• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Investor

politics have changed. I was surprised even the Malaysia Opposition DAP is now lobbying, complaining that the Federal Gov. is not investing enough money in Iskandar!

I noticed the velocity of the thread contributions have picked up faster. It must be reflecting the market situation and interest. Tipping point may be coming even faster than expected…..

By next year, discussion about Nusajaya won't be just in this forum, it'll be all over Singapore. Why? Prime time news will report the opening ceremony of the first Legoland theme park in Asia, Nusajaya Johor!

We'll see traffic jams at 2nd link during weekends just like Woodlands causeway. Tens of thousands of Singaporeans will see Nusajaya with their own eyes for the first time and say, "Wah darling this city very nice leh! Don't look like Malaysia hor? Wah darling, a FreeHold landed house here is so much cheaper than our HDB, maybe we can buy one! How come now then we know of this city huh? If we know early, we hoseh liao!" :biggrin:

Now you see why it's important to be early and fast in a good investment? We make our huge profits from the herd of late comers. Warren Buffet said, "Be Fearful When Others are Greedy, and Greedy When Others are Fearful”.

Coolsaint77

why ipoh ? you like the hor fun ? :biggrin:
oh.. wait.. you like the mei mei there ! haa :biggrin:
can consider... Bukit Mertajam. or Penang. Chinese Dominated.. life pace is slow and relek...

Food best ! :biggrin:

KL is most ex, next comes Penang (i'm not sure how Nusajaya pricing compares to Penang). For most of us it is the proximity to S'pore hence the JB choice. For those who seriously consider retiring at a cheaper yet good place, Ipoh is relatively cheap and less congested.

The founder of Sunway group of companies is a son of Ipoh and he is ploughing back some fortune to develop Ipoh. Sunway City Ipoh was named a winner in the master plan category for its "successful and sustainable" concept plan. It is often cited as a good and cheap option for those looking to retire under MM2H. If prices in KL, JB and Penang continue to escalate, then Malaysians would consider Ipoh as a viable alternative for retirement.

cathylmg

If u really must go to City Square, be very careful when u are alone. There are just so many cases I heard of. Even those pple sitting alone in the Macdonals were accosted before by lone strangers with aid needles in one corner in broad daylight weekend somemore.

I was in City Square on many occasions. Tebrau City and Bukit Indah too. Even heard of car smashing incidence and laptops getting stolen from the car boot in front of security guards at Bukit Indah. I would say that its nice everywhere as long as you exercise vigilant on your own safety and properties.

I'd think the whole concept of Iskandar Malaysia is to be developing JB to become a city fit to live, work and play. Not only Nusajaya on its own. One wing cannot prosper without the other wings support. There are altogether 5 flagship zone. See the official site for Iskandar Malaysia:-

http://www.iskandarmalaysia.com.my/the-5-flagship-zones

I wish the whole of Iskandar Malaysia, plus Singapore can propers together. Supporting and complimenting each other. Huat ah!

cathylmg

Masteel, KUB to bid for rail project24 January 2011 , By The Star Malaysia Steel Works (KL) Bhd (Masteel) and KUB Malaysia Bhd will jointly bid for the 100km inter-city rail transit network project in Iskandar Malaysia, they told Bursa Malaysia yesterday.

The two Main Market-listed companies have agreed to combine their capabilities and resources via a joint-venture company, Metropolitan Commuter Network Sdn Bhd, which is 60% owned by Masteel and the rest by KUB.

Yesterday they signed a heads of joint-venture agreement to set up the JV to build and operate the rail transit system, estimated to cost over RM1bil and consist of up to 25 commuter stations in major towns in Iskandar Malaysia. The operation of the inter-city rail transit will be based on a 25-year concession.

The project is to be undertaken in three phases and expected to be completed within 24 months from project's commencement.

I don't understand. 100km inter-city rail transit network project in Iskandar Malaysia. Is it MRT line? LRT line? Or is it railway line?

Does anyone has an answer to this?

NoelVermillion

Yeah. Me too. Its been 10 odds years. Until I started from City Square in end 1999. Was surprised at its changes. Then keep visiting and never looked back since.
It is due to Iskandar Malaysia project that JB is getting developed. During the Madhatter's time, JB is really crime-infested and undeveloped. Only good thing then was the "country air".

Watchman

n_15wanted.jpg

2071014586_cb171a1b9a_o.jpg

2070221825_05c02f5a7e_o.jpg

Attacked By Parang In Johor Bahru

with 240 comments

One of my ex-TP classmates, Rosdee, has been warded in Changi General Hospital. Apparently someone robbed him with a parang, gave him a good 19 stitches on the head. Urgh. Mark visited him in the afternoon and called me. I didn’t believe Mark, thought he was just fooling around. I had to see Rosdee to believe.

So I drove down after dinner, 20 minutes drive to Simei, this had better not be a joke. Making my way to the ward, I asked around for "Rosdee". The nurse took a quick glance at an empty bed and casually replied "Oh that Rosdee, he’s always downstairs with his friends."

I made my way down. That’s Rosdee, sitting near the fountain with his elder brother and girlfriend. 5 stitches on the forehead, and 14 top to back. He even told me there was a slight crack in his skull from the parang impact. What the fuck man… what the fuck..

rosdeeslashed-1

rosdeeslashed-2

It freaked me out, cos we three of us (me, him and Mark) were musketeers during our TP days. Skip lessons together, go for smoke breaks, played billiards after school and sometimes, we all get fucked at one go during our tutorials. Mark and him often brought me on joyrides, just after they passed their bike license. It was very sad seeing Rosdee like this.

Turned out he got robbed at a petrol station in JB, not far from customs, while topping up petrol for his bike. An innocent-looking Malay guy approached him for help, needed Rosdee to help him onto the roof to retrieve his bike keys. So Rosdee followed him to a corner, pointed to a roof and asked if it was the correct one. The moment Rosdee looked down, the guy took out a parang (Rosdee said it was more of a sword than a parang, because the tip was long enough to touch the ground). Rosdee was told to hand over all his valuables, but Rosdee said he had none. He wasn’t intending to put up a struggle or anything.

The guy slashed his head three times. According to Rosdee, there was no pain at all, it felt like "being hit by a baseball bat" and "getting punched repeatedly". The guy ran and Rosdee stumbled over to his bike and waiting girlfriend, before collapsing. He was rushed to the nearby hospital where they stitched him up while he was in an unconscious state. That was 4pm. He was brought over to Singapore around 10pm yesterday night. Meanwhile, his bike got stolen, WITH the keys STILL at the petrol station, how fuckin-incredible the Johor people are.

The Malay newspaper came over to interview Rosdee at the ward, took a couple of pictures, so if you’re interested, buy the Malay paper tomorrow. Hopefully, it comes out on The New Paper as well.

I dropped Rosdee’s brother back at his place just now and he was very disappointed over what happened. Shocked that this whole fucked-up slashing occured at broad daylight. Rosdee’s brother said, "My brother was just being helpful, and end up he got slashed, in broad daylight somemore." From what Rosdee described, the attacker looked very innocent and he had absolutely no clue this was going to happen.

So whatever it is, spread this message to all your friends travelling to JB and back to…
1) Stay in crowded places (pickpockets nevermind, beats being slashed)
2) Most importantly, whoever asks for help, just ignore, walk away, run if you have to. Especially those car breakdowns near the highway and people flagging for you to stop. They can jolly fuckin well call their own tow truck, you move along.

If they still dont believe, you can show them this post.
( Permalink : http://orangeous.wordpress.com/2005/12/12/attacked-by-parang-in-johor-bahru/ )

NoelVermillion

Better dont hang around old JB too much if u are alone. Aids needles, car jackings, windows smashing, pickpockets.. they are rampant in Taman Sentosa, Pelangi area. I used to hang around these areas about 15-20 years ago and saw pickpockets in the old city square operating rampantly and openly. I even got accosted by three secret society old men in their 50s asking to see my passport at the overhead bridge linking City square once. Very messy place.

Of course, never go alone in JB. Either take a bunch of friends or your family. And remember to wear simple clothes.

NoelVermillion

The increased number of Sporeans is due to their property investment there.
Sinkiland is full of FTs... Sporeans are looking for more space in JB...

JB are now developing very fast...

Still got sinkies think it is not safe... alamak !... :eek:

The moment i cross over, wah lau.. really can feel the fresh air and freedoms !

Macam out of prison siah.... :biggrin:

Cheapest way to get fresh air. :biggrin:
Other than Pulau Ubin.

Watchman

jbsnatchtheftslash.jpg

Snatch thieves slash Samaritan

JOHOR BARU: A good Samaritan who helped his neighbour to fight off snatch thieves ended up with 22 stitches on his forehead.

Johor Bahru snatch theft slash head

No regrets: Lai, Tan’s neighbour, visiting him at the Sultan Ismail Hospital yesterday.

Driver Tan Peng Tong, 58, had tried to kick one of the thieves off his motorcycle when they turned on him during the 3.15pm attack in Taman Desa Jaya here on Sunday.

Relating the incident, Tan said that he was about to wash his van when he heard his neighbour Wong Meng Yoke screaming.

“I saw one of the thieves waiting on a motorcycle while the other had just snatched Wong’s gold necklace.

“I rushed out and tried to kick the motorcycle, hoping that the culprit’s accomplice would fall. However, they slashed me twice on my forehead before escaping,” he said.

The robbers escaped with the necklace and pendant worth about RM1,400.

Another neighbour Lai Meng Long, 53, rushed Tan to the nearest clinic for treatment.

Tan said he was not aware that the robbers had a knife with them but he did not regret helping Wong.

“I had hoped I could get the necklace back for her,” he said adding that they had been neighbours the past 13 years.

The culprits are believed to have trailed Wong, 43, back to her home in Taman Desa Jaya after she went out to get some food from a nearby restaurant.

She had gone to the shop on her motorcycle.

Wong, who only suffered minor bruises on her right knee, was grateful to Tan for his selfless act.

“My mother gave me the pendant about five years ago,” she said.

Seri Alam OCPD Supt Roslan Zainuddin urged those with information to contact the police hotline at 07–221 2999 or the nearest police station

NoelVermillion

If u really must go to City Square, be very careful when u are alone. There are just so many cases I heard of. Even those pple sitting alone in the Macdonals were accosted before by lone strangers with aid needles in one corner in broad daylight weekend somemore.

Definitely not going JB alone. And I will not bring much money over there. Just eat and fuck off. :biggrin:

Watchman

womanstabbedfourtimesalive.jpg

From NST via Malaysia Today, 10 May 2008:

Woman left for dead after robbery

LEFT FOR DEAD: A woman was stabbed at least four times in the back by robbers in a senseless attack yesterday morning. It is believed that the 33-year-old victim, a clerk from Taman Kencana, Cheras was attacked while she was walking to work.

(NEW STRAITS TIMES) – A woman was stabbed at least four times in the back and left for dead by robbers in a senseless attack yesterday morning.

[NAME WITHELD] was found unconscious in Jalan Maktab, near the police college in Cheras, by policemen on patrol duty.

It is believed that the 33-year-old victim, a clerk from Taman Kencana, Cheras was attacked while she was walking to work.

The victim’s handbag, containing her identification documents, was taken in the robbery.

Police have still not been able to interview Lee, who is said to be still in a state of shock.

She was warded at the Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia Hospital where her condition was reported to be stable.

[NAME WITHELD] was found unconscious about 9.40am.

Policemen and several passers-by gave her first aid before sending her to the hospital.

—————————

Watchman

n_pg20ferrari.jpg

The Electric New Paper, Singapore - The Electric New Paper News

WAS it the Singapore-registered flashy cars? Or were the harassing, the high-speed chase, the beating and robbery a flash, unplanned by thugs in a Mercedes?

The flash was the fleet of Singapore-registered Ferraris and Maseratis out for a fun drive up to Genting Highlands. Taking part were about 20 members of the Ferrari Club.

But despite safety measures such as keeping together and communicating with walkie-talkies, it turned out to be a trip filled with the terror of high-speed car chases, three attempted robberies capped by a brutal beating of one Ferrari car owner.

The incident happened on Friday afternoon on the North-South Highway between Malacca and Kuala Lumpur.

The Ferrari Club convoy, which included some Maserati drivers, had left Singapore on Friday morning at about 10am, according to its motorsports director Chia Boon Teck, who was part of the group.

The fleet of about 20 cars was led by the president of Ferrari Club's Singapore chapter, Dr Ben Neo, the husband of Member of Parliament Lily Neo.

All was well until the group was nearing Malacca.

That was when a black Mercedes-Benz C-Class, with two men inside, flagged one of the cars down.

One of the men produced an identity card.

Meanwhile, the rest of the convoy - who were all hooked up with walkie-talkies - also pulled up along the road shoulder.

Mr Chia told The New Paper on Sunday that the two men had pretended to be custom officers.

But, he said, when the men saw that all the cars had stopped, they pretended it was a misunderstanding and drove off.

Later, the group pulled into a petrol station near Ayer Keroh to refuel.

About 10 minutes after leaving the station, the drivers in the black Merc tried their luck again, this time targeting the cars at the tail-end of the convoy.

They stopped a Maserati. But another Maserati also pulled up. (See other report).

Mr Chia was one of those who had pulled up along the road shoulder. But he stopped several metres ahead of the two Maseratis.

On hearing through his walkie-talkie that the two men were aggressive, he called the Johor police, he said.

To give the police a point of reference to their location, he drove further up where there were road signs.

Meanwhile, another Maserati driver who had stopped ahead of the two Maseratis decided to reverse his car, along the road shoulder, to back them up.

The two thugs found themselves outnumbered and left - but not before one of them snatched one of the Maseratis' keys from its ignition and made off with it.

Luckily the driver of that Maserati had brought his spare key along.

Meanwhile Mr Chia, who was on the phone with the police, did not realise that the thugs had left the group of Maserati drivers.

Suddenly, he said, while he was on the phone, the black Merc cut in front of his car.

'One of them flagged me down aggressively.

'But I quickly put my car into reverse and shot off.'

Car chase

Mr Chia said that the Merc driver then gave chase.

'I was travelling close to 200kmh, zig-zagging in between traffic. Then I hit a patch of heavy rain and lost him.'

The rest of the convoy were waiting for them at the Sungei Besi toll, the exit point for Kuala Lumpur.

Mr Chia said that while all that was unfolding, the members of the convoy knew what was happening as they were in communication with one another.

But, they did not realise that another Ferrari Club member was also making his way up to Genting. He was part of the trip, but not part of the convoy, Mr Chia said. It is not clear if he had a walkie-talkie.

As it turned out, this man was driving up behind the group.

Somehow, this driver caught up with the black Merc, whose robbery attempts had been foiled so far.

When the black Merc started chasing this driver, he sensed he was in trouble and he started speeding, hoping to lose the thugs.

'The Merc tried to bump his car three times, unsuccessfully,' Mr Chia said.

But when heavy rain came, the Ferrari driver lost control of his car and spun around, before crashing into the rail and another car.

The Ferrari driver and his wife, in the passenger seat, were shaken but fine.

Then, another danger - the black Merc pulled up alongside and used a crowbar to smash the window of his metallic-grey Ferrari.

The two thugs dragged him out of the car, and started punching and kicking him.

Mr Chia said that four more thugs joined the two men in beating the Ferrari owner, who is Malaysian. They then fled with his two watches.

By then, the Ferrari owner's wife had run off and to get help from passers-by. She was unharmed.

The Maseratis came upon the scene and helped the injured man before making their way to Genting Highlands.

Fearing for the group's safety, the group called for the representatives from the hotel to escort them to the next toll booth, Karak, from which they were escorted by the police for the rest of their journey.

He said that it was not clear to them if the attack had been pre-planned or just out of the blue.

Another Ferrari owner, who is also a member of the club but was not on this trip, said that going to Malaysia in a flashy car like a Ferrari is like 'an open ticket for any robber'.

'When there are more than 10 cars in a group, we are going to draw attention.'

This owner, who has been on more than 20 convoy trips, said that one of the safety measures was that they always drove in a group. 'The buddy-system has kept me safe so far.'

Hooked up

Mr Chia added that apart from ensuring that every member of the convoy is hooked up with walkie-talkies, they also try to drive 'tight', so that each car is not more than 2-km away from the other.

He said: 'The robbery victim was oblivious to what had happened to our convoy and he was very unfortunate to be at the wrong place at the wrong time.'

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1ST ATTEMPT

North-South Highway before Malacca - a black Mercedes-Benz cornered two Ferraris. When they stopped, the rest of the convoy also pulled up.

The robbers then pretended that it was a misunderstanding and drove off.

2ND ATTEMPT

3RD ATTEMPT

After leaving the group of Maserati drivers, the drivers of the Merc came across the Ferrari driver who was liaising on the phone with the police.

They gestured at him aggressively and tried to block his car.

He quickly put his car into reverse and shot off. But they gave chase.

Then, when he hit a patch of rain, they fell behind. He escaped unharmed.

Ayer Keroh exit along the highway - the same black Mercedes-Benz blocked a black Maserati which was at the tail-end of the convoy. Another Maserati driver stopped at the same time.

So did the driver of a Ferrari, who stopped by the road shoulder further ahead.

The driver of the Mercedes-Benz was aggressive and threatened to handcuff the two Maserati drivers. Meanwhile, the Ferrari driver was on the phone with the Johor Baru police.

Then, one more Maserati driver who was ahead of the two who were stopped, reversed his car along the road shoulder, to where the two Maseratis were. The thugs, after making some threats, left the group.

FINAL HIT

Meanwhile, a Malaysian driving a Singapore-registered metallic grey Ferrari was making his way to join the group in Genting Highlands.

He was not part of the convoy.

Suddenly, a black Merc tried to block his car. He knew something was amiss and he drove faster. There was a high-speed chase, during which the black Merc tried to bump his car off three times.

Then, the driver ran into the patch of rain and lost control of his car. His car spun around several times. When it came to a stop, the thugs in the black Merc used a crowbar and smashed his window. They pulled him out of the car, beat him up badly and stole his watches. His wife, who ran in the opposite direction and got help from a passing motorist, was unharmed.

cathylmg

It is due to Iskandar Malaysia project that JB is getting developed. During the Madhatter's time, JB is really crime-infested and undeveloped. Only good thing then was the "country air".

The idea of Iskandar Malaysia was mooted during Ahbdulla's time, but took off after Najib took over as PM. I would say that Najib is pretty efficient. Even bending himself to come to Singapore and ask for help. For this I salute him. Very different from the previous 2 PMs. Also, I observes more police officers, and also less crime now as compared to last time. Proberly thanks to Najib too.

NoelVermillion

The idea of Iskandar Malaysia was mooted during Ahbdulla's time, but took off after Najib took over as PM. I would say that Najib is pretty efficient. Even bending himself to come to Singapore and ask for help. For this I salute him. Very different from the previous 2 PMs. Also, I observes more police officers, and also less crime now as compared to last time. Proberly thanks to Najib too.
Agreed. Najib is ruthless, but at least he gets things done. Reminds me of the young LKY during the 70s. Get things done without thinking of consequences.

cathylmg

Agreed. Najib is ruthless, but at least he gets things done. Reminds me of the young LKY during the 70s. Get things done without thinking of consequences.

But whatever it is, the people will benefit from jobs opportunities created, poverty alleviated, if not totally eradicated, less crime, education for the children, entreprenuership for the orang asli, et etera..., As the saying goes. "A man's gotta do what a man should do." Well at least he get things done for the benefits of his people (Or himself? Who know?) instead of talking and talking....

NoelVermillion

But whatever it is, the people will benefit from jobs opportunities created, poverty alleviated, if not totally eradicated, less crime, education for the children, entreprenuership for the orang asli, et etera..., As the saying goes. "A man's gotta do what a man should do." Well at least he get things done for the benefits of his people (Or himself? Who know?) instead of talking and talking....
One of the better leaders of Malaysia, after Mahatir.

cathylmg

recently the crimes in JB has really gone down. We cant say there are no crimes but compared to the notorious highway jacking just 3-5 years ago, JB has indeed transformed into a better town.

Crimes are everywhere. Can't eradicate it totally. Not even in Singapore. But that doesn't mean that the police can't do anything. The presents of the police definately helps to deter crimes. Especially the stretch of road from the 1st link custom to City Square. You can see police officer every 200 m or so. Sometime you can even see them patroling around the area. Just stay alert wherever you go.

Status
Not open for further replies.