• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New developments to share

IskandarRocks

RM889.50 psf
But 4.5B is the GDV. So 899.50RM is the GDV price psf. Not bare land price.

Not really bro. RM 4.5B is the price paid for land and not GDV. They plan to build a total of 37.7M SFT so a GDV of RM 4.5B would mean a selling price of only RM 120 PSF. That's even below the construction cost. For that many SFT, i would estimate a GDV of more like RM 40B.

Here is the news from Bloomberg:

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-...for-malaysia-sites-in-overseas-expansion.html

malpaso

Not really bro. RM 4.5B is the price paid for land and not GDV. They plan to build a total of 37.7M SFT so a GDV of RM 4.5B would mean a selling price of only RM 120 PSF. That's even below the construction cost. For that many SFT, i would estimate a GDV of more like RM 40B.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-...for-malaysia-sites-in-overseas-expansion.html

Gosh, you're right. then it's really ex! must be really prime waterfront. could it be next to danga bay area?

1nottiboy

this whole forum getting quite slow and quiet these days. but I guess we only have the MY govt to blame. after all it is the "new developments" thread. and we know how fast they m......o......v......e......

so the latest development is for me is that I am checking out a new chick. some hedge fund gal. really pretty (dunno why but she thinks shes ugly) but she spends all her time traveling and working so shes unattached. poor thing... probably haven't had sex for a long time too. how do I know? lets just call it the nottiboy 6th sense. will try to score soon.

but on a more serious note. The astaka official launch/party is happening soon. I have an invitation but haven't decided if I wanna go. anyone else going?

potter

this whole forum getting quite slow and quiet these days. but I guess we only have the MY govt to blame. after all it is the "new developments" thread. and we know how fast they m......o......v......e......

so the latest development is for me is that I am checking out a new chick. some hedge fund gal. really pretty (dunno why but she thinks shes ugly) but she spends all her time traveling and working so shes unattached. poor thing... probably haven't had sex for a long time too. how do I know? lets just call it the nottiboy 6th sense. will try to score soon.

but on a more serious note. The astaka official launch/party is happening soon. I have an invitation but haven't decided if I wanna go. anyone else going?

how u know she's not crocodile dundee? :p

tot Prof/bro bot some astaka's units long ago...liao.

jasonjst

Plan to build a total of 37M sqft , assuming one flat is 1000sqft , can built 37,000 houses ! No wonder HDB also start to taper buiding BTO flats . I think can have walk in selection @ Iskandar soon .

FHBH12

Plan to build a total of 37M sqft , assuming one flat is 1000sqft , can built 37,000 houses ! No wonder HDB also start to taper buiding BTO flats . I think can have walk in selection @ Iskandar soon .

The developers could be banging on the assumption that Singapore will be over-crowded at 6.9 mil population, and has started to land-bank. At 6.9 mil, Singapore will be over-crowded and expensive. The land reclamation and shifting of major ports and airports will be very expensive, and all these will have to come from taxes. In other words, I expect inflation to be high in Singapore over the next 10-20 years, probably in the range of 4% per annum.

jasonjst

The developers could be banging on the assumption that Singapore will be over-crowded at 6.9 mil population, and has started to land-bank. At 6.9 mil, Singapore will be over-crowded and expensive. The land reclamation and shifting of major ports and airports will be very expensive, and all these will have to come from taxes. In other words, I expect inflation to be high in Singapore over the next 10-20 years, probably in the range of 4% per annum.
i
expert say 8million also can wat. inflation of 4 % pa for next 10 to 20yrs means houses in Singapore double again

jasonjst

why u think prices will be up in 2016 ? i thot that's when there will be massive supply ?

My guess is after GE2016 , massive import of FTs to ramp up the short fall , otherwise how to hit target of 6.9M ?
Those with property HUAT again ! While those not invested will have yet another 5 long years to repent ! LOL

RedsYNWA

My guess is after GE2016 , massive import of FTs to ramp up the short fall , otherwise how to hit target of 6.9M ?
Those with property HUAT again ! While those not invested will have yet another 5 long years to repent ! LOL

Yes, I always advise to get a SG property (HDB, condo, whatever) first. Then, buy JB for self-stay (if you can get used to it) & rent out the SG home to ride on MIW 6.9m plans. Even my non-educated mum knows this. She told a MY relative that "in SG, the most impt thing is to own a house".

You can then monetise it in whichever way you want, eg rent out rooms or rent out entire house to FTs, be it fake or real FTs.

jasonjst

Need to add : The 3 yrs bar for PRs to buy resale flat will end 2016 . After all these cooling off , these PRs will chiong the HDB resale again at cheap cheap price ! Those sell off their HDB below valuation today will have to repent !

gooddebt

ST reported a few days ago that SG has enough land to build another 500,000 units of housing. If we take average of 3 persons to one unit , we are talking about 1.5m pple . So SG has enough land to cater for the increase in population from 5.4m now to 6.9m . exactly 1.5m ! The crux is how fast can SG build these houses ? If slow, then prices can go up .

malpaso

Need to add : The 3 yrs bar for PRs to buy resale flat will end 2016 . After all these cooling off , these PRs will chiong the HDB resale again at cheap cheap price ! Those sell off their HDB below valuation today will have to repent !
i don't think that's accurate..
it's not a 3 years bar.
it's SPR cannot buy hdb for 3 years from the date they're granted PR.
those who were granted PR 3 years ago can still buy.
next year, those who where granted PR 2 years ago can buy.
and so on.
PRs are being granted continuously.

avelc

I've been having the same thoughts and just told 2 friends using the exact same numbers today, to derive the 6.9mil planning target.

The other point is that with the removal of height restriction surrounding PLAB, more high rise flats and apartments can be built vertically.

ST reported a few days ago that SG has enough land to build another 500,000 units of housing. If we take average of 3 persons to one unit , we are talking about 1.5m pple . So SG has enough land to cater for the increase in population from 5.4m now to 6.9m . exactly 1.5m ! The crux is how fast can SG build these houses ? If slow, then prices can go up .

these people obviously fail in their planning, even if build another 500k flats to house the increase in population but what about the public and recreation space? the population is expected to coop up at home or at work all the time? no need to plan transport space and leisure space? just go to suburban malls like Causeway point, jurong point etc and the crowd is already overwhelming without 6.9m people....

ECboy

these people obviously fail in their planning, even if build another 500k flats to house the increase in population but what about the public and recreation space? the population is expected to coop up at home or at work all the time? no need to plan transport space and leisure space? just go to suburban malls like Causeway point, jurong point etc and the crowd is already overwhelming without 6.9m people....

Very true, space for living is not just size of your house. It's recreational space, transport space, parking space, leisure space, eating space, etc...
Went to Upper Thomson Road yesterday at 3.15pm to have coffee, every bloody where got so many ppl with not enough parking, even on non-peak hour + weekday + location not near main MRT lines. In the end gave up and went to my usual cafe in Toa Payoh, also packed like mad, seriously where did all these people came from?

dare2

Very true, space for living is not just size of your house. It's recreational space, transport space, parking space, leisure space, eating space, etc...
Went to Upper Thomson Road yesterday at 3.15pm to have coffee, every bloody where got so many ppl with not enough parking, even on non-peak hour + weekday + location not near main MRT lines. In the end gave up and went to my usual cafe in Toa Payoh, also packed like mad, seriously where did all these people came from?
I take Public Transport regularly.....1 in 5 on the train are foreigners...sometimes ratio higher....

jasonjst

i don't think that's accurate..
it's not a 3 years bar.
it's SPR cannot buy hdb for 3 years from the date they're granted PR.
those who were granted PR 3 years ago can still buy.
next year, those who where granted PR 2 years ago can buy.
and so on.
PRs are being granted continuously.

Those granted PR 3yrs ago , all must have bought a HDB or pte property already lor . That explain why resale HDB cheap cheap also no taker while condos at 2000psf also got PRs buying . So must wait for new batch of PRs to ripe before HDB resale can sale.