• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkie Bride confronts friend for not giving red packet at her wedding

roadrunner

OT slightly, attended birthday parties before. The birthday girl/boy opened the presents at the party, and someone recorded down the names of the givers. I asked what that was for and was told it is to send thank you letters. Different mindset totally.

That's the AngMoh style lah, AngMoh weddings now got wedding gift list, just log in to their gift list page on Amazon or their choice of Online retailer & you pay for a gift like a toaster or dinner plates etc.. no need for Angpows, much more civil after all the bloody wedding is already so stressful & still need to worry about count angpow monies & cause more tension with friends & relatives? What a memorable day it is, got married & had a massive fight over money with all the guests:eek:

roadrunner

Best to have a modest wedding reception... at a void deck... and expect nothing, but good wishes, from your guests. :o

Well said but unfortunately in SG, weddings are a show of power & wealth, not only how lavish or EX it needs to be & at what venue but also see who or what VIP guests turns up. You know the atas VIP arrives becos everybodies head will turn to look at the VIP & MUST see the Angpow. Some of those show off ones will even raise the Angpow for everyone to see before giving! That's what i saw at a colleague's wedding, HK family but from seeing how they behaved, it's more like gangster than rich cultured family.

Two sporeans behaving badly. One for having the audacity to demand an ang pow, and the other for not giving it. Very shameful behaviour.

it was me. i attended the wedding reception in sg and did not give red packet. i gave a white envelope during the tea ceremony which happened earlier in the day.

loneshark

That's the AngMoh style lah, AngMoh weddings now got wedding gift list, just log in to their gift list page on Amazon or their choice of Online retailer & you pay for a gift like a toaster or dinner plates etc.. no need for Angpows, much more civil after all the bloody wedding is already so stressful & still need to worry about count angpow monies & cause more tension with friends & relatives? What a memorable day it is, got married & had a massive fight over money with all the guests:eek:

Yes, much prefer the angmoh style.

That is why i always say this, stay away from sinkies..Mixed with such low life losers will do you no good in life.

jiakhongleow

Singaporeans attitude have the change. Stealing glory at the expense of kinships and friendships.

photo-12_zps4bc6b477.jpg

This was on their news feed so it was a public message. Sheeeesh. Why wasn't this private messaged!? Seems like a stunt to embarrass the person. To me, it's the sender who looks bad.

Plus if the person didn't give due to "unforeseen circumstances", why do they have to let the bride/groom know?! I don't get it!

WOW...... Next time really remember to put your name, IC, telelphone number, address on the back of the red packet. If I don't put enough, will they send me a bill too??

Many people complain to me about their horror wedding stories. From both sides.

I heard before one family went to a wedding, 4 of them, and only gave a picture frame.

At my friend's wedding, she said she got received empty red packets... she dunno if it was an accident or a joke... she felt it quite mean...

Any stories to share?

Luckily, I don't get invited to many weddings lol...

jixiaolan

Seriously, cannot afford dun go invite people. Nowadays alot of young people do not understand this, they thought it was their birth rights to host weddings at glamour hotels even if they cannot afford it and expect invited guests to pay for their shares. Maybe these people need to learn from the Malays. So guys, dun complain about the noise that you may be getting from the void deck if you are staying in a HDB.

photo-12_zps4bc6b477.jpg

This was on their news feed so it was a public message. Sheeeesh. Why wasn't this private messaged!? Seems like a stunt to embarrass the person. To me, it's the sender who looks bad.

Plus if the person didn't give due to "unforeseen circumstances", why do they have to let the bride/groom know?! I don't get it!

WOW...... Next time really remember to put your name, IC, telelphone number, address on the back of the red packet. If I don't put enough, will they send me a bill too??

Many people complain to me about their horror wedding stories. From both sides.

I heard before one family went to a wedding, 4 of them, and only gave a picture frame.

At my friend's wedding, she said she got received empty red packets... she dunno if it was an accident or a joke... she felt it quite mean...

Any stories to share?

Luckily, I don't get invited to many weddings lol...

Newly weds - should have adopted old hylam style....angpow open on the spot and announced publicly then written on blackboard.

Cheapo guests - should give big red packet with 2 big sweep tickets inside.

I think we have to look at the facts. The bride didn't complain about getting a very small red packet. What she did was point out that this particular person did not even give a red packet. This is utterly disgraceful and cheapskate.

Raiders

Some Singaporeans do indeed get the government they deserve. Everything must count dollars and cents, even marriage must be a profitable venture. No wonder the government finds ways to extract money from them and steal their CPF, they also continue to vote PAP. In the PAP shoes they would be doing exactly the same thing to fellow Singaporeans.

That's what my brother did. He told every of his friends and colleagues, at least $100 in the red packet and he made sure they wrote their names. It was a profitable wedding for him as he had many friends and we are a very big extended family. Can you imagine the relatives all gave at least $500.

Brightkid

Future wedding receptions will have different menus at different tables.

Guest come register, ang pows will be opened and announced in front of guest. Any dispute, must highlight immediately at registration table and settled immdiately, then escorted to respective table based on amount in ang pow.

Those below thresholds value will be given a door gift (maybe a $2 Big Sweep ticket?) and escorted to exit, with thanks.

Now, this may be a good way for govt to encourage people to have many children ? A possible windfall hosting wedding reception!

hmmmm, relative/friend relationship is now cheap...valued based on the value of the ang pow!

ionzu

I think the younger ones conveniently forget about the traditional angpows.

Some even shrugged..." I never asked to be invited what! Why give money!!!"

Yes, some just give presents ( a photo frame or some cute gifts ) without cash...poor married couple will have to foot the bill jialat!

So it's like this now....But the majority still give angpows lah....not as big as before.

Now wedding dinners are getting more expensive and I believe the angpows should also be more lah....:smile:

For a couple now, at a 5 star hotel wedding dinner, about $200 can?

this is a good thing to teach the peasants a lesson - dun wayang and pretend you're rich throwing an expensive wedding and expecting your guests to pay for it.

screwed up thinking of sinkies. throw party and ask guests to pay for it.

Even if you are poor, should at least give a small sum for the red packet. To not even give red packet, that person deserves to be shamed publicly.