at a family meal. Used to get stuck with the cucumber salad.

Ha Ha Ha, my good old friend who had migrated to Australia will make his 'pilgrimage' to RDZ restaurant at Raffles City way back then, and would be drinking every gravy from every dish we order. Honestly, I find their food just mildly sedap! the cucumber salad must be good!

Yes, the beetle boots. Was told that a store at Plaza Singapura had it and got it there. Needed it badly as I was invited to a party in 3rd Avenue - atas so much act the part and be hip. Was so proud of the boots that I forgot how the party went, only remember ending up for the customary supper at the Shang.

BEATLES not Beetle....

Girls:

Up to the early 70s, any girl who was willing to go out on a date was ready for petting, sex etc. No ifs and buts. It was understood. But still have to go thru the motions of having a meal, chit chat etc.

Padang with newspaper was considered low class, and no middle income will be caught near the vicinity of the padang as too many parents, family members, school teachers frequent the 2 clubs. Also Adelphi Cafe was too popular, too many familiar faces.

Reservoirs, Mt Faber, Ft Canning (fucking long steps and girls don't like it)

Thanks Bro. Finally visted the Cavern Club recently where it all started. It was fantastic as they had up and coming stars with the same liverpool accent doing Beatle numbers. I think it was 3 floors down and truly a cavern. Full of shapely MILF as well as young SYTs. Quite surprised. Lots of Japanese teen tourists. First in a long while missed my long locks.

BEATLES not Beetle....

The cucumber salad was a rip-off but would automateically land on the tray in those days. Once we started tasting spicy stuff from other cultures, it was no longer sedap as in the past.

Ha Ha Ha, my good old friend who had migrated to Australia will make his 'pilgrimage' to RDZ restaurant at Raffles City way back then, and would be drinking every gravy from every dish we order. Honestly, I find their food just mildly sedap! the cucumber salad must be good!

me only remembered KKH delivery fees about five hundred odd for the PRs during those time, cheaper for citizens. now how much for the package ah?

3_M

The TOTO booth reminds me of the similar car park booths placed at the entrance of car parks in HDB estates. I recall the car park attendant will issue a car parking ticket which she will write the time of entry and she will keep the carbon copy whenever my father parks his old Morris Minor van.

Last time HDB season parking lots had poles and chains if I recalled correctly. Means it a dedicated lot to that particular seasonal holder.

Girls:

Up to the early 70s, any girl who was willing to go out on a date was ready for petting, sex etc. No ifs and buts. It was understood. But still have to go thru the motions of having a meal, chit chat etc.

Padang with newspaper was considered low class, and no middle income will be caught near the vicinity of the padang as too many parents, family members, school teachers frequent the 2 clubs. Also Adelphi Cafe was too popular, too many familiar faces.

Reservoirs, Mt Faber, Ft Canning (fucking long steps and girls don't like it)

Girls wore petticoats back there & seldom you see one in swimwear, ( she was afraid to come out of the water..), not even in bloomers or shorts, if they are seen in one they go red in the face. One have to navigate the front dress, or skirt, then the petticoat & then the drawers, and get the sweet spot wet, then .... ( this is not fifty shade of grey)..never mind.

Fort Canning Hill would be a good spot, Mt Faber for some, but I don't have a vehicle then so that is , Macritchie Reservoir or Pierce Reservoir ( now Lower Pierce) would be a place to go after eating across the road at the Hawker Centre along Jalan Leban... the what you call that Ornate Victorian Pavilion in Botanic Garden, the one near to where the Orchid enclosure is ( the Pavilion is still there), eat at Taman Serasi Hawker Centre or Rasa Singapura...do a quickie rubba rubba or a quick round of "at your own time & target" firing, then to Chinnoserie or Chatter Box at The Mandarin ( really forgetful, chatter box I & II) for a round of salsa & rubba & then gets too hot, what to do...Cinderella "coach" will turn to Pumpkin... Papa at the door with his golf stick or mama with her curlers, night clothes & rolling pin, if their precious daughter, don't get home by 23:39!! there was no Hotel 81 back then & decent girls don't go hotels..but papa & mama don't know, Reservoirs, Hilltop & that pavilion will do....ten minutes will do..who cares about that Petticoat!! ha ha ha ha

The cucumber salad was a rip-off but would automateically land on the tray in those days. Once we started tasting spicy stuff from other cultures, it was no longer sedap as in the past.

It was $1 or $1.50 to the bill....together with those '555' white towels in a wicker basket cold with a smell of 711

cocobobo

images

The theme song that made me so happy.... Thank you lynda for that first erection

Rushwind

The coffee shops then had an ashtray on the white (marble?) top. The ashtray is an interesting contraption where there is a button on top where you press to open the catch into the ash reservoir so that you can flicked the cigarette ashes.

Also, at the bottom of the table is usually placed a spitton. And food comes served in wooden chopsticks and real porcelian bowls and plates.

The single storey bungalows along Lorong G and Lorong H off Telok Kurau Rd were all brothels.

now Lor G, Lor H are mainly small condo developments, likewise for the remaining lorongs, more likely to see katoey walking along the Telok Kurau stretch from Lor N, M area up to Lor J, K area waiting for cabs in the evening. :p:p:p

Merl Haggard

Nabeh! In 1971 my Uncle from Djakarta sought permanent residency in S'pore and he was made to put up $1m in deposit.

These days we've becum so blardy cheap that we simply open the flood gate to take in foreign trash.

Fuck those policy makers who are traitors for selling out this land of ours!

Talking Donkey

Alfrescian (S)
my memories in the 70s.
1.watch shaw brothers movies with bros n sis in joo chiat open air cinema.Meng fei movies at ocean theatre siglap,Hui brothers at palace theatre,Bruce Lee movies at happy world
watch the movie jaws at newly open prince cinema,james bond movies at lido,sinbad the sailor at odeon,earthquake at capitol theatre

2.from my kampong in geyland serai took a trishaw to amber road chinese swimming club or tg katong for a swim.

3.went to woo moo chew rd and climb over pte property to steal mangoes and kick off soccer ball.

4.public canning in school for lifting the asst prefect skirt,involve in gang fight with st pat boys at tg katong shopping centre lost and run for our lives,play truant went changi beach swimming.

5.occasionally attend church service at salvation army near cockpit hotel then eat yummy fried rice at silver spoon and went plaza spura
play pacman/space invaders

6.represent my school in football play annual matches in eastern school zone easily beating st stephen sch,siglapsch,st pat
but lost to fandi ahmad in kaki bukit

7.took bus no 10 or 30 to NUS fame for its rojak leaves fighting spiders/no 7 to dempsy rd cmpb

8.love the tuckshop food during reccess time and the magnolia/vitagen during class.

9.listening to bee gees/abba/msia cup on radio.

10.there are just too many happening in the 70s lot count liao.:biggrin:

Nabeh! In 1971 my Uncle from Djakarta sought permanent residency in S'pore and he was made to put up $1m in deposit.

These days we've becum so blardy cheap that we simply open the flood gate to take in foreign trash.

You have 1 million dollar to bring in... the people at ICA will cum so fast & your "blue IC" will be ready faster than the 3 minute Maggi Mee!!

Haha, you are so right. It was so funny. You can screw the daughter till kingdom cum, but you must bring the daughter back home before 23.59. Then uncle or aunty will ask if you guys had a good time - and they mean a nice meal after doing school project at the National Library which is below Ft Canning.

... Papa at the door with his golf stick or mama with her curlers, night clothes & rolling pin, if their precious daughter, don't get home by 23:39!! there was no Hotel 81 back then & decent girls don't go hotels..but papa & mama don't know, Reservoirs, Hilltop & that pavilion will do....ten minutes will do..who cares about that Petticoat!! ha ha ha ha

When I was young and followed my dad to coffeeshops, I would either sit close to the ashtray or pull it closer to me as the smell was addictive. Dad was a pipe smoker and cleaning the pipe was a favourite chore with the wired gauze.

Later learnt that girls clean pipes better.

The coffee shops then had an ashtray on the white (marble?) top. The ashtray is an interesting contraption where there is a button on top where you press to open the catch into the ash reservoir so that you can flicked the cigarette ashes.

Also, at the bottom of the table is usually placed a spitton. And food comes served in wooden chopsticks and real porcelian bowls and plates.

When you went to the immigration Dept, there was an office which prominenly displayed $1m PR application sign. I saw Koh Boon Hui, his wife and kids coming out of the office.

Ex-Singaporean served NS, completed reservists and posted back to Singapore by MNC requires a mnimim of 6 weeks to get employment pass.

Indian from Chennai get it within a week.

Nabeh! In 1971 my Uncle from Djakarta sought permanent residency in S'pore and he was made to put up $1m in .

yinyang

627df889.jpg

Buy black market to see Bruce Lee. Posters in my room. Come out from auditorium, macho yells with imaginary kungfu kicks
40d517e7.jpg

We were not supposed to be rabbits then, opposite now

183262e4.jpg

Bugis then, indelible part of Singapore, or party time when navy's in town

c0e1166c.jpg

Bum boats marys in Clifford Quay then

784ce19f.jpg