• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Singapore] - Male medical doctor keep on scolding & emotionally intimidating Singaporean woman until she was in tears

UltimaOnline

Discussion a doctor threatened to call the police on me. (self.singapore)

submitted 3 hours ago * by lilacana

my doctor threatened to call the police on me..
*disclaimer, i know how serious covid is.. *THIS HAPPENED 2 MONTH AGO, before wearing masks are mandatory. *im 20 and he is 35+ (called up the clinic to ask) *the reason why I posted this was due to the rise of covid amongst the migrant workers.
one month ago, i went to a doctor in clementi to get my wounds fixed up primary reason. (one of doctors under my insurance)..
The nurses did not ask if i had flu symptoms, just checked for fever and whether I came into contact with covid-19 diagnosed patients.
while i was waiting there, a migrant worker came in seeking treatment for his flu. he was coughing with mask. the nurses looked at him and said “the consultation is $60+ without medicine. if you can pay then register. if not then go consider first. we are open 24h”
the recent surge in cases got me thinking of this incident again. what if he was the carrier of the virus into the foreign worker dormitories, bc he was refused treatment just bc he can’t afford to.
I went into the room, told the doctor i was there to dress my wounds up.. since my insurance was paying I told him I have abit of phlegm as well. the doctor immediately told me to get out and wear a mask.. taken aback, I informed him I did not know I had to wear a mask bc your nurses did not inform me AND i thought of myself.. phlegm was a symptom? He shouted that i was being very socially irresponsible. something he used very often during this whole time
I stood up and went out to get a mask, he shouted at me to get all my belongings with me saying that it’s contagious and he didn’t want it on his table. and how socially irresponsible i was. oh and he chased my boyfriend who was in the room out as well.
the nurses gave me those surgical ones that u have to tie.. i took the mask and returned to the room alone while trying to tie the mask.
he AGAIN shouted at me to get out and come back when it’s tied.. I was so taken aback, I asked him why is he talking to me this way. I’m just trying to comply with all his demands despite not being informed to. He told me I should know since I signed a declaration (I DID NOT, the nurses just verbally asked me) According to the infectious disease act this is unacceptable (he kept quoting this). I explained I didn’t know and that I was sorry, he shouted “ILL SCOLD THE NURSES” and shouted something to the nurses through the window.
he raised his voice at me again. feeling very very very unsafe i asked if I record this consultation. firstly, He did not act like a doctor shld. secondly, i was physically smaller, younger too. lastly, he chased my boyfriend out of the room.
He immediately stood up, went outside and started to shout at me in front of the whole clinic (a small clinic but filled with people). He told my boyfriend i was causing a lot of trouble and he will not be seeing me. In front of everyone, he pointed at me and said I was endangering everyone bc i don’t want to wear a mask. citing that he will be forgoing the patient doctor agreement bc i was a troublemaker.
The entire time I was still trying to tie the damn mask with strings.
I was shock and tearing up. I told him he should not be talking to a patient like that. and showed him I was trying to tie my mask!!!! I asked for his name. He immediately threatened to call the police on me. I left the clinic completely shocked and scarred.
Not long after, the nurses called me to come back and gave me his name. Told me that they support me if I’m going to report him bc they couldn’t stand him too.
If you be quoting the infectious disease act and how socially irresponsible I was constantly, why did u turn me away for consultation? What if I really had covid? you just knowingly pushed a patient with covid to the public, a ticking time bomb waiting to infect others and further spreading the disease??
AND If my symptoms were so serious that I must be wearing a mask, why did u chase me back to the public? since you chased me back the public, meaning my symptoms weren’t severe, why did u insist I had to wear mask?
I know this is a stressful time for all, shouldn’t the people at the front line not be panicking this way? at the point of time, our government was telling us to not panic, yet the very people that is treating us is panicking. If you’re going to panic so badly, please please please don’t be a doctor at this period.
I know not all doctors are like him, but damn, when I see ads on thanking our front line workers, i immediately think of him, anxiety all.
What should I do?

See other Redditors' comments :

best

level 1
84 points · 2 hours ago

You can report him to the Singapore Medical Council for his unprofessionalism.
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 1
yahoo!
46 points · 2 hours ago

there are ways to get your message across without intimidating someone or in a threatening tone.
I've seen a physician like this before, says he's a doctor but acts like a gangster.
times like this, just take a step back, avoid the doctor, de-escalate the situation, leave and then write a formal complaint. accept that even doctors can be unreasonable people. who knows what kind of background they came from if they act like this in public?
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 1
37 points · 2 hours ago

Just report him. Even the nurses have said they'll support you. There's no way you lose this if you recount the incident as you have done here. If you let this fucker get away, he'll continue his behavior with other patients.
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 1
Flat is Justice.
15 points · 2 hours ago

Seems rather unprofessional of the doctor.
Nevertheless, as the patient, you're probably not at fault for anything then (2 months ago).
If anything, the clinic staff should have properly briefed or checked you of all necessary actions or declarations (if any) before you even stepped in.
Perhaps just find another doctor.
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 1
8 points · 2 hours ago

Amazing how he even gets business with this kind of attitude... you did nothing wrong. You should report him to SMC (Singapore Medical Council).
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 1
7 points · 1 hour ago

You can submit a complaint here:https://www.healthprofessionals.gov.sg/smc/information-for-public-patients/submitting-a-complaint
If that's too troublesome, write a letter to the clinic with the details. He won't be asked back for any locum shifts.
Search for his MCR number here: https://prs.moh.gov.sg/prs/internet/profSearch/main.action?hpe=SMC And post it on your Facebook.
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 1
10 points · 2 hours ago

As with all recollections like this, it's always prudent to hear both sides of the story before passing judgement.
Moving forward, I doubt the police can do much because someone was shouting, but if u feel you deserve recourse and money is not an issue, probably can consult a lawyer.
Clinic got cctv and the nurses can be witnesses, so it may work out for u in the end.
Not a lawyer tho, so don't quote me.
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 1
5 points · 1 hour ago · edited 1 hour ago

All are at fault. Including the nurses. Being a patient you just followed instructions.
The nurse didn't follow procedures correctly and ask you all the relevant questions. Like things could be serious if they didn't ask for allergy and such and prescribed you medicine. Asking for flu symptoms is equivalent in importance in this period of time. In this case if the nurses did their job you wouldn't have had to suffer this kind of treatment.
The doctor has to treat many patients for days to come especially in this period. He must have been very angry and agitated that this kind of mistakes could happen and potentially cause another outbreak especially when the doctor treats patients with their weakened immune system. And of course, for his own health as well. When the doctor acted out, he definitely went overboard, but you'll have to consider the harm the virus can cause if you did have it on you.
As for you, leaving out certain information about your visit to the hospital at the beginning is very concerning as well. You initially went to see the doctor about a wound and while he was looking at it you just brought up a possibility of you having an infectious virus with you. The doctor will be unprepared when he thinks he's dealing with problem 1 and suddenly problem 2 comes up.
All in all I hope you're okay and this matter can be put behind you as an experience.
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 2
Original PosterScore hidden · 59 minutes ago

and as you said, “the harm the virus can cause if you did have it on you”.
then why did he refuse treatment?? if i did have it, and threatening me to get out of the clinic is the correct course of action?
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 2
Original Poster2 points · 1 hour ago

oh.. i went to a clinic not hospital... i’m not sure if every patient have to declare what they are there for before registering?? p sure there isn’t this rule leh. and he was wearing suit and mask so very prepared :smile:
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 3
Score hidden · 31 minutes ago

The kind of complacent thinking will get us into trouble. Just because someone is protected does not mean it’s safe for everyone else. I can understand why he reacted that way
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 4
Original PosterScore hidden · 12 minutes ago

read the post before saying this :smile:
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 4
Original PosterScore hidden · 2 minutes ago

then again, why did he refuse me treatment if this was unsafe for his patients.
then other singaporeans how? not his patients or him then don’t care already?
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 1
7 points · 2 hours ago · edited 31 minutes ago

What an asshat. Doctor was freaking out/overreacting. I'd just reveal the clinic name here and expose him publicly. If even the clinic assistants are not on his side then he deserves zero sympathy. For all we know the past two months he has been aggressive towards other patients/treating them like shit
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 1
2 points · 1 hour ago

Report this clown. Instead of choosing his professionalism he chose to be an asshole.
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 1
4 points · 2 hours ago

IIRC about two months back we were in a state of uncertainty and we had just hit DORSCON Orange because of community spread. Doctors were by then giving out 5 days MC as a precautionary measure to patients with respiratory symptoms and there was growing concern about social irresponsibility because there were people were still out and about when they were unwell, and this was contributing to community spread of the virus. Phlegm is a symptom of potential respiratory issues, even though dry coughs, which do not ordinarily cause phlegm (and not wet coughs) is a symptom of covid-19, but dry coughs can develop into wet ones. By about 2 months back, it was already common knowledge to wear a mask when you visit a doctor (whether the nurse told you to do so or not) because by then, doctor hopping had also come about and caused other problems. Because of the high volume of patients a GP sees, doctors (and other patients) are at high risk when patients (not necessarily you) behave in a reckless manner that defies good sense.
Against this context, yeah your doctor was definitely paranoid. Was his bedside manners lacking (based on your account)? Yes. Was he justifiably annoyed with you? Also yes. Could he have been more patient? Yes. What can you do? Nothing. You can vent about it online, and we will say, there there, poor thing. Alternatively, if after two months you're suffering from PTSD and anxiety, you could call these good folks for some professional help and these good folks for a listening ear.
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 2
Original Poster2 points · 1 hour ago

thanks for your long reply and your time.
Again, if you read my post, you’ll know that I was primarily there for wound dressing :smile:
Yes I had phlegm, but it’s p normal for me and I was not having any dry cough or wet cough or whatever you said. I just wanted something to thin it out..
He was completely covered in plastic suit, wearing n95 mask and everything so I’m at higher risk than he is? debatable.
Again, I was completely complying with his request to wear mask, the moment i knew i should. and Before i entered the clinic again to get his name, i made sure to wear the mask before I entered
I cant even make an official complaint without my parents, being a minor. so pardonnnn me for feeling attacked and scarred from this incident. :smile:
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 1
2 points · 2 hours ago

Brother, u must know that not all docs r good samaritans, quite the contrary, many docs I know personally are in it only for the money. They all kiasi and if u can not afford or look poor, they also half fuck you.
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 2
Original Poster5 points · 1 hour ago

I knowww! the worst part was that when i was waiting there, a migrant worker came in with flu symptoms. The nurses immediately just said “the consultation is $69.xx without any medicine. if you can pay then register. if not then think about it carefully before coming. we are open 24 hours”
He could’ve been the one that brought covid to the foreign worker dormitories.
Thinking about the wildfire spread of covid amongst migrant workers got me to write this post!!!
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 3
Score hidden · 49 minutes ago

That's just ridiculous man, this sort of discrimination is absolutely unacceptable.
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 2
1 point · 2 hours ago

Remember to report him, don’t let him get away with his bullying of u
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 1
2 points · 2 hours ago

Report to smc and if you want the media
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 1
2 points · 1 hour ago

What a prick! He should never practice or be struck off the register. Rude asshole without an iota of manners and human decency.
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

level 1
A banana.
2 points · 1 hour ago

Yeah, giant fuckin breach of ethics right there. Report to the Singapore Medical Council.
ReplyGive Award
ReportSave

A young male doctor in Clementi... hmmm... that kind of narrows it down does it not? :wink:

GP doctor already so yahya papaya... I think if become specialist will cheat money and rape female patients. :biggrin:

What a moron. Just mask up so difficult? 20 year old act like stubborn uneducated old folk. :cautious:

What a moron. Just mask up so difficult? 20 year old act like stubborn uneducated old folk.
Absolutely agree and I am with you on this
KNN according to her statement they had given her a tie mask KNN my uncle cannot tie the mask by himself too KNN so the loctor should either tie for her or asked the counter girl to tie for her or let her tie first before continuing the next arguments becas while arguing it is not possible to multi task tie mask KNN

KNN she can ask her useless bf to tie for her and then she can tie for him KNN :wink:

KNN according to her statement they had given her a tie mask KNN my uncle cannot tie the mask by himself too KNN so the loctor should either tie for her or asked the counter girl to tie for her or let her tie first before continuing the next arguments becas while arguing it is not possible to multi task tie mask KNN

Nice-Gook

the best way i know is to resort to loud argument with the young punk aka doc....raise your voice loud but absolutely no profanity ...better if you or he calls the police ...remember, you are the customer and you come and go but he does the business he will bear the brunt

having said that i dont think the practice belongs to him ...no buisness man in his right mind wants to quarrel with a paying customer ..most importantly in a premise where he makes a living ..you don't shit where you eat..probably a stand in doc...because no staff like his nurses will go against a salary paying boss for the sakw of a customer

assuming ,he is a temporary stand in then publicise him in the social media...all that suing for defamation is a lot of crap...the prosecution has to prove beyond any reasonable doubt that words uttered were not only intended maliciously but absolutely not truthful....eg ,if you scold some body a bastard than he must not be one legally ,what if his mother does not know who his father was ? again there is the legal provision that you cannot go to court with a dirty hand to get recourses...simply put if you scold KNNCCB ,and I restort motherfucker the court will throw the case out for defamation ..but the state can prosecute both for public disturbance or nuisance ....so defamation is not a simple tool just because PAP sue sue sue and wins everytime

so,make an ass of yourself and let the public know what an ass the doc is

rushifa666

Btw if she had a fatal infection she would be dead and so would everyone else. But im sure emotions are more important

Balls2U

Just complain to the Medical Council. That's what I did during one of my ICT. Fucking MO made snide remarks at me and suggested that I was keng-ing when I reported sick. I talked back to him and he started to pull rank on me. After that, I wrote to Medical Council and MINDEF and cc to Health and Defence Minister. MINDEF replied that they had spoken to that bastard and that they acknowledged that he should have been more diplomatic and put it across to me in a nicer tone. Not wanting to waste my time on this issue, I just let the matter rest.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Just complain to the Medical Council. That's what I did during one of my ICT. Fucking MO made snide remarks at me and suggested that I was keng-ing when I reported sick. I talked back to him and he started to pull rank on me. After that, I wrote to Medical Council and MINDEF and cc to Health and Defence Minister. MINDEF replied that they had spoken to that bastard and that they acknowledged that he should have been more diplomatic and put it across to me in a nicer tone. Not wanting to waste my time on this issue, I just let the matter rest.

Probably young doctor lah.

Contrary to what everyone is saying about SMC and whatever........there is basically NOBODY .....and I seriously mean NO FUCKING BODY that protects the individual doctor who kena complaint.

Nobody gives a shit to protect the doctor. Kena complaint the doctor gets a black mark. Even if the case is rubbish complaint still get black mark....why? Because whoever is tasked to investigate and then have to write reply to all these people and patients will say "FUCK LA! give me more work only!!!!!" And the response will always be we spoke to doctor and counseled him. Or we have disciplined him if it is something bad. Patient will never ever be told to fuck off. NEVER!!! Patient can tell lies can twist the facts can make up things that never even happened and NOTHING will happen to them. Patient is KING!!!!

So nobody wants any complaints full stop!!!!

The smart doctors or lau jiao who have experienced complaints even rubbish ones will learn.

And then they will say FUCK LA! just give the patient what they want. Don't anyhow talk. Don't talk back. Bite the tongue. Patient want give to patient. Customer is always right.

Any doctor out there should learn this early. ALWAYS give the patient what they want. Except if what you give will KILL THEM. Or if what you do is ILLEGAL or against SMC code of ethics because if someone else complain about you (won't be the patient cos the patient is happy) eg colleague or patient relatives then you will also KENA

So only stand firm if it is FATAL or ILLEGAL.