• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

why does a small nation need to spend so much in defence?

if say half the amount were to spend on defence (which really not even that necessary) and the other half spend on welfare (which is even more necessary now), that means about $5.6 billion spend on 4.8 million peasants, everyone should be fine for 2009!!

maybe....dream on...:p

the army for now is quite a big liability. they couldn't even contain one limpy MAS SELAMAT, it aleady said much about the efficency or efficacy.

Really, the oppo should be making a big fuss about this and doing their own homework. If you look at the budget, it makes no sense whatsoever, unless u factor in corruption. Take come countries as example (all numbers in USD)

Sri Lanka - Been fighting a vicious civil war in the north for over a decade, yet defence budget is only 2.6% of GDP or USD$1.09 billion

malaysia - The most similar comparison with our own situation, yet they spend only 2.03% of their GDP on defence or USD $4.922 billion. Yet Malaysia has many overseas military obligations such as Kosovo, Mogadishu, and now Somalia pirates. Plus they have 2 separate land masses to defend (east and West Malaysia), yet their budget is so much less than ours.

Thailand - Facing a muslim insurgency in the south, as well as a rogue military state (Myanmar) as a neighbour, and yet defence budget is only 1.8% of GDP or USD $4.9 billion.

Taiwan - Who can be invaded at anytime, and is constantly being threatened by China has a defence budget at 2.2% of its GDP or USD$8.65 billion

Israel- Well, we know Israel, they are always in a constant state of war or invading someone etc. They are the only country whose defence budget a s a percent of GDP is higher than ours at 7.3% of $13.77 billion.

Singapore - No enemies, never been to war, never been openly threatened with war, never been invaded since independence, but has PARANOIC FUCKING PAP LEADERSHIP has a defence budget at 3.95% of GDP!!!!! Or USD$7.6 billion. WTF, only Taiwan and Israel spend more, as they rightly should.

Singapore can be defended very easily with a one time investment of $1 billion, and less than $1 billion a year after that. The SAF planners know how to do it, but its more lucrative to get kickbacks from defence contractors and so they keep on buying useless stuff.

myo539

is there really so many hungry sharks waiting to devour up this little ikan bilis in the ocean out there?:confused:

just think, if any cuntry - say matland would to eat up our country, what do they stand to gain? NOTHING!! we dun ve any natural resources. our very own resources is the people - WE. and we serve only our country SINGAPORE alone. if it belongs to others, then good luck to them!!

then conquering us would really do any big sharks no benefit at all. so why spend so much in our defence?:confused::rolleyes:

No-brainer answer for a no-brainer question.

Big man doesn't need to learn kungfu or nanchaku; by the time ikan bilis is in the stomach, too late liao. If m&d is willing to go to Sun and Moon to argue for a little piece of rock in the sea, imagine what m&d from north and south will do for a golden jewel?

imperialarms

for every muslim that is present in sinkapore's 500km radius, we should have one nuclear bomb. this is how dangerous these non pork eaters are

Who else to rely on defend the small island?
Sammyboy forumites here who aspire to migrate to australia???

Without proper defense, the 260mil brown skin neighbours can easily swim over and cut off the male population dicks as they wish. Actually, it happened before.
Or easily walked over by another asia country one more time. Actually, it happened in WW2 when japan knock on our door.
Or rely on another country to defend but kena played out. Actually also happened before when UK fark off to defend themselves.

So why spend billions on edu or infrastructure when you can easily get fark or walked over by some brown skin neighbours.

Poeple like u are the reason why we are so fucked up now and keep re-electing the PAP. U know show a total lack of logic or even the ability to question basic facts.

Without proper defense, the 260mil brown skin neighbours can easily swim over and cut off the male population dicks as they wish. Actually, it happened before.
Actually how are they going to come over? Think logically, they obviously cannot as u say, all swim over. Do they walk on water? Does their allah magically fly them over? Do you even know how long and what sort of a logistical system u need to even ship 10,000 people to another shore, much less as you say 260 million? Even for them to ship 100,000 armed men to singapore will require them to get their hands on every single passenger ship they can find, assemble them in secrecy, and than armada them over without being detected.

Or easily walked over by another asia country one more time. Actually, it happened in WW2 when japan knock on our door.
The Japs were the superpowers of their day. We can spend every single cent we own on defence and we still could not have stopped them. They defeated many much larger and better armed countries. This comparison is illogical.

Or rely on another country to defend but kena played out. Actually also happened before when UK fark off to defend themselves.

Your grasp on history is extremely poor. When did UK leave to defend themselves?

So why spend billions on edu or infrastructure when you can easily get fark or walked over by some brown skin neighbours.[/QUOTE]

U think too much of your own importance. The neighbours couldn't fuck care about us. They are busy getting rich in their own countries or they have their own problems. They are having much more fun watching us slowly implode on ourselves and us getting poorer and poorer.

The_Latest_H

for every muslim that is present in sinkapore's 500km radius, we should have one nuclear bomb. this is how dangerous these non pork eaters are

And if we are gonna have nukes, where the heck are we gonna squeeze them in- since Singapore is almost completely urbanised?

Besides, having nukes will spark a nuclear arms race- and President Obama would never allow such a situation, because it would give a massive headache to his Administration. A nuclear South Asia with two nuke powers(India and Pakistan) is bad enough, let alone a nuclear power in this region.

So stop thinking we should be a superpower just because we are a chinese-majority country in a Chinese-minority region. We are not racially superior to any of the countries in this region, just because we are majority chinese. We shouldn't have this entitlement attitude.

Big man doesn't need to learn kungfu or nanchaku; by the time ikan bilis is in the stomach, too late liao. If m&d is willing to go to Sun and Moon to argue for a little piece of rock in the sea, imagine what m&d from north and south will do for a golden jewel?

In that case, then we should strive for strong intelligence agencies and a well-trained, experienced Special Forces which will have an excellent reputation throughout the region.

The key here is that if we want both strong, vigilant intelligence agencies and Special Forces, then we have to ensure both are free from politics and selfish politicians who may want to use these agencies for their own political benefit.

Leckmichamarsch

S'pore defence budget up 6%
SINGAPORE, battling what is likely its worst-ever recession, plans to increase defence spending by 6.0 per cent from a year ago, estimates released on Thursday showed.

The government intends to spend $11.45 billion on defence during the 2009 fiscal year, the estimates showed.

In the budget, the government took the unprecedented move of tapping into its vast financial reserves as part of measures to fight the recession, Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam said during a speech in parliament.

Singapore, which has one of Asia's most advanced armed forces, spent $10.8 billion for defence in 2008, figures contained in the 2009 budget said.

The money will be used to purchase and maintain military equipment and facilities, and to pay the salaries of national servicemen.

The mission of the armed forces is to enhance peace and security through deterrence and diplomacy, but should these fail, the military will aim to 'secure a swift and decisive victory over the aggressor,' a statement on the Ministry of Defence website said.

Singapore has a population of more than 4.8 million people, 3.64 million of them citizens and permanent residents who provide the manpower for its conscription-based armed forces. -- AFP

So that the elites can be fed with ppl's blood - they breed, you bled!:biggrin:

The_Latest_H

So that the elites can be fed with ppl's blood - they breed, you bled!:biggrin:

There's a lot of pork in the defence budget, and with such a politicised armed forces, its not surprising.

And besides, having a well-equipped armed forces is no longer so much about a defensive fight, but to take the offence, the fight to the enemy stronghold. After all, that's what SAF learnt from the Israelis 40 years ago, when LKY welcomed them here to train the first SAF generation.

There's a lot of pork in the defence budget, and with such a politicised armed forces, its not surprising.

And besides, having a well-equipped armed forces is no longer so much about a defensive fight, but to take the offence, the fight to the enemy stronghold. After all, that's what SAF learnt from the Israelis 40 years ago, when LKY welcomed them here to train the first SAF generation.

Not forgetting that the PAP got very close ties with the Israel military complex :rolleyes:

Not forgetting the PAPs sidelines like laundry business & are death merchants, ...??? Wannabe gambling HUB? So why is the PAP GOVERNMENT into all these sidelines, to help the poor? :confused:

Really, the oppo should be making a big fuss about this and doing their own homework. If you look at the budget, it makes no sense whatsoever, unless u factor in corruption. Take come countries as example (all numbers in USD)

Sri Lanka - Been fighting a vicious civil war in the north for over a decade, yet defence budget is only 2.6% of GDP or USD$1.09 billion

malaysia - The most similar comparison with our own situation, yet they spend only 2.03% of their GDP on defence or USD $4.922 billion. Yet Malaysia has many overseas military obligations such as Kosovo, Mogadishu, and now Somalia pirates. Plus they have 2 separate land masses to defend (east and West Malaysia), yet their budget is so much less than ours.

Thailand - Facing a muslim insurgency in the south, as well as a rogue military state (Myanmar) as a neighbour, and yet defence budget is only 1.8% of GDP or USD $4.9 billion.

Taiwan - Who can be invaded at anytime, and is constantly being threatened by China has a defence budget at 2.2% of its GDP or USD$8.65 billion

Israel- Well, we know Israel, they are always in a constant state of war or invading someone etc. They are the only country whose defence budget a s a percent of GDP is higher than ours at 7.3% of $13.77 billion.

Singapore - No enemies, never been to war, never been openly threatened with war, never been invaded since independence, but has PARANOIC FUCKING PAP LEADERSHIP has a defence budget at 3.95% of GDP!!!!! Or USD$7.6 billion. WTF, only Taiwan and Israel spend more, as they rightly should.

Singapore can be defended very easily with a one time investment of $1 billion, and less than $1 billion a year after that. The SAF planners know how to do it, but its more lucrative to get kickbacks from defence contractors and so they keep on buying useless stuff.

actually, this is quite embarrassing. our "generals" of whatever # of stars are grossly overpaid and obesse. bureucratically, many were even upgraded to a higher level of monetary rewards which do not entails any accountability when they goof on their responsiblity there. anyway, it wasn't reported and hence not many know about the goof-ups which is all hushed up.

Our neighbours already can come to Spore to work, so why would they need to militarily invade :confused:

The trouble in Spore is that many Japanese companies are leaving & moving to China :eek:

I've never heard of a country invading another to 'steal' their infrastucture. :biggrin: When was the last time ASEAN members fought among themselves :confused:

If Spore wants to deter attacks, don't' you think 70 F16s is overkill? Don't forget about the F15s, Apaches, Leopard tanks,... Look at Malaysia they have about 20 Suk29's, Indonesia 3?

Malaysia has a full-time army but Spore spends more :eek: We have so much equipment that it has to be based overseas :eek:

this is really very strange, funny and paranoid.

we have so many powerful, latest and advanced weapons of "mass destruction", yet we do not have an enemy in sight. maybe obama should check on our "weapons of mass destruction" inventory in proportional to the size of our cuntry.:p

maybe he can't cos we ordered from them by billions dollar/:rolleyes:

maybe it's a syndrome of small cuntry big ambition or small rich cuntry, big paranoid obsession with power.:wink: after wealth, the next aim would be power.

m&ds are jealous. but can we really blame them? i mean our gabramen is always bragging. they could have offended many neigbouring countries without even mindful about it.

it all boils down to humility and mindfulness.:smile:

The_Latest_H

Basically if we had helped them financially- in a big way- during the Aceh earthquake 5 years ago- and really sent SAF resources to help them sincerely, they wouldn't have that love-hate relationship with us.

And besides, once in power, or even in opposition, comments about their internal politics should be restrained to a very very huge extent. LKY commentated too much about Malaysia and Indonesia, and that's why The Tengku, down to Mahathir, and even now, their current leaders don't like us as such- because they view LKY and Singaporeans as the same.

In the end, we have to get rid of the chip on our shoulder, both socially and in politics. Once we lose that entitlement attitude and treat them more humbly, they won't be so hostile. And it'd allow our armed forces to be de-politicised gradually and be focused on the priority which is to defend our country and our rights only when the situation is dire to the point when its badly needed.

ah_phah

need to spend so much $ on defenses is bcos our scholars very laulan, have good chance of offending freign/neighborhood

guavatree

m&ds are jealous.

unemployed fuckwit old fart faggot fake monk PAP dog Bob Sim Kheng Hwee,

temple thief, swindler, fraudster, cheat, con-artist, liar, hypocrite, deceiver, all rolled into one!

you also fucking jealous of other people lah!

why today CNY no washing kidney session meh?

anyway wash or don't wash you also up lorry liao ..... LOL

VIBGYOR

ah BACONS!

81675419_1b0a695bbe.jpg

Loofydralb

The mission of the armed forces is to enhance peace and security through deterrence and diplomacy, but should these fail, the military will aim to 'secure a swift and decisive victory over the aggressor,' a statement on the Ministry of Defence website said.

And after that what happens? Our neighbours are not pussycats and they don't go down easy. For ages after that its a guerilla and terrorism war.

Stupid SAF thinks it can win wars? In the first place we will never be allowed to enter into one cos PAP knows that war for Singapore is a lose-lose outcome, even when we win the war.

The_Latest_H

And after that what happens? Our neighbours are not pussycats and they don't go down easy. For ages after that its a guerilla and terrorism war.

Stupid SAF thinks it can win wars? In the first place we will never be allowed to enter into one cos PAP knows that war for Singapore is a lose-lose outcome, even when we win the war.

SAF can't really fight a guerilla war. Its not even easy for America for many years in Iraq, let alone us.

This is because if open warfare on open ground is already hard, what more an entrenched enemy in a city area which is ready to fight inch by inch, and where technology doesn't matter, while personal judgment, and experience matters more.

And besides there is a morale issue. People who are fanatical about defending their homeland are harder to break than those invading. Those invading want a quick war and a quick end. The defenders just need to prolong the conflict as long as they can afford to, and wear the invaders down. The end result is that unless there's a tactical shift by the invaders, the defenders will win as long as the war effort is bogged down by intense, stiff resistance.

The_Latest_H

no we will not fight guerilla warfare.

our aim should be scorched earth policy, destroy everything in sight

And what would that bring us? Don't forget that once Nazi Germany and Imperial Japan surrendered, within 3 years, the US gave Marshall funds to Germany and similar loans to Japan to rebuild their nations.

If the people of the defeated nations are not treated well, they will become resentful and go back to use this humiliation as an excuse to fight back in the future. This is especially true since the Wiemar Republic was viewed as many Germans as a puppet Allied government in the gap years between WWI and WWII.

In any case, a destroyed Malaysia will not give us anything. If you burn down all the rubber and palm trees, where the heck will we get our rubber from? The sky? What happen if we destroy their water sources? Where would our water come from?

Even the Americans had to rebuild many destroyed towns once the Iraqi occupation was completed. This was to placate the local population, many whom were joining the militias at the start of the occupation.