• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Vivian : "We underestimated YOG's budget!"

ILaidLeiaB4Solo

questions:

1) Would taxpayers make noise if Vv annouced that the budget is close to $400 million at the very beginning before they bid for this event?
2) Did anyone make noise at that time when the annouced budget was only $104 million to stage a world class event?

He better be prepared to say after GE

"I underestimated the people's support for the Opposition!"

If that happens, VB has precedent to follow. In 1981 Anson by-election that WP won with JBJ, the PAP campaign manager was GCT who started the campaign arrogantly guaranteeing a victory, and ended the campaign with the excuse of having underestimated ground sentiments.

Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports, Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, says the government underestimated the cost in hosting the recent inaugural Youth Olympic Games (YOG).

The initial estimate for the inaugural YOG was S$104 million, but the total cost overshot the original budget by three times to S$387 million.

Speaking in Parliament on Wednesday, Dr Balakrishnan responded to questions from several MPs on the YOG budget and said: “Our initial budget estimates during the bid phase were inaccurate. This was the first-ever Youth Olympic Games. Quite frankly, both the IOC (International Olympic Committee) and us were starting from scratch.”

He added that the requirements and cost for several major functional areas in hosting the Games were under-budgeted and the finalised specifications and standards for the YOG events were only determined after Singapore won the right to host the Games.

When it became clear that initial cost estimates were wrong, Dr Balakrishan said he was confronted with two questions.

Firstly, if Singapore had known it would cost so much to host the Games, should the Republic have still bid for the Games?

And secondly, did Singapore get value for money from hosting it?

Dr Balakrishnan said the answer to both questions was “yes”.

“Hence we shared this information before the Games, and also ensured that we exercised strict fiscal discipline.”

He cautioned that blindly cutting the budget and delivering a sub-standard Games would not have been the right decision.

“To put things in context, we should look at the two most recent Olympic Games and the next,” he said.

“The YOG was about one-third the scale of the Beijing Summer Olympic Games 2008 which featured 11,000 athletes but Singapore’s projected spending for the YOG was about 10 per cent that of Beijing’s expenditure, which came to S$3.9 billion, excluding capital expenditure.

“Based on recent reports, the provisional budget for the 2012 London Olympics now stands at S$19.2 billion, including infrastructure.”

Dr Balakrishnan said that, at the end of the day, Singapore delivered an inaugural YOG that received high praise from the International Olympic Committee, the international federations, athletes and guests, and that, most importantly, Singaporeans were proud of the collective achievement.

:oIo:

1. aiyoh! simple and easy, the 104mil was just some planning parameters mah!
2. it was no big mistake man! exceeding the planning thing.

sammymugabe

I feel amused everytime i meet a Sinkie who thinks hosting this masak masak joke for children = same standing as Sydney, London, Chicago, etc hahahaha.

And for their info, Sydney, NY and London hosted theirs AGES AGO!!! FROM AS EARLY AS 40 YEARS AGO!!

Its the developing and third world cities, the wannabes like Beijing, Rio and Singapore that clamour for it when its already frigging 2000 something to prove that they can be ass good (a lot a lot to prove thats why). What a bunch of good for nothing losers.

Worst thing and most embarrassing is that Singapore can't even host the REAL Olympics like Beijing and Rio. EVEN AFTER 60 years after FIRST WORLD CITIES do it.

Have to host the Kids one and its not even the real Olympics! Didnt this Kids version exist a long time ago and used to be called another name http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Youth_Games ? Its just this year that it attached the "Olympic" brandname to it.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
questions:

1) Would taxpayers make noise if Vv annouced that the budget is close to $400 million at the very beginning before they bid for this event?
2) Did anyone make noise at that time when the annouced budget was only $104 million to stage a world class event?

When we put forward $104 million, what is the intangible returns that we are expecting when it is approved? Certainly way below $387 million I suppose?

And, looking at the response to YOG, by how much have we over-estimate the return? Would we be able to re-coup at least $104 millions in intangible back?

So, how many millions have we thrown away this time? $300 million? :mad:

peterpan777

This was a good opportunity to upgrade Sg (otherwise inferior) sports facilities to Olympic standards.

After YOG, these sports facilities will still be here for us to enjoy.

what left for us to enjoy? Singapore Sport hub? Only can see the give way lane. Still around.

ILaidLeiaB4Solo

When we put forward $104 million, what is the intangible returns that we are expecting when it is approved? Certainly way below $387 million I suppose?

And, looking at the response to YOG, by how much have we over-estimate the return? Would we be able to re-coup at least $104 millions in intangible back?

So, how many millions have we thrown away this time? $300 million? :mad:

probably so.

one possibility is that they already know the 387 mil budget but annouce 104 mil, for fear of a backlash from the taxpayers. but once it is confirmed and the wheels are turning, they shout out the actual figures, by then, there's no turning back.

probably, also they try to emulate the world cup 2010 in SA, thinking they could recoup as much from broadcasting rights. Remember the ST/SH fiasco of overcharging it's customers? FIFA mentioned "They needed the money". However, the marketing of the YOG broadcast rights was a total failure and many contributors in this forum who were around the world did not get to see squat of a telecast there. I, for one was at Shenzhen and at that time, the activities for the upcoming Universiade 2011 was more rowdier than the YOG. And mind you, China topped the medal standings......

Also, how can they use the hosting of SEA games as a guideline to host an international event? Its like using the budget of go-karting competition to host the f1.

Afterall, it was the seventh month then, I burnt $387 million of Hell's money. He burnt $387 million of taxpayer's money.....

peterlth

When it became clear that initial cost estimates were wrong, Dr Balakrishan said he was confronted with two questions.
Firstly, if Singapore had known it would cost so much to host the Games, should the Republic have still bid for the Games?

Of course must say 'Yes' lah ... die die also must say 'yes'. 'No' also must become 'yes'. If say 'no', sure kena hang by old man ...

Equalisation

Of course must say 'Yes' lah ... die die also must say 'yes'. 'No' also must become 'yes'. If say 'no', sure kena hang by old man ...

Old Man was angry but not with him, but someone else.

Kay leng kia only knows how to talk but cannot count :biggrin:

He sure can count, you are a poor, lesser mortal SINgaporeans, he can budget wether you eat at resturant, foodcourt, or styrofoam box meals by SFI.

One thing I would like to ask, what the difference between " Chap Cheng" and " chow hair' ( smelly prawns)??

This was a good opportunity to upgrade Sg (otherwise inferior) sports facilities to Olympic standards.

Moron, upgrade of sports facilities was only $76 million. The other $300 million was a pure waste. If they spend $300 million developing our football team, swimmers, sailers, etc. we would have world class teams in 10 years.

These sports facilities were mostly empty during the games. What makes u think they will be enjoyed in the future for lesser events? The sports facilities cost only $76 million for the upgrades. What happened to the other $300 million?

rodent2005

My grouse is not that Singapore spent too much,but too little. What's a mere $600 million for an event like this? China spent $40 billion on Olympics, we could have used YOG to spend a mere $3 billion to make Singapore's YOG a kick-ass event that no YOG host can emulate. 40K capacity stadiums in Toa Payoh, Bishan, Ang Mo Kio, Marine Parade etc. Ignore the KPKB who complain about the YOG lanes. When the YOG had long gone, our stadiums will still be there.

Exactly, so what did the PAP spend the $300 million on? Dare the PAP dare to itemise everything they have spent on? Did the PAP build any new stadiums, for example?

What is the tangible justifications for spending the $300 million? Is the forecasted benefits met? Are the numbers audited?

What are the items that cause the cost over-runs of 3 times? How come they missed it in the initial budget? Who approved the budget over-runs?