• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Which local food will be banned next?

myo539

SINGAPORE: A global effort to save the sharks reached Singapore's shores on Tuesday.

For the first time, local celebrities and conservationists stood in unison at a public concert, SharkAid 2012, at Cathay Cineleisure.

The event is organised by Animal Concerns Research & Education Society (ACRES) and Shark Savers Singapore.

Singapore, which is the first stop of SharkAid, has one of the highest per capita consumers of shark fin soup.

It ranks second, behind Hong Kong, in the size of the trade in shark fins.

In a survey of 500 Singaporeans, half of the respondents who consume shark fin soup said they continue to consume the soup because the dish was placed in front of them and they didn't want to see the food wasted.

A carnival was also held to engage Singaporeans on the role of sharks in the marine ecosystem.

Jonn Lu, director at Shark Savers Singapore, said: "Singaporeans are foodies and we love our food. If we want our chilli crab, lobsters or stir fried prawns, it is in our selfish interest to save sharks because without sharks, all commercial fisheries are going to be affected."

SharkAid 2012 is part of the international Shark Savers movement with some 24,000 members in 99 countries.

- CNA/fa

It appears that foreigners and some locals are up in arms against one of our favourite dishes - a must-have dish for wedding dinner or grandmother's birthday dinner. Which local dish will be deemed harmful to the "conservationists" and banned next?

Bird nest soup? (for cruelty against baby swallows in the process of scraping out the bird nests)

Fish head curry? ( for cruelty against fish - lobbing off their heads - like cutting off the fins of the shark?)

Another "conservationists" group wants us not to use plastic bags for our shopping needs. They want some countries to keep their oil beneath their soil and kill the trees insteads.

What are these so-called "conservationists" getting us into? Human killing sharks for food is not OK, but sharks killing human is OK.

Why are forummers here disgusted with foreigners coming to our shore to earn an honest living but not up in arms against foreigners who impose their will against our local food and culture?

... It appears that foreigners and some locals are up in arms against one of our favourite dishes - a must-have dish for wedding dinner or grandmother's birthday dinner. Which local dish will be deemed harmful to the "conservationists" and banned next? ...
which local dish wil b banned nax? ... mee siam wif hum, ofcos! ...

it appears dat 1 particular burger is up in arms against 1 of sinkiez favorite dish - mee siam wif hum - a muz-haf fud 4 peasants ... dat burger hates mee siam wif hum so much dat he raged on teevee dat was telecasted whole islandwide of his hatred of mee siam wif hum n he swore 2 ze ceiling lamp dat he wanted oni mee siam wifout hum ... days of mee siam wif hum r numbered ...

Capano2121

Very soon you will be seeing ducky foetus available everywhere! China food already quite rampant in Singapore for the past ten years already! There will be more vegetarian stuff offered by mamak coffeeshops & there will be more soured smelling fermented shit available also by the myanmar dump trucks!

Jlokta

You can kiss bye bye to your favourite food in a couple of years.

No more Cha Kway Teow, Fish ball noodles, hokkien mee.

All will be replaced by xiao long bao, smelly toufu, sinigang sisik, and don't know what other fuck shit that the trash eats.

Kuailan

Fully agree with po2wq

mee siam mai hum, because hum is getting extinct!!

now under endangered species!

Jlokta

Fully agree with po2wq

mee siam mai hum, because hum is getting extinct!!

now under endangered species!

hum still have lah, but must see which species.

recently alot from china, philippines and some myanmma. :biggrin:

rectmobile

SINGAPORE: A global effort to save the sharks reached Singapore's shores on Tuesday.

For the first time, local celebrities and conservationists stood in unison at a public concert, SharkAid 2012, at Cathay Cineleisure.

The event is organised by Animal Concerns Research & Education Society (ACRES) and Shark Savers Singapore.

Singapore, which is the first stop of SharkAid, has one of the highest per capita consumers of shark fin soup.

It ranks second, behind Hong Kong, in the size of the trade in shark fins.

In a survey of 500 Singaporeans, half of the respondents who consume shark fin soup said they continue to consume the soup because the dish was placed in front of them and they didn't want to see the food wasted.

A carnival was also held to engage Singaporeans on the role of sharks in the marine ecosystem.

Jonn Lu, director at Shark Savers Singapore, said: "Singaporeans are foodies and we love our food. If we want our chilli crab, lobsters or stir fried prawns, it is in our selfish interest to save sharks because without sharks, all commercial fisheries are going to be affected."

SharkAid 2012 is part of the international Shark Savers movement with some 24,000 members in 99 countries.

- CNA/fa

It appears that foreigners and some locals are up in arms against one of our favourite dishes - a must-have dish for wedding dinner or grandmother's birthday dinner. Which local dish will be deemed harmful to the "conservationists" and banned next?

Bird nest soup? (for cruelty against baby swallows in the process of scraping out the bird nests)

Fish head curry? ( for cruelty against fish - lobbing off their heads - like cutting off the fins of the shark?)

Another "conservationists" group wants us not to use plastic bags for our shopping needs. They want some countries to keep their oil beneath their soil and kill the trees insteads.

What are these so-called "conservationists" getting us into? Human killing sharks for food is not OK, but sharks killing human is OK.

Why are forummers here disgusted with foreigners coming to our shore to earn an honest living but not up in arms against foreigners who impose thei

Those hypocrites say eat sharksfin is cruel. But do they know eat KFC chicken also cruel?

http://www.kentuckyfriedcruelty.com/

Cruelty Capital, USA
KFC suppliers cram birds into huge waste-filled factories, breed and drug them to grow so large that they can’t even walk, and often break their wings and legs. At slaughter, the birds’ throats are slit and they are dropped into tanks of scalding-hot water—often while they are still conscious. It would be illegal for KFC to abuse dogs, cats, pigs, or cows in these ways.

KFC’s own animal welfare advisors have asked the company to take steps to eliminate these abuses, but KFC refuses to do so. Many advisors have now resigned in frustration.

When you order char kway teow, tell them don't fry the cockles. After frying the noodle and egg, then toss in the cockles for a warm up and serve. Same for laksa, tell then to boil the laksa first, then toss in the cockles that'll warm up just nice with the curry instead of being overboiled, shrunk and hardened.

Lavender Square has a good BBQ seafood stall that serves warm dipped cockles. Good for snacking cockles with beer, but no smoking. Desker Road backlane linking to Rowell has a stall too. That's alfresco and smoking allowed. As usual, remember to tell them how much you want your cockles cooked when ordering.

Jlokta

When you order char kway teow, tell them don't fry the cockles. After frying the noodle and egg, then toss in the cockles for a warm up and serve. Same for laksa, tell then to boil the laksa first, then toss in the cockles that'll warm up just nice with the curry instead of being overboiled, shrunk and hardened.

Lavender Square has a good BBQ seafood stall that serves warm dipped cockles. Good for snacking cockles with beer, but no smoking. Desker Road backlane linking to Rowell has a stall too. That's alfresco and smoking allowed. As usual, remember to tell them how much you want your cockles cooked when ordering.

Couple of my buddies once did an experiment on how long it takes to cook the cockles till just right.

If i remember the correct time is between 8 - 15secs in boiling water.

But then again, that was many many years ago.

geylangchickenloyangduck

nah beh...i prefer my cockles raw...slurp slurp...taste like CBs and some CBs taste like cockles....

on certain days, had so much that i got mixed up with both of them.

nah beh...i prefer my cockles raw...slurp slurp...taste like CBs and some CBs taste like cockles....

on certain days, had so much that i got mixed up with both of them.

Raw I also take, but not at room temperature. Have it washed and iced cold first. Delicious too. Slurp, slurp...

hum still have lah, but must see which species.

recently alot from china, philippines and some myanmma. :biggrin:

You eat these hums raw? or with protection or you wear a T shirt that says " I shoot RAW"" ( with your camera, of course)!

Eat will often be raw lah brother, how to eat hum nicely wrapped up??

There is a protection for the hum...ha ha ha, got your point!! I will still eat sharkfin, they can rear sharks and harvest them for their meat & fins, can they? If that is the case, ban all sea food, ban all meat, the whole world goes VEGAN!

Kinana

Eating sharks will actually help the smaller fishes whom the sharks feed on and increase dwindling fish stocks.
I don't understand what is the problem.

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C
dwindling fish stock not due to sharks. Its due to human overfishing and their scant regard for their polluting the rivers and seas

Eating sharks will actually help the smaller fishes whom the sharks feed on and increase dwindling fish stocks.
I don't understand what is the problem.