• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WiFi router to be used with SIMBA for home WiFi

can use other brands meh ?............i thought must use the miserable one sold by Simba ?
ONT (optical network terminal) is a modem for fibre which is supplied by the service provider. Receive and transmit signal. You can plug an RJ45 cable to it's limited ports (one or two ports I believe) to run your computer or other nodes. This is called a wired connection which is impractical for most home or office setup.

In order to have wifi (wireless), you will need to plug a router into the ONT, via an RJ45 cable. Then setup the router with your SSID (wireless network name) and your network key (wifi password). Router can be any brand.

ONT (optical network terminal) is a modem for fibre which is supplied by the service provider. Receive and transmit signal. You can plug an RJ45 cable to it's limited ports (one or two ports I believe) to run your computer or other nodes. This is called a wired connection which is impractical for most home or office setup.

In order to have wifi (wireless), you will need to plug a router into the ONT, via an RJ45 cable. Then setup the router with your SSID (wireless network name) and your network key (wifi password). Router can be any brand.

ok................but the ONT must use the one provided by Simba, right ?

LexLuthor

he registered interest a while back. His wifi is activated already, happily surfing porn everyday.
Surf porn can also be happy meh ? KNN, must act in porn then can be happy。

1702199006630.jpeg

ftan42

ok................but the ONT must use the one provided by Simba, right ?
the single fiber optical cable carry all the various ISP internet info and the specific provider's ONT is used to decode only their internet info to your home which you are subscribed to
so when you switch to another ISP, first thing, your ONT will be changed by the technician to their ONT but your existing router can still be used but the speed will be limited to the spec of the old router unless it is > 2.5G to match the Simba offer

yes, use the one supplied by simba

must use the one supplied by them ah ?

their ONT very jialat leh...........only 1 LAN output..........i need 2 (1 for PC + 1 for wireless router)..............also i need homeline some more (the Simba ONT no have leh)

Setting up of router

Older router models will need you to plug an RJ45 cable from your PC to the router. Open your browser and type in (for D-link) 192.168.0.1, or http://dlinkrouter.local. Asus router and TP-link, type in http://192.168.1.1

For newer routers, I believe can setup via phone app.

for me is fibre optic to ONT............then LAN cable to pc.............also LAN cable to wireless router........

the single fiber optical cable carry all the various ISP internet info and the specific provider's ONT is used to decode only their internet info to your home which you are subscribed to
so when you switch to another ISP, first thing, your ONT will be changed by the technician to their ONT but your existing router can still be used but the speed will be limited to the spec of the old router unless it is > 2.5G to match the Simba offer

roger..................roger...............

must use the one supplied by them ah ?

their ONT very jialat leh...........only 1 LAN output..........i need 2 (1 for PC + 1 for wireless router)..............also i need homeline some more (the Simba ONT no have leh)

for me is fibre optic to ONT............then LAN cable to pc.............also LAN cable to wireless router........

roger..................roger...............
I subscribe to both starhub and M1, and use the ONT provided by them. Didn't know the simba ONT is so fucked up. Usually will have two Tel ports, and four lan ports. I may be wrong but I think the ONT is specific to each service provider. Your PC needs to be wireless since your only port is used to connect to router.

ftan42

usually the WIFI router comes with 1 WAN port and 4 or 5 LAN ports, connect the PC to 1 of these LAN ports and 1 WAN port which connect your ONT only port(for your case)

I subscribe to both starhub and M1, and use the ONT provided by them. Didn't know the simba ONT is so fucked up. Usually will have two Tel ports, and four lan ports. I may be wrong but I think the ONT is specific to each service provider. Your PC needs to be wireless since your only port is used to connect to router.

yeah..........the Simba ONT was horrible..............looks super cheap and China brand..............still need to pay $80 for it.............only 1 LAN output.............no jacks for home phone also............:frown:

usually the WIFI router comes with 1 WAN port and 4 or 5 LAN ports, connect the PC to 1 of these LAN ports and 1 WAN port which connect your ONT only port(for your case)

wah.............like that i must have BOTH the ONT and router powered on (electricity now very expensive leh)..................and the LAN cable will be much longer...........

but still no jack for home phone leh............:frown:

yeah..........the Simba ONT was horrible..............looks super cheap and China brand..............still need to pay $80 for it.............only 1 LAN output.............no jacks for home phone also............:frown:

wah.............like that i must have BOTH the ONT and router powered on (electricity now very expensive leh)..................and the LAN cable will be much longer...........

but still no jack for home phone leh............:frown:
You need to feedback to them. Tell them how fucked up their ONT is, in comparison to the other telcos.

i not with Simba yet as they only offer in certain areas in the East.............feedback also no use lah, they brought in so many units - must clear 1st mah.............

anyway, since no free homeline then no point for me lah.............

i not with Simba yet as they only offer in certain areas in the East.............feedback also no use lah, they brought in so many units - must clear 1st mah.............

anyway, since no free homeline then no point for me lah.............
Let them do their trial first, can consider them in due time.