• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

新三国 New Romance Of The 3 Kingdoms

Re: Stupid But Handsome Yuan Shao

It's not wrong. That era of disunification between Jin and Sui was very fluid and complicated. Many descendants of Warring States nobility trying to resurrect their states. Sui finally reunited China but just hardly a couple of generations later, overrode by Tang. The Sui-Tang equation was almost like the Qin-Han equation. Both the dirty and bloody works of unification were done by Qin and Sui, but Han and Tang managed to take over quickly and lasted several centuries longer. That's why Chinese people are still known as Han or Tang people today.

Hi Bro Ramseth,,,your china history is damn power man,,,,can you explain where this 华人 comes from? We were taught in schools,,but at home my family have always use the term 唐人. I was lucky that my Chinese teacher explained to me the use of 唐人..but I feel the use of 华人 is a sort of bastardised term use to justify the use of mandarin and that mandarin is the original Chinese language,,,which we all know today as nothing but a lie,,,

Conqueror

Red BM

Lu Bu was undoubtably top warrior of that era. No record whether chronological nor romanticised recorded him losing a duel. He was an abandoned orphan in jungle fed by wolves, picked up and adopted by Ding Yuan (one of the cabinet ministers then).

Guan Yu, who took Lu Bu's Red Rabbit horse by grant from Cao Cao on the pretext that he needed to godspeed to meet up with his sworn brothers.

人中卢布,马中赤兔。There was a saying, "The greatest amongst men is Lu Bu, and the greatest amongst horses is the Red Hare."

I think it's Red Hare. Hares unlike rabbits don't live in burrows and so they have long slander legs to race with eagles and foxes - very fast. 赤兔 is a 千里马 very long distance endurance horse, and it's was also the fastest horse.

Liu Bei also had another good horse (probably white). But, it was inauspicious.

I told you it was a 宝马 BM, and it's red.

《三国演义》第34回讲刘备得了张武的一匹宝马,于是骑着回荆州城。刘表看到刘备得了这么雄骏的一匹宝马,称赞不已,刘备就做个人情把这匹马送给了刘表。刘表大喜,骑回城中。这时刘表的谋士蒯越对刘表说:“此马眼下有泪槽,额边生白点,名为 的卢 ,骑则妨主。张武为此马而亡。主公不可乘之。”于是刘表就把这匹马还给了刘备。后来刘备就一直骑着这匹马。当刘备谢别刘表,前往新野驻兵时,刘表手下的另一个谋士伊籍对刘备说这马是“的卢”马,乘则妨主,劝刘备不要再骑了。没想刘备对人生十分达观,说一个人死生有命,不是马所能妨碍的,就继续骑着此马。《三国演义》第35回讲隐士徐庶也对刘备说刘备骑的马是“的卢”马,马虽是千里马,但最终必然妨碍主人。徐庶还对刘备说了一个禳解之法:“公意中有仇怨之人,可将此马赐之;待妨过了此人,然后乘之,自然无事。”没想刘备反而批评徐庶不行正道,不肯行之。

Conqueror

So Small ! Emperor Had No Money To Build A Decent Palace ?

Knn.... this 1 sibe oldie, I havent born yet!!! :eek::eek:

Forget about HK's drama because their scenery or background just won't fit the bill. These poor Hongkies royal family members and their high ranking subjects (actors and actresses) have to cramp themselves in a ridiculously small hall instead of the imperial court for a 'royal' banquet for any celebration.

Then, you have the Sinkies' production and the weather here is always so hot. OMG ! Tropical China with jungle ?

Hi Bro Ramseth,,,your china history is damn power man,,,,can you explain where this 华人 comes from? We were taught in schools,,but at home my family have always use the term 唐人. I was lucky that my Chinese teacher explained to me the use of 唐人..but I feel the use of 华人 is a sort of bastardised term use to justify the use of mandarin and that mandarin is the original Chinese language,,,which we all know today as nothing but a lie,,,

The word Hua for Chinese actually means flower at the peak of blossom. Hua Bei (north), Hua Xia (summer/central) and Hua Nan (south), according to the blossoming of flowers to the seasons. The central was of course, between Yellow and Yangtze rivers where the flowers blossom the best at the end of spring and beginning of summer. Xia Dynasty used Xia (summer) because of that. Shang Dynasty used Shang (commerce) because they pioneered commercialism and business. That's the word still used in Chinese vocabulary for commerce now. Zhou Dynasty used Zhou (all-around) to denote they reign over the realm.

After Zhou Dynasty with the the conferment of feudal states, all other dynasties were named after their states except for for Han, Yuan (Mongolian), Ming (beggar-monk turned Emperor with Persian aid) and Qing (Manchirian), for all subsequent founders of dynasties traced nobility bloodline to the warring states era.

Liu Bang (Han) was a happy-go-lucky conman-gangster who somehow was at the right place at the right time with the right people. Chu Bawang Xiang Yu was the one of noble bloodline who led the overthrow of Qin Dynasty. However, Xiang Yu was too brutal and earned the distaste of the intellengtsia who chose to support Liu Bang instead. Xiang Yu agreed to draw a line on the map and confer Liu Bang as King of Hanzhong for a truce. Liu Bang wasn't still able to defeat Xiang Yu outright then and had to accept. After accepting, he asked his advisors, where the hell was Hanzhong? Nobody knew but everybody had to accept.

Just follow the line Xiang Yu drew. That area north of Bashu and west of west Chu, became Hanzhong. After the defeat of Xiang Yu, Liu Bang having no ancestral nobility, named his dynasty Han. Ironically, Liu Bei tried to resurrect Han from the position of of King of Hanzhong too.

Conqueror

Beauty

33AFC9A08367599AC4EC9CD73D1988EA.jpg

wooohoooo... :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

有前有后就是美的 lor.

有钱又有后台那更好!Even Zhuge himself was looking for a woman with a mountain too.

Conqueror

永嘉之乱

Wu and Yue were in a different era from the era of north and south dynasties, various dynasties and kingdoms era. Those happened after Jin dynasty (of the Sima family that reunited the 3 kingdoms) fell apart until Sui dynasty reunited China again. Wu and Yue were at the end of the Zhou Spring & Autumn era, about a thousand years earlier. Both didn't survive into the 7 Warring States though. Chu took over both of them. Wu was temporarily resurrected in the 3 Kingdoms by Sun Ce and sustained by his brother Sun Quan as you as an ROTK fan should know well, they traced their ancestry to Warring State Wu nobility.

Not too sure whether my forefather was the first clan to go southward during the later Jin Dynasty (东晋) period. The situation was so bad that many exchanged children to eat them. I don't think there was any tree bark for them to eat anymore. I think one has to read 永嘉之乱 and 八王之乱 on why the barbarians were becoming stronger and showed less fear to the reigning emperor at that time.

Many Han started to migrate southward and the remaining people (greater proportion than Han) there near 洛阳 Loyang were mostly Northern barbarians (胡人). Eventually, they sacked the city. There were so many wars that I think 怨鬼比活人多 more ghosts than the living. Every tribes 'bay song' and go there to contribute more corpses.

This led to the emergence of 南北朝 The Southern and the Northern Dynasties.

永嘉之乱是指公元311年即永嘉五年,匈奴攻陷洛阳、掳走怀帝的乱事。晋初八王之乱,加以天灾连年,胡人遂乘时入侵。永兴元年(304年),匈奴贵族刘渊在左国城(今山西离石)起兵,逐步控制并州部分地区,自称汉王。光熙元年(306年),晋惠帝死,司马炽嗣位,是为怀帝,改元永嘉。刘渊遣石勒等大举南侵,屡破晋军,势力日益强大。永嘉二年,刘渊正式称帝,四年刘渊死,子刘聪继位。次年,刘聪遣石勒、王弥、刘曜等率军攻晋,在平城(今河南鹿邑西南)歼灭十万晋军,又杀太尉王衍及诸王公。旋攻入京师洛阳,俘获怀帝,杀王公士民三万余人。

Southern-and-Northern-Dynasties-Map1.jpg

Clone

Re: 永嘉之乱

I luv' Ah Tiong Bu! Huat Ah! :biggrin:

From the RTK spoof movie, 越光宝盒 - 孙俪!

15884320446df29dc957459640813de43ddb3b13.jpg

The word Hua for Chinese actually means flower at the peak of blossom. Hua Bei (north), Hua Xia (summer/central) and Hua Nan (south), according to the blossoming of flowers to the seasons. The central was of course, between Yellow and Yangtze rivers where the flowers blossom the best at the end of spring and beginning of summer. Xia Dynasty used Xia (summer) because of that. Shang Dynasty used Shang (commerce) because they pioneered commercialism and business. That's the word still used in Chinese vocabulary for commerce now. Zhou Dynasty used Zhou (all-around) to denote they reign over the realm.

After Zhou Dynasty with the the conferment of feudal states, all other dynasties were named after their states except for for Han, Yuan (Mongolian), Ming (beggar-monk turned Emperor with Persian aid) and Qing (Manchirian), for all subsequent founders of dynasties traced nobility bloodline to the warring states era.

Liu Bang (Han) was a happy-go-lucky conman-gangster who somehow was at the right place at the right time with the right people. Chu Bawang Xiang Yu was the one of noble bloodline who led the overthrow of Qin Dynasty. However, Xiang Yu was too brutal and earned the distaste of the intellengtsia who chose to support Liu Bang instead. Xiang Yu agreed to draw a line on the map and confer Liu Bang as King of Hanzhong for a truce. Liu Bang wasn't still able to defeat Xiang Yu outright then and had to accept. After accepting, he asked his advisors, where the hell was Hanzhong? Nobody knew but everybody had to accept.

Just follow the line Xiang Yu drew. That area north of Bashu and west of west Chu, became Hanzhong. After the defeat of Xiang Yu, Liu Bang having no ancestral nobility, named his dynasty Han. Ironically, Liu Bei tried to resurrect Han from the position of of King of Hanzhong too.

Basically Zhuge Liang did a con job on Liu Bei to convince him to start his base at Hanzhong....a great way to convince your boss to take your idea...LOL

He told Liu Bei, Liu Bang started there, so did Qin dynasty started there...

wikiphile

Re: So Small ! Emperor Had No Money To Build A Decent Palace ?

Forget about HK's drama because their scenery or background just won't fit the bill. These poor Hongkies royal family members and their high ranking subjects (actors and actresses) have to cramp themselves in a ridiculously small hall instead of the imperial court for a 'royal' banquet for any celebration.

Then, you have the Sinkies' production and the weather here is always so hot. OMG ! Tropical China with jungle ?

What to do, we only have two kinds of weather here - Hot and Rain :biggrin:

Both were fools, no match for Lu Bu or even Ma Chao in brute fights, no match for Zhuge Liang or Zhou Yu in strategies. Their advantage and fame was of course gained by their early pledging of loyalty to Liu Bei when Liu Bei was a broke noob except for his imperial bloodline. Zhang Fei funded most of Liu Bei early recruitment of troops, procurement of arms by selling out his porkselling business, and Guan Yu trained the troops, that always lost before Zhuge came into the picture.

Cao Cao promoted Guan Yu to Lord rank to try to entice him to defect, but in vain. That was the beginning of the legendary Guan Yu loyalty. After Guan Yuan was killed, Liu Bei (then already proclaimed Emperor) posthumously promoted him to Duke rank. Hence, Guan Gong. Emperor Tang Taizong was the one who posthumously promoted Guan Yu to Emperor rank to encourage loyalty by demonstrating respect to loyalty. Hence, Guan Di.

to be fair Guan Yu knocked off Wen Chou, Yan Liang.

and according to here, he married.

[h=3]Early life[/h]Guan Yu was born in Xie County, Hedong (present day Yuncheng (运城市), Shanxi). No details of the time of his birth are found in historical records until the lateQing Dynasty, when the tomb of Guan Yu was discovered, bearing some details of his family.[SUP][citation needed][/SUP] It was written that Guan Yu was actually born from a family of scholars.[SUP][citation needed][/SUP] His grandfather's name was Guan Shen. His father's name was Guan Yi. Guan Yu was born in the year 160[SUP][citation needed][/SUP], and like his ancestors, often read the classics Book of Changes and Spring and Autumn Annals. He married Lady Hu and his son Guan Ping was born in 178.[SUP][citation needed]

But there is of course, a saying that Guan Ping is adopted.

Guan Yu have another son - Guan Xin.

Zhang Fei - is a brainless dick as portrayed in the novel but it seems he has some brains. He defeat Yan Yan by wits it seems. And he is said to stop Cao Cao troops by his roar / skills to cover their retreat - that's the novel in actual history, prolly din happen

[/SUP]

Raiders

This thread makes me want to dig out my ROTK 10,11 to play :biggrin:

Raiders

Brother Laksa, series 11 got PC version? Sorry, me 3 years never play PC games liao. Only played maplestory :biggrin:

so 'hua' is flower? means for those that use the term is 'flower' people...? that sounds rough...

Being from a dialect background, I was always suspicious of this Hua Ren stuff...but we now know the truth...its a lie to replace mandarin with everything else,,,