PM tells Hougang votes to get a fresh start

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has weighed in on the Hougang by-election and called on voters there to make a fresh start by voting for People's Action Party candidate Desmond Choo, who will work with the Government to improve their lives.

In an e-mailed reply to questions from the media, Mr Lee also said that while he fully understands the desire for alternate voices in Parliament, 'the quality of the voices counts, and not just the quantity'.

He was responding to the Workers' Party's point that the Hougang seat matters to the opposition party because winning it would increase their presence in Parliament by 20 per cent.

In his reply on Thursday, Mr Lee said: 'Whether one more MP, PAP or opposition, makes a difference depends not on the percentage increase that he represents to his side, but on his integrity, commitment and ability.'

'I hope when Hougang voters go to the polls on Saturday, they will assess both Mr Desmond Choo and Mr Png Eng Huat on that basis, and choose the one they consider more able to represent and look after them.'

On the Non-constituency MP issue, Mr Lee said Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean had simply laid out the facts, that Mr Png, the WP candidate, had first denied that he had been passed over when his party chose an NCMP, 'but then it emerged that this was untrue'.

If I were a Hougang voter, I would still vote for WP, though I would have preferred a different candidate. Perhaps Glenda Han.

PAP will never get my vote, but this is the first time I wished for a 3CF involving NSP or SDP.

They are the ones that cause HG to need the fresh start by withholding upgrading.

PAP will never get my vote, but this is the first time I wished for a 3CF involving NSP or SDP.

bro,
your wish would come true when the 4 more GRCs go down. hopefully we can see folks like Vincent, Nicole inside the Parliament after the next GE.

1. aiyoh!
2. some pinky trying the goddess role again.
3. teaching, oops! instructing daft sheep what to do!

bro,
your wish would come true when the 4 more GRCs go down. hopefully we can see folks like Vincent, Nicole inside the Parliament after the next GE.

As it is now, it seems rather improbable for PAP to snatch Hougang from under the noses of WP. But I suspect YSL saga might see more spoiled votes in this BE since 3CF is not available.

KNN waited for 20 years for 1 GRC to fall !

On the Non-constituency MP issue, Mr Lee said Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean had simply laid out the facts, that Mr Png, the WP candidate, had first denied that he had been passed over when his party chose an NCMP, 'but then it emerged that this was untrue'.

The PM forget to add,
The pass over of HDB problems from MBT to KBW was also not untrue
Here I must give credit to GMS for doing what he knows best ...digging them out

Wah. Might as well say give all sinkee a fresh start. Disolve the parliament and call for erection.

KNN, sinking land really in big trouble with this pinky piece of shit.

will LKY also make a statement before tomorrow rgarding this?

zhihau said:
bro,
if this man doesn't deliver on his promise made in his apology, AMK GRC folks will make him sorry in the next GE :p:p:p

The quantity does not matter, quality does. Can the quality translate into votes?

red amoeba said:
will LKY also make a statement before tomorrow rgarding this?

He better gets his maths right when he makes his repent speech. It should be 4 years and not 5 five years.

As it is now, it seems rather improbable for PAP to snatch Hougang from under the noses of WP. But I suspect YSL saga might see more spoiled votes in this BE since 3CF is not available.

KNN waited for 20 years for 1 GRC to fall !

HG voters SPOILING VOTES would be the unwisest move of all bordering on DAFTNESS. The objective of this by-election should be to trounce the PAP candidate as a VOTE OF NO CONFIDENCE on PM Lee's leadership.

The CLEAREST MESSAGE to hard of hearing PAP is to make Desmond Choo LOSE his ELECTION DEPOSIT which could trigger a leadership coup within the PAP.

considering the oppositions only have 8% of seats. i think the quantity of oppo voices in Parliament are very important at this stage.

The CLEAREST MESSAGE to hard of hearing PAP is to make Desmond Choo LOSE his ELECTION DEPOSIT which could trigger a leadership coup within the PAP.

bro,
relax, folks in Hougang knows what to do, quite hard to make choo choo train lose deposit :):):)

This was said in 2006, least we forget?

PM Lee said:
"Right now we have Low Thia Khiang, Chiam See Tong, Steve Chia. We can deal with them. Suppose you had 10, 15, 20 opposition members in Parliament. Instead of spending my time thinking what is the right policy for , I'm going to spend all my time thinking what is the right way to fix them, to buy my supporters votes, how can I solve this week's problem and forget about next year's challenges?