• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Workers’ Party hit by latest spate of resignations

Porfirio Rubirosa

TOC Report: Workers’ Party hit by latest spate of resignations
Monday, 30 March 2009, 5:30 pm | 988 views
Andrew Loh with contribution by Choo Zheng Xi

Four party cadres, including two candidates from GE 2006, resigned in the past one week but renewal process is on track, says Organizing Secretary

“Salim has the idealism and passion to pursue what he feels strongly about,” said Mr Yaw Shin Leong, the Workers’ Party Organising Secretary and Mr Salim’s team leader in Ang Mo Kio GRC in the last elections. “I wish him well.”

27 year old Mr Abdul Salim Harun’s resignation from the Workers’ Party is not totally unexpected. Rumours had been going around about his wish to leave the party since last year. His presence at the Singapore Democratic Party’s Hong Lim Park protest, during the IMF/World Bank meeting in September 2006, was believed to have raised some eyebrows within the party.

While his resignation may not affect the party significantly, observers have noted that it might put a spanner in the works for the party’s rejuvenation process, especially since his is not the only resignation since GE 2006. Mr Chia Ti Lik and Mr Goh Meng Seng, both in their 30s and who had been members of the party’s previous Central Executive Committee (CEC), have also since resigned.

When the party elected its new CEC after the elections in 2006, it was touted as a rejuvenation. Party secretary general, Mr Low Thia Khiang, was reported to be “very pleased” with the new and younger CEC. 9 out of the 15 members were below the age of 40 then. “The process of renewal is on track,” Mr Low said to the Straits Times.

Will Mr Salim’s leaving signal further resignations from the party, especially of younger members who might be unhappy with the party’s non-vocal stand? Mr Chia had cited his “frustration” with the party as a reason for his resignation. Mr Goh explained that he left the WP because of “misinformation” put out by the Today newspaper which reported that he had allegedly made a threat against an Internet forummer. He resigned because the report had done damage to “WP’s public image”, he said. (Link) However, it is believed that he too was unhappy with the party. Three more party cadres have also resigned in the past one week, including Mr Salim’s running mate in Ang Mo Kio GRC, Ms Lee Wai Leng.

Part of the process?

The leadership may, however, see such resignations as “norming processes”, as party chairman Ms Sylvia Lim had said when Mr Chia resigned in November 2006. (Link)

Mr Yaw also does not see Mr Salim’s resignation as any kind of setback for the rejuvenation process. “The renewal process was set in motion since 2001,” he said. “[These] resignations won’t set back the process,” he added.

Agreeing with Mr Yaw is Mr Tan Kian Hwee, also a member of the Ang Mo Kio team in 2006. “Resignations have occurred in every party including the PAP - even in the period from 2006 until the present,” he said. “An organisation would be seriously problematic if the ‘loss’ outstrips the ‘gain’, which I do not see [in] the WP’s case.”

Mr Salim himself seems to agree. He told The Online Citizen (TOC) that his resignation “will not affect the party in one way or another.”

Half of the party’s current CEC is below the age of 40, with three new faces in Mr Koh Choong Yong, Ms Lilian Lee and 47-year old Mr Png Eng Huat. Mr Salim was not a member of the current CEC.

The bad news for the party, however, may be the negative publicity these resignations may give – especially when the next general elections is rumoured to be around the corner. After all, resignations of younger members, who are naturally the next generation of leaders for the party, perhaps indicate a restlessness within the organization. The leadership will have to pay more attention to the aspirations of these members if more resignations are to be prevented.

Mr Tan is of the view that the WP, like any other organization, has to consistently reflect on where it can improve. He said, however, that “this would be more in its approach and policy.” He also feels that it is both its leaders and members together that have to remain relevant to the public.

“Personally, I don’t agree that a party’s leadership needs to meet its members’ expectations in areas where it does not meet the people’s expectations,” he added.

Outreach expanding online

Mr Yaw is confident that the party’s plans are in place. “There are people joining the party, and our groundwork continues as we are going about house-to-house visits” he explained. He added that he was heartened that new members have chosen to enter the party even during the “lull periods” between elections.

Mr Yaw also cited the WP’s outreach efforts online, which include Twitter and Facebook. He also noted that “the WP has the largest amount of leadership figures who blog amongst the alternative parties”. He pointed to a new WP online initiative called Hammersspeed which aggregates all articles relating to the WP. [Correction, 31 March 09: The WP has clarified that these online sites are not official party websites.]

The Workers Party was the best-performing opposition party in the last elections. It scored 43.9 per cent in Aljunied GRC and is generally seen as the opposition party with the best hope of breaking the People’s Action Party’s (PAP) monopoly on GRCs.

Hakka Tiow

Poor leetahbar!:( Siow liao!:eek: Once people ignore you, you have to resort to lowering to your base self hor?:wink: Do us a favour, jump in front of an MRT trasin during off peak hours!:biggrin:

yellow_people

Four party cadres, including two candidates from GE 2006, resigned in the past one week but renewal process is on track, says Organizing Secretary

“Salim has the idealism and passion to pursue what he feels strongly about,” said Mr Yaw Shin Leong, the Workers’ Party Organising Secretary and Mr Salim’s team leader in Ang Mo Kio GRC in the last elections. “I wish him well.”

27 year old Mr Abdul Salim Harun’s resignation from the Workers’ Party is not totally unexpected. Rumours had been going around about his wish to leave the party since last year. His presence at the Singapore Democratic Party’s Hong Lim Park protest, during the IMF/World Bank meeting in September 2006, was believed to have raised some eyebrows within the party.

While his resignation may not affect the party significantly, observers have noted that it might put a spanner in the works for the party’s rejuvenation process,

Not affected significantly? A spanner in the works? Since 2006? Where is that motherfucking keling James Gomez? I told that motherfucker to do something way back in 2006 to avoid the WP looking like an oriental party. What the FUCK happened? Anyway he has also quit that cocksucker Low Thia Kiang's party.

Why is it the Malays and Indians are avoiding pseudo opposition parties like the Nazi Solidarity Party and the Wannabe PAP party like the plague? Can we assume the minority races are smarter than the majority? Is that why LKY on many occasions state without 75% Chinks his policies would not have worked?

Well. we all know the Nazi Solidarity Party (NSP) is going to come up with zlitch. God bless the communists. I hope they lose their fucking deposits while at it.

But the WP is hanging on to one last Malay candidate. No motherfucking Indians in either the NSP or WP. No minority candidate = no contest in no motherfucking GRC, understand bitches?

Don't put no FT Keling either bitches. And for those mutts and kelings out there looking to profit from this fucking opposition fisaco ask the fucking WP for a six figure sum. Word out on the fucking street is that his party is desperate for "tanned skin" candidates. Now is your chance to learn from the Chinks and exploit the situation to your advantage. Teach the motherfucking Chinks a lesson bitches. Let the pigs deep-fry in their own misery. Make it a fucking 77% PAP majority.

If LHL calls for an election today WP will only be able to contest in one GRC. Enough said bitches.

CHAO CHEE BYE SDP FUCKER!! YOU GO PLAY 69 WITH THE CHEE BYE SOON JUAN!:oIo:

friend, if u keep posting like that, u would begin to sound like one of the nasty clones replicated by the master shapeshifter except his other clones would be deployed to accuse someone else - namely me.

one of his clones has already appeared after every of your posting now.:rolleyes:

methink

friend, if u keep posting like that, u would begin to sound like one of the nasty clones replicated by the master shapeshifter except his other clones would be deployed to accuse someone else - namely me.

one of his clones has already appeared after every of your posting now.:rolleyes:

You are right...God Meng Seng always follow closely whenever you opened a new thread. If not your clone, then who?

u must help to expose the master shapeshifter then. only he is the best here!! someone very powderful is watching his every moves. i m sure everything shall be revealed in due time :smile:

cass888

How can the depature of uneducated Salim hurt the WP? Lee Wai Leng is their real loss.

Luckily WP still has Mohd Rahizan and Ng Swee Bee to lower the average IQ of the WP.

TOC Report: Workers’ Party hit by latest spate of resignations
Monday, 30 March 2009, 5:30 pm | 988 views
Andrew Loh with contribution by Choo Zheng Xi

While his resignation may not affect the party significantly, observers have noted that it might put a spanner in the works for the party’s rejuvenation process, especially since his is not the only resignation since GE 2006. Mr Chia Ti Lik and Mr Goh Meng Seng, both in their 30s and who had been members of the party’s previous Central Executive Committee (CEC), have also since resigned.

When the party elected its new CEC after the elections in 2006, it was touted as a rejuvenation. Party secretary general, Mr Low Thia Khiang, was reported to be “very pleased” with the new and younger CEC. 9 out of the 15 members were below the age of 40 then. “The process of renewal is on track,” Mr Low said to the Straits Times.

Will Mr Salim’s leaving signal further resignations from the party, especially of younger members who might be unhappy with the party’s non-vocal stand? Mr Chia had cited his “frustration” with the party as a reason for his resignation. Mr Goh explained that he left the WP because of “misinformation” put out by the Today newspaper which reported that he had allegedly made a threat against an Internet forummer. He resigned because the report had done damage to “WP’s public image”, he said. (Link) However, it is believed that he too was unhappy with the party. Three more party cadres have also resigned in the past one week, including Mr Salim’s running mate in Ang Mo Kio GRC, Ms Lee Wai Leng.

Part of the process?

The leadership may, however, see such resignations as “norming processes”, as party chairman Ms Sylvia Lim had said when Mr Chia resigned in November 2006. (Link)

Mr Yaw also does not see Mr Salim’s resignation as any kind of setback for the rejuvenation process. “The renewal process was set in motion since 2001,” he said. “[These] resignations won’t set back the process,” he added.

Agreeing with Mr Yaw is Mr Tan Kian Hwee, also a member of the Ang Mo Kio team in 2006. “Resignations have occurred in every party including the PAP - even in the period from 2006 until the present,” he said. “An organisation would be seriously problematic if the ‘loss’ outstrips the ‘gain’, which I do not see [in] the WP’s case.”

Mr Salim himself seems to agree. He told The Online Citizen (TOC) that his resignation “will not affect the party in one way or another.”

Half of the party’s current CEC is below the age of 40, with three new faces in Mr Koh Choong Yong, Ms Lilian Lee and 47-year old Mr Png Eng Huat. Mr Salim was not a member of the current CEC.

The bad news for the party, however, may be the negative publicity these resignations may give – especially when the next general elections is rumoured to be around the corner. After all, resignations of younger members, who are naturally the next generation of leaders for the party, perhaps indicate a restlessness within the organization. The leadership will have to pay more attention to the aspirations of these members if more resignations are to be prevented.

Mr Tan is of the view that the WP, like any other organization, has to consistently reflect on where it can improve. He said, however, that “this would be more in its approach and policy.” He also feels that it is both its leaders and members together that have to remain relevant to the public.

“Personally, I don’t agree that a party’s leadership needs to meet its members’ expectations in areas where it does not meet the people’s expectations,” he added.

Outreach expanding online

Mr Yaw is confident that the party’s plans are in place. “There are people joining the party, and our groundwork continues as we are going about house-to-house visits” he explained. He added that he was heartened that new members have chosen to enter the party even during the “lull periods” between elections.

Mr Yaw also cited the WP’s outreach efforts online, which include Twitter and Facebook. He also noted that “the WP has the largest amount of leadership figures who blog amongst the alternative parties”. He pointed to a new WP online initiative called Hammersspeed which aggregates all articles relating to the WP. [Correction, 31 March 09: The WP has clarified that these online sites are not official party websites.]

The Workers Party was the best-performing opposition party in the last elections. It scored 43.9 per cent in Aljunied GRC and is generally seen as the opposition party with the best hope of breaking the People’s Action Party’s (PAP) monopoly on GRCs.

cleareyes

How can the depature of uneducated Salim hurt the WP? Lee Wai Leng is their real loss.

Luckily WP still has Mohd Rahizan and Ng Swee Bee to lower the average IQ of the WP.

Doesnt have a degree does not make them lower in IQ or thinking process.

If you based one"s IQ just on how many degrees one has, i congratulate you in subscribing to the PAP notion that only graduates can think.

Some people have a Phd but we can see what had happened to their cognitive process.

yellow_people

Well, the minority Malay members are just there to allow WP to meet the minimum eligibility requirements when contesting a GRC. That was the exact purpose of Salim to WP. Perhaps he realized that WP was pushing a Chink agenda and quit in a huff.

Mohd Rahizan has yet to realize he is just a tool. I'm sure he is already having second thoughts as the Malay community has already realized that both the WP and that Nazi, Fivestar's NSP are promoting a Chink agenda that excludes Malays or Indians and are putting pressure on him to step down. Once he quits WP will no longer be eligible to contest a GRC.

Good riddance to charlatans.

cass888

Doesnt have a degree does not make them lower in IQ or thinking process.

If you based one"s IQ just on how many degrees one has, i congratulate you in subscribing to the PAP notion that only graduates can think.

Some people have a Phd but we can see what had happened to their cognitive process.

If I'm not wrong, Salim did not even have O levels. Only an ITE certificate. No matter how you wanna slant it, Salim is hardly a loss to WP.

OverTheCounter

If I'm not wrong, Salim did not even have O levels. Only an ITE certificate. No matter how you wanna slant it, Salim is hardly a loss to WP.

It's okay if Salim does not have paper qualification, but has some zeal and energy to serve. unfortunately he is just as clueless as the other brickbats in WP and apparently he has realized he is just being made use of by the others.

OverTheCounter

WP is a losing and dying party, recent happenings speaks for itself so pap is without a doubt the best!

PAP will never allow WP to die out. They need a sparring partner to brag to the world that SG is a democracy. Imagine without approved opposition, they can't brag about how democratic they are.

fivestars

Why is it the Malays and Indians are avoiding pseudo opposition parties like the Nazi Solidarity Party and the Wannabe PAP party like the plague? Can we assume the minority races are smarter than the majority? Is that why LKY on many occasions state without 75% Chinks his policies would not have worked?

Well. we all know the Nazi Solidarity Party (NSP) is going to come up with zlitch. God bless the communists. I hope they lose their fucking deposits while at it.

But the WP is hanging on to one last Malay candidate. No motherfucking Indians in either the NSP or WP. No minority .

This 1963-1965 games to Boat Party from PAP and gain power here.

Singapore Alliance

Malay Union more understand Malay needs
Chinese Association more understand Chinese needs
India Congress more understand Indian needs

Nazi

No racial and no religion need, one English Modal society. No Malay Village. No Chinese New Kangkar. No Baba and Eurasian Village. No India estates.

Singapore Alliance

You can take Modern International English 122 and Advance International English 121
You can take Modern Singapore National Language and Advance Singapore National Language
You can take Modern Mandarin and Advance Mandarin
You can take Modern Tamil and Advance Tamil
Other subjects can be English, Mandarin, Malay or Tamil.

Nazi

All must be English first, depend on your capability that you can learn second and third language.

Singapore Alliance

We must sharing power, all must vote for alliance party. Poor, Rich, Elite and all level of people can contest in any SMC.

Nazi

We must not share power with non Elite; our GRC system is the modal of one nation society. The Chinese heli will unable to contest in any GRC’s, if they unable to nominate any Elite Malay, Elite Indian and Elite Eurasian.

So I am not Nazi. I am not agreeing with Nazi SOP. You call me not tell Poor Chinese needs and blocking minority to help poor Chinese to contest in GRC’s, maybe you are Nazi supporter.

fivestars

Mohd Rahizan has yet to realize he is just a tool. I'm sure he is already having second thoughts as the Malay community has already realized that both the WP and that Nazi, Fivestar's NSP are promoting a Chink agenda that excludes Malays or Indians and are putting pressure on him to step down. Once he quits WP will no longer be eligible to contest a GRC.Good riddance to charlatans.

Singapore Alliance

Malay Union more understand Malay needs
Chinese Association more understand Chinese needs
India Congress more understand Indian needs

Nazi

No racial and no religion need, one English Modal society. No Malay Village. No Chinese New Kangkar. No Baba and Eurasian Village. No India estates.

Singapore Alliance

You can take Modern International English 122 and Advance International English 121
You can take Modern Singapore National Language and Advance Singapore National Language
You can take Modern Mandarin and Advance Mandarin
You can take Modern Tamil and Advance Tamil
Other subjects can be English, Mandarin, Malay or Tamil.

Nazi

All must be English first, depend on your capability that you can learn second and third language.

Singapore Alliance

We must sharing power, all must vote for alliance party. Poor, Rich, Elite and all level of people can contest in any SMC.

Nazi

We must not share power with non Elite; our GRC system is the modal of one nation society. The Chinese heli will unable to contest in any GRC’s, if they unable to nominate any Elite Malay, Elite Indian and Elite Eurasian.

So I am not Nazi. I am not agreeing with Nazi SOP. You call me not tell Poor Chinese needs and blocking minority to help poor Chinese to contest in GRC’s, maybe you are Nazi supporter.

I also know the problem,

1) Chinese worry young people do not join their party if they act like Western. The only kids in the family.

2) Malay (Juffery) and Christian (JBJ) unhappy with satan. They must kill them.

This is culture isues.

fivestars

Mohd Rahizan has yet to realize he is just a tool. I'm sure he is already having second thoughts as the Malay community has already realized that both the WP and that Nazi, Fivestar's NSP are promoting a Chink agenda that excludes Malays or Indians and are putting pressure on him to step down. Once he quits WP will no longer be eligible to contest a GRC. Good riddance to charlatans.

Malay problem is not a problem:-

1) We can form a Malay Wing
2) Malay wing aim: To outreach Malay community for joining the party
3) Malay wing objective: To have more space for malay party members to promote Malay Culture and helping Malay community who need help.
4) President, Deputy President, Secretary and the three committee members.
5) We also can form an Indian Wing

Malay problem is not a problem:-

1) We can form a Malay Wing
2) Malay wing aim: To outreach Malay community for joining the party
3) Malay wing objective: To have more space for malay party members to promote Malay Culture and helping Malay community who need help.
4) President, Deputy President, Secretary and the three committee members.
5) We also can form an Indian Wing

can we also have an ALIEN WING just in case we got visitors from outerspace?

cleareyes

There are times when a person's paper qualification does not matter. What mater most is one's willingness to come forth and do what they should.

Salim's departure from WP is by itself a loss as salim represented a commited member who was willing to come out and be counted for, unlike many who talked alot and yet do nothing.

Whichever party that salim wish to join to continue his political fight will benefit from his energy and spirit.

You have just double-confirmed how you have subscribed to PAP's definition of a talent.

cleareyes

PAP will never allow WP to die out. They need a sparring partner to brag to the world that SG is a democracy. Imagine without approved opposition, they can't brag about how democratic they are.

Likewise PAP will never allow SDP to die out as well unless its a natural death itself.