• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New developments to share

RedsYNWA

Those granted PR 3yrs ago , all must have bought a HDB or pte property already lor . That explain why resale HDB cheap cheap also no taker while condos at 2000psf also got PRs buying . So must wait for new batch of PRs to ripe before HDB resale can sale.

But why sell HDB flat? For citizens, we should rent it out. Gd yield, and after X no. of years, it can be en-bloc for another brand new 99-year flat. Best 99-year residential type in SG, imho. If PR, then yes, eventually one should sell.

jasonjst

But why sell HDB flat? For citizens, we should rent it out. Gd yield, and after X no. of years, it can be en-bloc for another brand new 99-year flat. Best 99-year residential type in SG, imho. If PR, then yes, eventually one should sell.

Got lots of people buy ec last few yrs. May need to sell ugrently hence below valuation also sell, haha

Funniman

Chinese financial floodgates are now opened. In the past, China imposed a max. USD50,000 transfer to Overseas. However, in the past few days, China started to free capital controls starting with Shanghai FTZ. In a nutshell, China is now exporting liquidity overseas. Australia is the first to benefit. With the involvement of Chinese developers in Iskandar Malaysia, it could be a sign of higher purchasing power by PRCs, and inflation of property prices.

Australian share and bond markets could benefit from a rush of Chinese money after the central bank announced on Monday that capital controls would be lifted in the Shanghai Free Trade Zone.

Chinese companies and people with an account in the new zone will be allowed to directly invest overseas without the need for pre-approvals or a cap on the total amount of money, according to the guidelines published by the People’s Bank of China (PBoC).

It is not just residents in the 29-square-kilometre zone who will benefit from the dramatic relaxation of restrictions: non-residents can also set up so-called free-trade accounts.

The PBoC also said foreign companies, with operations in the zone, could issue yuan-denominated bonds in the onshore market – a move that would open up the world’s largest untapped pool of savings. And the central bank plans to remove interest-rate and exchange-rate controls within the zone, although at a more gradual pace, once “conditions are ripe”.

“It’s more aggressive than we thought,” said ANZ chief China economist Liu Li-Gang. “The free-trade zone is not subject to any capital controls and they are also allowing non-residents to set up accounts.”

Still, there is some uncertainty about how Chinese companies and people will be able to transfer the initial funds for investment. The flow of money between normal Chinese bank accounts and the new free-trade accounts (FTAs) will still be subject to regulations. Mr Liu said a lot would depend on how the China Banking *Regulatory Commission treats those initial transfers.

“This could be very exciting,” he said. “But a lot will depend on the specific banking regulations.”

FHBH12

Chinese financial floodgates are now opened. In the past, China imposed a max. USD50,000 transfer to Overseas. However, in the past few days, China started to free capital controls starting with Shanghai FTZ. In a nutshell, China is now exporting liquidity overseas. Australia is the first to benefit. With the involvement of Chinese developers in Iskandar Malaysia, it could be a sign of higher purchasing power by PRCs, and inflation of property prices.

Australian share and bond markets could benefit from a rush of Chinese money after the central bank announced on Monday that capital controls would be lifted in the Shanghai Free Trade Zone.

Chinese companies and people with an account in the new zone will be allowed to directly invest overseas without the need for pre-approvals or a cap on the total amount of money, according to the guidelines published by the People’s Bank of China (PBoC).

It is not just residents in the 29-square-kilometre zone who will benefit from the dramatic relaxation of restrictions: non-residents can also set up so-called free-trade accounts.

The PBoC also said foreign companies, with operations in the zone, could issue yuan-denominated bonds in the onshore market – a move that would open up the world’s largest untapped pool of savings. And the central bank plans to remove interest-rate and exchange-rate controls within the zone, although at a more gradual pace, once “conditions are ripe”.

“It’s more aggressive than we thought,” said ANZ chief China economist Liu Li-Gang. “The free-trade zone is not subject to any capital controls and they are also allowing non-residents to set up accounts.”

Still, there is some uncertainty about how Chinese companies and people will be able to transfer the initial funds for investment. The flow of money between normal Chinese bank accounts and the new free-trade accounts (FTAs) will still be subject to regulations. Mr Liu said a lot would depend on how the China Banking *Regulatory Commission treats those initial transfers.

“This could be very exciting,” he said. “But a lot will depend on the specific banking regulations.”

The Chinese developers are buying up GLS land in Singapore at record prices too.

Funniman

The Chinese developers are buying up GLS land in Singapore at record prices too.

2014 / 2015 is going to be a year to watch. The main attractive investment grade cities which appeal most to PRC would be Spore, Iskandar, Penang, Kuala Lumpur, Sydney, Melbourne and London. Not too sure about New York or Bangkok or even San Francisco. Due to political problems, they would shun cities like Jakarta, Manila, etc.

But problem is does PRCs like to go after secondary market or new built?

FHBH12

2014 / 2015 is going to be a year to watch. The main attractive investment grade cities which appeal most to PRC would be Spore, Iskandar, Penang, Kuala Lumpur, Sydney, Melbourne and London. Not too sure about New York or Bangkok or even San Francisco. Due to political problems, they would shun cities like Jakarta, Manila, etc.

I dun think Iskandar ranks so high. It seems like second-tier target for those who are priced out of major cities like Singapore, KL and Penang. But the Chinese developers are definitely coming in for land-banking.

DCputeri

Not sure if it is landbanking or money cleansing.
I dun think Iskandar ranks so high. It seems like second-tier target for those who are priced out of major cities like Singapore, KL and Penang. But the Chinese developers are definitely coming in for land-banking.

Funniman

Not sure if it is landbanking or money cleansing.

Money cleansing or money laundering, it is definitely going to affect the way our property prices move.
PRCs seemed to flock in groups...You seldom see them investing alone. Love them, loathe them or plain hate them. They just won't go away.

Sunday

Really, even if u have pte property in SG that during end bloc, they will offer U a new HDB????

malpaso

iskandar is an investment grade city? is that what you're hearing on the grapevine? that's new to me. Glad i choped a place then.

cow138

I think Iskandar is on the PRC radar only due to its proximity to Singapore and cheapness and not really on its own merits.

I am not too sure it would attract much interest on its on. Consider past performance like Cyberjaya and Putrajaya as case in point

Funniman

iskandar is an investment grade city? is that what you're hearing on the grapevine? that's new to me. Glad i choped a place then.

It is not investment grade per se rather it is like wild wild west. It has potential cos the Chinese developers are land banking and due to marketibility to the PRCs. They too have their own followers. Yes, it is near Spore and also there's familiarity in language and culture. If Sultan of Johor can sell his land to mainland Chinese, you bet they will make sure their buyers would be successfully invested. But PRCs are known to speculative buying as well.

I think it is like Setia and Battersea. 60% of Battersea is bought by followers of Setia / Malaysians. What they plan to do, they do not know? But they do know the price had risen from 800 to 1300 psf already since 10 mths ago.

Valdez

Medina investors happy. The rest frowning....

image.jpg

RedsYNWA

Really, even if u have pte property in SG that during end bloc, they will offer U a new HDB????

Yes you can, but you need to stay in new replacement flat for 5 yrs.

If you, your spouse or essential occupiers of the SERS flat own a private property as at the SERS announcement date, you may retain ownership of the private property as an investment. However, you must continue to stay in the existing flat and the replacement flat after its completion. You may sell the private property at any time during this period.

If you wish to invest in another private property, you may do so only after the expiry of the minimum period of resale of the replacement flat, subject to our prevailing policies

Jetstream

Not sure whether it can be considered investment grade but I think the moment the MRT link to woodlands is announced (ie. concrete plans unveiled), which people are saying will be in 2014, expect another wave of interest. In my view, the MRT will be a game-changer in terms of connectivity, and connectivity is priceless. I believe certain projects like Ah Lim's Vantage Bay are simply waiting for this announcement of the century (ie. re MRT) before launching sales.