• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Police visit protest organisers’ homes at midnight to demand they come in for questio

xingguy

Re: Police visit protest organisers’ homes at midnight to demand they come in for que

Source: The Real Singapore

HAN HUI HUI SHARES HER EXPERIENCE ABOUT HER 8 HOUR INTERROGATION BY THE POLICE
Post date: 11 Oct 2014 - 7:36am

hahhh_0.png

Yesterday the chief organiser of the ReturnOurCPF protest, Ms Han Hui Hui was demanded to go down to the Police Cantonment Complex for “investigation”.

The Real Singapore spoke to Ms Han to find out what happened and it appears that the whole exercise may have been a case of police harassment and intimidation.

Ms Han shared that plain clothes officers came to her home at around midnight the night before and served her a letter demanding that she come down to the Police Cantonment Complex the next day at 2pm.

Ms Han obliged and went down at 2pm. She was forced to wait half an hour before anyone even came out to speak to her and from 2:30pm she was put in an interrogation room.

She was then interrogated for almost 8 hours until 10pm. She was permitted to go on toilet breaks but was not given any food or permitted to go out for dinner throughout the whole time there.

Ms Han had been taking notes on her notebook during the interviews but the Police took away her notebook and refused to return it. Ms Han shared that she told the officer in charge Inspector Wong Yu Wei, that this was illegal as they do not have a warrant but she was not returned her notebook.

Ms Han also shared that they wanted to take away her phone too when she was trying to call her lawyer, M Ravi. Fortunately, Mr Ravi picked up the phone before it was snatched away.

Is this an investigation or simply an exercise of harassment or citizens and intimidation?

Ms Han said that she was told she is not permitted to share the details of the questions asked during the interrogation.

What could the Police possibly need to ask in 8 hours about Ms Han that they couldn’t ask in just a few hours?

It seems that the Police are happily just working for the PAP and work to intimidate citizens who go against the government.

Interestingly, former ISA detainee Teo Soh Lung, shared a note on facebook about the incident saying how such police harassment is common in Singapore for activists and she shared some tips for people on what they should do if they are called up to interviews with the police.

Here is her note in full:

Just in case more people are being hauled up to the police station, here are some quick points to note. Seasoned activists, please feel free to comment!

Every activist is prone to being summoned to the police station, usually to answer questions relating to the commission of an alleged offence. It is pretty routine and there is nothing to fear. Sometimes the police goes on a fishing trip hoping to catch someone through the statements collected from various people. Sometimes it is pure harassment.

An activist must be prepared for interviews at police stations. These are not to be taken lightly. There are a few basic things that he/she has to remember when summoned to answer about the commission of an alleged offence.

Letters to attend at police station

Letters from the police to attend an interview need not be physically delivered. They can be posted through ordinary snail mail. But often, the police have a lot of time in their hands and they may take a drive to your house. But this must never be midnight or early hours of the morning. If they do that, it is harassment and an abuse of police power.

Never open doors at midnight. Call the police and your friends. If they continue to bang loudly, telephone your friends for help. They should video the police outside your door. Have a Apps group so that one message goes out to the entire group.

It is possible to request for interviews to be conducted at a police station in your neighbourhood or near your home. If the appointment is not suitable, you can request for a change.

Interviews

Never attend an interview alone. Always bring a friend or two. Your friend cannot be in the interview room but he can wait at the reception. If this is not possible, inform reliable friends to keep track of your attendance at the police station. Give them the particulars of police station and telephone number. If possible, the name of the officer in charge. Your friends should call the police station or officer regularly for updates.

1. Keep your friends informed of developments, whether through telephone calls, facebook or messages.

2. Wear comfortable warm clothings and shoes. If your interview is at the Cantonment Police HQ, it is very cold. You can request the officer to turn up the air-conditioner if you cannot bear the cold.

3. You are entitled to request for hot drinks and snacks if you are hungry. If your interview takes hours, you are also entitled to request for lunch and dinner.

4. Take toilet breaks.

5. Bring paper and pen to record the questions and answers. As most of you know, Han Hui Hui had her notebook (the paper notebook not the computer) taken away after the interview. The police has no power to retain your properties as you have not committed any offence.

6. Request for a copy of your signed statement if you sign any statement. Often, the police will refuse to give this to you. In that case, you can refuse to sign the statement. There is no rule to say that statements given to the police must be signed.

7. Han Hui Hui was questioned from 2 to 10 pm. Eight hours is a long time and a bad reflection of the standard of our police force. I suspect that there was no pressure from outside to compel the police to finish their work earlier. If friends and family members telephone the police or attend at the police station earlier, this long interview may have been avoided.

8. Keep your answers short and never volunteer statements. If you have no knowledge, say so.

This is just a brief note.

It seems that in Singapore, the police are freely allowed to harass the citizens and are just hoping to catch activists on something that they might let slip during a long and torturous interview.

In other developed nations, the citizens are protected from Police abuse of power and such unnecessarily long interrogations are not allowed. Citizens have clear rights and if they are not arrested, they do not even need to go down for questioning at all. Lawyers are always allowed to be present during an integoration with the police.

Han Hui Hui is obviously not a dangerous individual and she might be loud and outspoken in many areas but she is clearly not a harm to our society. So why is there a need to be treated this way by the police?

It seem Singapore is not a true democracy where the people have proper rights at all. In fact, this is consistant with the EIU democracy index and Singapore was found not to be a democracy and not even considered a country that practices false democracy. It was classified as a hybrid authoritarian regime: According to Democracy Index 2012, Singapore is classified as an hybrid regime

What do you think?

Re: Police visit protest organisers’ homes at midnight to demand they come in for que

Really, how low can the pathetic PAP and Gay loong stoop? Now, they are arresting and bullying small size women and teenagers? At least under Old Fart, they picked on real men like JB Jeyaratnam.

bakkuttay

wish pinky the earliest relapse.

wish oldfart the earliest reunion with ahqua.

hhh is now raised by PAPpigs to the staus of a martyr.

xingguy

Source: TR EMERITUS

Han Hui Hui’s 8-hour ordeal at Police Cantonment Complex
October 11th, 2014 | Author: Editorial

hhh.jpg

Not only was the main organiser of @ReturnOur CPF protest denied food, her personal belongings were also (unreasonably) seized by the police, said Han Hui Hui of her 8-hour long ordeal at the Police Cantonment Complex (PCC).

The investigating officer (IO) also tried to prevent Ms Han from calling her lawyer M Ravi, but fortunately the call went through before the IO snatched away her mobile phone.

The police had yesterday (10 Oct) summoned Ms Han to assist in an investigation into an offence of unlawful assembly, related to the recent #ReturnOurCPF event which clashed with the YMCA event graced by Minister Teo Ser Luck.

Relating her ordeal, Ms Han said she had turned up at PCC as demanded and was put in an interrogation room for 8 long hours, from 2pm to 10pm.

During the interrogation, Ms Han was allowed to go for toilet breaks, but her request for food was denied. She was also not allowed to leave PCC for dinner.

TRE understands that even if Ms Han was arrested, she would have been entitled to food provided by the police, an entitlement which cannot reasonably be denied.

Commenting on Ms Han’s ordeal in a FaceBook post, Teo Soh Lung (a former ISD detainee and qualified lawyer) said:

You are entitled to request for hot drinks and snacks if you are hungry. If your interview takes hours, you are also entitled to request for lunch and dinner.​

Interestingly, there is a canteen at PCC and each department in PCC has a pantry stocked with biscuits, coffee, etc. It is puzzling why the IO, one Inspector Wong Yu Wei, would deny Ms Han her basic entitlement.

The IO took away a notebook (writing pad) which she had been using to take notes of the questions and answers during the interrogation. Ms Han shared that when she asked the IO to return the notebook to her since it is her personal property, her request was flatly denied.

Commenting on the seizure of Ms Han’s notebook, Ms Teo opined that Ms Han was within her rights to take notes during the interrogation and the IO had no right to confiscate it:

Bring paper and pen to record the questions and answers. As most of you know, Han Hui Hui had her notebook (the paper notebook not the computer) taken away after the interview. The police has no power to retain your properties as you have not committed any offence.​

In any case, Ms Han was allowed to leave PCC at 10pm, but not before being warned that she is not permitted to reveal the questions asked during the interrogation.

In the meantime, Ms Teo has written a quick Q&A on Facebook for other activists who may be called up for questioning by the police [Link].

End Of Article​

bakkuttay

NPARKS DIRECTOR WAS ACTING OUTSIDE OF HIS AUTHORITY WHEN HE REVOKED THE PROTESTERS' PERMIT?

source: http://therealsingapore.com/content...s-authority-when-he-revoked-protesters-permit

Post date:
11 Oct 2014 - 4:39pm

I refer to the editorial “Permit for #Return Our CPF protest was revoked” (TR Emeritus, Oct 11).

It states that “TR Emeritus (TRE) has confirmed that the investigation of several activists involved in the recent #ReturnOurCPF protest held on 27th Sept for alleged unlawful assembly was because the permit (to protest at Hong Lim Park) was revoked.

Several other activists in the protest were also questioned on whether they knew the permit was revoked and what their relationship with Ms Han and Roy Ngerng were.
Ms Han had applied for a permit to hold the protest and to march around Hong Lim Park as part of the recent #ReturnOur CPF protest, but the police is now claiming that the permit had been revoked, thus the protesters had gathered unlawfully.

However, since the man was unable to show any proper identification papers to prove that he had the authority, it would have been impossible to know if he could do so.
It is likely that it was at this point in time that the permit to hold the #ReturnOurCPF was considered revoked (in the police’s context).

4. Again, assuming that the man has the authority and the revocation was proper, then why was the #ReturnOurCPF event allowed to proceed? Surely there were police and NPArks officials present on the important day, were there not? If a crime was commited or in the process of being committed, the police are bound BY LAW to prevent the crime, not to induce the commission and then take acton later, not forgetting that unlawful assembly is a seizable offence.

Last but far from the very least, which no doubt any non-legal trained readers on TRE would have already thought of, if indeed the permit had been revoked, then WHY the need for NParks and many MPs to wayang and try to wriggle when all thats needed immediately after the “unlawful assembly” event was for either the police or NParks to issue a statement that the permit for #ReturnOurCPF was revoked and therefore an offence had been committed?

What do you think?”

- According to the law on the use of Speakers’ Corner – “The Commissioner reserves the right to cancel any approval or disallow any event or activity at any time without prior notice in the event of any breach of or non-compliance with the terms and conditions herein”

So, the NParks director did not have the authority to revoke the application on the spot, as only the Commissioner has the authority.

Also, revocation must also indicate what was the “breach of or non-compliance with the terms and conditions herein”.

Thus, the NParks director was acting ultra vires.

Consequently, how could there be an illegal assembly when the permit to use Speakers Corner for the protest was still valid?

Leong Sze Hianl]

quartz28

kenneth jeyaretnam posted 30 mins ago, hhh has been in the police station for 5 hours.

Triple H will lose the citizenship, kick back to boleh land and ban from coming back....

dont be stupid. she is a mole to discredit the oppo. the farktards in papzi r kicking ruckus over nothing. not election time yet.

xingguy

Source: Jason Lee Facebook

10636131_718036784948019_7205994810686233169_n.jpg

"Assuming that the man [Mr Chia] has the authority and the revocation was proper, then why was the #ReturnOurCPF event allowed to proceed? Surely there were police and NPArks officials present on the important day, were there not? If a crime was committed or in the process of being committed, the police are bound BY LAW to prevent the crime, not to induce the commission and then take action later, not forgetting that unlawful assembly is a seizable offence." -- TRE

Shouldn't all the police officers who were present at the scene be held accountable for failing to carry out their duties to maintain Law and Order?

Read this:
Permit for #ReturnOurCPF protest was revoked
http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/10/11/permit-for-returnourcpf-protest-was-revoked/

And this:
4 SDP members arrested outside Istana
http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2007/10/toc-breaking-news-4-sdp-members-arrested-outside-istana/

End Of Article​

1796421_849374741762181_7536112696611841756_n.jpg

borom

Will be interesting to hear what the opposition have to say in Parliament about this-as they have Parliamentary immunity and should speak up for the silent majority.

When a team resort to rough or dirty tactics, its usually because they are unable to win based on skills and fear losing .

ns is killing singapore

of all job they chose to be peons for pappies? it's their choice and they have made it, and they must deal with the consequences should shit hit the fan and landed on them, no excuse!

Please no killing sir we are all civilized people. The polis are just following orders and they have kids to feed.

ns is killing singapore

hmmmm, i thought there's some toothpick pincher who say's he feel rich looking at his CPF statement. He is rare one that who do not want to withdraw his CPF at 55.:biggrin:

I doubt such tactics will work because who doesn't wants their CPF back at 55 :confused:. Even the 60% who support the PAP want their CPF.

If the PAP forces people to make a choice in the next GE. They are asking the people to vote them out:biggrin:

Why Spore police now behave like secret police acting for govt and not the people? Now is internet age, must publicise all their bullying acts and stop these harassment antics.

steffychun

once again I tell you: The rest of the World Does not care!!!!

Obama will not sanction or invade SG, UN will not sponsor resolution etc no one will give a damn!

Now if this happened in Malaysia, Syria Iraq, Russia North Korea China yes they would

but no one gives a damn!

Go tell the US Ambassador Kirk Wagar, (twitter https://twitter.com/AmbWagar) the British High Comissioner Anthony P (surname too long, twitter https://twitter.com/HCAPhillipson). No world leader will give a damn.

wendychan

once again I tell you: The rest of the World Does not care!!!!

Obama will not sanction or invade SG, UN will not sponsor resolution etc no one will give a damn!

Now if this happened in Malaysia, Syria Iraq, Russia North Korea China yes they would

but no one gives a damn!

Go tell the US Ambassador Kirk Wagar, (twitter https://twitter.com/AmbWagar) the British High Comissioner Anthony P (surname too long, twitter https://twitter.com/HCAPhillipson). No world leader will give a damn.
i agree, only the big wigs here have so a sense of their self worth and importance

I'm part of the 60% and I don't want all my CPF at 55. I am happy to leave a portion with the government where it is managed by one of the best fund managers around.

In fact I currently have more than 3 times the minimum sum in my ordinary and special accounts. The returns are excellent thanks to Ho Ching and her capable team.

Is that mildly saying yr cpf got stuck in there for life not of your choosing.

In any retirement scheme, the principal assets should never be touched regardless of where they are so the term "stuck" is a misnomer.

Income is derived from the resulting yield and CPF is paying way above my other SGD based assets.

ok lah... so we know now they refuse to return to you. really kena pwned. worst fate then triple H.

I could easily give up my SG citizenship and take the whole lot out but that would not be a financially prudent move as CPF is rock solid and very well managed.

Ho Ching has outperformed Buffet in recent years. Only a fool would withdraw from a fund run by her. A CPF account is an honor and a privilege.

Inspector Wong Yu Wei

A member of the PAP Gestapo ....how does he look like? How many wives or mistress does he have? How many children? Where does he live?

I hope Ah Beng Inc will interrogate him.

Inspector Wong Yu Wei - PAP Gestapo

Inspector Wong Yu Wei interrogated / harassed HHH for 8 hours. He abused her rights - seizing her laptop and notebook without warrant, deny her food and drink and turned up the aircon to freeze her.

Who is Inspector Wong Yu Wei? Where does he live? Has he got a wife and children?

I hope karma will punish Inspector Wong Yu Wei for serving the evil PAP.