• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Early retirement in JB

cybermad

Malaysia is this thing called PTPTN which is a Government higher education loan scheme and many other scholarships offered by private universities and companies. Best part is if you get very good results, the loan can be converted to full scholarship. Loans are to be repaid only when you started working at very low interests. It is applicable for local as well as overseas education. Those days there's a racial quota for the Government loans but these days it is open to all.

Dun think we hv these loans for overseas univ in SG ...

Frodo

Sometimes the less well off parents hv no choice but to send their children to local univ as they cannot afford overseas education.

Actually it is the local education system that needs a major overhaul! But sad to say our govt thinking is that nothing in the system need to be fixed since it is not broken, at most tweak tweak here tweak tweak there. What needs to be fixed are the parents and the students! :rolleyes:

cybermad

Actually it is the local education system that needs a major overhaul! But sad to say our govt thinking is that nothing in the system need to be fixed since it is not broken, at most tweak tweak here tweak tweak there. What needs to be fixed are the parents and the students! :rolleyes:

True. I think they are slowly changing but not fast enuff. The world is changing rapidly where only the swift footed ones will survive. I really scared of what havoc China will cause.

Frodo

True. I think they are slowly changing but not fast enuff. The world is changing rapidly where only the swift footed ones will survive. I really scared of what havoc China will cause.

Singapore should learn from Finland. Our papers have raved about Finland education a few times but our Govt simply don't want to, or don't dare to, overhaul the education system here.

freedom

Singapore should learn from Finland. Our papers have raved about Finland education a few times but our Govt simply don't want to, or don't dare to, overhaul the education system here.

Frodo, r u doing home schooling for your kids? How old r they?

Glad my older boy does not mind studying in International school in JB though the younger one needs some persuading...

Partly also feel disillusioned the IDA can employ a foreigner with dubious degree...makes me think that all the ridiculous stress they put on our kids r for nothing....

Frodo

Frodo, r u doing home schooling for your kids? How old r they?

Glad my older boy does not mind studying in International school in JB though the younger one needs some persuading...

Partly also feel disillusioned the IDA can employ a foreigner with dubious degree...makes me think that all the ridiculous stress they put on our kids r for nothing....

Yes, that's what they call it, though in JB it's quite a different form, kind of like institutionalised home schooling. Anyway, we feel that schooling in Singapore is too static, too rote learning, too exam focused, resulting in world class talents in question spotting, specialising in certain topics and gambling or hoping that what one studied for will come out.

freedom

But are you worried about their future education like university? For me, that is a major concern and main deterrent.....

Tekkun

But are you worried about their future education like university? For me, that is a major concern and main deterrent.....

Just to share on this education thing.

My daughter switched to IB syllabus some years ago, doing it in a private school. She done her Middle School last year and now in Sunway College doing Ausmat Year 12 Australian Syllabus. Hopefully she do well to get her Atar and end up either in UK or in Australia.
MY Government schools follow a localised version of IGCSE style which is very rigid and exam based. They teach what they want you to learn. Of course there are many International schools offering IGCSE courses.
In IB, they teach you how to think, reason and apply. Cost wise, it is about RM 36k per year in a International school for middle school. If you go for IB diploma, the cost is about RM 60 to 80k.

There are plenty of universities in Malaysia that has twinning programmes ie 2+1 or 2+2 type. Study locally at the university campus and then do the final years overseas. Tuition fees is the same but you save on accommodation. Moreso, you get to look after the children in their rebellious years until they are more matured. :smile:

freedom

Just to share on this education thing.

My daughter switched to IB syllabus some years ago, doing it in a private school. She done her Middle School last year and now in Sunway College doing Ausmat Year 12 Australian Syllabus. Hopefully she do well to get her Atar and end up either in UK or in Australia.
MY Government schools follow a localised version of IGCSE style which is very rigid and exam based. They teach what they want you to learn. Of course there are many International schools offering IGCSE courses.
In IB, they teach you how to think, reason and apply. Cost wise, it is about RM 36k per year in a International school for middle school. If you go for IB diploma, the cost is about RM 60 to 80k.

There are plenty of universities in Malaysia that has twinning programmes ie 2+1 or 2+2 type. Study locally at the university campus and then do the final years overseas. Tuition fees is the same but you save on accommodation. Moreso, you get to look after the children in their rebellious years until they are more matured. :smile:

Yeah, I am hoping they can get into IMU next time to study Medicine (if they want) as the fees are cheaper about RM500K+ for 5 years as of now for foreign students not doing twinning to RM900K + with twinning...but the good thing is they can work in Sg after graduation as I read Sg has gone to their campus to recruit students before... My younger one wants to be a teacher...(I guess we all more or less wanna be teachers when young), that will be easier, maybe can study in any local Uni either Malaysia or Sg (if accepted)....

Frodo

People in MY are also going into universities in Singapore or overseas, or even in universities that have set up shop in JB. So I am not of the persuasion that a respectable education can only be obtained in Singapore, though I have this feeling that many Singaporeans have imbibed this belief and would defend it with religious fervour.:eek: I always joke with my friends that if my girls can marry rich men (with $2.6m in bank type :p) then no worries liao lor...LOL! Anyway, the world is so big and there is real life beyond the small red dot, perhaps much more. We are exploring the idea of sending kids to further their university education in places like Finland which are free for international students, though Finland would be imposing it for non-EU students soon. Darn!

http://www.scholars4dev.com/4031/li...uition-freelow-tuition-universities-colleges/

freedom

People in MY are also going into universities in Singapore or overseas, or even in universities that have set up shop in JB. So I am not of the persuasion that a respectable education can only be obtained in Singapore, though I have this feeling that many Singaporeans have imbibed this belief and would defend it with religious fervour.:eek: I always joke with my friends that if my girls can marry rich men (with $2.6m in bank type :p) then no worries liao lor...LOL! Anyway, the world is so big and there is real life beyond the small red dot, perhaps much more. We are exploring the idea of sending kids to further their university education in places like Finland which are free for international students, though Finland would be imposing it for non-EU students soon. Darn!

http://www.scholars4dev.com/4031/li...uition-freelow-tuition-universities-colleges/

You mean now, if you go, you can study for free there? Unbelievable!

Very useful link...thanks!

freedom

Hubby also asking me to home school our kids... I am only confident of Primary level, forgot my Chem and Physics and A and E Maths already...think put them in school better, more interaction with other kids...

Frodo

Hubby also asking me to home school our kids... I am only confident of Primary level, forgot my Chem and Physics and A and E Maths already...think put them in school better, more interaction with other kids...

If you can take care of first 12 years is already very good liao....laying the moral foundation for the future...according to your beliefs, not the govt or secular society.

freedom

Today Li Chun, I deposited S$8888.88 at 1328 my very auspicious hr wearing my auspicious colours....Huat ah!!!

freedom

Hi Frodo, how much is your water and electricity bill and handphones bill and food and groceries bill and car maintainence costs in JB? Trying to calculate if S$4000 will be enough for living expenses for 5 in JB.