• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore seeks to stay competitive by retraining entire workforce

https://asia.nikkei.com/Business/Te...=1&pub_date=20220801123000&seq_num=5&si=44594

Singapore seeks to stay competitive by retraining entire workforce
PayPal and Microsoft partner with national 'reskilling' program

https%253A%252F%252Fs3-ap-northeast-1.amazonaws.com%252Fpsh-ex-ftnikkei-3937bb4%252Fimages%252F5%252F6%252F6%252F4%252F41564665-6-eng-GB%252FCropped-1659039800-08-31T000000Z_876703629_RC27GP9YUZYD_RTRMADP_3_HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS-SINGAPORE.JPG

Singapore has offered midcareer training opportunities through the SkillsFuture program since 2014. © Reuters
TAKASHI NAKANO, KOITSU YAMADA and YOSUKE KURABE, Nikkei staff writersJuly 30, 2022 10:00 JST

SINGAPORE/TOKYO -- Caught between a declining birthrate and a rising anti-immigrant sentiment, Singapore has decided to retrain its own citizens for tech jobs that are expected to drive the country's growth.

Gangadevi Balakrishnan, a software engineer, owes her current position at PayPal to the government's reskilling program.

She is eager to acquire more new skills. "I am personally interested in security and artificial intelligence. Therefore, I will be looking into programs and courses related to these areas." said Balakrishnan, 29.

The program, SkillsFuture, began in 2014 to retrain the entire population of Singapore. It has provided credits for people 25 and older to study more than 24,000 courses ranging from digital technology to business management.

SkillsFuture is a response to a sense of looming crisis fueled by the city-state's declining population.

Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore's first prime minister, once said that without immigrants the economy would collapse by 2050, when 1.5 workers would have to support one elderly person.

During Singapore's high-growth period in the 1980s and 1990s, the influx of immigrants made up for the low birthrate. But more and more citizens have become concerned about the increase in immigration, with some accusing them of stealing jobs. In response, the government has tightened entry restrictions on foreigners, who make up nearly 30% of the population.

Last year, Singapore's population of foreigners fell 10% to 1.47 million, a drop that owes chiefly to the country's COVID travel controls. Singapore's overall population has declined for two consecutive years for the first time ever.

https%253A%252F%252Fs3-ap-northeast-1.amazonaws.com%252Fpsh-ex-ftnikkei-3937bb4%252Fimages%252F_aliases%252Fmedium%252F7%252F2%252F3%252F3%252F41563327-1-eng-GB%252Fphoto_SXM2022071900004988.jpg

Gangadevi Balakrishnan owes her job at PayPal to Singapore's reskilling program.

That leaves the country with no choice but to train its existing population, including middle-aged and elderly people. The government has placed its bet on raising productivity.

The reskilling movement has entered its second phase, shifting into higher gear during the pandemic instead of pumping the brakes. Citizens receive access to credits, but there also are partnership programs formed with companies at home and abroad to develop skill sets that match specific job classifications in demand.

PayPal is one partner, along with Microsoft, Siemens and several other big-name corporations. A public-private citizen retraining program of this scope has few precedents.

https%253A%252F%252Fs3-ap-northeast-1.amazonaws.com%252Fpsh-ex-ftnikkei-3937bb4%252Fimages%252F_aliases%252Fmedium%252F8%252F7%252F3%252F3%252F41563378-1-eng-GB%252Fphoto_SXM2022071900004884.jpg

Singapore's Skillsfuture program provides training support for over 24,000 courses ranging from digital technology to business management.

Last year, around 660,000 people received support. This is equivalent to one-quarter of the country's total working-age residents. "We can't change the genetic composition of our population. But we can maximize their potential with education and training," Lee once said.

Singapore's per capita labor productivity totaled about $170,000 in 2020, an average annual increase of roughly 3% since 2015. For a wealthy country, those numbers demonstrate the difficulty of shooting for a higher level.

Luxembourg, whose per capita gross domestic product is at the top level, also faces slow growth in labor productivity, prompting a policy reboot. The country launched a project to support learning of advanced skills. From 2020, digital technology has been added to the curriculum for elementary- and secondary-school students.

Declining populations and an accompanying slowdown in economic growth will be part of a future creeping up on Japan and other advanced nations. Digitalization of industry, deregulation to promote growth and retraining populations can offer a path away from that fate.

Does it matter? A totalitarian regime can never have something like Tesla, Taiwan's TSMC or Samsung. You'll be stuck on the hamster wheel no matter how much you 're-skill' or 'up-skill'. All you can do to consistently grow the economy is build, demolish and rebuild infrastructure. :biggrin:

All this does is enrich the Skillfuture grifters and scammers.. there are many of them. :cool:

Forget about training. You cannot teach old dog new tricks. Bring in CECAs who are more hungry and obedient. Cut and paste.

Does it matter? A totalitarian regime can never have something like Tesla, Taiwan's TSMC or Samsung. You'll be stuck on the hamster wheel no matter how much you 're-skill' or 'up-skill'. All you can do to consistently grow the economy is build, demolish and rebuild infrastructure. :biggrin:

All this does is enrich the Skillfuture grifters and scammers.. there are many of them. :cool:

I agree with you, why you think I still stuck and suffer as a screw salesman? Some more in a third world low class country. Really knn.

Forget about staying competitive, the 95% should try to stay alive.

This happened on Greek tv:

CPTMiller

Have $1000 in the skills funds how to withdraw cash?
:biggrin: :biggrin:

borom

This is where PAP has been barking up the wrong tree -always blaming the workers when its top management that has been making the wrong decisions.
Everytime companies lose money, they retrench workers while the management that makes the wrong decision and lead the company in the wrong directions get to stay.
AS NAPOLEON SAID "THERE ARE NO BAD SOLDIERS ONLY BAD OFFICERS' "but these paper generals conveniently forget that.
The first to go should be the CEO and his direct reports

birdie69

No point go training and re-training,u are not going to get the job u want.:biggrin:
As long as our sons are required to serve 2 years NS and 10 ICT, our scrupulous employers still prefer to employ CECA Indians with faked qualifications.
Also, our employers always mislead our garment very difficult to find local workers to suit the jobs, even our guys are from top ranked local universities, so our naive garment allows them to bring in cheaper faked talents.
Whereas our guys work in grab delivery, driver and unerrmployment.

Devil Within

Retraining as in train you how to clean the toilet, sweep the floor, collect the tray, or ride a bicycle to be a grab delivery?

As long as our sons are required to serve 2 years NS and 10 ICT, our scrupulous employers still prefer to employ CECA Indians with faked qualifications.
Also, our employers always mislead our garment very difficult to find local workers to suit the jobs, even our guys are from top ranked local universities, so our naive garment allows them to bring in cheaper faked talents.
Whereas our guys work in grab delivery, driver and unerrmployment.
All sinkies can work for govt, FTs work private. PAP get more volts, corps get more profits. Win win! :thumbsup:

blackmondy

Expect us to stay competitive and meanwhile let shit-loads of shitskins from rapist-land coming over to take over our jobs?

Hypocrite-The

I agree with you, why you think I still stuck and suffer as a screw salesman? Some more in a third world low class country. Really knn.
Better to be a big fish in a small pond than to be a big fish in a big pond..where there r other big fish waiting to makan u

Retraining no use. Even to get diploma need maybe two years.
Best to introduce certificate of apprenticeship.employers train at work places.like sushi. or bar or hotel concierge.

birdie69

Retraining no use. Even to get diploma need maybe two years.
Best to introduce certificate of apprenticeship.employers train at work places.like sushi. or bar or hotel concierge.
Go straight to shit skin country to obtain a degree and with shit skin name. then apply job in Sinkapore.
Many Job offers in no time