• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How to earn passive income by setting up a website?

How about setting up an adult video subscription website? Perhaps a monthly subscription with unlimited video downloads. There will be weekly updates of new videos.

I can foresee high upkeep costs involved in terms of maintaining a huge database. But on the other hand, payment and delivery problems are minimized. Also the legality of doing so from Singapore is a question mark. For instance, if the adult videos are hosted in United States, but i am administrating from Singapore?

Uncle sam, do one need a dedicated physical setup? I am thinking of an approach whereby, one travels but yet can still maintain the website as long as assess is not blocked by the local jurisdiction. Read one of the service in your link, seems possible, am I correct?

What difference does it make where your server is located as long as you have internet access??? :confused:

I suggest you find out how the internet works before you take the next step.

How about setting up an adult video subscription website? Perhaps a monthly subscription with unlimited video downloads. There will be weekly updates of new videos.

I can foresee high upkeep costs involved in terms of maintaining a huge database. But on the other hand, payment and delivery problems are minimized. Also the legality of doing so from Singapore is a question mark. For instance, if the adult videos are hosted in United States, but i am administrating from Singapore?

Why would anyone want to pay for your videos when FREE downloads are available at hundreds of file sharing sites?

Sideswipe

Why would anyone want to pay for your videos when FREE downloads are available at hundreds of file sharing sites?

there will always be peoples who are willing to pay. the free stuffs at most file sharing sites are very hard to download as a free user.

That's why you need to differentiate your service.

- fast download speed

- high resolution videos

- latest videos

- ipad friendly formats

Download speed is irregular on torrents and quality of videos are poor sometimes.

Unrepented

Sometimes got lightning then power trip then how:confused:

Any good reliable source to learn about the internet?

Thanks in advance.

What difference does it make where your server is located as long as you have internet access??? :confused:

That's why you need to differentiate your service.

- fast download speed

- high resolution videos

- latest videos

- ipad friendly formats

Download speed is irregular on torrents and quality of videos are poor sometimes.

There is no differentiation because all of this is already available.

Those who want to make money on the net need to come up with something different.

hotbot

i think there is difference! if you try locating your server in china, i bet you will feel it that the lag is slightly longer than those hosted in australia or HK( when accessing from spore). the bandwidth allocated to the server plays a part and also the number of simultaneous users accessing.

Stop talking through your arse. :rolleyes:

Unrepented

Now I understand leow. Physical location of database is with service provider, is my understanding correct? So the owner setup the web, and does the website owner have to do database maintenance, or leave it to this task to the data center staff:confused:

I was asking because, last tum play play set up my own lan at home for fun:o And my friend dail in test test, just as a hobby:o

Now I not updated on the internet architecture lah:o

Servers don't sit in a garage or your bedroom. Even the hosting companies don't have servers at their office locations. Servers are located in massive data centers.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Data_center

Unrepented

Will kenna copyright lawsuit bo:confused:

I think the hosting location determines the jurisdiction which it fall under. Administration is just a service to the host.

Anyone know correct or not:confused:

I think the hosting location determines the jurisdiction which it fall under. Administration is just a service to the host.

Sure or not? Meaning a person can run a YouPorn website from Singapore, as long as the videos are hosted on servers in other countries?

Eh brother, Im interested. Lets make a website for foreigners finding sinkie husbands and sinkie men looking for cheap fucks on the pretext of marrying. Sure can make money :biggrin:
Most of the dating webbies in Singapore are full of ugly sinkie women who wants to be fucked but yet behaved like queens.

The key thing is to be INCLUSIVE, like the way the gahmen is doing. Include every mother and his dog in your business plan.

Then you must spray the word HELP all over the site - help you with a one-stop place where you can get help, instead of running around like headless chickens when you need help.

Then, whatever you charge, litter the site with AFFORDABLE; everything is affordable, tell the visitors. It is just a simple matter of how many years they want to pay you back.

Then, the latest gahmen buzz word - MANAGEABLE. This word may be used in lieu of AFFORDABLE. The is an original from Gan (son of Mr Gan) of MOM.

Hopefully, you won't ever repent....

rectmobile

bro, so sorry but i just can't help it but i need to comment on your posts here.

You have the desire to build a business and wish to be in a better financial out of it,

but your attitude is kind of counter your want in doing a business.

Your posts show that you are very adverse to risk, you are so afraid of making mistake and doing things wrong.

I am sorry that if you keep this attitude, you are not going to make it.

Dare to do it and learn from the mistake if you meet any. Researching about what needs to be done only gives you the education of going so far ( not so far) in understanding business.

It is only when you do it despite all the doubts and risk, that you will actually learn from doing business.

Good luck to you bro, wish you all the best!!!

I have female friends in their 20s and are already starting out in their business , without much hesitation of how much risk that she is going to meet and problems to overcome.

she learn from it while doing it... that is the ( sorry to say to you) correct attitude in going about dealing with things , especially in starting up and doing business .

courage must be there... or i can say , the balls to face all the odds and learn to overcome it WHILE you are at it. You will gain valuable wisdom from it that is missing by just researching from info alone.

bugeyed

Now I understand leow. Physical location of database is with service provider, is my understanding correct? So the owner setup the web, and does the website owner have to do database maintenance, or leave it to this task to the data center staff:confused:

I was asking because, last tum play play set up my own lan at home for fun:o And my friend dail in test test, just as a hobby:o

Now I not updated on the internet architecture lah:o

Database instances usually owned by the hosting companies. Their servers are usually in data centers. Most server administration are handled by the provider. You would have full access to your databases to do what you want, e.g. db dump, restore, create accounts, etc. Service provider would provide you a web-based "control panel" to administer your website, databases, mailboxes, files, etc.