• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

why does a small nation need to spend so much in defence?

S'pore defence budget up 6%
SINGAPORE, battling what is likely its worst-ever recession, plans to increase defence spending by 6.0 per cent from a year ago, estimates released on Thursday showed.

The government intends to spend $11.45 billion on defence during the 2009 fiscal year, the estimates showed.

In the budget, the government took the unprecedented move of tapping into its vast financial reserves as part of measures to fight the recession, Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam said during a speech in parliament.

Singapore, which has one of Asia's most advanced armed forces, spent $10.8 billion for defence in 2008, figures contained in the 2009 budget said.

The money will be used to purchase and maintain military equipment and facilities, and to pay the salaries of national servicemen.

The mission of the armed forces is to enhance peace and security through deterrence and diplomacy, but should these fail, the military will aim to 'secure a swift and decisive victory over the aggressor,' a statement on the Ministry of Defence website said.

Singapore has a population of more than 4.8 million people, 3.64 million of them citizens and permanent residents who provide the manpower for its conscription-based armed forces. -- AFP

is there really so many hungry sharks waiting to devour up this little ikan bilis in the ocean out there?:confused:

just think, if any cuntry - say matland would to eat up our country, what do they stand to gain? NOTHING!! we dun ve any natural resources. our very own resources is the people - WE. and we serve only our country SINGAPORE alone. if it belongs to others, then good luck to them!!

then conquering us would really do any big sharks no benefit at all. so why spend so much in our defence?:confused::rolleyes:

tima81

ya lor, if got war. i will be the first one to pack up and leave, comfirm die if lead by those scholars general

commoner

With so many contractors providing services sure la....

They will

1. Upgrade all ice cream to Ben & Jerry Icecream after lunch and dinner
2. All land transport must be in SUVs, because Air Con Bus no seat belts.
3. No more ferry, all by Star-Cruise
4. Install and upgrade all barracks with energy saving air-con.
5. Increase Insurance Premiums for all White Horse level
6. Employ FT to carry rifles for White Horse
7. More exotic places for training, no more Thailand/Brunei... Europe, USA
8. Sending cooks to be trained in Paris CORDON BLEU

guavatree

is there really so many hungry sharks waiting to devour up this little ikan bilis in the ocean out there?:

old fart faggot fake monk PAP dog Bob Sim Kheng Hwee,

temple thief, swindler, fraudster, cheat, con-artist, liar, hypocrite, deceiver, all rolled into one!

cheebai kia you're the big shark lah!

you steal temples donation money!

bashed your father into a pulp cheat and con other people!

fucking moron!!!

DerekLeung

They have to pay their cronies and high flyers Flyer's salary !

And to continue the scholar's dream of non-sustainable living at expense of poor farks citizens/sinkies.

klongtoeytalk

SINGAPORE, battling what is likely its worst-ever recession, plans to increase defence spending by 6.0 per cent from a year ago, estimates released on Thursday showed.

The government intends to spend $11.45 billion on defence during the 2009 fiscal year, the estimates showed.

In the budget, the government took the unprecedented move of tapping into its vast financial reserves as part of measures to fight the recession, Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam said during a speech in parliament.

Singapore, which has one of Asia's most advanced armed forces, spent $10.8 billion for defence in 2008, figures contained in the 2009 budget said.

The money will be used to purchase and maintain military equipment and facilities, and to pay the salaries of national servicemen.

The mission of the armed forces is to enhance peace and security through deterrence and diplomacy, but should these fail, the military will aim to 'secure a swift and decisive victory over the aggressor,' a statement on the Ministry of Defence website said.

Singapore has a population of more than 4.8 million people, 3.64 million of them citizens and permanent residents who provide the manpower for its conscription-based armed forces. -- AFP

dun u find it pretty ironic? spent so much on defence, but yet cannot prevent MP from being bbq by our supponsingly mental hero...

DerekLeung

If they don't burn up more Singaporean's money.

Singaporean won't work hard !

Singaporeans need to work till 100 to support PAP 's dream !

th_TV2008112723100500-1.jpg
th_TV2008112723101000.jpg
th_TV2008112723100500-1.jpg

If I donch reward my scholar generals well, they scaly rebel against my dud err...I mean good govt how? *zzzz*

congo9

I just don understand why MINDEF need so much budget ? Cut down on buying expensive TOYS which we do not need ! And we have a lot of ready money !

er...maybe, just maybe - are we thinking of expanding our territory??

small but ambitious:p or small but very how lian to the neighbours??:rolleyes:

if say half the amount were to spend on defence (which really not even that necessary) and the other half spend on welfare (which is even more necessary now), that means about $5.6 billion spend on 4.8 million peasants, everyone should be fine for 2009!!

maybe....dream on...:p

the army for now is quite a big liability. they couldn't even contain one limpy MAS SELAMAT, it aleady said much about the efficency or efficacy.

Satan

I am suprised no body has thought about this New Zealand has a land area much bigger than Sinkapore but has a population almost that of the dot. However, NZ does not have NS and reservist. Why is it that Sinkeeland has to have it??? So as madmansg always puts it: NS IS KILLING SINGPAPORE AND THEREFORE SHOULD BE ABOLISHED!!!!! :wink:

QQQ

Who else to rely on defend the small island?
Sammyboy forumites here who aspire to migrate to australia???

Without proper defense, the 260mil brown skin neighbours can easily swim over and cut off the male population dicks as they wish. Actually, it happened before.
Or easily walked over by another asia country one more time. Actually, it happened in WW2 when japan knock on our door.
Or rely on another country to defend but kena played out. Actually also happened before when UK fark off to defend themselves.

So why spend billions on edu or infrastructure when you can easily get fark or walked over by some brown skin neighbours.

troubledtimes

Please, do you have any idea how much a colonel earns each mnth? 300,000! The increment in spending wont even cover the salaries of the officers! Wanna bet not much will change inspite of the extra spending?

QQQ

Very true.
Every political issue always broil down to the too-high-salary and get stuck there. Too high to justify and to all the pap dogs cronies.

guavatree

er...maybe, just maybe - are we thinking of expanding our territory??

old fart faggot fake monk PAP dog Bob Sim Kheng Hwee,

temple thief, swindler, fraudster, cheat, con-artist, liar, hypocrite, deceiver, all rolled into one!

you expand your territory by stealing more temple money cheating and conning more 'frenz' ... LOL

Without proper defense, the 260mil brown skin neighbours can easily swim over and cut off the male population dicks as they wish. Actually, it happened before.
Or easily walked over by another asia country one more time. Actually, it happened in WW2 when japan knock on our door.
Or rely on another country to defend but kena played out. Actually also happened before when UK fark off to defend themselves.

So why spend billions on edu or infrastructure when you can easily get fark or walked over by some brown skin neighbours.

Our neighbours already can come to Spore to work, so why would they need to militarily invade :confused:

The trouble in Spore is that many Japanese companies are leaving & moving to China :eek:

I've never heard of a country invading another to 'steal' their infrastucture. :biggrin: When was the last time ASEAN members fought among themselves :confused:

If Spore wants to deter attacks, don't' you think 70 F16s is overkill? Don't forget about the F15s, Apaches, Leopard tanks,... Look at Malaysia they have about 20 Suk29's, Indonesia 3?

Malaysia has a full-time army but Spore spends more :eek: We have so much equipment that it has to be based overseas :eek: