• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NS for adult new citizens not practical

cooleo

i refer to last friday's letter by mr michael ang, 'make english and modified ns a must'.

Many foreigners coming to singapore are in their late 20s or older. They are already economically productive and can immediately contribute to singapore's economy. It makes little sense to disrupt their activities for two years. Whatever social networks they have developed would also need to be rebuilt.

xiao fuchun

http://www.straitstimes.com/st+forum/story/stistory_415050.html

xiao fu chun u this ccb foreign trash (yes trash!), you don't come and talk cock la. If i am a young poly grad, i can still be "economically productive" hor!

2lanu

White scum treated NS of all vocations as same. But is it really the same? I can feel it with my bone that they are twiting the policies to the advantage. See Pinky's son, TeoCB's son, or Spring chief's son? Did they really serve NS?

KNN, all trying to pull wool over the eyes of peasant! :oIo:
Uniquely Singapore, one country two system...

littlefish

Apparantly what you stated will not work out. White scum know the sums well. To pay all NS full pay, it will bankrupt them in no time! The annual defence budget is about S$10B. This will led to budget surge up another $5B maybe. Surplus all eaten up.

And by taxing more on foreigners or PR, they sure leave immediate to somewhere more attractive.

So white scum only mean is to con the naive. Promise them of "future" that are far far into... Ask them to "love the cuntry" and if needed die for her. :oIo:

Who so stupid to do so? They themselves are not doing yet they dare say that!

Conscription is not free. For too long, the ordinary people have been asked to bear the burden of national defence. It is time for the government, GLCs and businesses to come to the table and contribute their appropriate share. They can't hope to keep asking Singaporeans to sacrifice while they keep importing foreigners to earn big fat profits (at least, I hope Singaporeans will not stand for that).

Blazars

This xiao fu chun guy should jus shut his damn mouth. I have a suggestion for people like him. Those people who have never serve NS and/or reservist, keep your comment to youself. Only pink ic holders, serve NS and/or reservist can make comment. Especially those who kena RT or recall manning.
!&!!

Jabba

let's just leave the new citizens alone...since they lived many yrs of their life as citizens in other countries...and set a law for their offsprings to serve NS for 4 yrs...to repay their daddy's debts...no more arguments here coz they are full fledged singaporeans by then...if their kids whined abt y they have to serve four years....ur kids can tell them proudly "ask ur daddy"

ah_phah

I REFER to last Friday's letter by Mr Michael Ang, 'Make English and modified NS a must'.

National service (NS) is not merely a rite of passage for young male Singaporeans. It was conceived with a specific objective to build up a citizens' army to defend Singapore militarily. This objective remains true today.

It is tempting to argue that foreigners should do NS as a price to pay for Singapore citizenship because many view NS as a liability borne by Singaporeans. However, NS functions as part of a wider framework of the war-fighting doctrine of the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF), as well as Singapore's national development. Manpower requirements, including those for conscription, must be meticulously identified and implemented.

Many foreigners coming to Singapore are in their late 20s or older. They are already economically productive and can immediately contribute to Singapore's economy. It makes little sense to disrupt their activities for two years. Whatever social networks they have developed would also need to be rebuilt.

Having modified NS is feasible only if it fits in with the overall requirements of the SAF and complements its capability. It is a waste of resources if it exists only to make some people 'serve their duty'.

Furthermore, the largest army corps is the infantry and this is where the SAF needs the most people. However, studies in other countries have shown that the specific kind of fitness needed for infantry soldiers, involving a combination of agility, stamina and tolerance of sleep deprivation, starts to degrade from the late 20s onwards. This is why armies across the world have a lower maximum age to join the infantry.

Xiao Fuchun

http://www.straitstimes.com/ST+Forum/Story/STIStory_415050.html
the biggest chunk of our NSmen in green forms; guards, infantry, armored infantry...... etc. so, why the fck r we still serving reservist 10yr cycle????

this fcker deserves a good fck!! as if our men are not productive to the economy when we work like slaves, all thanks to the Ftrash coming in to spoil mkt....

Watchman

8652037977105233full.jpg

motuiti

who the fuck is this Xiao Fuchun?

I REFER to last Friday's letter by Mr Michael Ang, 'Make English and modified NS a must'.

National service (NS) is not merely a rite of passage for young male Singaporeans. It was conceived with a specific objective to build up a citizens' army to defend Singapore militarily. This objective remains true today.

It is tempting to argue that foreigners should do NS as a price to pay for Singapore citizenship because many view NS as a liability borne by Singaporeans. However, NS functions as part of a wider framework of the war-fighting doctrine of the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF), as well as Singapore's national development. Manpower requirements, including those for conscription, must be meticulously identified and implemented.

Many foreigners coming to Singapore are in their late 20s or older. They are already economically productive and can immediately contribute to Singapore's economy. It makes little sense to disrupt their activities for two years. Whatever social networks they have developed would also need to be rebuilt.

Having modified NS is feasible only if it fits in with the overall requirements of the SAF and complements its capability. It is a waste of resources if it exists only to make some people 'serve their duty'.

Furthermore, the largest army corps is the infantry and this is where the SAF needs the most people. However, studies in other countries have shown that the specific kind of fitness needed for infantry soldiers, involving a combination of agility, stamina and tolerance of sleep deprivation, starts to degrade from the late 20s onwards. This is why armies across the world have a lower maximum age to join the infantry.

Xiao Fuchun

http://www.straitstimes.com/ST+Forum/Story/STIStory_415050.html

Watchman

Xiao Fuchun is a Ghost Writer mimic Foriegn Talents here speaking on behalf that FTs after 26 need not serve National Service because they won't have the stamina to do it !

2lanu

NS is a joke! The reason why it still remains holy and sacred is because the 144th media are keeping this topic under wrap on orders by the white scum master.

NS is not fair in the sense that not all vocation are doing the same sacrifice. A role of clerk and a combat soldier, who is doing more? It's quite obvious isn't it? But white scum says it is the same. INSULT OF INTELLIGENCE! :oIo: If it is really the same, then allow them to swap vocations!

Those regulars who had signed on are not the one to fight at warfront if war break out. All those generals, enciks and higher ranks will most probably stay behind the fire line and dictate how war is to be fought. Those NSmen who are not in the command role and not better trained compared to them were naively put to fight at the frontline.

Uniquely Singapore! Like that also can... :oIo:

2lanu

the biggest chunk of our NSmen in green forms; guards, infantry, armored infantry...... etc. so, why the fck r we still serving reservist 10yr cycle????

this fcker deserves a good fck!! as if our men are not productive to the economy when we work like slaves, all thanks to the Ftrash coming in to spoil mkt....

The combat units aka guards, infantry, armored infantry appear the biggest no# but I can tell you that it is all fakes! Many of the units are only one third fill up. And even if you merge 2 units, it still short of the combat strength to go out for mission. Miserable rite... :rolleyes:

On the other hand, you can help the number of clerks at HQ that filled till no place for them to be sit. My previous RSM said his clerk company is more than any combat company. Hahaha!

And if you see NS in a bigger spectum, those in police, civil services, or whatever are even more chia liao bee...:rolleyes: