• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What does it mean to be poor in Singapore

Do you consider tos earning 1k a mth POOR? yet they can afford to BUY a 3 rm pigeon hole according to our Ministars. So, where do line start being poor in Stinkiepore, lets hope PAP can let us noe.

imo, anywhere below 2k a month for a family of 3 is considered jialat case. 1k? can. don't fall sick, eat one meal a day, no cigs, cycle everywhere etc.

since they say 1k a month can do and buy so many things, why don't peg their salaries 50 times 1K?

Do you consider tos earning 1k a mth POOR? yet they can afford to BUY a 3 rm pigeon hole according to our Ministars. So, where do line start being poor in Stinkiepore, lets hope PAP can let us noe.

its called relative poverty,u cannot compare the poverty levels of a first world country to a 3rd world country.if u are earning less than 1/3 of ur national gdp per capital u can be considered as below poverty line.singapore our gdp is at a staggering 70,000 per year and yet theres people earning less than 1/6th of that.

shittypore

imo, anywhere below 2k a month for a family of 3 is considered jialat case. 1k? can. don't fall sick, eat one meal a day, no cigs, cycle everywhere etc.

since they say 1k a month can do and buy so many things, why don't peg their salaries 50 times 1K?

Tats impossible to ask, familee must keep work force salaries low if not, how for em to live like Kings and Dukes in the East. Hve u ever been invited to these Ministars hme? You tink they re like Lau Lee, old ratten chair and wash own under-wear. Heard their Kitchen can cost the price if a 3 rm pigeon hole.

its called relative poverty,u cannot compare the poverty levels of a first world country to a 3rd world country.if u are earning less than 1/3 of ur national gdp per capital u can be considered as below poverty line.singapore our gdp is at a staggering 70,000 per year and yet theres people earning less than 1/6th of that.

In any society you get a range of incomes. Someone has got to be at the bottom of the pile. It is each individual's responsibility to make sure they don't fall into that category.

not sure if you are right. i suspect nowadays dying is expensive too. not many Rolands around. anyway if case is not publicised, Roland may not be keen.

These sorts of hard luck stories about poor health and insufficient finances can be found in any country in the world.

NZ has a comprehensive welfare system and free medical services but the news is always full of stories about losers who have not taken care of their health or their bank accounts and have ended up destitute.

In any society you get a range of incomes. Someone has got to be at the bottom of the pile. It is each individual's responsibility to make sure they don't fall into that category.

the responsibility of the government and citizens is to ensure the gap between the top and the bottom does not get too wide,if it gets too wide,it could be detrimental to society and even to the economy itself.singapore might end up cannabalizing itself from within.this government doesnt even seem to know that,it seems to be preoccupied with abusing its power and authority to enrich itself.

"Too wide" is subjective. How long is a piece of string?

Singapore is successful because the competent and enterprising are not taxed to death like the are in NZ.

The reason why the gap is narrower in NZ is because the top earners are take up tax residency somewhere else like Singapore where they get to keep most of what they earn. NZ ends up poorer overall. The gap may be a lot narrower but the net result is that NZ cannot even afford a decent defense force.

Singapore is successful because the competent and enterprising are not taxed to death like the are in NZ.

The reason why the gap is narrower in NZ is because the top earners are take up tax residency somewhere else like Singapore where they get to keep most of what they earn. NZ ends up poorer overall. The gap may be a lot narrower but the net result is that NZ cannot even afford a decent defense force.

im sure we can define it if we want to,its all a matter of political will.germany the technological giant didnt become the number one renewable energy country in the world by accident with over 30 percent of their energy needs generated by renewable sources,ang mohs are truly a willful and progressive race indeed.

and yes its true,theres less than 2 percent millionaires in new zealand and australia,the less we need of these scum the better.a country can survive perfectly fine on a working and middle class population.

What sort of upbringing did you receive to harbor this notion that all the rich are scum?

I know plenty of rich people and there are loads of nice people amongst them. One of the millionaire Singaporeans who retired in Auckland spends 3 months a year providing medical care in Africa for free and he has donated a shit load of money to the volunteer organisations in Kenya.

I tried to convince him not to waste his time and money but he insists that the poor need help rather than a kick in the ass.

Another rich Kiwi I know runs regular financial literacy classes at adult education centre in South Auckland and he has personally helped those in need financially if he believes that they will not squander the money.

If you want to use the word "scum" then count me as the most suitable candidate for that title and I'm certainly not rich. I hate the poor and feel no pity for them whatsoever.

Tats impossible to ask, familee must keep work force salaries low if not, how for em to live like Kings and Dukes in the East. Hve u ever been invited to these Ministars hme? You tink they re like Lau Lee, old ratten chair and wash own under-wear. Heard their Kitchen can cost the price if a 3 rm pigeon hole.

Dun say kitchen.
The car they drive already same price as hdb 3 room.
70% very song leh

Dun say kitchen.
The car they drive already same price as hdb 3 room.
70% very song leh

The ministers are worth every penny they are paid. They have a tough job to do and it goes without saying that they should be able to enjoy the baubles of office.

What sort of upbringing did you receive to harbor this notion that all the rich are scum?

I know plenty of rich people and there are loads of nice people amongst them. One of the millionaire Singaporeans who retired in Auckland spends 3 months a year providing medical care in Africa for free and he has donated a shit load of money to the volunteer organisations in Kenya.

I tried to convince him not to waste his time and money but he insists that the poor need help rather than a kick in the ass.

Another rich Kiwi I know runs regular financial literacy classes at adult education centre in South Auckland and he has personally helped those in need financially if he believes that they will not squander the money.

If you want to use the word "scum" then count me as the most suitable candidate for that title and I'm certainly not rich. I hate the poor and feel no pity for them whatsoever.

And yet they are friends with a guy like u.u are contradicting arentturselfich and top earners take up residency in other countries to avoid paying taxes,people who are genuinely socialist and concerned about tthe tthettthedarenttthehe are of their country and people will not do that.
A normal upbring,a socialist,communist working class one,without a silver spoon or platinum fork,one determined to strike it out big on his own but never forget his roots.

yahoo55

PAP has repeatedly refused to define poverty in Singapore or have a poverty line. This way PAP can deceive the people and the world by masking the true extent of poverty in Singapore.

Sinkie households with $1k monthly income in Singapore is definitely poor, they've to work till they die to survive, and they cannot afford to get hit with serious illness because that would mean stop working and losing their income, and also incurring medical bills.

It means that your wife carries a fairprice plastic bag instead of a Birkin bag. :wink:

It means that you continue to bang your wife instead of the MILF from the grassroots. :wink: