• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Heard on radio Carrefour closing shop in S'pore, massive retrenchment

greedy and cunning

don't insult your own intelligence lah. go into the gutters and it's a shame you resort to such vulgarities and obscenities. well....your mother will be ashame of you indeed....anyway thanks for responding with such low down sluttty remarks. good day!

YoU should expect this if you post things like what you posted,

THE PRETENDER leongsam created this forum solely for the purpose of bashing the Pee A Pi.

Vivacious

of all the places, have a supermarket in suntec. no surprise carrflour collapses. the parking is horrendous! damned inconvenient. all traffic jams. huge complex a massive white elephant.so many things many irrelevant. fairprice will turn the place into the finest supermarket for sure!au revoir!!!

You are really stupid.The traffic and parking will change if fairprice takes over??? Or maybe fairprice shoppers go there using bicycles???

soikee

I should list out all your clones from 2008 and show everyone how u enjoyed flipping pratas. Anyone here interested to know? I can confidently say that my accuracy is 100% :biggrin:

This arsehole has got no shame at all!

Not long ago he got caught for lying that he has two mothers.

Maybe he's a product of 2 mothers and 5 fathers.

Don't know exactly, but visually can tell they don't hire prc n pinoys. That's a formula for failure in retail business

More likely they are a victim of the PAP's high rental policies:rolleyes:

Saw that Best Denki at Plaza Singapura giving up their large store & now there are many smaller shops there, including a smaller Best Denki.
When enough people loose their job they will eventually get around to blaming the PAP:smile: So by the next GE we'll probably see the PAP lose more.

Don't know exactly, but visually can tell they don't hire prc n pinoys. That's a formula for failure in retail business
ya, man! ...

prc's n pinoys r chippa, betta n fasta! ...

all biz shud fire all locals ... 4 ze price of each local, dey can now hire 2 prc's n pinoys ... gr8 value 4 moni! ...

ah loon shud instruct all gahmen agencies 2 oso sack all locals wif immediate effect n replace dem wif chippa, betta n fasta prc's n pinoys ...

ah loon shud oso sack all daft sinkies in his ib n replace dem wif prc's n pinoys who can definitely do a much betta job ...

Carrefour to close Singapore outlets by year-end
By TODAY | Posted: 28 August 2012 1225 hrs

SINGAPORE: Hypermarket chain Carrefour has announced that it plans to close both its local outlets -- at Suntec City Mall and Plaza Singapura -- by the end of this year.

In a press release dated Tuesday morning, the company said: "Carrefour Singapore announces the decision to close its Suntec and Plaza Singapura stores before end of 2012, since expansion and growth perspectives do not allow reaching a leadership position in the medium and long term."

The French company, which opened its first store in Singapore in 1997, had previously said in 2010 that it would leave Malaysian, Singaporean and Thai markets.

In November 2010, it sold its operations in Thailand -- where it had 42 stores including 34 hypermarkets -- to Thai chain Big C, for an enterprise value of 868 million euros (S$1.36 billion).

But in the same month, it put off plans of selling its stores in Singapore and Malaysia, saying it was confident of creating more value single-handedly in Malaysia and Singapore in the medium and long term, rather than by disposing of those properties.

Then-chief executive of the Carrefour group, Lars Olofsson, said at that point that the two countries would become more significant contributors to the company's overall business.

However, other reports claimed that Carrefour had cancelled plans to sell its Malaysian and Singaporean assets after the designed sale did not attract expected bids.

In 2009, Asia accounted for 7.9 per cent of Carrefour's sales of 85.9 billion euros. Carrefour's two outlets in Singapore contributed 85 million euros in revenue that year, according to its annual report.

Separately, Dairy Farm Singapore says it has signed a lease to open a new Giant hypermarket chain at Suntec City. It is also exploring the possibility of taking over the space at Plaza Singapura after Carrefour ends its lease.

THE_CHANSTER

However, other reports claimed that Carrefour had cancelled plans to sell its Malaysian and Singaporean assets after the designed sale did not attract expected bids.

In 2009, Asia accounted for 7.9 per cent of Carrefour's sales of 85.9 billion euros. Carrefour's two outlets in Singapore contributed 85 million euros in revenue that year, according to its annual report.

€85m out of €85.9bn is peanuts for its Singapore operations. Carrefour's Malaysian outlets will be next to close. They are fighting both Giant and Tescos for market share in Malaysia.

What about Makro in Malaysia? I remembered they had a presence when the hypermarts started out there

soikee

The closure of two flagship stores by the world's 2nd largest supermarket chain and the loss of at least 380+ jobs (plus some down the supply chain) is something that looks bad whichever way you look at it.

Never mind about the 380 lost jobs for 70% of them are cheap foreign trash!

Bonsai

kopiuncle;[U said:
1192637]of all the places, have a supermarket in suntec. no surprise carrflour collapses. the parking is horrendous! damned inconvenient. all traffic jams. huge complex a massive white elephant.so many things many irrelevant. fairprice will turn the place into the finest supermarket for sure!au revoir!!!

Uncle, my experience is that products from NTUC are not cheap. Giant plus Shop N Save offers better price. For biscuit, usually Econ minimart is cheaper.
NTUC short changed many of the elderly (who were pioneer shareholders of the business) by taking away their link points for purchases? Rather cruel isn’t?

Uncle, my experience is that products from NTUC are not cheap. Giant plus Shop N Save offers better price. For biscuit, usually Econ minimart is cheaper.
NTUC short changed many of the elderly (who were pioneer shareholders of the business) by taking away their link points for purchases? Rather cruel isn’t?

For me NTUC has improved by leaps and bounds.Still the supermarket of my choice. Lastime was cold storage, now NTUC!!!Fairprice Finest!!!