• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Good Mid Size Backback for 5 days Short Holiday Trips

lurpsexx

Hi All,

Hope some kind souls can give some advice on good quality and durable backpacks that I can use for short holiday trips (around 5 days) around the region.

Backpack will not be used for off-road hiking or mountain climbing, but more to store the clothing for short trips to Thailand (Bangkok), Malaysia (Penang) or Philippines (Boracay) etc for short holidays...

I rather carry my own backpack than lug a luggage around.. This backpack will also bec checked in at the airport...

Many Thanks in advance for your good and kind advice! :smile:

Char_Azn

I use the army full pack. The old smaller ones for short trips, the bigger new one for longer backpacking trips. For normal travel I use the new army duffle bag.

Hope some kind souls can give some advice on good quality and durable backpacks that I can use for short holiday trips (around 5 days) around the region.

You can of course get a backpack locally at Queensway Shopping Store. I recently visited the place & found a few backpack stores.
If you are going to Bangkok you should visit MBK. Last time I was there I saw plenty of small shops selling backpacks carrying the Northen Face brand.

If you have a higher budget e.g $200 to $350 you can consider the Rush 72.
http://www.511tactical.com/All-Products/Bags-Backpacks/Backpacks.html
Since it's a specialised american brand you will find some youtube reviews of their equipment. Their products are available in Spore but the Spore agent has a high markup. It's cheaper to buy direct from the US or from the Thai agent.

The 5.11 is available in Bangkok at the following stores. :

Tank Store
3 Floor, Centralworld
999/10 Rama 1 Road
Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330
Bangkok
Tel: 02-613-1052
[email protected]
www.e-tankstore.com

299 Co Ltd
622, Rm 3P15 3/F
The Emporium
Sukhumvit Rd, Klongton
Klong-toey, Bangkok 10110
Tel: 662-259-6428
Fax: 662-261-0327
[email protected]
www.e-tankstore.com

299 Co Ltd
2 Floor, Sports Mall
Paragon Department Store
991/1 Rama I Road
Pathumwan
Bangkok 10330
Tel: 662-259-6428
Fax: 662-261-0327
[email protected]
www.e-tankstore.com

Raiders

I bought a alpine bag and it followed me to many SEA countries the past 5 years. Bought it at Benh Thanh Market at HCMC for sgd $12 5 years ago :biggrin:

lurpsexx

Thanks a lot to all bros who replied.. appreciate your info.. will go to Queensway to have a look see...

Having a good backpack does make it easier to travel sometimes... Cheers!

Raiders

Thanks a lot to all bros who replied.. appreciate your info.. will go to Queensway to have a look see...

Having a good backpack does make it easier to travel sometimes... Cheers!

Remember to check back to this forum more often :biggrin:

I like Eagle Creek products, have a bunch of them from the Switch back model, a smaller convertible sling/backpack model, a duffel bag, & various pack-it systems. Many are 10+ years & are still going strong. :smile:

The Switchback system is luggage which you can carry as a backpack or pull as a trolley type luggage when you are in a city with a pavement. 10+ years ago Eagle Creek was the 1st to have such a product. The eagle creek product does cost more but it comes with a lifetime warranty. I know that it's not practical to send it all the way to the US for repairs, but it is a reflection of the quality & that the company stands behind it's products.

Char_Azn

wah bro you a bit cheapo leh.

U're not the first person to make that comment so I'll just repeat what I said to my friends.

"U guys all damn one kind. Always complain government take your money but when they give U free stuff don't wanna use."

Seriously though, the Fullpack is really good. I find it very convenient when packing coz U can unzip the front to expose the entire bag and squeezing thinks into it when I shop too much. It is very expandable. And once U are out of SG, no one knows where those bags are from anyway, in fact when I was backpacking in Europe, one of the ang mohs ask me where to buy one.

The new duffle bag is also pretty good, it's hardy enough and big enough if I plan to do a lot of shopping. Very useful when I go Japan coz those Jipun snacks usually come in big boxes. I have a regular luggage at home which I use for very short business travel otherwise I usually use the other 2 bags. The funny thing is I travel more then most pple yet everyone around me have fancier luggage

BTW all my footwear is from SAF. My work shoes are the number 3 shoes, go out wear the standard running shoes and near the home wear the Sandals sold at E-mart :p

How to check in army back pack at airport? :confused: Surely things there are not secured? He needs something better than that.

Duffle bag no issue, just lock the zipper. Full pack big issue, cannot secure probably then again it appears to most other bag packs. I don't put my valuables when I check in anyway, you shouldnt' either. Always carry your valuables with U. Bag only use to put clothing, souvenirs and probably chargers for your gadgets only. For valuables like laptop, and other gadgets, passport, money etc, always carry with U. When I do biz travel I have my laptop bag with me, when I go backpacking, I have a camera bag for everything else. So basically whatever U check in, you dont mind if they get stolen and in some countries, they do get stolen.

JigSAW

Chech out the army market in beach road, lots of backpack with diff brand. Don't forget the good food below also.

lurpsexx

Chech out the army market in beach road, lots of backpack with diff brand. Don't forget the good food below also.

Thanks for the tip! Ya, I always makan at the hawker centre below after buying my barangs above :smile:

The eagle creek switchback bag Recomm by bro johnny333 look very good.. Ex but if good quality n durable then can buy.. I saw only Tangs carry it in SG, dunno abt other shops here.. Any bros seen this brand of bags elsewhere in SG?

Thanks again for all of your valuable info..

Thanks for the tip! Ya, I always makan at the hawker centre below after buying my barangs above :smile:

The eagle creek switchback bag Recomm by bro johnny333 look very good.. Ex but if good quality n durable then can buy.. I saw only Tangs carry it in SG, dunno abt other shops here.. Any bros seen this brand of bags elsewhere in SG?

Thanks again for all of your valuable info..

Eagle Creek has plenty of products but in Spore you will only see a few of their products. Even in Bangkok you will only see some of their range.
If you want access to their full line you'll have to look at the shops in the US. However in order to protect their overseas distributors, US sellers have agreed to only ship to US addresses.
Some of the US companies get around this by using freight forwarders:wink:

Take for example http://www.luggageonline.com they direct international customers to http://www.ishop-america.com/contact.php Once you sign up with one of these freight forwarders you will be provided with a US address. You can use this address when ordering things from US merchants. The freight forwarder will then send the orders to Spore.

I recently signed up with www.borderlinx.com I can now order anything from the US with few restrictions. The advantage of using borderlinx is that they will consolidate my order. Once all the items are received from various merchants, they'll send my stuff using DHL which is cheaper than UPS.

I_Hate_Pappies

U're not the first person to make that comment so I'll just repeat what I said to my friends.

"U guys all damn one kind. Always complain government take your money but when they give U free stuff don't wanna use."

Seriously though, the Fullpack is really good. I find it very convenient when packing coz U can unzip the front to expose the entire bag and squeezing thinks into it when I shop too much. It is very expandable. And once U are out of SG, no one knows where those bags are from anyway, in fact when I was backpacking in Europe, one of the ang mohs ask me where to buy one.

The new duffle bag is also pretty good, it's hardy enough and big enough if I plan to do a lot of shopping. Very useful when I go Japan coz those Jipun snacks usually come in big boxes. I have a regular luggage at home which I use for very short business travel otherwise I usually use the other 2 bags. The funny thing is I travel more then most pple yet everyone around me have fancier luggage

BTW all my footwear is from SAF. My work shoes are the number 3 shoes, go out wear the standard running shoes and near the home wear the Sandals sold at E-mart :p

Duffle bag no issue, just lock the zipper. Full pack big issue, cannot secure probably then again it appears to most other bag packs. I don't put my valuables when I check in anyway, you shouldnt' either. Always carry your valuables with U. Bag only use to put clothing, souvenirs and probably chargers for your gadgets only. For valuables like laptop, and other gadgets, passport, money etc, always carry with U. When I do biz travel I have my laptop bag with me, when I go backpacking, I have a camera bag for everything else. So basically whatever U check in, you dont mind if they get stolen and in some countries, they do get stolen.

Free stuff? This bugger gone case already...... I guess he will say his cookhouse food is free food, the pathetic allowance he received is free $$$. Wahahaha....... MY ASS IS LAUGHING!!! Why don't you continue your free stay in the army? :oIo::oIo::oIo: Fucker kena brainwashed until very jiaklat liao........ All these free stuffs in exchange for 2-2.5years of his life. :*:
Yes, we are one kind, you are another kind. Abnormal kind. :biggrin:

I've been looking around in Spore for a store which carries good hiking pants. Although I don't hike I find these pants more comfortable than normal pants. They are also easier to care for as you don't need to iron them. They are also good bargains as they are very durable . Used to be able to get these type of pants locally but nowadays with the economic slowdown the local selection is not so good.

So I have been forced to look at the the US online stores. I've found the following stores have a decent selection :
http://www.altrec.com/
http://www.sierratradingpost.com