• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Funds Transfer

Catholic country also can open casino?

Haha, entertainment knows no boundaries.

But there are already small casinos existing in PH all these while and with the roaring success of Singapore's IRs, many are jumping on the bandwagon.

Apart from PH, TW is also looking to site a casino resort on Matsu and the residents recently voted in favour of the establishment of a large scale gambling joint.

The world loves quick money.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Its always good to take a page from history sometimes to gain a better perspective and insight:

By the skillful and sustained use of propaganda, one can make a people see even heaven as hell or an extremely wretched life as paradise.

Adolf Hitler

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Haha, entertainment knows no boundaries.

But there are already small casinos existing in PH all these while and with the roaring success of Singapore's IRs, many are jumping on the bandwagon.

Apart from PH, TW is also looking to site a casino resort on Matsu and the residents recently voted in favour of the establishment of a large scale gambling joint.

The world loves quick money.

Its sad but absolutely agree.
Meanwhile, more quotes to share, both from the man of steel (not superman)

Gaiety is the most outstanding feature of the Soviet Union.

Death solves all problems - no man, no problem.
Joseph Stalin

groovy73

Hi all,

Pardon me if it seems I am asking a very stupid questions. I tried to message (whatsapp) the banker from AmBank who helped me with the loan... she is like super busy n only concern tat my loan approved and I was supposed to go to JB right away to sign the documents.

Nonetheless I had signed on the dotted line and also applied for a current account with AmBank cos I bet I need a chq book. I am just wondering if I were to collect the chq book on a sat... will AmBank be open?

Or rather are the banks open on Sat?

thanks

curiouscat

Yes, on Saturday morning, it took me 2 hr 10 min to reach Woodland checkpoint from BKE. The distance was less than 1km. Don't know why jam so long? Before heading to Johor checkpoint, again jam in queue for toilet. Wife caught in ladies toilet for another 15min. Luckily, Johor checkpoint jam just lasted 35min. Total 3hr. It is my worst jam for non-holiday season.

Doesn't it seem like the continued inability to even handle the current load of traffic is going to dampen the Iskandar-Singapore concept? As I was thinking last year, this is a serious problem that is getting worse fairly quickly. I don't understand how this issue isn't more directly addressed with specific plans for quick resolution (and actual construction taking place now).

The MRT is a great idea but that is many years too late to deal with the current problems. It seems like maybe the planners thought the second link would do much more to reduce the delays. Instead even with few of the Iskandar plans actually operational yet the delays are much too bad already. There are many plans in the next 2 years that will substantially increase traffic; it seems to me the delays are a very serious problem. It seems to me a 3rd link is needed as quickly as possible and the MRT needs to be done as quickly as possible (it will take years I would think even trying to move it forward as quickly as possible). It also seems to me the capacity of the causeway need to be increased somehow, and quickly (in addition to a 3rd link and the MRT - the increase for the causeway is needed much quicker than the MRT plans).

If the countries have ways of improving flow (increased staffing, process improvements...) those improvements should be a huge priority.

Mingchye

Hi all,

Pardon me if it seems I am asking a very stupid questions. I tried to message (whatsapp) the banker from AmBank who helped me with the loan... she is like super busy n only concern tat my loan approved and I was supposed to go to JB right away to sign the documents.

Nonetheless I had signed on the dotted line and also applied for a current account with AmBank cos I bet I need a chq book. I am just wondering if I were to collect the chq book on a sat... will AmBank be open?

thanks

http://www.ambankgroup.com/en/Locator/Branch/Pages/Branch.aspx try using this to check your home branch.

Funds Transfer

Hi all,

thanks

Hi Bri Groovy73

I tried to engage the services of AmBank and cannot recommend their services because of the speed of response.

MayBank at JUSCO is open 7 days a week and great for transactional banking but they don't seem to be hungry for loans.

In my property acquisitions, I had positive experiences with OCBCBank, HSBC and AllianceBank.

OCBC is blessed with a good sales manager and AllianceBank is situated nicely in the middle of Bukit Indah with deposit taking machines that are 24 hours. But they are not open on Saturdays though.

groovy73

So "ZUN".... the branch I am supposed to go if I am not wrong... close on the 1st and 3rd Sat of the month... damned........

groovy73

Bro,

when I applied for the loan, I think the developer has 5 banks on their panel.... namely AmBank, Public Bank, CIMB, Hong Leong and I dun remember liao....

Public Bank was the 1st to reply but attitude was like.... how come like tat... at first u ask me to apply for this and then now u dun wan.

AmBank was 2nd to reply ... though go MIA at times but I guess tat is the only choice I had.

CIMB called me when I was overseas..... I refused to answer and simply put down the phone and so there was an engage tone... but he called again and again and again and again.... I think was abt 10x. So I answered ... he just called to verify and then tat is it.... nothing else.

The other 2 banks never hear from them at all.... and the loan application was abt 1month and I just wanted to get over and done with.......

Bro Fund Transfer I reali AGREED with u ar.... there is no way I will recommend their services to anyone who is gog to use their services...... when I went to sign the loan document, I went alone too.... only met her to sign the acceptance letter for the loan and to open a bank account.

Funds Transfer

Bro,

when I applied for the loan, I think the developer has 5 banks on their panel.... namely AmBank, Public Bank, CIMB, Hong Leong and I dun remember liao....

Public Bank was the 1st to reply but attitude was like.... how come like tat... at first u ask me to apply for this and then now u dun wan.

AmBank was 2nd to reply ... though go MIA at times but I guess tat is the only choice I had.

CIMB called me when I was overseas..... I refused to answer and simply put down the phone and so there was an engage tone... but he called again and again and again and again.... I think was abt 10x. So I answered ... he just called to verify and then tat is it.... nothing else.

The other 2 banks never hear from them at all.... and the loan application was abt 1month and I just wanted to get over and done with.......

Bro Fund Transfer I reali AGREED with u ar.... there is no way I will recommend their services to anyone who is gog to use their services...... when I went to sign the loan document, I went alone too.... only met her to sign the acceptance letter for the loan and to open a bank account.

Sorry to hear about your painful process.
Just like you, AmBank was referred by my developer. They did respond but the speed was..... Quite amazing, and I need to be thankful to her, the officer told me that they are quite unable to assist me and requested that I look for an alternative bank.

I have dealt with Public Bank but it was sporadic. They come knocking on your door fast, disappear for a while and then promised to do something when you had an offer from another bank.

But in case I get a defamation suit, please note that my responses are service staff specific and do not reflect the practices of the banks named. :smile:

bbbear

since i m a Gelang Patah boy.. mus tell u the story of Gelang Patah..

Gelang means bangle
Patah mean break/broken.. mean Broken Bangle (wat a name)

There are different version of the story.. the myth i remembered was, once there was this woman from rich and affluent family, she was on a boat crusing on the river.. a crocodile appeared and bit her where only bit off her bangle which was broken... (lame story)

True fact is Gelang Patah has a long connection with cousin of LKY.. yup u hear it right.. Lee Kuan Quan was the guy who actually a well known figure in Chinese society in Gelang Patah. He had a big rubber plantation very long ago who helped to build the Chinese primary school that's y the old hall of the chinese primary school in Gelang Patah named Kuan Quan Hall.. named after him..

And the old building (pre 2nd world war) shop lots at Gelang Patah old town are old belonged to his family... some history of this small town.

hmm.. personally i think not really worthy.. unless u eye for the land. quite run down those bungalow..

groovy73

Wow... I better do the same.... ha ha ha ha ha.... incase I kanna lawsuit for defamation too.......

I just hope everything will proceed on smoothly from now on and no more hiccups...... since I started to apply for the loan...... I got to do this and do tat... and only then informed oh.... just wanted the extra informtion from you so incase they need more documentations.... alamak...... waste time waste energy.... or rather like what I always said... sibey extra...........

Funds Transfer

Wow... I better do the same.... ha ha ha ha ha.... incase I kanna lawsuit for defamation too.......

I just hope everything will proceed on smoothly from now on and no more hiccups...... since I started to apply for the loan...... I got to do this and do tat... and only then informed oh.... just wanted the extra informtion from you so incase they need more documentations.... alamak...... waste time waste energy.... or rather like what I always said... sibey extra...........

The first time is always tough.

More problematic if you are buying with your spouse/partner because the time coordination can make you go bazooka.

But most bankers are happy to receive your documents via email so that should minimise travel a bit I hope.

Once you are past the loans, then the signing of the agreements and all will also drive you up the wall. :(

Do you still need a banker? Happy to PM you the one from OCBC.

toyohon

The bank loan officers' eagerness to serve has a lot to do with the quota and the appetite of the bank on a certain development/project. If their "quota" has been filled up, you'd probably won't hear from them.

Arowana88

Got 1 guy doing loan agent, just give him yr document he will go tru all the banks for u! I used his service, very efficient, he came SG to meet me to sign some document , no fees for him, he get from bank. PM me if u want his number.

groovy73

thank you so much for all ur help ar....

I had oredi signed on the dotted line with AmBank but once the lock in period (3yrs) is over ..... I am 100% sure I am gog to look for another bank to refinance the property.......

many thanks again.........

Funds Transfer

Got 1 guy doing loan agent, just give him yr document he will go tru all the banks for u! I used his service, very efficient, he came SG to meet me to sign some document , no fees for him, he get from bank. PM me if u want his number.

This is interesting! So this gentleman is like a mortgage broker, I guess?

Funds Transfer

The bank loan officers' eagerness to serve has a lot to do with the quota and the appetite of the bank on a certain development/project. If their "quota" has been filled up, you'd probably won't hear from them.

I think the bankers' quotas are quickly filled these days due to the buying craze!

Status
Not open for further replies.