• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Now a Major Legal Crisis - Unprecedented

I am sure some of you might have heard this by now but looks like we were looking at the wrong end of the stick. The Woffles issue is not about one individual. Far from it. It looks like not that Woffles Wu got a light sentence but others might have got harsh sentence and not in line with the sentencing guidelines. There is also the possibility that the adjudicating individuals were confused with the various elements necessary to impose such sentences.

TOC had pried open the Pandora box a little too wide. IThere is no doubt that the Yong Pung How effect continues to play within our courts - harsh sentence and even harsher sentence on appeal. So the avenue to reconsider and a 2nd opinion was lost. Mistakes continue to be made. There is also the element that legal costs were just too high. Only Radiologist and Plastic Surgeons have the means to seek redress. What a country.

Remember the person who first brought out Pandora box was none other than a senior counsel who also happened to be a PAP MP.

What are the options facing the Govt :

1. Act dumb, and never admit.

2. Acknowledge and compensate those wrongly sentenced.

3. Insist that Woffles was sentenced correctly, claim that every case has its own attributes and no two case are alike and keep the focus on Woffles only.

So pick your option.

Thick Face Black Heart

First Shanmugam was forced to respond, but TOC pressed. Then AGC responded, and TOC is still pressing.

This is looking worse with each response from the "authorities". The ST article only inflammed the situation and provided no clarity.

The facts provided by TOC:

(a) historical precedence showed that even those incidents that did not result in major injuries or accidents saw section 182 of penal code as opposed to 81(3) of RTA being invoked, and perpetrators going to jail (typically around one to four weeks)

(b) police took own sweet time to investigate (6 years)

(c) no effort to explain why such a light sentence for Wolf man despite being the mastermind

(d) no effort to explain why obvious questions like vehicle owner/registration remain unresolved

Looks like there are some very pissed off lawyers who had enough of getting fucked by kangaroos and now contributing to social media bringing the ugly fight to the open. Hope the masses will be enlighten.

wendychan

act dumb and nnever admit has been used previously by our stellar politicians, and other big wigs, and it seems to work very well for them

when u are a bug shot here, u are a big fish in a VERY small pond.

if WW is sentenced to jail, he will lose his medical licence? right or wrong...?

if right, then dream on that the powers that be will do anything

we need more and more liars like him in our society

JohnnyQuid

I am sure some of you might have heard this by now but looks like we were looking at the wrong end of the stick. The Woffles issue is not about one individual. Far from it. It looks like not that Woffles Wu got a light sentence but others might have got harsh sentence and not in line with the sentencing guidelines. There is also the possibility that the adjudicating individuals were confused with the various elements necessary to impose such sentences.

TOC had pried open the Pandora box a little too wide. IThere is no doubt that the Yong Pung How effect continues to play within our courts - harsh sentence and even harsher sentence on appeal. So the avenue to reconsider and a 2nd opinion was lost. Mistakes continue to be made. There is also the element that legal costs were just too high. Only Radiologist and Plastic Surgeons have the means to seek redress. What a country.

Remember the person who first brought out Pandora box was none other than a senior counsel who also happened to be a PAP MP.

3. Insist that Woffles was sentenced correctly, claim that every case has its own attributes and no two case are alike and keep the focus on Woffles only.

So pick your option.

IMO, option 1 has been the long standing precedent...

We can say what we like, pry open this & that, it just boil down to; "You have the right connection, rub shoulders with the right people, belong directly or indirectly to a 'branded political party", you have the Money, connection and then power to change from black to white & back". What is new? Are you a member yet? for members have privileges, non can compare.

Woof Woof case, won't be the first & won't be the last...maybe in the future, more 'reflective' actions might be taken if another similar 'woo woof' case, so that, it would not even see the light...transparent!:biggrin:

lee6100

We can say what we like, pry open this & that, it just boild won to; "You have the right connection, rub shoulders with the right people, belong directly or indirectly to a 'branded political party", you have the Money, connection and then power to change from black to white & back". What is new? Are you a member yet? for members have privileges, non can compare.

Woof Woof case, won't be the first & won't be the last...maybe in the future, more 'reflective' actions might be taken if another similar 'woo woof' case, so that, it would not even see the light...transparent!:biggrin:

Yup. Keep an eye on the Howard Shaw and ang mo banker cases.

JohnnyQuid

this was a long time coming..but it is a suprise to me that many are speaking up now..when we have seen miscarriages of justice occur for some time...remember the guy who was acquitted of a murder charge about a year ago Ismil Bin kadar..many simply kept mum..what abt the case of PP v Zainal Kuning & Ors?? why must it be now..lets touch our hearts and ask ourselves what are our true and sincere thoughts about the WW case before we cry bloody murder...

methink

thought the usual options consist of: convince, confuse, condemn and cover up? :confused::confused::confused:

Yes conspire. There is one law. But there are clearly two sets of ruling.

One for the poor and nobodys. The other... you quess correctly, the RICH and connected!

kukubird58

So pick your option.
hahaha...so isn't this a credit to the papee mp????
also the gahmen should learn from my idol......obfuscate or bullshitting is time tested way; especially in sbf.....lol.

kingrant

No doubt this is a true statement. YPH was the proxy of Old Man. Old man brought him in to clean up the long queues of cases. The price to pay for efficiency is miscarriage of justice.

There is no doubt that the Yong Pung How effect continues to play within our courts - harsh sentence and even harsher sentence on appeal. So the avenue to reconsider and a 2nd opinion was lost. Mistakes continue to be made.

ChaoPappyPoodle

There was a case just a few days after Woffles got charged where the incident occurred at nearly the same road. Different driver but he was jailed. Does anyone know where to get that information.

kingrant

Now they are going to suffer from what we call knee-jerk reactions. Suddenly turning on the screws again post-WW.

There was a case just a few days after Woffles got charged where the incident occurred at nearly the same road. Different driver but he was jailed. Does anyone know where to get that information.

... What are the options facing the Govt : ...

So pick your option.
never admit mistake ...

bestest is let it die down ... let it 不了了之 ... dat 154th wil blanko it ...

if kena pressed, wriggle out by turning a cube in2 a sphere n brack in2 white ...

tanwahp

I have long heard that Yong Pung How was a suka suka man who imposed suka suka sentences, much a part of those were not within the legal ambit, and many lawyers have hated him and been complaining about what they don't know their clients would be getting. This was for decades and I am amazed how he stayed so long just by being a key MCA leader who defected to PAP Malaysia hence the old man loved him.

HTOLAS

The love between YPH and LKY began before the former's defection. They were in uni together and LKY apparently borrowed notes from YPH.

I have long heard that Yong Pung How was a suka suka man who imposed suka suka sentences, much a part of those were not within the legal ambit, and many lawyers have hated him and been complaining about what they don't know their clients would be getting. This was for decades and I am amazed how he stayed so long just by being a key MCA leader who defected to PAP Malaysia hence the old man loved him.

kingrant

In one of Alex Josey's books on him, on the frontispage of the book, was a picture of Old Man with his wife, and YPH. Somewhere I read that YPH was his best man.

The love between YPH and LKY began before the former's defection. They were in uni together and LKY apparently borrowed notes from YPH.