• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkie Middle Income kena squeezed

Runifyouhaveto

Not all representative. At OT, fls doing 150-200 a pop (upper end for drunk angmohs) in 2008/9. Pinays at basement bars 100-150. Now, think it's 200-300 for the former, and 200 for latter. At Brix (basement Hyatt), with same shit in diff packaging ..buz suits pay way more

Thanks for sharing. I am truly not well-informed about the escort and high-end market trends. Field reports from middle-income / low-income customers did not reflect any significant pricing upside in the past ten years in GL, fl or orchard towers.

CPI calculation should include this component to reflect cost of living.

yinyang

not well-informed about the escort and high-end market trends. Field reports from middle-income / low-income customers did not reflect any significant pricing upside in the past ten years in GL, fl or orchard towers.
Cat 50 was cat 40 until couple of years back. According to my barber (who felt the pinch), the only diff when migrating to new pricing, they just gave him a jiggle of dance to placate his purse strings :p

Take your point on CPI basket. For some, it's "core" inflasi :p

enterprise2

Thanks for sharing. I am truly not well-informed about the escort and high-end market trends. Field reports from middle-income / low-income customers did not reflect any significant pricing upside in the past ten years in GL, fl or orchard towers.

CPI to include FR component?? Thats a first!! But cannot take Geyland, their prices hasn't moved for the last 20 years!!

Runifyouhaveto

But cannot take Geyland, their prices hasn't moved for the last 20 years!!

Let me share this interesting chart
BGproductivityandcompensationchart4825.ashx

Now, our middleclass are encouraged to have a larger variable wage component in pay, actually, at the end of the day, it is LPPL, like the chart above. The variable component can be $$$ or other forms of benefits (eg. some HR makes transport allowance a larger component of overall pay, to reduce CPF-payable) If I may add an inflation line into the above chart, you would agree that in most developed countries, the real wages will be stagnant going foward, not pricing in inflation.

We are slowly becoming like that. Ten years ago, we go healthcentre for $50-80 (real wage fixed component) massage, today it's still about the same entry price. However, operating costs such as rental increased by 100-200% for HC. So they need to ask you to top-up hj,bj,bbbj,fj and all the Js (variable component/benefits). In a way, we are like them :biggrin:

escher

Let me share this interesting chart
BGproductivityandcompensationchart4825.ashx

Now, our middleclass are encouraged to have a larger variable wage component in pay, actually, at the end of the day, it is LPPL, like the chart above. The variable component can be $$$ or other forms of benefits (eg. some HR makes transport allowance a larger component of overall pay, to reduce CPF-payable) If I may add an inflation line into the above chart, you would agree that in most developed countries, the real wages will be stagnant going foward, not pricing in inflation.

We are slowly becoming like that. Ten years ago, we go healthcentre for $50-80 (real wage fixed component) massage, today it's still about the same entry price. However, operating costs such as rental increased by 100-200% for HC. So they need to ask you to top-up hj,bj,bbbj,fj and all the Js (variable component/benefits). In a way, we are like them :biggrin:

Only cure is to get rid of the underlying problem which is the fucking parasitic PAP maggots cockroaches and their running dogs

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

escher

The Solution to the Declining Middle Class: Destroy Fixed Costs and Debt
http://charleshughsmith.blogspot.sg/2014/05/the-solution-to-declining-middle-class.html

:smile:

TO DESTROY THE FIXED COSTS AND DEBT CREATING MONSTERS BASTARDS OF PAPs

Kill them all PAPs
Let GOD sort out the good from the really bad ones
The good PAPs can then eat joss sticks and candle wax from time to time
The bad PAPs like smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY will be raped and tiewed and kanned by legions of ghouls and demons and not ever
get time off to eat joss sticks and candle wax

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

None of those in PAP work for anyone but that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY, to help him hold down Singaporeans to screw and fuck hundreds of BILLIONs from us all into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY stinkapore sovereign funds.

They are there in PAP because LKY know that they are a bunch of self serving greedy bastards and scrapings of scums of society. To call them maggots cockroaches will be to insult real maggots and real cockroaches.
LKY will never allow good decent people into the PAP and good decent people will not want to get into the PAP.

Those in PAP are the most corrupt and moral degenerates and moral bankrupts and moral filths that are being presented to stinkaporeans as moral compasses.

Despite the leeching and fucking of singaporeans by the cheebye PAP and LKY, Singapore still managed to survive to date.
Despite their being hung as a fucking millstones around the necks of Singaporeans and the idiocy and corrupt manipulations of PAP and LKY, Singapore still not dead yet.

WE ALL ARE NOW WAITING FOR THE DEATH OF LKY IN COMING DAYS OR WEEKS.
WE ALL WILL YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AND YUM SENG AGAIN AND AGAIN DANCING SINGING ON TABLE TOPS AND STREETS

WE THEN WILL SEE THOSE IN PAP WITH SHARPENED KNIVES HOOTING ARSEHLOON A DOZEN NEW ARSEHOLES AND THE DEATH OF THE ENTIRE LEE KWA CLAN

WE THEN WILL PICK UP PIANO WIRES AND HANG ALL THOSE REMAINING PAP AND THEIR COLLABORATORS FROM LAMP POSTS AND SEE THOSE BASTARDS AND BITCHES DANCE.
AND HAPPINESS WILL RETURN TO OUR LAND.

AND STINKAPORE WILL BECOME SINGAPORE ONCE MORE.

Runifyouhaveto

If you can, just try to reduce your debts.

I project our 3-month sibor to double within 12 months and this is a conservative estimate. The US 10-years T-bill is trading at appx 2.65% and it should be above 3.5% by the end of next year.

Going forward, Be a lender, not a borrower.
Big lenders can even join the Moneylenders Association and be glorified.

Runifyouhaveto

Modern-Day Singapore Pays a Price for Globalization
http://time.com/120496/modern-day-singapore-pays-a-price-for-globalization

Having taken care of its population’s basic needs and then some, it must be galling for Singapore’s relentlessly pragmatic leadership to see a surge of yearning for rooted authenticity. The few older neighborhoods that haven’t been demolished—including the first generation of public housing complexes—are now heralded as historic landmarks.

This ill-defined sense of nostalgia reflects the tensions inherent in globalization. You can leverage all of your comparative advantages to succeed in the global marketplace, only to end up feeling some unease at having your distinctive sense of place eroded.

Until recently, Singapore was among the most welcoming places to outsiders, with one out of every three residents born elsewhere. But with fertility rates dropping, the country opened the floodgates to immigrants to ensure continued growth—turning immigration into a lightning rod.

lifeafter41

Prompt payments in Singapore drop sharply in Q1
The Singapore Commercial Credit Bureau (SCCB) said prompt payment performance in the country declined sharply in Q1 to 51.92% from the previous quarter's 57.73%.
https://www.asia-first.com/newsletter/prompt-payments-in-singapore-drop-sharply-in-q1.html

57.73% = half of us roll over our debts?

Run, I believe what is meant was 42.27% was not prompt in the previous quarter, whereas it has now worsen to 48.08% is not prompt.
It did not mention what type of debts is being roll over though.

Only 2 type of debt I can think off that allows roll over, one is the Credit Card type and the other is the Unsecured type, such as personal credit line.

Runifyouhaveto

Run, I believe what is meant was 42.27% was not prompt in the previous quarter, whereas it has now worsen to 48.08% is not prompt.
It did not mention what type of debts is being roll over though.

Only 2 type of debt I can think off that allows roll over, one is the Credit Card type and the other is the Unsecured type, such as personal credit line.

Yes good brother, RUN mixed up the numbers. 51.92 paid promptly = 48.18% rolled over, thats why RUN rounded to appx "half"

There are some gurus out there who advocate that maximizing your secured debts eg. housing because the cost of financing is low. These gurus recommend their followers to just service the low (currently) SIBOR interests and use the $$$ to reinvest.

Gurus never tell them that when interest rates hike = die pain pain.

Hans168

Middle class becomes lower class or jobless........thanks to LHL
How many of us gone thru good or better times since GE 2011?

Runifyouhaveto

CNBC: Is Singapore’s income inequality gap narrowing?
http://www.cnbc.com/id/101904840

The Singapore government reported this week that the nation's income inequality gap narrowed, but workers at the lower end of the spectrum are still struggling to make ends meet.

Income inequality in Singapore – where the sight of expensive sports cars cruising past hawker stalls offering $3 meals is not uncommon – has received a lot of media attention recently, as workers on lower wages struggle to keep up with the high cost of living.

Singapore has one of the world's highest Gini coefficients – a measure of the income distribution of a nation's residents where zero reflects complete inequality and 1 indicates complete inequality. It was logged at 0.412 in 2013, though it did decrease from 0.463 the year before.

The findings of a survey by Singaporean recruitment website JobStreet.com, reported in May, found that only 31 percent of local Singaporeans said their salary covered their basic needs and some non-essential luxuries, while 42 percent said they could only meet their basic needs.

Runifyouhaveto

Singapore is facing a glut of lawyers
http://www.straitstimes.com/news/si...gapore-facing-glut-lawyers-shanmugam-20140817

I kept thinking about the above article:
- No doubt, more kids are graduating overseas and returning to practice law in Singapore, the increment of local legal-grads appears to be reasonably in-line with our huge population growth in the past decade.

- This situation in the legal profession appears to be similar in other PMET professions; job and career opportunities will be not better in the long run.

Trending:

- In some profession, employers are reluctant to hire inexperienced local fresh grads. They are aware that the retention-rate of local fresh grads are too low. In all fairness, some employers rather pay more for experienced seniors or groom inexperienced S-pass holders who are willing to be bound by a 2-3 years employment contract.

- It appears that the civil service is overworked and continuously shorthanded (due to our population growth). It is commendable that we increased the pay of our healthcare workers and police force. But fundamentally, the leadership of some dept, stat boards and GLCs, are infamously-reputed in the HR field for "poor employers". By and large, the income gap between the superscale superiors and subordinates are larger than our society's income gap; there are too many countless examples of overworked subordinates who left this sector because their superiors are paid much more to do less.

- HR in some companies are offering an adhoc 1-3 month bonus for their perm staff. In return, the perm staff are free-to-leave OR enjoy a $200-300 monthly increment, on the condition that they will now served under a revised 6-24mth employment contract (forfeiting all benefits, job security and future bonus and pay-increment). On a brighter note, such practice avoids outright retrenchment and gives the employee time to seek another job.

Kuailan

He is going to be replaced by a foreigner soon. Then, he has to give up on his flat. He can forget his car. His next job is likely to be taxi-driver or security guard. His whole family will be impacted.
He has the PAP to thank for this.

The 10 years of Gay L premiership has screwed Sickaporean wholesale!!~!!
Hwe has imported million of Foreign Trash to replace Sickaporean, especially jobs,
sky COE making impossible for a working Sickaporean to replace their cars when COE
expired!! LTA is just another PAPAYA accomplice in robbing peasants!! ERP, COE, Excessive Taxes,
Road Taxes, what was ERP OBJECTIVE?? to control cars going into the city only!!

Now they realised its excellent IDEA to install ERP gantry every where (Everyday Robbing People!!
TWO YEARS AGO LAST COUNT WAS 72 GANTRY, NOW MUST HAVE EXCEED 100!!~

I would loved to work with LTA I am sure I will be getting 12 months BONUS/annum, plus 13month!!

his agenda is to cast his shadow over singaporeans. in the next few months, false promises will be made, to entreat the gullible ones to believe real change has come. this may be his last election as the PM. after the election, things will only become worst and the promises will b empty but you will have to encash that with the future PM. it will no longer be his problem. you vote for it, you die for it.

Most family businesses don't last past the 2nd generation. In the case of LHL, he is so incompetent that the only reason he is still running the show is because of his dad. When the old fart is gone, LHL.will be history.

Heaven help Spore because the old fart is leaving a mess behind: unemployment, low fertility rates, heavy inflation, a nation in debt, too many foreigners who have an entitlement problem,...

Good luck Spore. The 60% deserve it, but I feel sorry for the 40%