• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Preferential treatment during National Service?

so simple...the Defense Minister will say - we checked, everything in order.

His son served / discharged his NS duties accordingly.

there is no white horse in SAF ... blah blah...

If a proper investigation is carried out and the right questions are asked, :rolleyes:
they will discover what we all already know.
That practically no nsf is posted to a unit or vocation that is "in line" with his field of study or future/potential field or area of expertise if any, that disruption especially a long term one is rare, it is also rare to serve out your nsf time in a lab, very few nsfs get posted to a unit or vocation that they happened to like or excelled in, most merely adapt to what they are given, including medical officers.

Hence the only logical conclusion is that he is a world class super scientist whose services the country could not have done without. Of course, we also know that he was given that posting because his extraordinary talent was recognised at an early age by his superior officers. Forget about all the nsf medical officers who had to man field hospitals or treat sick and injured soldiers daily. They cannot hold a candle to this gentleman in terms of earth shattering breakthrough research.

:rolleyes:

this is Singapore - we all know what is happening, but we just don't / cannot say it...

sad....

to rub salt into wound, they would make a show debating about it.

Casino, fare hikes ...

blackmore

You left out one part, Bradell Brothel writing an outstanding review on their brillant performance regardless anyone bothers.

1. aiyoh!
2. just talking or some media exposure is useless.
3. want transparency, appoint an independent committee to investigate.
4. reporting to some high court judge thing.
5. betterer: its chairman, mr chen xiao mo.

I find this quite a hypocritical topic. Most of us rich or poor would find ways to avoid or cushion NS if we could. Even for regulars, I'm sure few signed on for serving the nation. It's either for the regular pay or career choice for those actually personally interested in the various vocations available. So I see nothing wrong and no issue with Patrick Tan's 12 years deferment. If he can do it legally, why not? If you cannot do it, just serve up and go. I don't know Patrick Tan and his father Tony Tan personally. But I'm sure, as a son of a minister, partically defence minister, he has access to more legal ways to do it than most of us.

My take is, if we blow up this matter further just because Tony Tan is now President, nothing will happen to Tony Tan or Patrick Tan as I'm sure that they had followed all legal procedures. It will just make MINDEF tighten up deferment and disruption procedures to make things even harder for you and your sons.

I find this quite a hypocritical topic. Most of us rich or poor would find ways to avoid or cushion NS if we could. Even for regulars, I'm sure few signed on for serving the nation. It's either for the regular pay or career choice for those actually personally interested in the various vocations available. So I see nothing wrong and no issue with Patrick Tan's 12 years deferment. If he can do it legally, why not? If you cannot do it, just serve up and go. I don't know Patrick Tan and his father Tony Tan personally. But I'm sure, as a son of a minister, partically defence minister, he has access to more legal ways to do it than most of us.

My take is, if we blow up this matter further just because Tony Tan is now President, nothing will happen to Tony Tan or Patrick Tan as I'm sure that they had followed all legal procedures. It will just make MINDEF tighten up deferment and disruption procedures to make things even harder for you and your sons.

think the main grouse is why only he is allowed to do that?

if he is indeed special - the gahmen just need to come out to say - becos he is special. Instead of denying that there is white horse treatment when public perception feels otherwise.

All they need to do is just to openly admit there is white horse system and is one of the privileges as a ministar.

There is absolutely nothing can be done.

think the main grouse is why only he is allowed to do that?

if he is indeed special - the gahmen just need to come out to say - becos he is special. Instead of denying that there is white horse treatment when public perception feels otherwise.

I'm quite sure that he's not the only one. There some who did it, but 12 years is a bit rare but I'm quite sure not unique. It's just that they don't get publicized. Even PT case got publicized only because TT was standing for EP. My point is still, don't rock the boat of loopholes to deferment and disruption. Nothing will happen to them. It's all bygone and legally bygone. Keep those loopholes open to yourselves and your sons. Don't force their hands to tighten these loopholes.

Fook Seng

The sentence: "NSmen should be deployed according to their skill sets" is the most important part of his comment. Is he trying to argue that this deployment according to the NSman's skill sets is going to overwrite the enlistment laws of National Service? If he is proposing it for consideration in the future, he can, of course, raise it in parliament for deliberation. But if he trying to say it makes more sense to justify some past breaches of the laws, it is a no no.

steffychun

The sentence: "NSmen should be deployed according to their skill sets" is the most important part of his comment. Is he trying to argue that this deployment according to the NSman's skill sets is going to overwrite the enlistment laws of National Service? If he is proposing it for consideration in the future, he can, of course, raise it in parliament for deliberation. But if he trying to say it makes more sense to justify some past breaches of the laws, it is a no no.

So my friend takes IR/Political Science. Should he be deployed in Intelligence corps? Instead, he is a normal foot solider.

Fook Seng

Stage 5 said:
I remember it was Steve Chia who first raised the topic of White Horse

The end result of this investigation, no matter what may happen to PT, should be the abolishing of the White Horse practice. That to me is the only fair result.

If a proper investigation is carried out and the right questions are asked, :rolleyes:
they will discover what we all already know.
That practically no nsf is posted to a unit or vocation that is "in line" with his field of study or future/potential field or area of expertise if any, that disruption especially a long term one is rare, it is also rare to serve out your nsf time in a lab, very few nsfs get posted to a unit or vocation that they happened to like or excelled in, most merely adapt to what they are given, including medical officers.

Hence the only logical conclusion is that he is a world class super scientist whose services the country could not have done without. Of course, we also know that he was given that posting because his extraordinary talent was recognised at an early age by his superior officers. Forget about all the nsf medical officers who had to man field hospitals or treat sick and injured soldiers daily. They cannot hold a candle to this gentleman in terms of earth shattering breakthrough research.

:rolleyes:

If the opposition is smart, they will gather up the names of thousands of NSmen that disrupted for overseas studies in engineering, bus. ad, etc. Come back to do NS and end up as infantry NCO or Officers, MT drivers, etc. Totally unrelated to their field of studies. If they did not get a vocation related to their field, why should Paturd Tan get it?

This Lim Wee Kiak is the same cheebye mouth that talk cock about Minister's salaries should be high or else they feel inferior talking to CEOs. Now shoot his cheebye mouth off again. It says something about the PAP when an asshole like this can only por lumpar Vivian the Chindian's scotum sac and become an MP. Eye doctor fit to be a chairman of the Government Parliamentary Committee on Defence meh? Like we don't have enough useless ex mindef fuck running around parliament to at least take this post and give it some air of legitmacy?

Forvendet

If the opposition is smart, they will gather up the names of thousands of NSmen that disrupted for overseas studies in engineering, bus. ad, etc. Come back to do NS and end up as infantry NCO or Officers, MT drivers, etc. Totally unrelated to their field of studies. If they did not get a vocation related to their field, why should Paturd Tan get it?

Both the question and answer hinge on the 12-year deferment. That means by the time Patrick Tan resumed NSF, he was above age 30. How then to put him back into full-time combat vocation as he had little combat training before also as he deferred.

This Lim Wee Kiak is the same cheebye mouth that talk cock about Minister's salaries should be high or else they feel inferior talking to CEOs. Now shoot his cheebye mouth off again. It says something about the PAP when an asshole like this can only por lumpar Vivian the Chindian's scotum sac and become an MP. Eye doctor fit to be a chairman of the Government Parliamentary Committee on Defence meh? Like we don't have enough useless ex mindef fuck running around parliament to at least take this post and give it some air of legitmacy?

Then why aren't ministers in other countries feeling inferior?

Dr. Lee Boon Yang, a vet, was Minister for Manpower for many years. Manpower is animal farm?

Both the question and answer hinge on the 12-year deferment. That means by the time Patrick Tan resumed NSF, he was above age 30. How then to put him back into full-time combat vocation as he had little combat training before also as he deferred.

Then why aren't ministers in other countries feeling inferior?

Dr. Lee Boon Yang, a vet, was Minister for Manpower for many years. Manpower is animal farm?

Ah yeah, Lee Boon Yang a vet to run Manpower is very appropriate mah. The whole thing is so Orwellian. Singapore is the real Animal Farm in action, we are all animals and some are more equal than others. A few animals dictate the rules in the book, just like in Singapore.

The end result of this investigation, no matter what may happen to PT, should be the abolishing of the White Horse practice. That to me is the only fair result.
Remember a PRC punk who ran down a pedestrian shouted "My Father is Li Gang!"?
Patrick Tan shouted "My Father is Tony Tan!"

kingrant

Ya lor..CB mouth also gave example of naval architects being deployed to build ships! LOL! How many NAs do you need for a ship? One. How many NAs can we absorb? The fucking shipbuilding industry was already scuttled years ago, and Singapore now only does shiprepairing and ship refitting. Wtf is he talking about? Is he sleeping or blurfuck?