• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

TKL rejects expert advice

You heard it from the man himself. Tan Kin Lian, former Income Chief that built an Insurance Empire for workers and the man who planned to set in motion a pension fund and regular salaries for NS men famously rejected valuable advice from well known and well regarded political expert.

Today*01:20 PM #15
RamsethAlfrescian (Inf)
My Reputation: 815
Join DateJul 2008
LocationPyramid
Posts12,545
Rep Power16

Re: S$1,500 for NS Originally Posted by Alamaking TKL has lost the plot, lol. His advisors should be shot, including Ramseth, lol

I could only advise and I did advise. What he did is up to him, not me, since he's the one standing, not me. I advised against 100,000 petition campaign, against accusing people smearing him, against threatening to sue people, against blaming others for contesting, against speaking in four languages that would end up speaking in four broken languages by his linguistic standards. What else can I do? It's all up to him.Tonight's the "cool" night and tomorrow I'll go and vote for him. That's all I can do.

Last edited by Ramseth; Today at 01:22 PM.

elephanto

Like Windsor & others, I decided to make a last minute change from TCB to TJS.

My reason is not playing with fire.

I think with TJS as President, politics can evolve.

EP is LKY's unsporting spoiler to any future non-PAP govt.

How a character like TJS will execute the EP role will set forth much needed dynamics.

TJS will tone down for a start as EP, then when his 'private advice' to Cabinet is rejected, let's see how he reacts.
Wil he be subsumed by the system or will he extend the OB markers ...

Even if signs of gridlock begin, sure, good thing....

For George Yeo's transformational PAP to happen, worst must happen to PAP's ego & hubris before positive things can happen ....

Yes, TJS is the right man at the right place at the right time ....

Tan Jee Say, Jin Hor Seh ...

bullfrog

Poor chap! All Tan Jee Say's fault! He played him out.

TKL's greatest contribution to Singaporeans: he was first to announce he was contesting that made Nathan gave up.

But now if he loses, what a martyr.

Windsor

Like Windsor & others, I decided to make a last minute change from TCB to TJS.

My reason is not playing with fire.

I think with TJS as President, politics can evolve.

EP is LKY's unsporting spoiler to any future non-PAP govt.

How a character like TJS will execute the EP role will set forth much needed dynamics.

TJS will tone down for a start as EP, then when his 'private advice' to Cabinet is rejected, let's see how he reacts.
Wil he be subsumed by the system or will he extend the OB markers ...

Even if signs of gridlock begin, sure, good thing....

For George Yeo's transformational PAP to happen, worst must happen to PAP's ego & hubris before positive things can happen ....

Yes, TJS is the right man at the right place at the right time ....

Tan Jee Say, Jin Hor Seh ...

At the very least it is also a sign of changing times when voters get united and vote for the same guy and give the MIW a run for their money. So far all forums I went to indicate more supporting TJS although some prefer other candidates, they see TT as the bigger threat.

Windsor

I am switching too, from TCB to TJS. Let's give the MIW their greatest headache! Let this be GE Part 2.

I would have expected both GMS and Ramseth to come to their senses and realise Singapore is bigger than TKL. Their loyalty to TKL I do understand but to deny Singaporeans a victory is something I cannot accept. As Ram has said, he has given his all to the campaign but voting in someone who does not accept one bit of advice is way too much. I hope he will see the light and think for Singapore and not some lost cause.

elephanto

When the Winds of Change start to blow,
When a new generation of Singaporean Voter lost their fear,

All types will surface - more new media savvy even more articulate & suave (TKL after all is old school).

More will actively seek Politics as a career - be they cynical or patriotic.

It will also be a test of voter maturity.

Beyond visceral outpourings, can we separate the wheat from the chaff?
Can we detect demagogic poseurs or can we perceive genuine passion & competence to match?

Men like JBJ, bleeding heart and all - have a liberal ideal driving them
CSJ, for all his radicalism,in all his published work, is no extreme demon the ruling party has painted him out to be...

LTK, took over WP, can engineered its strength-to-strength success using old-school Lim-Chin-Siong-Chinese-middle-school-type dedication, political streetsmarts and a certain resolve which even LKY grudgingly respect.

LTK has taken up LKY's taunt to move out from SMC to GRC and has had the last laugh for now. With his GRC team (Sylvia+CSM+Pritam Singh), very formidable in national & municipal advocacy...

CST - an old generation idealist with poor party leadership skills - yet he has not only tahan temporarily as his name suggested, but lasted quarter of a century in Parliament House ... his grassroot appeal is something GMS do not have.

Gone are the Seow Khee Lengs, Wong Hon Tois, Sin Kek Tongs, Harbans Singhs, bicycle-thiefs, slipper man etc etc

The Winds of Change will spew forth ex-pap grassroot disgruntleds like that Pwee guy, ex-scholars like that Tony tan couple, bohemians like Alec Tok, ex-EDB/IE/TDBs execs like Gerald Giams etc etc

All, I assure you, will have better public speaking skills than poor Tan Kin Lian...

LKY, distrusted idealism, hence he even publicly concede if not for WW2 circumstances & the times, if today he is young, he would never enter politics, doesn't make sense.

Wary of fellow charismatics like Lim Chin Siong & gang, in his next 2 decade as supreme leader, he stressed technocratic leadership & label any form of excellent oratory as 'charlatans & demagogues', as on top of depopliticising a whole generation of voters using carrot-and-stick, he also used utterly mechanistic methods to induct his PAP successors.

The result?

Heartless, Soul-less, management-by-Objective robots like MBT, WKS, Raymond Lim, YCT, Hairdo Lim, Lee Yock Suan over the years etc etc

of course these guys are human too, but essential they lack the feel & touch of true blue politicos like Low Thia Kiang.

GMS's heart is in the right place, but otherwise from mouth to ego, GMS is highly unelectable, never-mind his previous electoral numbers.

When the tide rises, even none swimmers can float & non-sailors cruise....

It is youngsters like Pritam Singh, no not Edmund Ng of SEO-fame, Vincent Wijey, Alec Tok that will form the next wave ...

The scions & white horse boys are also coming onto the scene, Lee Yock Suan's son for example & 'Little-India-very-dark' CBT-tainted ex-Jln Besar MP Choo Wee Khiang's son is that young Desmond Choo who talked cock & cry foul in the recent Aljunied GRC PA-kiasu-then-cry-wolf-childish-they-start-first pathethic sideshow.

PE 2011 is just a harbinger of things to come ...

Asking for Votes or Deciding how to vote - that is the sacrosanct right as well as awesome responsibility for every voting Singaporean in the next 6 years.

My land, our country, our economic & social livelihood, so long as we fucking live here, we must have the right kind of leaders to serve us.

Oh, the technocratics have all these wonderful vision : the Garden by the Bay, new downtown Financial Hub, revamped Orchard Road, Punggol 21 etc etc
F1, F2, Youth Olympics, Asian Games even, 5th 6th University, Terminal 4 or 5 .....

Will we citizens be destitutes in our own country - a glistening metropolis with world-class this & that, yet all of us, living lives of quite desperation, living from hand to mouth, striving to make ends meet and fluttering n Wed/Sat/Sun & the casinos, because that is the only game of chance open to our pathethic lives...

Along the way, all kinds of Messiahs, promising $1500 (why not make it $2500 then they can qualify for credit cards) for NSF, $x for retirees (who is a retiree at what age in future nobody knows), etc etc etc

Money all in past reserves, limpei also can be fucking generous what ! No Brainer !

So, fellow Singaporeans, surf, lurk, post, KPKB, flame, spam, go nuclear like Uncle Yap or bonkers or cranky like all our famous resident characters here,
off line,

our lives must go on ..., GE or PE or what E .....

This is my country, this is my land, this is my future, this is my life !
This is my family, these are my friends, we are Singapore, SINGAPOREANS !

Majullah Singapura !

Windsor

@ Elephanto,

Bro, you take my breath away with such prose. I like it as it resonates well with my feelings too.

Firstly I am disappointed with TCB for not making a decent attempt at both the TOC and CNA forums. These are important as voters need to know a candidate's position. He did not seem interested. His rally was poor because it turned out to be testimonial and a eulogy would not be out of place.

However I am still voting for him on the basis that he is going to garner more votes than TJS and certainly more than TKL. If I thought TJS would at least rank higher than TCB, I would have chosen him. The reading however does not indicate that. TCB is well known for his past work over many years. He did much more and these are things that people remember. He thus has a voter base of some size and needs to attract swing voters.

TJS however is not well regarded in the corporate world. He has not done well in every position since he left Govt. This is no secret. In fact his last organisation did not do well and they folded. He has not been able to secure a decent tenure of a similar position since. That is the reason why he was asked about job hopping. I would not elaborate until after the polls. Because of this, he does not have a natural voter base compared to TCB. He will cannibalise TKL's voter base because of the latter's incompetent performance from the very start and he will pull in swing voters from TCB due to his lackluster performance.

I am also concerned how TJS got the COE. This is a govt that I have never trusted.

By the way I fully intend to give the PAP Govt a bloody nose and I have no interest in the office of President as I feel that it is joke and Nathan made sure of that.

So Scroo...are you still going to vote TCB?

Windsor

I am also concerned how TJS got the COE. This is a govt that I have never trusted.

By the way I fully intend to give the PAP Govt a bloody nose and I have no interest in the office of President as I feel that it is joke and Nathan made sure of that.

Fair enough. My feel is that the 40's age group will have a bigger influence over their old relatives and more internet savvy, therefore TCB's reliance on the older generation has been eroded. He has also been out of the limelight sice he left the government. TJS will be one of the youngest EP we will have and also the younger set do not have that loyalty to the old guards. Let us see what the hap[ens later today.

Cheers.:smile:

Perspective

Good point. One thing I worry is TJS will do exactly what PAP would want to do to an opposition government. Get a PAP president installed then jam the new government.

But what if TJS does that when we are in the midst of crisis? Yes it will teach PAP a lesson but we suffer while they rest on their millions. No matter what, PAP is far from out of the government yet.

I'll vote TCB only because he's not the chap the PAP wants as President, yet not one that appeals to the opposition and supporters.

jujim

However I am still voting for him on the basis that he is going to garner more votes than TJS and certainly more than TKL. If I thought TJS would at least rank higher than TCB, I would have chosen him. The reading however does not indicate that. TCB is well known for his past work over many years. He did much more and these are things that people remember. He thus has a voter base of some size and needs to attract swing voters.

After last night's broadcast, I am sure more will make the same decision. My "wishful" hope is TCB will get more than 50%. :biggrin:

applei

TCB cant even handle mandarin.
At least TT did attempt to speak mandarin although it is terrible, but that only says that TCB's mandarin cannot make it.
In the era where USA and Europe are struggling in their economies, and the boom is still in China.
As a Chinese, and if he cannot speak good mandarin, he is OUT! What has TCB and TT been doing all their 71 years?

So Scroo...are you still going to vote TCB?

3_M

TCB cant even handle mandarin.
At least TT did attempt to speak mandarin although it is terrible, but that only says that TCB's mandarin cannot make it.
In the era where USA and Europe are struggling in their economies, and the boom is still in China.
As a Chinese, and if he cannot speak good mandarin, he is OUT! What has TCB and TT been doing all their 71 years?

He did spoke in Mandarin, just visit his website to see for yourself. At least he speaks decent hokkien. Good enough for me.

I am determined not to fall into PAP ploy to split TCB base.

Trying to tell his cheapskate patients to pay with NETS rather than veggies and eggs.

Gave up and sold his soul to the mafia.

kukubird58

hahaha......always sensationalising thread titles......ah ram an expert??
always complaining about the whores in braddel road.......but behaved worst than them.........