• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Workers' Party

sengkang

The Workers' Party

He Ting Ru: We seek a robust system with accountable democracy, judicial independence, and a responsible public sphere.
We repeat our call for the ISA to be replaced with a a dedicated anti-terrorism law.

11898782_1167130076636907_1548692042830846109_n.jpg

sengkang

The Workers' Party

The floor is now open for Q&A.
Gerald Giam: We cannot continue to assume that the model that has brought us here today is going to continue for the next 50 years. We cannot be a nation that is locked in our past. The PAP does not have all the answers.

11960083_1167132036636711_4112057893871264082_n.jpg

sengkang

The Workers' Party

That's all for our Manifesto 2015 launch today. You can download a copy of our Manifesto on our website, wp.sg.

11960205_1167144449968803_6212520110005799997_n.jpg

sengkang

The Workers' Party

Manifestocover.jpg

The Workers’ Party believes the next step for Singapore lies in balanced reforms grounded in a comprehensive vision. The time has come to move beyond short-term fixes for long-standing problems. The future of Singapore lies in active investment in our fellow Singaporeans here and now. The time has come to empower a dynamic and confident people.

Singapore does not need blind economic growth; we need compassionate and equitable growth. We are tired of the myth of Singaporeans needing to bite the bullet in the hope that wealth generated at the top will trickle down eventually. This myth has resulted in severe inequality and discouraged enterprise in the past decade.

In order to tackle the challenges facing Singapore in the next decades, we need to unlock the dynamism and confidence innate in Singaporeans. Our Manifesto 2015 builds upon our vision of focusing on Singaporeans and calls for economic, social, urban, governance and security policies that can create the conditions where the dynamism and confidence of Singaporeans can be unleashed to achieve our aspirations together.

We believe that empowering Singaporeans entails a system of government where there are adequate checks and balances without political gridlock. The legislature must play this crucial role to check a powerful executive and push it to make well-balanced policies and laws that protect and advance the people’s interests.

Singapore is now a mature and diverse society. We are more than ready for a Parliament with different political voices to engage the executive branch led by the Prime Minister and his cabinet ministers. A diverse Parliament is critical in assisting the executive to make sounder judgments about policy trade-offs.

A Parliament monopolised by one party fails the test of rigorous debate and voting in forging sound policies. This grave imbalance gives free rein to the ruling party to take our country in any direction it deems fit. A Parliament that includes MPs from a rational, responsible and respectable opposition party compels the government to listen to the collective wisdom of the people.

A complex and uncertain future lies ahead. We have depended on a small group of talents in a single party to lead us in earlier times. This formula is no longer adequate. We need to build and revive institutions to empower Singaporeans and unleash our talents to move ahead with confidence. This can only be achieved through a balanced Parliament. Your future is in your hands. Empower your future!

sengkang

Manifestocover.jpg

The Workers’ Party’s Manifesto 2015 is inspired by the symbols of our beloved national flag: the crescent moon and five stars that we have seen displayed with pride everywhere during our Golden Jubilee celebrations this year.

The crescent moon on our flag represents a young nation on the ascendant. Chapter 1 Focusing on the Singaporean Core elaborates our vision of an independent Singapore at 50 years of age marching confidently forward. Our priorities are to adopt a Singaporean-core population policy to mitigate an ageing society and limit foreign manpower growth to grow a sustainable economy.

The five stars on our national flag represent the ideals of progress, equality, justice, democracy and peace. The Workers’ Party’s Manifesto 2015 is inspired by these ideals to offer over 130 policy proposals grouped thematically in five chapters each expressing one of the ideals. Our principle of focusing on the Singaporean core threads through the five chapters:

Chapter 2 (progress) calls for economic security to foster Confident Workers and Enterprises that would bring Singapore to the next level of development.

Chapter 3 (equality) seeks to strengthen our education, family, social welfare and healthcare institutions to help Aspiring Students and Families realise their dreams.

Chapter 4 (justice) envisions a Singapore that is Our City, Our Home, Co-Created by Singaporeans with strong roots to our land.

Chapter 5 (democracy) pursues Governance for Solidarity guided by political accountability, transparency, balance and responsibility.

Chapter 6 (peace) proposes Active Diplomacy, Confident Defence to make Singapore a good citizen of the world promoting peace and development.

Some of our key proposals are to:

1. Increase workers’ incomes by increasing the cash payout portion of Workfare, instituting a national minimum wage and pegging it to the Average Household Expenditure on Basic Needs, and introducing an Employment Security Fund to provide for unemployment insurance.
2. Enhance retirement adequacy by allowing CPF members to start receiving monthly CPF payouts earlier, linking CPF LIFE and Silver Support payouts to inflation, and paying special dividends to CPF members in years of good return on investment of CPF monies.

3. Implement a more holistic and equitable education system by reducing class sizes, moving away from high-stakes examinations, offering a 10-Year Through Train School Programme from Primary 1 to Secondary 4, and introducing a Career and Life Skills Programme to raise awareness of less mainstream professions where students can realise their potential.

4. Improve healthcare affordability and outcomes
by enhancing subsidies for preventive and primary care, improving health literacy among the population, increasing the utilisation of healthcare technologies, and setting clear performance targets for health and social care providers.

5. Improve public transport quality and affordability
by having a government-owned National Transport Corporation own and manage rail and bus assets, audit public transport operators’ performance standards, and set fares in consultation with stakeholders, with fares linked to operators’ performance, service quality and reliability.

6. Make public housing more affordable and accessible to lower and middle income Singaporeans by pegging HDB BTO flat prices to median monthly household income of applicants, enabling them to pay off their mortgage within 20 years, and by facilitating the elderly who wish to sublet their flats to increase their retirement income.

sengkang

The Workers' Party

Launch of WP News App
[h=3]Download the App![/h]

For Android users, download it here.​

Download App
For Apple users, the WP News App will be available for download in the App Store soon.​

The WP News App is a platform for WP members, volunteers, supporters and all Singaporeans to conveniently keep updated about the latest news about WP.

Key features:
– Read the latest news stories from WP, including press statements, MPs’ and election candidates’ speeches, feature stories and more.

– Share news stories with your friends and family via social media, messaging apps and email.
– Receive push notifications of breaking news stories from WP.
– Adjust settings to turn on/off push notifications and sound, as well as choose the news categories to display.

app11.jpg

app31.png

app21.jpg

sengkang

[h=5][h=2]Daniel Goh 吴佩松[/h]Public Figure

The Workers' Party Manifesto 2015 is launched! Click on link below to download it. Here's the text of my speech on Chapter 1 of the Manifesto: FOCUSING ON THE SINGAPOREAN CORE.

As you all might know, one of the key debates that the Workers’ Party MPs were involved in the last Parliament was the debate on the Population White Paper in early 2013. The government had named its population policy A Sustainable Population for a Dynamic Singapore. The emphasis was to use immigration to grow the population to make sure the economy remains dynamic. The Workers’ Party reversed the emphasis. We called for A Dynamic Population for a Sustainable Singapore.

Chapter 1 is a reiteration of our policy paper published after the Population White Paper debate. If we want to co-create a sustainable Singapore that will thrive to SG100, we need to focus on fostering a dynamic population instead. Our key idea here is to drop immigration as a tool to plug in the gaps of a low-fertility ageing society and to adopt an almost obsessive, persistent focus on empowering the Singaporean core instead.

First, let me say that the ruling party has misunderstood the problems of low fertility as well as the ageing society. Surveys after surveys show that most young Singaporeans aspire to get married, settle down and have children. The problem is not with the mindsets of young Singaporeans. It is therefore important to stop talking down to young Singaporeans and telling them to get on and have children. They want to. Something is stopping them. We need to solve the structural problems that prevent young Singaporeans from having kids.

We need to improve the Singaporean family’s quality of life to boost birth rates. The direct carrot-and-stick approach does not recognise that young Singaporeans have to make decisions to start a family in a complex environment with a murky future. We need to clarify the future and empower young couples. Our education system needs to change to a less stressful system that encourages innovation. Greater financial support should be given to families with young children. Flexi-work arrangements, better family care leave, and other work-life balance policies are required to improve birth rates.

The Workers’ Party is neither anti-immigration nor anti-immigrant. We propose a pro-Singaporean immigration policy. In line with our focus on the Singaporean core, we believe the best way to integrate first-generation immigrants is through the family. Foreign spouses of Singaporeans should be given priority for citizenship, as they naturally integrate with a Singaporean family. This is also important because marriages between Singaporeans and non-Singaporeans are on the rise.

Like the attitude towards young couples, the government’s mindset on the ageing society needs to be changed. The government continues to see an ageing population as a disaster (for example, a “silver tsunami”). We believe that an ageing society marks a triumph of development: our people are living longer, healthier lives. We should be mindful that many of our seniors would bring their invaluable skills and experience to bear on productivity and innovation.

While we empower young couples to have more children and wait for the children to grow up through the innovative school system to enter the workforce, it is crucial we seek to improve the labour force participation of Singaporean women and elderly to keep the economy growing sustainably. The fruits of improving birth rates will only be seen in the 2030s. Meanwhile we have a large pool of women 30 years old and older, including foreign spouses of Singaporean men, and highly skilled elderly that could be tapped on.

We propose targeted training and job-matching schemes be introduced for women 30 years of age and older. Additional cash grants and special employment credits should be offered to employers who employ or upgrade the skills of women in this bracket. We should also accelerate job redesign which is lagging under the WorkPro programme. We propose it be made mandatory for large companies to implement workplace and job redesign for senior workers. We also propose targeted measures and incentives for SMEs.

What then do we do with foreign manpower? If we can achieve 1% resident workforce growth a year, then there is no need to increase foreign manpower input. We will then be able to limit foreign workforce growth by holding steady the current level of foreign workforce numbers. There is then no need for the 6.9 million planning parameter. Instead of obsessing over the number, we can then focus on empowering workers and local enterprises to confidently tackle productivity and growth issues.

Our Manifesto | The Workers' Party
Published by the Workers' Party 216G Syed Alwi Road #02-03 Singapore 207799 Workers' Party of Singapore © 2015 All Rights Reserved
wp.sg

[/h]

sengkang

[h=1]Five new faces help present WP’s election manifesto[/h] [h=2]“Singapore does not need blind economic growth; we need compassionate and equitable growth,” the 47-page Workers’ Party manifesto states.[/h]
  • POSTED: 29 Aug 2015 14:37
  • UPDATED: 29 Aug 2015 20:25

wp-manifesto.jpg

(From left): He Ting Ru, Mohamed Fairoz Shariff, Gerald Giam, Daniel Goh, Leon Perera and Kenneth Foo at the launch of WP manifesto. (Photo: Goh Chiew Tong)

SINGAPORE: The Workers’ Party (WP) has launched its General Election manifesto which calls for a national minimum wage, improved participation of women in the workforce, and a through-train option for students to skip the Primary School Leaving Examination, among other measures.

The 47-page manifesto, which carries the party’s slogan of “Empower your future”, was presented on Saturday (Aug 29) at a press conference fronted by WP central executive council member Gerald Giam and five fresh faces.

Corporate lawyer Ms He Ting Ru and sociologist Dr Daniel Goh were recently introduced as potential candidates for the party in the coming General Election. Mr Kenneth Foo, a public education manager at the Singapore Cancer Society; former associate librarian Mr Mohamed Fairoz Shariff and Mr Leon Perera, CEO of a research and consultancy firm, are also understood to be potential – though not yet officially announced – candidates.

Notable by their absence was WP chief Low Thia Khiang and chairman Sylvia Lim. Mr Giam said the purpose was to give the younger members a chance to present the manifesto. “WP operates as a team,” he said. “The manifesto is something that many people on the panel have been working on.”

The manifesto, the result of four years of research according to Mr Giam, is divided into six chapters.

The first chapter, “Focusing on the Singaporean Core”, proposes tackling the structural problems that are stopping young couples from having children. This can be done, said Dr Goh, through more financial support, better family care leave and a less stressful education system.

Another proposal is to achieve 1 per cent resident workforce growth – which would offset the need to grow the foreign workforce beyond current levels, said Dr Goh.

This is possible through improving the participation of seniors and women aged 30 and above in the workforce, via accelerated job re-design, and targeted training and job-matching schemes to raise their confidence, he said.

“This will result in a projected population of 5.8 million in 2030,” the manifesto states. It also adds: “Singapore does not need blind economic growth; we need compassionate and equitable growth.”

BETTER RETIREMENT ADEQUACY NEEDED

The second chapter, “Confident Workers and Enterprises”, asserts that Singaporeans do not feel confident enough to take career or entrepreneurial risks, because they lack substantial savings and are just making ends meet, said Mr Perera.

“There is an urgent need to enhance our retirement adequacy system,” he said. The manifesto includes suggestions for monthly CPF payouts to start earlier, and to link CPF Life and Silver Support payouts to inflation.

Also proposed: A mandatory unemployment insurance scheme that employers and employees contribute to - as well as a national minimum wage.

Mr Perera said, the idea is to set a minimum wage at a level that would not lead to job destruction, but to peg it to average household spending on basic needs, and phase it in over time for companies to adjust. He noted that in other countries, the arguments have are “not against setting a national minimum wage, but against setting it too high”.

If properly implemented, it should foster a greater sense of economic security, as well as induce more people to return to the workforce, and offset the “hidden costs” of safety nets and transfer payments needed to help the low-income, said Mr Perera.

Chapter three on “Aspiring Students and Families” talks about helping Singaporeans to realise dreams through strengthening education, welfare and healthcare policies, said Mr Fairoz.

This includes having a more holistic education system, and a 10-year through-train option for parents who wish to bypass the PSLE. “Late-bloomers can then learn at their own pace," Mr Fairoz said.

Also called for: A review of subsidies and Medisave usage caps for the treatment of chronic diseases.

A NATIONAL TRANSPORT CORPORATION
Mr Foo said chapter four, on co-creating a “home city”, included proposals on making public housing more affordable by delinking land costs from HDB flat prices.

The party is also calling for a National Transport Corporation to own and manage rail and bus assets, audit operators’ performance standards, and set fares.

Chapter five, “Governance for solidarity”, talks about ensuring accountability and that people’s voices are heard, said Ms He. Proposals here include abolishing the Group Representation Constituency system, strengthening the criminal justice system, replacing the Internal Security Act with an anti-terrorism law, and easing media controls to be balanced with new hate-speech legislation. The final chapter is on “Active Diplomacy, Confident Defence”.

Acknowledging that many of the proposals were not new in themselves but “refinements to government policy”, Mr Giam said: “We are not in the business of wholesale throwing out everything the Government is doing – I don’t think that is responsible, and it’s not very wise.”

“The value we bring is not just bright new ideas - you can find these in a lot of places, including academics. The value we bring as a political party is, we study ideas, we talk to people on the ground, we understand the ground, and we push through those ideas in Parliament,” he added.

“Without a sizeable slate of credible opposition MPs, you can’t expect a lot of these ideas to be pushed through.”

Asked about Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong’s comments earlier in the day – that Singapore “would be sunk” if the Opposition won many GRCs and combined to form a coalition government – Mr Giam said: “We are not aiming to take over government. Nor are we looking to form coalitions with other parties at this point in time. We are just focusing on the 10 constituencies we’re contesting.

“But we don’t buy the argument that the PAP is so indispensable that no one can ever replace them.”

At the press conference, the WP also announced the launch of a mobile app, Workers' Party News, which will include press statements and candidate profiles.

The full manifesto is available here.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/five-new-faces-help/2084514.html

sengkang

[h=2]Yee Jenn Jong, JJ (余振忠)[/h]Politician

This post is for you, He Ting Ru 何廷儒.

Met your aunt this morning at Marine Terrace market while doing our morning visits to the market and flats nearby.
In the afternoon, in our visits to Kembangan, I met this gentleman who once had up to 14 cats. Some had even lived for 20-25 years! Looks like someone has beaten our cat lady :smile: Meow!

11954572_926572007410574_345088268020038813_n.jpg

11923204_926572064077235_3358441191409290839_n.jpg

sengkang

Yee Jenn Jong, JJ (余振忠)

[h=5]Yee Jenn Jong, JJ (余振忠) added 6 new photos — at Jalan Bintang Tiga.
[/h]4 mins ·

My final event on a busy day: The Street Party of Singapore - the 16th edition of the annual street party organised by residents of Jln Bintang Tiga, the next street to my childhood home. Had my first taste of WP's Willy Wonker Firuz Khan's chocolates, our contributions for the event. Nice to see my photo from my past attendance at this party on the banner. Have been invited here every year since 2011 and am glad to see the event going on as strong as ever over so many years. Also with Dylan Ng Foo Eng 黄富荣

11220909_926611317406643_549112439093723990_n.jpg

11951870_926611337406641_857675502719660702_n.jpg

11905761_926611350739973_5242812060955647851_n.jpg

11898569_926611387406636_8871653623053543164_n.jpg

11057214_926611414073300_5975675211051130991_n.jpg

11954639_926611477406627_3243782126829194343_n.jpg

sengkang

The Workers' Party

"We are appalled at the series of careless accusations made by your Ministry against Aljunied Hougang Punggol East Town Council (AHPETC). It is shocking that despite our clarifications on your allegations relating to lost monies and overpayment, your Ministry continues to make spurious statements to distract the public and aimed at politically discrediting AHPETC. A copy of our Open Letter to Residents published in June 2015 can be found at this link (http://www.ahpetc.sg/sylvia-lims-open-letter-to-residents/) for your reference." - Sylvia Lim

You can also read the full statement here: www.wp.sg/response-to-mnds-letter-on-fmss-accounts/

Response to MND's Letter on FMSS' Accounts | AHPETCAHPETC
We refer to your letter, received today. We are appalled at the series of careless accusations made...
www.ahpetc.sg

sengkang

9 Nomination Centres designated for GE2015

Singapore's Elections Department. Photo: Channel NewsAsia

Published: 11:29 PM, August 25, 2015
Updated: 1:03 PM, August 27, 2015

SINGAPORE — Among the nine nomination centres that will come abuzz next Tuesday (Sept 1), Raffles Institution will, in all likelihood, attract the most attention, given that leaders of the two main political parties in Singapore will be submitting papers for their candidacy there.

The Elections Department has grouped Aljunied, Ang Mo Kio, and Bishan-Toa Payoh electoral divisions — along with Sengkang West — in the nomination centre, which means the People’s Action Party’s secretary-general Lee Hsien Loong and organising secretary Ng Eng Hen will come face to face with the Workers’ Party’s chief Low Thia Khiang and chairman Sylvia Lim.

Prime Minister Lee heads his party’s Ang Mo Kio team, comprising two new faces, while Dr Ng, who is Defence Minister, is anchor of the Bishan-Toa Payoh slate, which will have three rookies. The sitting Members of Parliament for Aljunied GRC, which is under the WP, are defending their wards in the polls next month.

list_0.png

Those who wish to contest in parliamentary elections must be Singapore citizens aged at least 21 and have lived in Singapore for at least 10 years. The person cannot be an undischarged bankrupt or have been sentenced to more than one year’s jail or a fine higher than S$2,000 for a criminal offence.

The candidate must also be proficient in at least one of the four official languages to be able to take an active part in parliamentary proceedings.

Candidates can collect nomination papers from the office of the Returning Officer — Energy Market Authority chief executive Ng Wai Choong — at the Elections Department at Prinsep Link from tomorrow or download soft copies from the website. The documents, which are to be submitted in duplicate between 11am and noon on Nomination Day, must bear information on and signatures of each candidate, as well as a proposer, a seconder and at least four assentors whose names are in the current Register of Electors and are also constituents in the electoral division.

Late or incomplete nomination papers will disqualify a candidate.

By the end of this week, candidates must also apply for a Political Donation Certificate from the Registrar of Political Donations. To get the certificate, candidates must, among other things, list the political donations they have received and declare that these had come from permissible donors (Singapore citizens or Singapore-controlled companies with businesses wholly or mainly in Singapore).

Minority candidates must also hand in their applications for certificates from the Malay Community Committee or the Indian and Other Minority Communities Committee. Every GRC must have at least one minority candidate.

On top of these forms, each candidate must pay a S$14,500 election deposit, which is stipulated under the Parliamentary Elections Act as 8 per cent of an MP’s total allowances rounded to the nearest S$500.

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/ri-nomination-centre-intrigue-ge2015