• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Heard on radio Carrefour closing shop in S'pore, massive retrenchment

Romagnum

So far have not seen any news online, can anyone update when they see

Hope NTUC or Sheng Siong can take up all the retrenched workers

Fishypie

Carrefour's suppLiers aLL kee siao Liao..there wiLL be even more jobs' Lost down the Line..:cool:

hawker

SINGAPORE: Hypermarket chain Carrefour has announced that it plans to close both its local outlets -- at Suntec City Mall and Plaza Singapura -- by the end of 2012.

In a press release dated Tuesday morning, the company said: "Carrefour Singapore announces the decision to close its Suntec and Plaza Singapura stores before end of 2012, since expansion and growth perspectives do not allow reaching a leadership position in the medium and long term."

The French company, which opened its first store in Singapore in 1997, had previously said in 2010 that it would leave Malaysian, Singaporean and Thai markets.

In November 2010, it sold its operations in Thailand - where it had 42 stores including 34 hypermarkets - to Thai chain Big C, for an enterprise value of 868 million euros (S$1.36 billion).

But in the same month, it put off plans of selling its stores in Singapore and Malaysia, saying it was confident of creating more value single-handedly in Malaysia and Singapore in the medium and long term, rather than by disposing of those properties.

Then-chief executive of the Carrefour group Lars Olofsson said at that point that the two countries would become more significant contributors to the company's overall business.

However, other reports claimed that Carrefour had cancelled plans to sell its Malaysia and Singapore assets after the designed sale did not attract expected bids.

In 2009, Asia accounted for 7.9 per cent of Carrefour's sales of 85.9 billion euros. Carrefour's two outlets in Singapore contributed 85 million euros in revenue that year, according to its annual report.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporebusinessnews/view/1222532/1/.html

hawker

Next victim: Giant at IMM.

NTUC Fairprice/Sheng Siong at Suntec and IMM... oh dear.

I see Giant usually their biz is very good, same applies to IMM branch. Shop n Save is the 1 who biz maybe not so good. But then S&S is owned by Cold Storage group right? Strong backing maybe can tahan longer.

I am also old enough to remember how NTUC Fairprice killed off Savewell, Oriental Emporium.

hawker

I am also old enough to remember how NTUC Fairprice killed off Savewell, Oriental Emporium.

I can remember the Oriental Emporium. But Savewell I have no clue. :(

I only know Ren Min Bai Huo Gong Shi in the old Lion City Hotel.

elephanto

Dont forget Royal Arhold dutch supermarket also was shortlived here...
prime supermart never made it big...

Sheng shiong of course use TV and lucky cash draws to grow to IPO...

Shop n Save started as Indonesian owned... Part of Cold Storage (Dairy Farm group)?... I thought Giant is ?

if SS and CUNT monopolise the market then we are all fucked again!

Support Cold Storage, Giant and Shop & Save.....PSC also must support if you can.

Show the middle finger to SS and CUNT

elephanto

Another one bites the dust over the years....

Emporium Holdings
Yaohan
yokoso
KMart

Long Live Mustafa!

Long Live Isetan!

hawker

Dont forget Royal Arhold dutch supermarket also was shortlived here...
prime supermart never made it big...

Sheng shiong of course use TV and lucky cash draws to grow to IPO...

Shop n Save started as Indonesian owned... Part of Cold Storage (Dairy Farm group)?... I thought Giant is ?

I just check on their website. They are all under Dairy Farm group : Cold Storage, S&S, Giant, 7-11, Marketplace, Guardian..

happy good news. now fairprice and shamsiong will combine and be the giants forever.

yaohan gone. soon cold storage will go down too - struggling to maintain the price and standards. will also follow yaohan....soon.

now we will only have fairprice and shamsiong to give us good and competitive prices for our necessities. good news indeed!

hope mustafa will go down too....dangeorus place to shop. isetan still holds. but will also go down soon....many uncles provison shops also close shop liao.....ONLY FAIRPRICE AND SHAMSIONG WILL REIGN OVER THIS ISLAND ...GOOD NEWS!!!

if SS and CUNT monopolise the market then we are all fucked again!

Support Cold Storage, Giant and Shop & Save.....PSC also must support if you can.

Show the middle finger to SS and CUNT

FAIRPRICE NTUC IS THE THE BEST!!!!The cheapest and the bestest! Bravo to local enterprises!!! Good-bye Carrfloor!

ballsathome

happy good news. now fairprice and shamsiong will combine and be the giants forever.

yaohan gone. soon cold storage will go down too - struggling to maintain the price and standards. will also follow yaohan....soon.

now we will only have fairprice and shamsiong to give us good and competitive prices for our necessities. good news indeed!

hope mustafa will go down too....dangeorus place to shop. isetan still holds. but will also go down soon....many uncles provison shops also close shop liao.....ONLY FAIRPRICE AND SHAMSIONG WILL REIGN OVER THIS ISLAND ...GOOD NEWS!!!

I should list out all your clones from 2008 and show everyone how u enjoyed flipping pratas. Anyone here interested to know? I can confidently say that my accuracy is 100% :biggrin: