• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

fuckwarezone CSI on bikehop that got tender for Npark Brompton!

NParks Bright Idea - Make Officers Cycle 40 km Per Day in Hot Weather to Save Petrol

And the so-called savings go back into the $$$ Ministers as awesome bonuses? Is there any ense of decency and humanity left in the FAP Traitors? And with cyclists being frequently mauled down by the Foreign Trash drivers on the overcrowded roads, how callous can these Traitors go?

SINGAPORE : The National Parks Board (NParks) has said it will look into fine-tuning its procurement process for the purchase of items.

Some members of the public had raised concerns over whether NParks was getting value for money when NParks purchased 26 Brompton bikes at S$2,200 each for its field officers.

NParks field officer Jacyln Lim cycles about 40 kilometres a day for tree inspections.

Previously, officers like Ms Lim were ferried around in a van as they had non-foldable bikes.

Now, their new foldable bikes have resulted in monthly transport savings of S$600 per officer as they are able to get around by themselves.

At the close of its tender in January, only one vendor had responded offering two options - the Brompton and another more expensive brand.

NParks said it chose Brompton and noted that the price of the model quoted was lower than the market rate.

While NParks said it had adhered to government procurement guidelines, it will look into improving future tender processes.

Prevailing government procurement guidelines require agencies to put up purchases up to S$70,000 through an open invitation-to-quote (ITQ) process via GeBIZ, which is open to all vendors.

NParks said this process is more transparent than just notifying a few vendors to quote.

It adhered to the procedures by putting up specifications on GeBIZ over a six-day period, including four working days, and did not indicate any brands in its quotation.

Kartini Omar-Hor, general manager (Parks) at National Parks Board, said: "We are mindful of the need to ensure value for money for all our purchases as public funds are involved.

"In this case, we could have set a longer quotation opening period to allow more vendors to come in. We could also have recalled the quotation as only vendor participated in this exercise."

But experts said this could also pose problems.

Associate Professor Ho Yew Kee from the NUS Business School, explained: "Because when there is one bid, you automatically cancel the exercise and start all over again. It would be very tough.

"Because for ordinary things, to have only one bid, that is surprising. But to have some very specialised services or products, to automatically cancel the whole bidding exercise because of one bid, I think you may incur a lot of unnecessary time and cost."

Associate Professor Ho added that he did not think there is anything fundamentally wrong with the current system.

The increased workload of NParks field officers is one of the main reasons why the foldable bikes were needed. For example, in the past couple of years, the frequency of tree inspections has risen by 30 per cent and another 50 kilometres of park connectors were also opened.

- CNA/ms

Television

Re: NParks Bright Idea - Make Officers Cycle 40 km Per Day in Hot Weather to Save Pet

Sounds like a lie to me.. 40km a day? Its either a hoax or exploitation.

gz0707

Re: NParks Bright Idea - Make Officers Cycle 40 km Per Day in Hot Weather to Save Pet

40km a day is not much for a serious cyclist. the distance can be covered in 2 hrs plus.

what I don't understand is getting pp on tv to say that cheaper bikes are useless and will rust/break down in no time. this was done last night on Ch 8 (the frontline). you mean there are so many dumb cyclists out there?

priest lah...

Bigfuck

Now they want to add the van stunt in mah. The tagline I heard from my good friend who chatted with me via the waves was it is claimed that a cheap foldable is S$350 but will breakdown in one year.
350 a puff can buy 6 bikes so can last 6 years. Buy 1 with 3 exchange and repair with sum withheld for every year bo daiji is one way what. You believe brompton 5 year boh daiji you crazy. They smart bastards man. Frame 5 year warranty. 150 dollar bicycle also can give you 5 year warranty man. If I scratch the brompton paint off and put in sea water you tell me got five or not. 2 year warranty for parts nia and subject to reasonable use and not abuse. Lidat Limpeh sell you 1 bicycle with 2 replacement bicycles on 4th and 7th year plus a 10 year service warranty for 1,800, how?

Sir_Fcuk

Lunch Corporal

40km a day is not much for a serious cyclist. the distance can be covered in 2 hrs plus.

priest lah...

Sam can do it under 1hr

Television

This purchase did not come with a warranty.

Wah! Cycles 40km a day!

Keep this up and a NPB officer can soon participate in the Tour de France!

Finally they conceded that they fucked-up. The general manager more honest than 8 bucks. The Prof needs to be shot. For rare procurement the requirement was to call all vendors in that category and notify them. This is not an issue as those who did the requirements did not conjure up the spec in their dream. They must have done market research, spoke to vendors etc. i am sure the vendor will tell you that he must have been tipped off. What happens if you have no bid. Ask the Prof to supply to save costs as not re-tender.

tanakow

The whole buying process is a bit fishy. First before the officer put the PR, he have to put an estimate budget in GBiz which he cannot go over. Given that the buy costs $60K plus, this means that he put up a estimate budget of at least $65K. This means that he had expected that the bicycles were going to be expensive; that is cost over $2K. In other words, he has more or less already decided what type of expensive bicycle he wanted. It is a wonder why the sole agent was not approached to bid.

Brompton Winner a Bicycle Shop, Tour Agency or Online shop with residential address?

This company Bikehop,

Are they a bicycle shop?
Are they a tour agency?
Are they an online shop?

I can't figure this out.

Their registered address is a terrace house in a residential area at Siak Kew Ave (Potong Pasir area). It doesn't operate as a brick/motar bicycle shop nor does it apparantly have any links online to sell bicycles. The issue of whether they can provide actual technical/mechanical support and assistance is questioned. Brompton's authorised distributor and their network of dealers in Singapore offer a standard 5 year warranty on frames and 2 year on parts, exceeding the tender requirements by a lot! With only $50 more expensive then the eventual winning bid.

The eventual sole offer submitted was 2 models from the same company.

1. with 26 bromptons with a price tag $2200 each, $50 off the stated retail price from the local distro.

1. A "bike friday" foldable bike with $2500 as the price.

So to Minister Khaw, the tender process does is indeed questionable.

If there are seasoned riders and bicycle dealers consulted before this tender process was implemented?

http://forums.fuckwarezone.com.sg/e...ss-ended-up-dodgy-winning-bidder-3814897.html

myo539

And the so-called savings go back into the $$$ Ministers as awesome bonuses? Is there any sense of decency and humanity left in the FAP Traitors? And with cyclists being frequently mauled down by the Foreign Trash drivers on the overcrowded roads, how callous can these Traitors go?

SINGAPORE : The National Parks Board (NParks) has said it will look into fine-tuning its procurement process for the purchase of items.

Some members of the public had raised concerns over whether NParks was getting value for money when NParks purchased 26 Brompton bikes at S$2,200 each for its field officers.

NParks field officer Jacyln Lim cycles about 40 kilometres a day for tree inspections.

Previously, officers like Ms Lim were ferried around in a van as they had non-foldable bikes.
Now, their new foldable bikes have resulted in monthly transport savings of S$600 per officer as they are able to get around by themselves.

- CNA/ms

Wah, who has read about many NParks cyclists "mauled down" by FT drivers?

We should thank NParks. The amount of heat generated from them cycling 40 km a day would be sufficient to generate sufficient watts to run the MRT trains.

And their sweat would be sufficient to filled up the Bedok Reservoir so that we don't have to import too much Malaysian water.

The whole buying process is a bit fishy. First before the officer put the PR, he have to put an estimate budget in GBiz which he cannot go over. Given that the buy costs $60K plus, this means that he put up a estimate budget of at least $65K. This means that he had expected that the bicycles were going to be expensive; that is cost over $2K. In other words, he has more or less already decided what type of expensive bicycle he wanted. It is a wonder why the sole agent was not approached to bid.

You got it, mate. Read this from Hardware Zone:

With a residential registered address, how to service these bikes?
- http://singaporenewsalternative.blogspot.sg/2012/07/netizen-reveals-nparks-brompton.html

Those imbeciles should be made to do foot patrol.

wendychan

Re: Brompton Winner a Bicycle Shop, Tour Agency or Online shop with residential addre

This company Bikehop,

1. with 26 bromptons with a price tag $2200 each, $50 off the stated retail price from the local distro.

the bromptons did NOT come from the local AUTHORIZED distributor

Townair

Maybe they should also be made to police PRC and Bangla cyclists running havoc on non-bicycle paths as if they have they the right of way.

Re: Brompton Winner a Bicycle Shop, Tour Agency or Online shop with residential addre

A few lousy bikes you all want to kpkb.
Knn minister not free okay? Minister deals with billions and take charge of millions of sinkies livelihood.
There's no need for check and balances, MIWs are whiter than white, they self discipline.
They made huge sacrifices and big paycuts to lead us to create better life for all.
The millions we pay them is never enough, please be thankful to them for stepping forward to serve.
If we cannot trust them then who can we trust...pls stop nit picking and wasting ministers valuable time

Lim peh will eat keyboard plus mouse if no one benefit anything out of this ka la chia deal.

This company Bikehop,

Are they a bicycle shop?
Are they a tour agency?
Are they an online shop?

I can't figure this out.

http://forums.fuckwarezone.com.sg/e...ss-ended-up-dodgy-winning-bidder-3814897.html

U forgot to have "All the above" as one of the options. LOL