• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Vivian : "We underestimated YOG's budget!"

Balls2U

Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports, Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, says the government underestimated the cost in hosting the recent inaugural Youth Olympic Games (YOG).

The initial estimate for the inaugural YOG was S$104 million, but the total cost overshot the original budget by three times to S$387 million.

Speaking in Parliament on Wednesday, Dr Balakrishnan responded to questions from several MPs on the YOG budget and said: “Our initial budget estimates during the bid phase were inaccurate. This was the first-ever Youth Olympic Games. Quite frankly, both the IOC (International Olympic Committee) and us were starting from scratch.”

He added that the requirements and cost for several major functional areas in hosting the Games were under-budgeted and the finalised specifications and standards for the YOG events were only determined after Singapore won the right to host the Games.

When it became clear that initial cost estimates were wrong, Dr Balakrishan said he was confronted with two questions.

Firstly, if Singapore had known it would cost so much to host the Games, should the Republic have still bid for the Games?

And secondly, did Singapore get value for money from hosting it?

Dr Balakrishnan said the answer to both questions was “yes”.

“Hence we shared this information before the Games, and also ensured that we exercised strict fiscal discipline.”

He cautioned that blindly cutting the budget and delivering a sub-standard Games would not have been the right decision.

“To put things in context, we should look at the two most recent Olympic Games and the next,” he said.

“The YOG was about one-third the scale of the Beijing Summer Olympic Games 2008 which featured 11,000 athletes but Singapore’s projected spending for the YOG was about 10 per cent that of Beijing’s expenditure, which came to S$3.9 billion, excluding capital expenditure.

“Based on recent reports, the provisional budget for the 2012 London Olympics now stands at S$19.2 billion, including infrastructure.”

Dr Balakrishnan said that, at the end of the day, Singapore delivered an inaugural YOG that received high praise from the International Olympic Committee, the international federations, athletes and guests, and that, most importantly, Singaporeans were proud of the collective achievement.

:oIo:

wizard

You are forgiven.. it is an honest mistake.. blar blar..

you PAP mah.. we peasant talk too much later kana sue

... Dr Balakrishnan said that, at the end of the day, Singapore delivered an inaugural YOG that received high praise from the International Olympic Committee, the international federations, athletes and guests, and that, most importantly, Singaporeans were proud of the collective achievement. ...
gr8! ...

tis yog is chicken feet ... 4 small flies oni ...

sg shud b doing bigger tings ... like hosting ze real olympics! ...

diversifyx2

Its a smoke grenade lah, they knew its costly to host the YOG and they are afraid that sgreans will kpkb if the actual cost is that high, and now they said underestimated the cost, lanlan liao lor, game over liao lor.

The fact that even PAP MPs are questioning YOG speaks volumes about it. If it's so successful, wouldn't PAP MPs be falling all over themselves with praises and clamoring for share of credits instead of questions? What "value for money" is Viv Bala talking about? What benefits have Singapore and Singaporeans generally gained from it?

Underestimation of budgeting at point of bidding is either stupidity, incompetence or negligence, especially when it's with public money, not his grandfather's money.

Singaporeans proud of the achievement? This must be Viv Bala at his humorous best. Achieved what? Proud of what?

The fact that even PAP MPs are questioning YOG speaks volumes about it.

It's all wayang. They have to bring it up because the ground is very unhappy. After Viv's impertinent response, it will be cased closed. We need more opposition in the parliament to ask REAL questions.

I've posted this before: Unless the tangible returns increase proportionately, it is a deadly sin to overrun a project budget by 3.8 times in the corporate world.

The whole thing just stinks of poor governance. One would only expect this kind of reckless spending to happen for bachelor party. Not a government event.

>Singaporeans proud of the achievement? This must be Viv Bala at his humorous best. Achieved what? Proud of what? >

We the citizen of SINgapore, with great pleasure,to present Doktor Vivien Bolaoverran with:

1ers Jeux Olympiques de la Jeunesse d'ete

Du 14 au 26 aout 2010

DOKTOR VIVIEN BOLAOVERRAN

En reconnaissance de votre performance et de votre contribution, au succes des 1ers Jeux Olympiques de la jeunesse d'ete

Please inform da doktor to collect ze award from 1 Kay Siand Road, Singapore 248922

ChaoPappyPoodle

I will wager a bet that the reason why they first made public the amount spent was to create a hype that this was a big event. This was to counter the early feedback that response was minimal.

Then things backfired as Singaporeans remembered that this was the same minister that made it such an issue to raise $30 a month to help the elderly and destitute, many who are not able to earn a living in today's society.

This Vivian guy is certainly not made out to be a leader in public office. He is so into himself and has very little appreciation for the common man.
Serve him right! And all this pre-scripted question and mother-hen answers without merit are typical wayang from the PAPies.

He is not spending his money, but the public, but the public have no right to question their wisdom, you ask too much; the will say you over step your boundary.

If he is still around, & when an increase in social welfare is up for mention, the oppostion must remember to ask our dear minister this,?

He wants S.E.A. games, Asia Games or Olypic Games..after all they worth it, evern it ovrun by 100 times...

But you common man, the lesser mortals , the unfortunate, please strive for the SFI food packet standard!, and remember, you are heavily sudsidized...please don't ask for more, for we project you get $20, you get $20, the budget wont over run 1,000 times.

ha ha ha ha Vote wisely!!

Semaj2357

I hope he has budgetted for the removal of the YOG lane markings as I still see them around, unless this middle lane leads to either a restaurant or a foodcourt...

Two nights ago, a friend now working in a government establishment (and volunteered for YOG) called...

Friend : I've been reading some old postings about YOG and find you've been too critical.

Me : What's up? It's been several weeks since YOG is over.

Friend : Yes, but you weren't there and you don't understand, it's money well spent.

Me : I think public raising question about three-fold over-budgeting was and still is a valid question.

Friend : Yes, yes, you and your valid question, but you wasn't there to see that it was money well spent.

Me : What about the skimpish little meal boxes and food poisoning cases?

Friend : I don't know about that. I had 5-course buffet every meal.

Me : It was reported in Stomp! and The Straits Times, and all over the internet. There had been no official denial.

Friend : I've never seen the meal boxes, it was always 5-course buffet. The reporters may get into trouble.

Me : Alright then, I'd like to see some official denials and reporters' apologies.

Friend : You're on the radar screen for talking too much too critically.

Me : It's alright, I've been through it all on both sides and am prepared.

Friend : I've been promoted and will be sent to China on course for next few weeks.

Me : Congrats. Good luck. Don't worry about me.

cooleo

Dr Balakrishnan said that, at the end of the day, Singapore delivered an inaugural YOG that received high praise from the International Olympic Committee, the international federations, athletes and guests, and that, most importantly, Singaporeans were proud of the collective achievement.

When all words have been exhausted, there's nothing left to say but....

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

>Singaporeans were proud of the collective achievement>

That would be the 66.6% who will say that Vivien Bolaoverran fart every 30 seconds, is damn good.

The bottom line is that they overspent.
He and his people prepared a budget and they would either stay within it or exceed it. They exceeded it.
Has any MP had the courage to ask the honourable ministar what they spent on and what specifically they overspent on?

Q: "Did SG get value from the YOG?"
A: "Yes."
Wow, what a good question and a really brilliant answer. School kids, next time your teacher asks you whether you did your homework; working adults, next time your boss asks you whether the project you recommended is a good one, you know how to reply.

"We exercised strict fiscal discipline".
An important part of exercising strict fiscal discipline is to prepare an accurate and relevant budget and to stay within it.

The bottom line is that they overspent.
He and his people prepared a budget and they would either stay within it or exceed it. They exceeded it.
Has any MP had the courage to ask the honourable ministar what they spent on and what specifically they overspent on?

Q: "Did SG get value from the YOG?"
A: "Yes."
Wow, what a good question and a really brilliant answer. School kids, next time your teacher asks you whether you did your homework; working adults, next time your boss asks you whether the project you recommended is a good one, you know how to reply.

An important part of exercising strict fiscal discipline is to prepare an accurate and relevant budget and to stay within it.

Good points. The fact that they constantly defend the high pay they get by saying they are the best that money can buy puts an onus on their to demonstrate their superlative abilities on a regular basis. Going 3.8 times over budget is a demonstration that they are incompetent and need a pay cut. The bidget would have been at least 5 times over budget were it not for the forced "volunteering" of school children, NSmen, etc. For an event of such low stature, it is not necessary to house teams and delegations in 5 star hotels, pay for their airfare, etc.

And for Vivian Balaoverbudget to compare this with the summer or winter Olympics is a joke. Those events can afford to spend a lot more because the TV contracts from all over the world amounts to billions$. Sponsors bid each other up to be the official suppliers. Got such thing for the YOG meh?

When you're a kid, your parents give you $100 pocket money. Next week, go tell them you overspent and owe classmates $400, see how?

When you grow up, your company tells you to bid for a project at $100k, bid and go back to your boss and report OK. A few months later, tell your boss, can't be done, must increase budget to $400k, see how?

If you passed those two tests unscathed, you're of ministerial calibre. When you become minister, bid something for $100m ending up costing $400m is just an underestimation of budget.

He is not spending his money, but the public, but the public have no right to question their wisdom, you ask too much; the will say you over step your boundary.

If he is still around, & when an increase in social welfare is up for mention, the oppostion must remember to ask our dear minister this,?

He wants S.E.A. games, Asia Games or Olypic Games..after all they worth it, evern it ovrun by 100 times...

But you common man, the lesser mortals , the unfortunate, please strive for the SFI food packet standard!, and remember, you are heavily sudsidized...please don't ask for more, for we project you get $20, you get $20, the budget wont over run 1,000 times.

ha ha ha ha Vote wisely!!

This raises many other issues too. If this was overun by so much, what about other major projects like the MRT, and its new line, Terminal 3, etc. Were all these overuns also? If so, how so they justify their pay?

CCBcsj

My grouse is not that Singapore spent too much,but too little. What's a mere $600 million for an event like this? China spent $40 billion on Olympics, we could have used YOG to spend a mere $3 billion to make Singapore's YOG a kick-ass event that no YOG host can emulate. 40K capacity stadiums in Toa Payoh, Bishan, Ang Mo Kio, Marine Parade etc. Ignore the KPKB who complain about the YOG lanes. When the YOG had long gone, our stadiums will still be there.

Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports, Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, says the government underestimated the cost in hosting the recent inaugural Youth Olympic Games (YOG).

And for Vivian Balaoverbudget to compare this with the summer or winter Olympics is a joke. Those events can afford to spend a lot more because the TV contracts from all over the world amounts to billions$. Sponsors bid each other up to be the official suppliers. Got such thing for the YOG meh?
Money in: No need to explain how.

Money out: Never provide a list of items spent on and overspent on.

You ask him too much, he ask you whether you want to eat at restaurant, food court or hawker centre.

When you're a kid, your parents give you $100 pocket money. Next week, go tell them you overspent and owe classmates $400, see how?

When you grow up, your company tells you to bid for a project at $100k, bid and go back to your boss and report OK. A few months later, tell your boss, can't be done, must increase budget to $400k, see how?

If you passed those two tests unscathed, you're of ministerial calibre. When you become minister, bid something for $100m ending up costing $400m is just an underestimation of budget.
The best part is when the parents ask the kid "Will you spend the money wisely?" and when the boss asks the grown up kid "Is the project a good one?", his "answer to both questions is yes".