• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

European businessman makes fun of Singaporeans and says they are a retarded bunch

http://forums.asiaone.com/showthread.php?t=60139#1

i dun unerstan u lah!: An exposé of Singapore and Singaporean retardation

I greatly enjoyed reading the Single Dude’s articles on the pros and cons of Singapore. As a European business person I would like to expand a bit on the “Singaporean retardation” described in the cons article. When I arrived in Singapore I was absolutely shocked at the almost unimaginable retardation of the local Singaporeans. Given that Singapore is one of the wealthiest countries in the world and apparently has the highest number of millionaires per capita, I was expecting to find a mecca of high technology and efficiency but I was sorely disappointed. It’s true the center of the city is full of modern looking buildings and is very clean but aside from that Singapore has much more in common with “third world” countries than it does with it’s very “first world” image.

Let me preface the anecdotes I’m about to tell by stating that the situations I’m about to describe are very much “business as usual” in Singapore and not extraordinary in any way shape or form. These are daily occurrences, not once in a month or once in a year occurrences. Also, please remember that Singapore claims to be an English speaking country, but as you will soon find out, that is a very unsubstantiated claim.

The first thing I would like to discuss is the experience of trying to hiring a Singaporean. On one particular day last year I invited seven people to an interview. These were people that had all previously applied for the job online through a monster.com type job site. I gave them all more than 48 hours advance notice. Of the seven: four did not respond at all, one wrote back and said they didn’t like the neighborhood (it’s centrally located serviced by 10 bus routes and one metro line), one didn’t like the time slot I offered and one confirmed by telephone. The one person who confirmed the interview did not show up and did not call or email to cancel. Please remember these are people that are supposedly looking for employment and applied for the job, not people I identified via a CV search and cold called. I can’t imagine not going to a job interview for a job that I applied for! And as I said this is not abnormal, these are very typical examples of what it’s like trying to hire a local in Singapore.

Local workers are often of much lower quality than foreign workers, and to add insult to injury they also cost much more. Businesses are forced to pay into superannuation funds (Central Provident Fund or “CPF”) for locals but not for foreigners; at the lower end of the spectrum this can make locals upwards of 50% more expensive to hire (these CPF contributions are currently capped for salaries of $5,000 and above). To pay a local around $2200 net costs me about $3000. To pay a foreigner $2200 net costs $2200 plus a much smaller than CPF “foreign worker levy“. I can easily find foreigners to pay $2200 net that are well worth $2200. Locals available for that price range are not even worth $1000 to me in most cases, in fact I have seriously considered hiring some local maids at the lowest possible salary to sit around and do nothing so that I can hire more foreign workers. You see, to make matters even worse there is currently a government quota of 3 locals per foreign employee on an S-Pass (the employment pass for mid to low level employees).

The Singaporean government has now decided that companies aren’t hiring enough Singaporeans, particularly in middle management (gee I wonder why!?!) so in their infinite wisdom they have decided to severely restrict employment passes for those making salaries below <$4,500 and to somewhat limit passes for those making between 4,500 to 8,000. Only those making above 8,000 can get an employment pass relatively easily and sooner or later that will probably become much harder too.

So the government economically incentivized companies to hire foreigners for years, and now that foreigners have become close to 40% of the population they want to stop this practice dead in its tracks and force people hire locals. Here’s the problem, besides the economic incentives, as described above, locals often aren’t employable. A Singaporean that costs me $3,000 out of pocket is not even remotely as good an employee as a foreigner I can easily find that is wiling to work for $1,500. My solution? No more jobs in Singapore – I’ll setup a shared service center in another country. Problem solved. It’s the same position Obama has put American businessmen with his retarded healthcare law, and that Hollande has put business owners in in France. “Oh you want further raise my costs for these already uncompetitive workers? No problem, I’ll just hire workers in other countries and/or replace them completely with automation.”

The one exception to all of this is the lowly “Work Permit”, these are not that hard to obtain because this is how they import people from impoverished countries to be maids, nannies and other forms of workers to do jobs that Singaporeans would consider themselves to be above no matter how desperate they were for work. These are also the passes they issue to the construction workers who work for a pittance often live in squalor in the unfinished buildings they are working on our elsewhere on the job site in things that resemble shipping containers. While perhaps this is not an example of local stupidity, it does indicate that Singaporeans have no qualms about taking advantage of impoverished and desperate foreign workers.

Foreigners like that think that they are god's gifts to sinkapore. Look at the entitlement attitude. Well, he can bring his business to Philippines if he wants cheap labour ...why didn't he in the first instance?

Even conceding that he is correct in his diagnosis of sinkee's work attitude, the importation of foreigners for a decade has not changed the attitude. So, do we write off the sinkees by importing more foreigners or do sometime constructive to change attitude or maybe the problem is with management?

This is a typical foreigner who thinks he has the right to do as he pleases in sinkapore and insults sinkee. The authorities should just kick him out. Let him take his 'business' to somewhere else where his exploitation of locals is welcome.

LeMans2011

I don't know what kind of business this "businessman" is in but he certainly does not sound smart.
What kind of people faces obstacles everywhere in everything he does?? Stupid people of course. I know Sinkies' English are not that fantastic but the examples he quoted sounds like people who'd never passed Primary 6.

LeMans2011

Foreigners like that think that they are god's gifts to sinkapore. Look at the entitlement attitude. Well, he can bring his business to Philippines if he wants cheap labour ...why didn't he in the first instance?

Even conceding that he is correct in his diagnosis of sinkee's work attitude, the importation of foreigners for a decade has not changed the attitude. So, do we write off the sinkees by importing more foreigners or do sometime constructive to change attitude or maybe the problem is with management?

This is a typical foreigner who thinks he has the right to do as he pleases in sinkapore and insults sinkee. The authorities should just kick him out. Let him take his 'business' to somewhere else where his exploitation of locals is welcome.

There is no need to kick him out. He sounds totally stupid, poorly researched, completely tactless and lacking understanding in the environment he wants to do business... there is no way he will make it here. CONFIRM FAIL.

spotter542

All these white trash always think they are the superior race :rolleyes:
This white trash should relocate to Mumbai where the Ah Nehs will gang rape his wife and silence her off or is it the other way round
:p

This white trash should relocate to Mumbai where the Ah Nehs will gang rape his wife and silence her off or is it the other way round

White ang mor are not superior...it is just that Sinkies are the lowest scum race in this planet.

chupacabra

He should go OZ or US and start a business there. These ang mo needs another ang mo to tell him to go fuck himself.

An ang mor has got a taste of sinkie behaviour.

White ang mor are not superior...it is just that Sinkies are the lowest scum race in this planet.

He actually isn't ang moh. He's actually an asian "european" He's filippino.

soIsee

I don't know what kind of business this "businessman" is in but he certainly does not sound smart.
What kind of people faces obstacles everywhere in everything he does?? Stupid people of course. I know Sinkies' English are not that fantastic but the examples he quoted sounds like people who'd never passed Primary 6.

The local Ah beng and Ah lian and the local m&ds claimed to have attained a 'very high level ' of 'England' competency with each of these specimens having easily gone thru more than 10 years of 'England' based education.

Speak to anyone of these on the streets and you will find the above specimens speaks 'England' the way their own coolie great grandfather used to during colonial times or like what you termed never passed pri 6!:biggrin:

I've been saying the same thing for years. Singaporeans aren't retarded. "Brain dead" would be a more apt description.

chupacabra

Yup alot of sinkees are retarded. But those ang mor that got doped into coming to peesai by the pappies and expecting peesai to be dirt cheap cuntry are retarded themselves. Who is more retarded, the retarded or the ones that tries to hire retarders?

I've been saying the same thing for years. Singaporeans aren't retarded. "Brain dead" would be a more apt description.

Leave the thinking to us elites. Commoners should just listen and do as they are told. That is why Singapore works. Obvioisly ang mor is a "do-er". Tee-hee!

Bigfuck

Let more of these one-man fake MNCs come into Singapore. They will crash. And let our fake scholars try to weasel out.

SgParent

........... The first thing I would like to discuss is the experience of trying to hiring a Singaporean. On one particular day last year I invited seven people to an interview. These were people that had all previously applied for the job online through a monster.com type job site. I gave them all more than 48 hours advance notice. Of the seven: four did not respond at all, one wrote back and said they didn’t like the neighborhood (it’s centrally located serviced by 10 bus routes and one metro line), one didn’t like the time slot I offered and one confirmed by telephone. The one person who confirmed the interview did not show up and did not call or email to cancel. Please remember these are people that are supposedly looking for employment and applied for the job, not people I identified via a CV search and cold called. I can’t imagine not going to a job interview for a job that I applied for! And as I said this is not abnormal, these are very typical examples of what it’s like trying to hire a local in Singapore.............

Agree. This is one low class, low end Ang Moh.

When he said he "invited" I think it was more like an email "invitation". And with that he expects everyone and anyone to respond? Why? Like his email address has a "God" or "@Heaven"?

And what's wrong with anyone who dun like centrally located neighborhood? If anything it only shows his advertisement did not include the company location. So that is another stupid thing, mistake of his.

For that one who dun like the time slot, did he even bother to offer another time slot? Or he has been too busy writing such embarrassingly stupid and embarrassingly lame story to smear true pink Singaporeans?

That one who did respond but eventually didn't turn up, maybe this Ang Moh's job offer was so pathetic with lousy benefits, that person quickly found another better offer?

The rest of his rubbish is not worth my time. All I know is, true pink Singaporeans has progress without embarrassingly stupid and embarrassingly arrogant people like him.

Bigfuck

Agree. This is one low class, low end Ang Moh.

When he said he "invited" I think it was more like an email "invitation". And with that he expects everyone and anyone to respond? Why? Like his email address has a "God" or "@Heaven"?

And what's wrong with anyone who dun like centrally located neighborhood? If anything it only shows his advertisement did not include the company location. So that is another stupid thing, mistake of his.

For that one who dun like the time slot, did he even bother to offer another time slot? Or he has been too busy writing such embarrassingly stupid and embarrassingly lame story to smear true pink Singaporeans?

That one who did respond but eventually didn't turn up, maybe this Ang Moh's job offer was so pathetic with lousy benefits, that person quickly found another better offer?

The rest of his rubbish is not worth my time. All I know is, true pink Singaporeans has progress without embarrassingly stupid and embarrassingly arrogant people like him.

Look. Do not worry. When social security in Europe effectivey vaporizes through low payout and inflation, he will be living like a rat and shut his gap.