• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

European businessman makes fun of Singaporeans and says they are a retarded bunch

WongMengMeng

... The first thing I would like to discuss is the experience of trying to hiring a Singaporean. On one particular day last year I invited seven people to an interview. These were people that had all previously applied for the job online through a monster.com type job site. I gave them all more than 48 hours advance notice. Of the seven: four did not respond at all, one wrote back and said they didn’t like the neighborhood (it’s centrally located serviced by 10 bus routes and one metro line), one didn’t like the time slot I offered and one confirmed by telephone. The one person who confirmed the interview did not show up and did not call or email to cancel. Please remember these are people that are supposedly looking for employment and applied for the job, not people I identified via a CV search and cold called. I can’t imagine not going to a job interview for a job that I applied for! And as I said this is not abnormal, these are very typical examples of what it’s like trying to hire a local in Singapore.

Let's be objective here and analyse the situation step by step. Big Boss, a potential employer, who may be ang mor or ah neh or Sinkie, has an opening in his firm and places ad in Monster.com. The following happens:

1) Maybe about 30 online applications were received with applicants providing contact details, etc (of course lah, if not how could Big Boss do step 3).

2) Big Boss, vets these and narrows it down to 7.

3) Big Boss contacts those 7 by email and gives them 48 hours advance notice. This means if it is Monday morning when the emails were sent, the first interview will be on Wednesday.

4) The ad was on Monster.com, so it is likely to be for a low level PMET, not for lawyer or anything. Means each interview should not last more than 30 minutes. Interviews for high level PMETs like lawyers, architects, etc can last much, much longer i.e. you are being interrogated, but without CPIB style torture or coercion. Times 7 equals about 3 and half hours. One morning or afternoon should suffice, if there are not too many large gaps between interviews. If whole day allocated, more than sufficient time and more flexible for both Big Boss and his future minions.

5) 4 did not respond! Hello, hello, you applied to an ad on Monster.com! Nobody put a gun to your head and make you do it. Say, between Future Minion's applying and Big Boss' inviting, situation changed - say Future Minion found another job or his current boss gave him a raise. It is BASIC courtesy and business etiquette to reply to Big Boss' invitation and say "No thank you, but in the meantime my situation has changed". Too lazy to do that? Then you deserved to be unemployable!

6) 1 wrote back and say he didn't like the neighbourhood. Assuming the address was only disclosed in Big Boss' invitation email, then it's acceptable. If the address was oredi in the ad itself, What the Fuck is in Future Minion's mind! Don't like neighbourhood then don't apply lah.

7) 1 didn't like the time slot and confirmed by telephone. Hello, hello, why didn't Future Minion negotiate another time slot with Big Boss? Why don't like time slot in the first place? Must escort girlfriend to bus stop during that time arh? Adjust your own affairs to fit in with Big Boss' offered time slot lah! Unless Big Boss was very inflexible in the time slots (unlikely since he "budgeted" for 7 and only 2 confirmed they will come) and didn't "like" means can't be away from current job during that time, then I have nothing to say.

8) 1 confirmed and didn't turn up. And worse, did not contact to cancel or reschedule. This clown ought to be shot. Future Minion had willingly agreed to meet Big Boss at appointed time and place, then gave a no show - totally irresponsible. Wartime how? Artillery supposed to bombard enemy position before infantry move in, but artillery commander "forgot" to do it on appointed time, infantry went after enemy position without prior artillery softening and got slaughtered. Whose fault?

SgParent

Let's be objective here and analyse the situation step by step.

Ok. Although this is really just one side of the story but let's just take his words for now.

5) 4 did not respond! Hello, hello, you applied to an ad on Monster.com! Nobody put a gun to your head and make you do it. Say, between Future Minion's applying and Big Boss' inviting, situation changed - say Future Minion found another job or his current boss gave him a raise. It is BASIC courtesy and business etiquette to reply to Big Boss' invitation and say "No thank you, but in the meantime my situation has changed". Too lazy to do that? Then you deserved to be unemployable!

Only small time businesses, lame employers use email only to invite for interview. No follow up call. No nothing. Probably no HR, no admin assistant in the first place. Must be a damn low end company

6) 1 wrote back and say he didn't like the neighbourhood. Assuming the address was only disclosed in Big Boss' invitation email, then it's acceptable. If the address was oredi in the ad itself, What the Fuck is in Future Minion's mind! Don't like neighbourhood then don't apply lah.

Not sure. If the address was already in the ad then Ang Moh sure to use that as extra bullet.

So logically, the former scenario is more likely. Unless the job require the skill set to NOT know how to read properly

7) 1 didn't like the time slot and confirmed by telephone. Hello, hello, why didn't Future Minion negotiate another time slot with Big Boss? Why don't like time slot in the first place? Must escort girlfriend to bus stop during that time arh? Adjust your own affairs to fit in with Big Boss' offered time slot lah! Unless Big Boss was very inflexible in the time slots (unlikely since he "budgeted" for 7 and only 2 confirmed they will come) and didn't "like" means can't be away from current job during that time, then I have nothing to say.

I think the one that dun like the time slot did not call lah. So maybe you are suitable for the job? Read my above comment on your no.6 about certain skill set requirement

Anyway just as easily, the Ang Moh could have offer another time slot. Why he didn't make a big fuss about that as well? Maybe applicant did try to make alternative arrangement because Ang Moh's original time slot was unreasonably at 9pm along Lor 22 and his next available time slot was at 10pm, Lor 24?

8) 1 confirmed and didn't turn up. And worse, did not contact to cancel or reschedule. This clown ought to be shot. Future Minion had willingly agreed to meet Big Boss at appointed time and place, then gave a no show - totally irresponsible. Wartime how? Artillery supposed to bombard enemy position before infantry move in, but artillery commander "forgot" to do it on appointed time, infantry went after enemy position without prior artillery softening and got slaughtered. Whose fault?

Agree.

rodent2005

The fact that people don't bother to turn up for your interviews speaks a lot about your company, probably low quality, no prospects, lousy working conditions, long hours and low pay. Only low quality desperate unemployable people will turn up for interviews with such companies.

chupacabra

Yes all the talk here about sinkee retardations. But the true fact is alot of companies in peesai are shit and no one wants to work for them except 3rd world workers whom got nothing else to loose.

cocobobo

Singapore is one of the easiest places to set up business.
For a fella to have so much difficulty shows he's some kind of special.

WongMengMeng

Only small time businesses, lame employers use email only to invite for interview. No follow up call. No nothing. Probably no HR, no admin assistant in the first place. Must be a damn low end company

Hello? There was an ad in Monster.com, if those 7 clowns don't like what they see in the ad they can don't apply.

Yah, those clowns think they are the boss izzit. People invite you for interview oredi bery good oredi. Small time businesses, lame employers, low end company, etc are just lame excuses. Those clowns are the ones who want a job, so having applied voluntarily to an ad on Monster.com, they cannot now logically say that 'cos employer invite by email, they don't like. If this kind of crap attitude, those clowns deserve to be jobless.

Not sure. If the address was already in the ad then Ang Moh sure to use that as extra bullet.

This is just an assumption. The Ang Mor could have just forgotten to mention in the article that he did put down the address in the ad. When you are angry it is easy to forget things.

So logically, the former scenario is more likely. Unless the job require the skill set to NOT know how to read properly

OK, if one don't like the neighbourhood, then please be prepared to be without a job until you find another opportunity in an appropriately high class area. And in the meantime, you have bills, bills, bills, but that's not the employer's problem. What kind of neighbourhood is appropriate for a choosy jobseeker?

I think the one that dun like the time slot did not call lah. So maybe you are suitable for the job? Read my above comment on your no.6 about certain skill set requirement

Ooi, don't maybe this or maybe lah. Both you and I did not actually see the thing happening. The only basis for argument is assuming what the employer said is correct then whether the actions of each of the 7 clowns show Sinkie retardation or not.

Anyway just as easily, the Ang Moh could have offer another time slot. Why he didn't make a big fuss about that as well? Maybe applicant did try to make alternative arrangement because Ang Moh's original time slot was unreasonably at 9pm along Lor 22 and his next available time slot was at 10pm, Lor 24?

Maybe, maybe, maybe = excuse, excuse, excuse = no job = cum to Sammyboy, TRE, etc and KPKB. 9 pm or 10 pm? You're kidding me? Normal office hours is 9 am to 5 pm. Employer, Sinkie or Ang Mor or Ah Neh, DEFINITELY also have life and family OK. Lor 22 or Lor 24? This is not an interview for Geylang chicken lah. Employer got office one. You want the job, come to my office for interview, don't expect me to treat you Starbucks and please dress properly. If it is for a job as a receptionist, dress like one so that I can see for myself what sort of impression you will give my clients when they first enter my firm and meet the receptionist. Besides, employer also got normal business between 9 am to 5 pm mah - e.g. meet clients, deal with suppliers, internal brainstorming sessions, blah, blah, blah.

oioi

He is half right. I hire senior level IT execs and I can work budget to hire very good people. I had a position open for 6 months and was appalled at the quality of Singaporeans who were headhunted. I am not saying there are none. There are and I know a few. But these are all very quickly recruited and retained by the biggest brandnames. Singapore is often the springboard for APAC for these MNCs.

The key problem I see is the extreme high cost of living. If the housing costs and living costs were not so high (mortgage, children schools, and many hidden taxes like ERP and COE etc), the average worker would not be demanding so much pay. They would not need so much. And they would be priced much more realistically and companies (like the one I work for) can then budget and hire better.

I have lived in several European countries (not just a tourist). The claim is that the taxes are high in Europe blah blah is true technically but it obscures the actual truth - I am living alot better in terms of quality of living, way more disposable income, and feel much more secure in my and my family's future.

I also do not need any numbers to tell me that it is so wrong to see so many of our older generation manning toilets and clearing dirty dishes.

Marilyn

I've been saying the same thing for years. Singaporeans aren't retarded. "Brain dead" would be a more apt description.

You're right! I've been travelling to Europe and USA with my stupid bosses (typical old-school Chinese bizman so set in their ways that they are really Brain Dead) for years and the Ang Moh retards kowtow to him like he's their king. I've actually seen them acting like fools and getting down on their knees to beg him for business. So much for white supremacy...I have nothing but contempt for these grovelling idiots!

Royalblood

which reputable or well established company will advertise on that shitty website monster.com.sg?

furthermore out of the 7 interview invitation he gave out, only one was dumb enough to entertain this white piece of mofo

it is quite clear that this idiotic european businessmen is running a super cannot make it kind of company. probably a small tiny office and a one man show :rolleyes:

SgParent

Hello? There was an ad in Monster.com, if those 7 clowns don't like what they see in the ad they can don't apply.

Yah, those clowns think they are the boss izzit. People invite you for interview oredi bery good oredi. Small time businesses, lame employers, low end company, etc are just lame excuses. Those clowns are the ones who want a job, so having applied voluntarily to an ad on Monster.com, they cannot now logically say that 'cos employer invite by email, they don't like. If this kind of crap attitude, those clowns deserve to be jobless. .

A call to the applicants would have avoided a lot of these. Provided the employer is serious, professional, sincere.

Lame employers like this cheapskate Ang Moh probably mass email interview invitations. So he attracted applicants that matches his standard.

So arrogant, no class Ang Moh dun deserve a decent employee. Those applicants who dun bother to respond dun deserve to work in his company. Case closed

This is just an assumption. The Ang Mor could have just forgotten to mention in the article that he did put down the address in the ad. When you are angry it is easy to forget things.

"Ang Moh had forgotten" is also an assumption.

If he was really angry and easy to forget things, he wouldn't end up writing so much.

OK, if one don't like the neighbourhood, then please be prepared to be without a job until you find another opportunity in an appropriately high class area. And in the meantime, you have bills, bills, bills, but that's not the employer's problem. What kind of neighbourhood is appropriate for a choosy jobseeker? .

Assumptions again. What type of job is this? A high/low end one? Full/part time?

If it's a low paying, low end, part time job, suitable for housewives, retirees, teenagers waiting for results, then arrogant Ang Moh must thank his lucky stars no applicant whack him upside-down for wasting their time to apply for the job in the first place because Ang Moh "forgotten" to provide working location.

If it's a decent job, then why Ang Moh dun bother to call applicants? Forgotten to pay his phone bill?

Ooi, don't maybe this or maybe lah. Both you and I did not actually see the thing happening. The only basis for argument is assuming what the employer said is correct then whether the actions of each of the 7 clowns show Sinkie retardation or not..

I thought you said "Let's be objective here and analyse the situation step by step."? So actually you mean "Let's believe whatever illogical, fairytale crap that arrogant Ang Moh is saying"?

Maybe, maybe, maybe = excuse, excuse, excuse = no job = cum to Sammyboy, TRE, etc and KPKB. 9 pm or 10 pm? You're kidding me? Normal office hours is 9 am to 5 pm. Employer, Sinkie or Ang Mor or Ah Neh, DEFINITELY also have life and family OK. Lor 22 or Lor 24? This is not an interview for Geylang chicken lah. Employer got office one. You want the job, come to my office for interview, don't expect me to treat you Starbucks and please dress properly. If it is for a job as a receptionist, dress like one so that I can see for myself what sort of impression you will give my clients when they first enter my firm and meet the receptionist. Besides, employer also got normal business between 9 am to 5 pm mah - e.g. meet clients, deal with suppliers, internal brainstorming sessions, blah, blah, blah.

It is possible but highly improbable for some1 bothered enough to respond, to just say type "I dun like the time slot provided" and click SEND. Maybe you would.

Hawkeye1819

I've been saying the same thing for years. Singaporeans aren't retarded. "Brain dead" would be a more apt description.

Just work for yourself and you'll never have to deal with these shitstick employers who demand a pound of flesh in exchange of an ounce of wages.

On the intellectual level of Singaporeans, I once interviewed a 30+ yo lady for a small clerical position in a small start-up business. Her first question was, what are the staff benefits. We had a lighter in the room as my colleague was a smoker and we incinerated her dossier once she left. Nearly tripped the smoke alarm.

shOUTloud

Please lah. This guy is now fucking cheap hookers in Vietnam and he is declaring Saigon as the best place on earth. Cos his dollars are stretching it there. He can bring his $1500/mth jobs there.

Why react to every idiot on the internet?

Please lah. This guy is now fucking cheap hookers in Vietnam and he is declaring Saigon as the best place on earth. Cos his dollars are stretching it there. He can bring his $1500/mth jobs there.

Why react to every idiot on the internet?

Instead of attacking the messenger, why don't you digest his message. Regardless of his own character flaws, I can't fault his findings. He's pretty much spot on with his observations.

WongMengMeng

A call to the applicants would have avoided a lot of these. Provided the employer is serious, professional, sincere.

Lame employers like this cheapskate Ang Moh probably mass email interview invitations. So he attracted applicants that matches his standard.

So arrogant, no class Ang Moh dun deserve a decent employee. Those applicants who dun bother to respond dun deserve to work in his company. Case closed

You're kidding me? Applicant plays big shot and expects employer to show sincerity, etc by making call? Please lah, welcome to the REAL world. What standards those applicants got? Oredi said Monster.com means most likely low level PMETs - means nothing special. You mean you go restaurant as customer also must put up with bad attitude of waiter even though waiting on tables is a no brain job?

The rest of your post is whining, whining, whining or as they say kow pei kow bu. If I reply point by point, we'll get bogged down in minor details or assumptions. So, I'll focus on the big picture.

When I started out as a low paid loh yar, nobody bothered to call me with opportunities at other firms. Why? Because my skills nothing special mar - nothing to differentiate me from the thousands of other fresh lor grads what. Some more senior loh yars in firm must "waste" their time to teach me robes of the trade that law books no have one and academics can't teach 'cos those buggers neber practised before. Of course, these seniors will hold back some tricks lah like Chinese kung fu sifu mah. But, since I smart, hold back also no use, I can find out myself.

After a few years, picture changed completely. I realised that due to constant learning, there are some things I knew that my sifus don't i.e. I am better than them but paid much less. Headhunters started to call. They find me. I don't have to find them. I asked them, how you know me ah, I neber apply leh? Some say I found your name thro' googling. Some say somebody told me lah, can't say who, trade secret mah.

Why the difference? Now MY MARKET VALUE different oredi mah! Luck only arh? No, 'cos of the efforts I put in and the COMMERCIALLY VALUABLE skills I've acquired. Nothing to do with luck.

Enough of all these Singlish crap, let's revert to proper Queen's English.

Those 7 clowns must take a good hard look at THEMSELVES and ask objectively what is their value to a future employer and how to differentiate themselves from others who are also looking for jobs. Since it is a low level PMET job, there's nothing much to differentiate between a Sinkie Poly grad or an Ah Neh or Ah Tiong except ATTITUDE. Say, of those 7, there is 1 with good attitude and he is hired. So what if it's a small outfit? After a few years, this clown is no longer a clown with no experience in that field. Now he was better then he was a few years before. During those few years, he had salary to draw instead of sponging off his parents. If this clown is ambitious, he will use the salary to fund courses in his chosen field, so that he can rise from low level PMET to middle or high level.

Every Ah Beng also knows that it is better to work for a big company. But why will a big company choose Tom, Dick or Harry over the thousands of others that apply? Every big company is first and foremost a COMMERCIAL ENTERPRISE and NOT a charity. The ones it picks are the ones that are valuable to its business. So, what do these 7 clowns who want to work for big companies have that is of COMMERCIAL value? If these clowns don't presently have what big companies want then what are they going to do in the meantime? Sit on their hands and wait? Cry? Complain to the Government? Come to Sammyboy and kow pei kow bu and say Ang Mor must be this or that?

Hawkeye1819

Instead of attacking the messenger, why don't you digest his message. Regardless of his own character flaws, I can't fault his findings. He's pretty much spot on with his observations.

shoutloud has point. There is too much noise on the net, so its important to separate the wheat from the chaff. Once the chaff level goes past the wheat level, that person should be safely ignored.

Let's not be naive. To have so many applicants turn tail after being contacted, one must wonder in what situation would a regular responsible person do that? My guess is that euro dude was looking for part timers, and at that sort of hourly rates one can only get students to do that sort of work. That would perfectly fit the sort of picture he's painting about the people he shortlisted. No, not 2k to 8k type of executive job applicants. If you believe his story wholesale, there's a bridge i'd like to sell you.

soIsee

Yes all the talk here about sinkee retardations. But the true fact is alot of companies in peesai are shit and no one wants to work for them except 3rd world workers whom got nothing else to loose.

Well, if that's your views about ppl who are going to employ you then you can bug off. The cheaper FTs will replace you.

After that don't comprain hor like giving what fuck excuse like cannot get employed and you got alot of kids to feed and cannot relac in one corner and play your guitar!LOLOLOL