• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

TCB shows TKL what being an MAN is all about!

karmabear

Look at the incumbent. I don't think he will have much time to benefit personally from the $4m/year. Is it worth it to make those mega bucks just to leave it for the descendants, at the expense of your life long work and reputation? Maybe his book will reveal the wisdom of his choice.

Boss, one cannot compare TCB and prataman in the same sentence. TCB worked as a rural village doctor and was well regarded in Amakeng.

Prataman life long work is what? Become Japanese traitor, Head of ISD... both are jobs to betray and torture his own people. He has no reputation. So for him, get the money and help his children establish themselves overseas.

Porfirio Rubirosa

if i am not mistaken TT entered parl in 79'...so think he has fought elections on his own before...
Just realised there is a hidden message when TCB said he has fought and won 6 elections.

How many elections has TT actually fought? TT was in Sembawang GRC which according to wikipedia

TT has never needed to fight in any elections...

sense

Look at the incumbent. I don't think he will have much time to benefit personally from the $4m/year. Is it worth it to make those mega bucks just to leave it for the descendants, at the expense of your life long work and reputation? Maybe his book will reveal the wisdom of his choice.

Incumbent will retire this year. Ask him next year, 10 yrs later, 15 yrs later whether his collective tens of millions dollars is significant or insignificant to him and his families.

MightyMouse

Incumbent will retire this year. Ask him next year, 10 yrs later, 15 yrs later whether his collective tens of millions dollars is significant or insignificant to him and his families.

His descendants would be most pleased with his generousity. Definitely the millions are significant.

My point is that as a self-respecting individual, would you want to be remembered by a derogatory nickname of "prataman" so that your descendants enjoy the millions?

I believe Dr Tan Cheng Bock will not be affected by the quantum of the President's salary. His motivation is not the salary but his fervent belief that the country deserves a better Presidency than what was experienced in the last 12 years.

sense

My point is that as a self-respecting individual, would you want to be remembered by a derogatory nickname of "prataman"...

That's a new point, digressing away from your earlier point, ie. "The $4m or whatever is not going to make that much of a difference to him." Period.

MightyMouse

That's a new point, digressing away from your earlier point, ie. "The $4m or whatever is not going to make that much of a difference to him." Period.

To him as an individual, for his own DIRECT benefit, the money will make no difference. You cannot eat any better, sleep any better once you have already achieved a certain level of wealth. He was holding a series of high level powerful appointments since the early 70s. His appointment as Director, SID (CIA equivalent) is Permanent Secretary grade. In all that time, I think he would have saved enough to last more than 1 lifetime. If he chooses to value wealth accumulation for his descendant over what he could have possibly achieved during his Presidency, then that is his prerogative.

My view is that Dr Tan will have a different set of priorities if he gets to be elected. And the least significant in his consideration would be the quantum of the President's salary.

Not necessarily. Look at the make-up of politics in Singapore. We have unicameral parliament and effectively a single party state. If you to make a material difference in terms of addressing policies or highlighting the aspirations of Singaporeans, there is one platform and only one platform - Parliament. The fourth estate is a known captive of the PAP and even a letter that merely points an error in policy will never make past the forum editor's minders let alone the editor. They know the drill.

To have a good grasp of one's character, one has to see a person's conduct over a period of time. TCB was known for his views and actions long before he became a PAP member and MP. His sterling work with the villagers of AMA Keng is a fact. He helped them across a range of activities including farmers who were faced with losing their livelihood. The fact that he went to the most rural part of Singapore to set up a clinic when he has no links to that area must surely raise a question in anyone's mind. There were only 2 professionals in the vicinity. The Lawyer SC Cashin whose home was a house facing the Johore straits and TCB who clinic was close by. What do you think made him open that clinic in the most remote place in Singapore - fame, fortune, a photo in the society pages.

More on his conduct. From the moment he stepped into parliament he was trouble for the old man. What many people are not aware is that the state controlled press not only mutes the performance of opposition MPs, it also tones down that of PAP MPs who are few in numbers that go against the general lot.

He stands tall with the likes of Walter Woon for getting on the wrong side of Hansard. Do you know the significance of going against the party whip and receiving a written warning letter. This is the man who forced this Govt to release CPF funds for the education of young Singapoans who come from low income families. The Govt was quite happy to allow funds for investment speculation and people to lose money but not keen on funding education. There is a generation of young Singaporeans who owe their success to this man.

He has been a rebel from day 1 and over time pulled across Wan Soon Bee and Tan Soo Khoon to his side. They ended up operating a machine gun nest within the parliament and within PAP. Tan Soo Khoon's caustic and cutting remarks on the leadership where policies were concerned was so damaging that ST never carried it.

All this while he continued to work as a doctor in his clinic which by then had moved to HDB Jurong West and not to Paragon. During the SARS crisis, doctors began asking those with symptoms to go the hospital and refused to see them. He however continued to screen until he was placed on official quarantine when one of his patients was diagnosed with SARs. He was at that time still an MP.

This is an unusual chap but his pattern of behaviour is consistent.

They are all from the same mould, give them the $4million they will say, what they do is immeasurable!! & forgets what they are mumbling about now. Money, Power & Sex corrupts!!

sense

Not necessarily. Look at the make-up of politics in Singapore. We have unicameral parliament and effectively a single party state. If you to make a material difference in terms of addressing policies or highlighting the aspirations of Singaporeans, there is one platform and only one platform - Parliament. The fourth estate is a known captive of the PAP and even a letter that merely points an error in policy will never make past the forum editor's minders let alone the editor. They know the drill.

To have a good grasp of one's character, one has to see a person's conduct over a period of time. TCB was known for his views and actions long before he became a PAP member and MP. His sterling work with the villagers of AMA Keng is a fact. He helped them across a range of activities including farmers who were faced with losing their livelihood. The fact that he went to the most rural part of Singapore to set up a clinic when he has no links to that area must surely raise a question in anyone's mind. There were only 2 professionals in the vicinity. The Lawyer SC Cashin whose home was a house facing the Johore straits and TCB who clinic was close by. What do you think made him open that clinic in the most remote place in Singapore - fame, fortune, a photo in the society pages.

More on his conduct. From the moment he stepped into parliament he was trouble for the old man. What many people are not aware is that the state controlled press not only mutes the performance of opposition MPs, it also tones down that of PAP MPs who are few in numbers that go against the general lot.

He stands tall with the likes of Walter Woon for getting on the wrong side of Hansard. Do you know the significance of going against the party whip and receiving a written warning letter. This is the man who forced this Govt to release CPF funds for the education of young Singapoans who come from low income families. The Govt was quite happy to allow funds for investment speculation and people to lose money but not keen on funding education. There is a generation of young Singaporeans who owe their success to this man.

He has been a rebel from day 1 and over time pulled across Wan Soon Bee and Tan Soo Khoon to his side. They ended up operating a machine gun nest within the parliament and within PAP. Tan Soo Khoon's caustic and cutting remarks on the leadership where policies were concerned was so damaging that ST never carried it.

All this while he continued to work as a doctor in his clinic which by then had moved to HDB Jurong West and not to Paragon. During the SARS crisis, doctors began asking those with symptoms to go the hospital and refused to see them. He however continued to screen until he was placed on official quarantine when one of his patients was diagnosed with SARs. He was at that time still an MP.

This is an unusual chap but his pattern of behaviour is consistent.

Thank-you very much for the information about TCB.

TCB-and-OTC.jpg

karmabear

Hey fuck you lah... what is so difficult to understand? The guy is being nice and try to explain to you and you wanna be a quarrelsome bitch. What naive? Who is being naive here? Why should it make a difference to him? Chee bye face, trying to act bitchy. Please quote soon, I just can't wait to fuck mouthy bitches like you. Kan bu kia!