• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

VB blames the weather

Lucian Darth

Taken fr satay club

I was woken up by thunder at 6:30 AM this morning. It soon became obvious that it would be a busy day. I couldn't turn right from Farrer Road to Bukit Timah Road due to the flood and another car was stuck in front. I had to take a detour over the Lornie Road flyover and PIE to ultimately reach the MEWR Building.

When I arrived at the PUB Ops Room, they told me that the storm was even worse than last year, and there were floods in MacPherson, Balestier, Bukit Timah and Tanglin areas. In one morning, a 124 mm of rain had fallen in the central areas of Singapore - this is almost 80% of the usual rainfall for the whole month of June. In fact, more than half of the total, 65 mm, had fallen within half an hour.

After touring some affected buildings (the worst affected was Tanglin Mall), I met the press to share my preliminary thoughts on the issue of flooding. Preliminary because I have only been two weeks on the job, and I am not an engineer.

There are five key questions:

Has the weather in Singapore changed?

This is not an easy question to answer. The meteorologists tell me that they need more long term data before they can give us a conclusive answer. However, the successive incidents of higher and more intense rainfall over the past few years certainly raises this probability. In any event, we don't have the luxury to wait for complete answers before taking action. Hence, I intend to work on the presumption that our weather has changed. With global warming, and high evaporation, we should also expect greater rainfall, especially in the tropics. If so, then we should be psychologically and practically prepared for even more intense storms in the future.

Do our planning norms need to be revised?

The PUB has done a great job over the past five decades. In fact the professionals have been so successful that floods became almost a rarity until recently. Nevertheless, if the weather patterns have changed, then PUB needs to review all the assumptions and planning norms that underlie our current drainage plans. If we need to do more, then we will have to find the resources and invest in the appropriate infrastructure.

How can we best secure the safety of the public?

Whilst analysis and plans will take time, we must take urgent action to secure safety. The recent tragedy in Mandalay Road was a stark reminder. That is why I have asked PUB to systematically review every single flood prone area and take all necessary action to ensure public safety. There must be done urgently and comprehensively. Singaporeans can also help by highlighting areas and suggestions to the PUB.

How can we keep our roads passable to traffic despite heavy rain?

PUB and LTA need to work more closely to study the engineering aspects of our roads and drainage systems. They are interlinked, and require joint expertise.

How can we better protect buildings so that businesses and other activities are not disrupted?

I saw first hand the damage that a flood can wreak on businesses and other activities within buildings. Tanglin Mall has never had a serious flood since it was built 15 years ago. Unfortunately, the deluge of water today overcame the precautions they took, and the drainage pumps subsequently failed leaving the building defenceless. PUB, BCA and building owners will have to take professional advice on additional measures that are necessary. Perhaps we need to take a risk based approach, based on the location of the buildings - some buildings may require additional precautions and backup systems.

Conclusion

We are dealing with Nature, and Man needs to be humble when addressing the challenges that Nature poses. There will always be uncertainty, and sometimes despite our best efforts, we cannot win. We will be open and transparent. We will share as much data in real time as possible so that solutions and precautions can be devised for the immediate and long term.

A resident posted on the Holland Bukit Timah facebook wall that "It is nothing too difficult to solve". I'm afraid it is actually quite difficult to solve. Therefore I cannot guarantee outcomes.

My colleagues and I will do our best. I can assure Singaporeans that flood prevention will be high up on my list of priorities.

Hmm, we shall see what he say when the next flood happen. :confused::eek:

mscitw

Half Breed Viv should be humble and stop blaming the weather and donate his pay if he cannot think of a solution to resolve the 'once in 50 years flooding'.

For smarter and wiser peasants, they understood the barrage, a self glorification white elephant to praise Old Autocrat is the cause of all this misery.

Re: VB blames the weather - and Yakult

And so, it has been yet another 50 years. Note that he is NOT taking responsibility and holds his predecessor Yakult for incompetence?

Taken fr satay club

I was woken up by thunder at 6:30 AM this morning. It soon became obvious that it would be a busy day. I couldn't turn right from Farrer Road to Bukit Timah Road due to the flood and another car was stuck in front. I had to take a detour over the Lornie Road flyover and PIE to ultimately reach the MEWR Building.

When I arrived at the PUB Ops Room, they told me that the storm was even worse than last year, and there were floods in MacPherson, Balestier, Bukit Timah and Tanglin areas. In one morning, a 124 mm of rain had fallen in the central areas of Singapore - this is almost 80% of the usual rainfall for the whole month of June. In fact, more than half of the total, 65 mm, had fallen within half an hour. These figures need to be verified. Last year, 'wrong' figures were stated.

After touring some affected buildings (the worst affected was Tanglin Mall), I met the press to share my preliminary thoughts on the issue of flooding. Preliminary because I have only been two weeks on the job, and I am not an engineer. Old habits die hard. "Not my fault, again." He's an eye-surgeon, remember?

There are five key questions:

Has the weather in Singapore changed?

This is not an easy question to answer. The meteorologists tell me that they need more long term data before they can give us a conclusive answer.These floods have happened for the past 150 years and they still need long term data? Another overpaid Civil Servant at the Met station. However, the successive incidents of higher and more intense rainfall over the past few years certainly raises this probability. Wow, quite a good reason; I am so impressed. In any event, we don't have the luxury to wait for complete answers before taking action. "What was that stupid Yakult doing all these years? Hence, I intend to work on the presumption that our weather has changed. With global warming, and high evaporation, we should also expect greater rainfall, especially in the tropics. If so, then we should be psychologically and practically prepared for even more intense storms in the future. In other words, "I am smarter than Yakult".

Do our planning norms need to be revised?

The PUB has done a great job over the past five decades. In fact the professionals have been so successful that floods became almost a rarity until recently. Platitudes, platitudes!Nevertheless, if the weather patterns have changed, then PUB needs to review all the assumptions and planning norms that underlie our current drainage plans. If we need to do more, then we will have to find the resources and invest in the appropriate infrastructure.That stupid Yakult again.

How can we best secure the safety of the public?

Whilst analysis and plans will take time, we must take urgent action to secure safety. I am impressed. Really!The recent tragedy in Mandalay Road was a stark reminder. That is why I have asked PUB to systematically review every single flood prone area and take all necessary action to ensure public safety. What have they been doing since the last few floods?There must be done urgently and comprehensively. Yakult, I am really pissed by now.Singaporeans can also help by highlighting areas and suggestions to the PUB. Well, maybe he has not been reading the newspapers. Residents have been complaining over the past few years about the floods in Mandalay Road and all it took was one disaster for the railings to be up the next day.

How can we keep our roads passable to traffic despite heavy rain?

PUB and LTA need to work more closely to study the engineering aspects of our roads and drainage systems. They are interlinked, and require joint expertise.Ya, get those other buggers of ministers to do some work and stop blaming me for everything.

How can we better protect buildings so that businesses and other activities are not disrupted?

I saw first hand the damage that a flood can wreak on businesses and other activities within buildings. Tanglin Mall has never had a serious flood since it was built 15 years ago. Unfortunately, the deluge of water today overcame the precautions they took, and the drainage pumps subsequently failed leaving the building defenceless. PUB, BCA and building owners will have to take professional advice on additional measures that are necessary. Perhaps we need to take a risk based approach, based on the location of the buildings - some buildings may require additional precautions and backup systems.Same shit talk, different day.

Conclusion

We are dealing with Nature, and Man needs to be humble when addressing the challenges that Nature poses. There will always be uncertainty, and sometimes despite our best efforts, we cannot win. We will be open and transparent.Transparent? What is THAT? We will share as much data in real time as possible so that solutions and precautions can be devised for the immediate and long term.

A resident posted on the Holland Bukit Timah facebook wall that "It is nothing too difficult to solve". I'm afraid it is actually quite difficult to solve. Therefore I cannot guarantee outcomes.For the kind of salary that we are paying our maids, we should be getting better answers than this!

My colleagues and I will do our best. I can assure Singaporeans that flood prevention will be high up on my list of priorities. Promises, promises. Talk is cheap.

Hmm, we shall see what he say when the next flood happen. :confused::eek:

karmabear

Hmm JB rain but don't have these problems... But we have... Weather very selective hor... Only Singapore get this... Fucking prick cannot even address the cause properly, blame the weather... KNN

Lucian Darth

My fav para is the Conclusion: Taiji level 101

We are dealing with Nature, and Man needs to be humble when addressing the challenges that Nature poses.There will always be uncertainty, and sometimes despite our best efforts, we cannot win.Another way of saying it is God's fault for creating rain? :mad:We can't win God, therefore cannot win? :mad:Like that die lor, flood also cannot win, must blame God then if sway sway kena tsunami how. :eek: We will be open and transparent. A Hint that we will get to see things under water more often?:eek:We will share as much data in real time as possible so that solutions and precautions can be devised for the immediate and long term.

A resident posted on the Holland Bukit Timah facebook wall that "It is nothing too difficult to solve". I'm afraid it is actually quite difficult to solve. Therefore I cannot guarantee outcomes.MY FAV PART!!! Paying him sooooo much $$ a mth to give such reply!!!I also can do lah:mad::mad::*::*::confused::confused::confused:

My colleagues and I will do our best. I can assure Singaporeans that flood prevention will be high up on my list of priorities.I sincerely hope that his priorities' list is not too long. High on the list? How high is high? Ankle high? Knee High? Or neck high?:eek:

<iframe width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/NwrL9MV6jSk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Lucian Darth

<iframe width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/NwrL9MV6jSk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

:biggrin:LOLX! Me like your ur evil sense of humor! Too bad my balls too small, if not really tempted to post this vid on VB's fb!!!:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::rolleyes:

Gotta blame it on something

Blame it on the rain (rain)
Blame it on the stars (stars)
Whatever you do don't put the blame on you
Blame it on the rain yeah yeah
You can blame it on the rain
Get
Ooh, ooh (ooh)
I can't, I can't. I can't, can't stand the rain
Yeah, yeah
Should've told her you were sorry (sorry) huh
Could have said you were wrong
But no you couldn't do that. No, no
You had to prove you were strong ooh
If you hadn't been so blinded (blinded)
She might still be there with you
You want her back again
But she just don't feel the same
[ Lyrics from: http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/m/milli_vanilli/blame_it_on_the_rain.html ]
Blame it on the rain that was falling, falling
Blame it on the stars that did shine at night

Cos the rain don't mind
And the rain don't care
You got to blame it on something
(Blame it on the rain)
(Blame it on the stars)
Blame it on the rain yeah, yeah
Girl

Ooh, ooh (ooh)
Girl

Get
Girl
(Whatever you do...)
(Blame it on the rain yeah, yeah) x 3
You can blame it on the rain, blame it on the rain,
Blame it on the rain baby
(Blame it on the rain yeah yeah)
Blame it on the stars that did shine that night
(Blame it on the rain yeah yeah)
Blame it, blame it on the rain
Woo
I'm walking
I'm walking

Walking in the rain

(Rain, rain)
(Stars, stars)
(Blame it on the rain)
Yeah yeah
(Blame it on the rain)
That keeps falling, falling
(Blame it on the stars)
That did shine that night
Blame it on the rain (rain, rain)

too bad i dont have gd pc skill ..if not going to make a music video on VB singing that song in the rain ...sorry :wink: hope mr brown read this ...

Lucian Darth

too bad i dont have gd pc skill ..if not going to make a music video on VB singing that song in the rain ...sorry :wink: hope mr brown read this ...

Thanks for the lyrics! Good idea! That shd b fun, if can make such a vid sure kena a lot of 'like' on u tube! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

no problem bro , glad you enjoyed it ...guess we all want fun on the expenses of PAP mistakes ...:wink: cheers . one wrong move from them sure kena tekan jilat jilat from all of us :wink:

by the way ..his name also got a V with a dark skin too ..:wink: must photoshop his hair with a draglocks ...:wink:

PAP_Junta

VB blames the weather

I blame the voters of Holland Bukit Timah GRC who had voted for this Million $ mini-stir :mad:

Served them right today Bukit Timah not only flooded but also had a landslide with retaining wall collapsed.:biggrin::biggrin:

longbow

1) Just go hire independent drainage specialist/hydrologists. Must be independent then come out with report. If it is due to Marina Barrage (MM's idea) then say so.
2) We act on the suggestions
3) If unsure, get 2 teams of specialists and no input from PUB please.

This is no rocket science.

Bigfuck

First it was once in 50 years. Then it was no problem. Now say got problem. Make up your minds PAP. Floods have economic costs. Govt. should bear it not private sector, especially if government fucks it up.

longbow

We might as well fire the whole lot of ministers and give offerings to the gods to appease mother nature.

They are paid big $ to find solutions. If they cannot do so then, please, move on.

These people are full of excuses.

Windsor

This is darn funny blaming the weather for floods. The rain is normal in Singapore as it has always been, so nothing new there. The reasons being obvious but not admitting it is shameful.

Heavily build up areas causes:
1. Water to flow faster as the grounds are covering the land surfaces so the earth cannot absorb the water,
2. The water table is high due to the compaction of soil worsened by digging deeper into the ground to allow for many basement floors.
3. The drainage system build did not allow for maximum rainfall x 200% to ensure fast removal of water
4. Less open fields, parks and green spaces to absorb water

In the past it can rain heavily continuously for days without any flooding. What Yaacob cannot do, V. Bala eye surgeon can? Remember the same clowns under Yaacob now serving V. Bala, so what else is new? Blaming weather or clogging of drains as usual, but never themselves for bad planning. If this is the current situation with a population of 5 million, goodness me, at 6.5 million which they are planning to have, we will all drown:(

This talk about improvements is same as Yaacob doing the talking. Show proof that there is a change in rainfall. I will eat my hat if today's weather is any different than the past.

ivebert

Damn Funny How Sinkies blame the government instead of the weather

Fucking Losers

Everyone knows that when 80% of the rain falls on 1 day, you get something like this

What's the big deal?

Fucking incompetent local trashes
Have high standards but they are low-standards :oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo: