• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious 93% Of Sinkies Support Doing 2 Years Of NS Even If It's Just For Fun With No Enemy To Kill! Oppies Still Want To Chao Keng?

2022080285810492a64x3089-03_10.jpg

SINGAPORE - While public support of national service (NS) in Singapore remains strong, it is viewed as less important in gaining job-relevant skills and improving job prospects, according to a new study by the Institute of Policy Studies (IPS).

The study’s results released on Wednesday showed that 93 per cent of respondents would support compulsory NS, even if there were no immediate threats to Singapore, while 88 per cent said they would encourage their friends and loved ones to serve, even if NS was optional.

The researchers – Dr Chew Han Ei, Mr Shane Pereira, Ms Pamela Lee, Ms Isabelle Tan and Ms Elizabeth Lim – wanted to understand public attitudes towards NS following changes in education, the work landscape of Singapore, and the geopolitical landscape.

They looked at the aspirations of those in service, and sought to identify challenges that the system needs to address to ensure that it is relevant and effective, and how to improve the NS experience.

The IPS had conducted a similar survey on public sentiments towards NS in 2013.

Dr Chew, an IPS senior research fellow and the principal investigator for the study, said at a media briefing on Wednesday that a check on sentiments and perceptions about NS was due, given the changes that had taken place in Singapore society.

Singapore now has a population that is more educated, and parents are more involved in their sons’ NS journey, said Dr Chew.

He added that geopolitical tensions and global uncertainty also invoked strong feelings from respondents about how Singapore needed to defend itself.

“The state of the world... it’s not even a backdrop. It’s in the forefront. ‘What happens if something like the Russia-Ukraine war happens to Singapore? We need to be ready.’ Without much prompting, this is what the people we spoke to offered,” said Dr Chew.

Between July and October 2022, the researchers carried out a nationally representative survey of 1,002 Singapore citizens and permanent residents (PRs) aged 17 and above, and across genders and ethnicities.

They also conducted 13 focus group discussions that included full-time national servicemen (NSFs), operationally ready national servicemen (NSmen), women, family and spouses of servicemen, C-suite executives, and human resource (HR) managers from companies of various sizes.

Qualitative in-depth interviews were also done with 10 unemployed NSmen.

The Ministry of Defence (Mindef) funded the study, and questions for the study were framed in consultation with the ministry, said Dr Chew.

He added that the 2013 study showed that there was already “very strong support” for NS, with positive sentiment going beyond 90 per cent. Hence, he predicted there was not much more room for support to go up significantly.

Instead, what he noted from the 2022 study was that the number of respondents who strongly agreed with the relevance and role of NS grew.

The proportion of those who strongly agreed that NS is necessary for the defence of Singapore increased from 42 per cent in 2013 to 57 per cent in 2022.

Similarly, the proportion of respondents who strongly agreed that NS provides the security needed for Singapore to develop and prosper, increased from 37 per cent in 2013 to 53 per cent in 2022.

More respondents also strongly agreed about the relevance of NS.

In the 2022 study, 57 per cent strongly agreed that NS will continue to be important for Singapore – up from 33 per cent in 2013.

Despite strong support for its relevance to national defence, the study found that perceptions of NS as important and valuable for gaining job skills and improving job prospects have weakened since 2013. Some respondents raised issues of finding a balance between serving the nation and supporting their family.

In the focus group discussions, participants who worked in HR expressed concerns about the cost to their companies when male employees were away, even though they strongly supported reservist commitments.

While 94 per cent of respondents viewed NS as a “rite of passage for the Singapore man”, 71 per cent of them thought NS is important for learning skills useful for civilian employment – down from 82 per cent in 2013.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...nd-it-useful-in-civilian-employment-ips-study

Hypocrite-The

If that is the case, than make it a full volunteer army.... Because these ppl will respond to the call by volunteering...than the whinging about NS will stop

LOL, IPS. Propagandists masquerading as 'research academics'. :roflmao:

Honorary mentions: Blackbox Research, YouGov and RySense. :rolleyes:

k1976

2022080285810492a64x3089-03_10.jpg

SINGAPORE - While public support of national service (NS) in Singapore remains strong, it is viewed as less important in gaining job-relevant skills and improving job prospects, according to a new study by the Institute of Policy Studies (IPS).

The study’s results released on Wednesday showed that 93 per cent of respondents would support compulsory NS, even if there were no immediate threats to Singapore, while 88 per cent said they would encourage their friends and loved ones to serve, even if NS was optional.

The researchers – Dr Chew Han Ei, Mr Shane Pereira, Ms Pamela Lee, Ms Isabelle Tan and Ms Elizabeth Lim – wanted to understand public attitudes towards NS following changes in education, the work landscape of Singapore, and the geopolitical landscape.

They looked at the aspirations of those in service, and sought to identify challenges that the system needs to address to ensure that it is relevant and effective, and how to improve the NS experience.

The IPS had conducted a similar survey on public sentiments towards NS in 2013.

Dr Chew, an IPS senior research fellow and the principal investigator for the study, said at a media briefing on Wednesday that a check on sentiments and perceptions about NS was due, given the changes that had taken place in Singapore society.

Singapore now has a population that is more educated, and parents are more involved in their sons’ NS journey, said Dr Chew.

He added that geopolitical tensions and global uncertainty also invoked strong feelings from respondents about how Singapore needed to defend itself.

“The state of the world... it’s not even a backdrop. It’s in the forefront. ‘What happens if something like the Russia-Ukraine war happens to Singapore? We need to be ready.’ Without much prompting, this is what the people we spoke to offered,” said Dr Chew.

Between July and October 2022, the researchers carried out a nationally representative survey of 1,002 Singapore citizens and permanent residents (PRs) aged 17 and above, and across genders and ethnicities.

They also conducted 13 focus group discussions that included full-time national servicemen (NSFs), operationally ready national servicemen (NSmen), women, family and spouses of servicemen, C-suite executives, and human resource (HR) managers from companies of various sizes.

Qualitative in-depth interviews were also done with 10 unemployed NSmen.

The Ministry of Defence (Mindef) funded the study, and questions for the study were framed in consultation with the ministry, said Dr Chew.

He added that the 2013 study showed that there was already “very strong support” for NS, with positive sentiment going beyond 90 per cent. Hence, he predicted there was not much more room for support to go up significantly.

Instead, what he noted from the 2022 study was that the number of respondents who strongly agreed with the relevance and role of NS grew.

The proportion of those who strongly agreed that NS is necessary for the defence of Singapore increased from 42 per cent in 2013 to 57 per cent in 2022.

Similarly, the proportion of respondents who strongly agreed that NS provides the security needed for Singapore to develop and prosper, increased from 37 per cent in 2013 to 53 per cent in 2022.

More respondents also strongly agreed about the relevance of NS.

In the 2022 study, 57 per cent strongly agreed that NS will continue to be important for Singapore – up from 33 per cent in 2013.

Despite strong support for its relevance to national defence, the study found that perceptions of NS as important and valuable for gaining job skills and improving job prospects have weakened since 2013. Some respondents raised issues of finding a balance between serving the nation and supporting their family.

In the focus group discussions, participants who worked in HR expressed concerns about the cost to their companies when male employees were away, even though they strongly supported reservist commitments.

While 94 per cent of respondents viewed NS as a “rite of passage for the Singapore man”, 71 per cent of them thought NS is important for learning skills useful for civilian employment – down from 82 per cent in 2013.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...nd-it-useful-in-civilian-employment-ips-study
Why do 2yrs only, Boss John?
Should do 50yrs mah, so sinki can show the world how we take our security seriously de woh

k1976

PAP gas lighting u again. I bet they ask foreigners, ask woman and ask new citizens in stead. :cautious:
Cannot say like that

Uptron >>>>>>> SPM >>>>>>>>>>>>>>O Level

We are meritocracy mah and jin inclusive in this world wan

Pariah

Yeah , he know sinki brain is very simple and easily influenced de woh, right Cik Syed

Leememeber

Uptron >>>> SPM >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>O level

You think Samsters or Sinkies all stupid? You think we are blinded and cannot see at what you have "written", you think we never study marketing?
You still living in the 50s or 60s? :roflmao:
Try harder, GE is drawing near and you have to answer to Baey, don't you? :roflmao::whistling:

k1976

You think Samsters or Sinkies all stupid? You think we are blinded and cannot see at what you have "written", you think we never study marketing?
Try harder, GE is drawing near and you have to answer to Baey, don't you? :roflmao::whistling:
IMHO, Sinki are Quite stupid act cheerie
Jiuhu samster are jin smart de

Uptron >>>> SPM >>>>>>>>>>>>>> O level

k1976

Who is Baey?

Why u know Baey de woh?

What is your objective to say bad thing of your country?

k1976

Dun Sabo others who live here , eat here and sleep here in this small Isle.

Not everybody has privileges or means to live overseas and kpkb here