• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

My 5 years plan to thailand

silverfox@

Verdict
Also, you must present yourself at the police station covering the area where you are resident once every five years for a stamp in your book. An alien with permanent residency status will be eligible to apply for Thai citizenship after 10 consecutive years, under this classification.

By LAW, this is the procedure.

If you have connections, special arrangement can be done the faster way.
What is not stated by law, does not mean it can never be done.

Anyway, what is the advantage of Thai citizen?
Oh yes, the one good advantage is Singaporeans can renounce their singapore citizenship and then withdraw their CPF.

got a few more advantages can start voting for government. If the party you like lost the election, nevermind, just go to the streets, sit at the govt house field and wait for PM tio sue. viola, new govt again.

Must say all the good things. Or else the siam people here get angry again.:o
:p

88max

By LAW, this is the procedure.

If you have connections, special arrangement can be done the faster way.
What is not stated by law, does not mean it can never be done.

Anyway, what is the advantage of Thai citizen?
Oh yes, the one good advantage is Singaporeans can renounce their singapore citizenship and then withdraw their CPF.

got a few more advantages can start voting for government. If the party you like lost the election, nevermind, just go to the streets, sit at the govt house field and wait for PM tio sue. viola, new govt again.

Must say all the good things. Or else the siam people here get angry again.:o
:p

I'm happy that you've FINALLY changed your attitude about thailand.

Keep it up.!!:p

Thailand will NEVER open the door to FT or foreigners like what SG govt did. You got to FIGHT for it, to show that you really want to stay in thailand. No PHD or paper qualifications can help you secure a long term visa here. You must either have thai spouse or show overseas income or work permit plus pay your annual income tax to get it. Not fly by night foreigners who flee at the first sight of ' trouble'.:mad:

T

IN order to have a Thai spouse, the Thai must like the person enough for them to be their spouse. I have faith that thai people can tell the difference very clearly from a normal person and a sinkie, if not they would not have thrown out Thugsin.

silverfox@

I'm happy that you've FINALLY changed your attitude about thailand.

Keep it up.!!:p

No, my attitude has never changed. It's just what kind of answers some people love to see.

If you remember my story a few posts earlier; if the chicken insists that he is a duck after staying with ducks since young, i will just tell the chicken, yeah, you are a duck. However it doesn't hide the fact that the chicken is still a chicken and not a duck. :p

88max

No, my attitude has never changed. It's just what kind of answers some people love to see.

If you remember my story a few posts earlier; if the chicken insists that he is a duck after staying with ducks since young, i will just tell the chicken, yeah, you are a duck. However it doesn't hide the fact that the chicken is still a chicken and not a duck. :p

Are you the stubborn duck and I'm the chicken here ???:p

silverfox@

Are you the stubborn duck and I'm the chicken here ???:p

Whatever you like to think about. But your answer is not correct.

The question is not to get the answer, but to understand the story. Once you understand, you will have the right answer. If you don't, your answer will always be incorrect. :p

jyjyjy

Just met a Swiss guy who sold everythings in Swissland and move his son & family to thailand. He is now teaching partime as English teacher in one of the govt school for fun.

He told me he felt a free man ever since he came to thailand.Like me , he felt pressure to stay in his own country where swiss citizen there pay 75% taxes and govt squeeze everything out of you.

I was relating to him how much our SG govt love to boast about attaining swiss kind of living standard.:biggrin:

Even if the tax is 75% or 40%, the gross salary will account for the tax and would still provide sufficient money for family.

williamangkh

My personal view about residing in Thailand.

1. Govt changing does not affect. Biz still goes on, school is still goes on, govt bodies still functioning. Only affect those who want to become govt to reap commission from mega project. Who care! Old boys Club till benefiting from PAP.

2. FDI still growing. GM, Ford, Honda, Toyota, Akebono, and many big MNCs still investing millions (USD) to build new factories, some even setting up R&D centers. At least do not have to depend on Casino biz.

3. Many alternatives during the rise in petrol price. Gashol 91, Gashol 95, E20, E85, LPG, NGV and of coures Bezine 91 & 95. At least do not need to sell my car to move on to public transport.

4. Daily necessities - Rice price increases....but domestic consumption is control. Still able to eat 25baht lunch/dinner with free tissue (even on road side stall) and sometime a cup of plain water thrown in. Not possible to have such "pamper" from any hawker centers.

5. Public Ulitities - Paying 1,500baht (est SGD62) per month with 2 x aircon running every nights, 2 x TV(5 hour daily), 2 x Fridge, 1x washing machine (Running 2 hours daily), my 2 x daugthers taking 2 hours shower daily with hot water. By the way, my daughters still go to Thailand public school.

6. Thai Govt provide free bus transport during peak hour for those ppls who might be hit due to the inflation cause by price increase of oil. You can say it is a populist "thingy" but who care...as the normal ppls is benefiting from it.
Yes, traffic is congested but you can chose not to go into BKK downtown.

7. Places on interest - Short holidays...plentiful options
a. beaches - Hua Hin, Koh Samui, Koh Chang, Krabi, Phangnga, Phuket, Pattaya, etc
b. Ancient places - Ayuttaya, Sukhothai, Ban Chiang, Pha Tam, Praert Hin Phi Mai, Prasert Hin Phanom Rung, Lopburi, etc
c. Cool mountainous areas - Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Mae Hong Son, Mae Sae Long, Mae Sai, etc
Too many, cannot name all.....at least I do not need to get out of Singapore to do my holidays.

8. Need VISA to travel to other countries....yes abit troublesome....but i do not travel every month. So small problem for me!

9. Lastly....the thai ppls...they are the main reason why I find Thailand such a wonderful country!

My 2 baht worth!:biggrin:

imperialarms

1. Govt changing does not affect. Biz still goes on, school is still goes on, govt bodies still functioning. Only affect those who want to become govt to reap commission from mega project. Who care! Old boys Club till benefiting from PAP.

2. FDI still growing. GM, Ford, Honda, Toyota, Akebono, and many big MNCs still investing millions (USD) to build new factories, some even setting up R&D centers. At least do not have to depend on Casino biz.

3. Many alternatives during the rise in petrol price. Gashol 91, Gashol 95, E20, E85, LPG, NGV and of coures Bezine 91 & 95. At least do not need to sell my car to move on to public transport.

4. Daily necessities - Rice price increases....but domestic consumption is control. Still able to eat 25baht lunch/dinner with free tissue (even on road side stall) and sometime a cup of plain water thrown in. Not possible to have such "pamper" from any hawker centers.

5. Public Ulitities - Paying 1,500baht (est SGD62) per month with 2 x aircon running every nights, 2 x TV(5 hour daily), 2 x Fridge, 1x washing machine (Running 2 hours daily), my 2 x daugthers taking 2 hours shower daily with hot water. By the way, my daughters still go to Thailand public school.

6. Thai Govt provide free bus transport during peak hour for those ppls who might be hit due to the inflation cause by price increase of oil. You can say it is a populist "thingy" but who care...as the normal ppls is benefiting from it.

a. beaches - Hua Hin, Koh Samui, Koh Chang, Krabi, Phangnga, Phuket, Pattaya, etc
b. Ancient places - Ayuttaya, Sukhothai, Ban Chiang, Pha Tam, Praert Hin Phi Mai, Prasert Hin Phanom Rung, Lopburi, etc
c. Cool mountainous areas - Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Mae Hong Son, Mae Sae Long, Mae Sai, etc
Too many, cannot name all.....at least I do not need to get out of Singapore to do my holidays.

8. Need VISA to travel to other countries....yes abit troublesome....but i do not travel every month. So small problem for me!

9. Lastly....the thai ppls...they are the main reason why I find Thailand such a wonderful country!

HUH u already became thai CITIZEN?

By the way, you can also compare those sinkie behavior from those arrogant sinkies with those foreigners on a daily basis when you stay in Thailand, Bangkok. You have a grandstand view of what really sinkie behavior is.

Lastly....the thai ppls...they are the main reason why I find Thailand such a wonderful country!

Everyone loves someone who is unsinkified and not a sinkie.

popdod

Sounds like heaven.
and
now...mind telling us whatz the cons of staying in thailand?

:o :biggrin: :o

williamangkh

Sounds like heaven.
and
now...mind telling us whatz the cons of staying in thailand?

:o :biggrin: :o

Heaven depend on what you per se. Individual has their own perception what is heaven.

As for the con staying in thailand;

1. Luxury goods are way too expensive
2. Imported goods are way too expensive.
3. Too many vice....sometime hard to resist.
4. Too high tax....personal and company...but there are ways to go around it.
That's are things i personal find the cons of Thailand but not too much trouble for me.

88max

Sawadee krap !!

Which part of bkk you stay bro ??

ahbengsong

Despite the frequent change of govts in thailand.. the country continues to move on unlike the pap singapore... any slight change of govt.. the country will collapse.. at least thats what the pap said...

so which country you like.. one who have withstand the test of time or one who is insecure ???

ahbengsong

I have a friend who migrated to Thailand with his thai wife. He told me Singapore fucked up, this expensive that expensive. Super high standard of living.
So one day I went his house in thailand and saw his kids came back from school. So I asked him which thai school his kids were in. He told me his kids study what XX International School.
I asked him why not send to Thai School. He told me Thai syllabus no good, that is why he send his kids to International School to get the best education. He even told me the school fees are not cheap.
I start to wonder why he didn't want to send his kids to thai school and instead want better education for his children.
The funny thing is most singaporeans I heard of in thailand, send their kids to International school instead of local thai school. Not cheap, 1 year can run easily run into thousands just for school fees alone.:wink:

sorry i cannot say for thailand.. in china.. international school is for the rich.. but thats only about the expensive part.. rest of living costs are way below that of pap singapore... in china.. the govt public utilities lose money.. in pap singapore they make lots of money...