• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Clark Quay hotel fuck up wedding dinner, then call in mata when couple refuse to pay

M

Mdm Tang

Re: Clark Quay hotel fuck up wedding dinner, then call in mata when couple refuse to

hotel is named in the Sunday Times , its the Novotel.....pls guys dun flame me for buying the papers la.

Hotel Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
177A River Valley Road
179031 SINGAPORE
SINGAPORE
Tel (+65)63383333
Fax (+65)64338718
E-mail [email protected]
Hotel Manager :
Mr Kevin BOSSINO
Location & access
GPS. N 1° 17' 30.47'' E 103° 50' 41.21''

Bro is it the :

DRAGON PHOENIX
For authentic Cantonese fine dining head to DRAGON PHOENIX
where you can partake of the finest Chinese culinary delights.

Opening hours : 12:00-15:00 AND 18:00-23:00

http://www.novotel.com/gb/hotel-5993-novotel-singapore-clarke-quay/restaurant.shtml

palden

Re: Clark Quay hotel fuck up wedding dinner, then call in mata when couple refuse to

Had posted the story in other forums and write to the hotel management. Let's chip in to help the couple. Such bullying tactics by the elites must not be tolerated.

M

Mdm Tang

http://www.cdlht.com/investor_corp_chariman.htm

http://www.cdlht.com/ir.html

Owners : Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay

Extracted from Annual Report 2007

On behalf of the Board of Directors of M&C REIT Management Limited, manager of CDL Hospitality Real Estate Investment Trust and M&C Business Trust Management Limited, as trustee-manager of CDL Hospitality Business Trust, I am pleased to present a set of stellar results for CDL Hospitality Trusts for the financial year ended 31 December 2007.

2007 IN REVIEW

2007 was a spectacular year for CDL Hospitality Trusts:

We saw strong operating performance in our Singapore hotels – Revenue per available room (“RevPAR”) for our Singapore hotels was S$174, up 30.8% against the Pro Forma 2006 RevPAR of S$133. Our average occupancy rate was 87% at an average daily rate of S$200.

We successfully completed the acquisition of the Novotel Clarke Quay – On 7 June 2007, we acquired the 398-room Novotel Clarke Quay located at the heart of Clarke Quay, one of Singapore’s leading lifestyle and entertainment destinations. This acquisition boosted our portfolio of Singapore hotel rooms to 2,324, making us the largest hotel owner in Singapore by number of rooms. The Novotel Clarke Quay contributed S$9.6 million towards gross rental revenues and S$9.2 million towards net property income for the period 7 June 2007 to 31 December 2007.

We delivered significant growth in our business in FY 2007 – As a result of the strong operating performance of CDL Hospitality Trusts’ hotels in Singapore, the revenues from the Novotel Clarke Quay and the revenues from the Rendezvous Hotel Auckland, gross revenues of CDL Hospitality Trusts were S$90.7 million, representing a 61.1% increase over Projection 2007 and 58.5% increase against Pro Forma 2006. Net property income was S$85.8 million, which was a 66.7% increase over Projection 2007 and 62.9% increase over Pro Forma 2006.

We presented strong returns to our unitholders – In line with our strong financial performance, we declared record distributions per stapled security of approximately 8.98 Singapore cents, which was 61.8% above the projection of 5.55 cents provided at our IPO. In addition to strong distributions, the price of our stapled security appreciated 40.7% in 2007 reflecting strong investor confidence in us.

We received robust support from the investment community – On 19 July 2007, we completed a successful round of equity fund raising comprising a placement tranche which was 24 times subscribed and a preferential tranche which was 93.9% subscribed by existing unitholders. We raised net proceeds of S$291.0 million, which was used to pare down debt.

We strengthened our balance sheet significantly – As a result of the successful equity fund raising and increase in the value of our assets, we now have a low debt-to-asset ratio of 18.7% as at 31 December 2007 compared to 34.6% as at the end of 2006. The net asset value per stapled security has also grown 56.3% to S$1.61 versus S$1.03 as at the end of 2006.
OUTLOOK FOR 2008

Singapore’s tourism industry experienced a recordbreaking year for 2007. Visitor arrivals in Singapore hit a historic high with 10.3 million visitors and 38 million visitor days for the entire year. For 2008, the Singapore Tourism Board has set a target to increase visitor arrivals by 5%, to 10.8 million. The year has already started on a strong note with the opening of Changi Airport Terminal 3, and the rest of this year promises to be just as exciting. With the official launch of the Singapore Flyer in February, the eagerly-anticipated 2008 FORMULA 1 SingTel Singapore Grand Prix in September and other inaugural major international events such as the Singapore Airshow, Singapore International Water Week and ITB Asia, the tourism and hotel industry is expected to remain buoyant. While concerns remain over the growth of the macro economy in 2008, fuelled by fears of a recession in the United States and increasingly stretched credit markets worldwide, we remain cautiously upbeat on the outlook for the hotel industry in Singapore in 2008. We will continue to proactively manage our portfolio by maximizing the operating performance of our existing assets, as well as continue to explore asset enhancement opportunities to optimize the value of our hotels. In this regard, we are in the process of converting unused space at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel into 24 new extended stay rooms. The project is nearing completion™ and the rooms are expected to be launched in the second quarter of 2008.

In addition, we are also in the process of renovating M Hotel’s Serviced Office & Business Centre. This reconfiguration will result in the creation of an additional four serviced office units with 98 sq m of leaseable space and two additional meeting rooms. Work is also underway to convert the present gym located on the 8th floor of Novotel Clarke Quay into two deluxe rooms and to free up space in the hotel for a suite. These activities will take the total hotel room inventory to 401 rooms. The present gym will be relocated to one of the meeting rooms on a lower floor of the hotel which is not regularly used. These projects are expected to generate incremental revenue with effect from second quarter of 2008.

Concurrent with pursuing organic growth opportunities, we will use our strong balance sheet to make yieldaccretive quality acquisitions in the Asia-Pacific region. Building on our strong performance in 2007, we look forward to the continued delivery of consistently attractive returns to our unitholders.

Mr Wong Hong Ren
Chairman

M

Mdm Tang

Hotel called Mata On their wedding nite ...

Then couple should call AVA / and Health Inspectors to

check on the hotel kitchens ...

Wedding Guests who got stomach upset should file police report

and AVA reports ...

Cnot...becoz it still 6 like a cheeseburger...until u lift up de roti...:biggrin::biggrin:
aiyoh ... nid 2 lift loti up 2 c 1 meh? ... u juz nid 2 hold ze burger wif both hands, den press ur fingers down n ze loti wil auto spread apart 4 u 2 c 1 ... :o :eek:

Microsoft

aiyoh ... nid 2 lift loti up 2 c 1 meh? ... u juz nid 2 hold ze burger wif both hands, den press ur fingers down n ze loti wil auto spread apart 4 u 2 c 1 ... :o :eek:

Not advisable...coz lidat de abalone may fly out...drop on floor no nid 2 eat leow...unless u dun mind bring go toilet n wash...:biggrin:

now u noe dat dat may happen, wat u nid 2 do is 2 take precautionary measure ... :cool:

b4 u squiz it, put it close 2 ur mouth ... if it fly out, open ur mouth so dat it can land insiden u can yummy! ... :eek:

Microsoft

now u noe dat dat may happen, wat u nid 2 do is 2 take precautionary measure ... :cool:

b4 u squiz it, put it close 2 ur mouth ... if it fly out, open ur mouth so dat it can land insiden u can yummy! ... :eek:

Not adviseable oso leh...fly inside mouth ok...fly inside throat wait kena choke...summore koot jit sia thun loh ki...din bite cant taste anyting leh...:biggrin::biggrin:

Kohliantye

Had posted the story in other forums and write to the hotel management. Let's chip in to help the couple. Such bullying tactics by the elites must not be tolerated.

In the Law of Torts, this is known as a "duty of care". That duty of care has to be provided to the newly-wedded couple by the restaurant concerned. As an extension, the hotel management has also erred.
The couple should approach someone from the legal fraternity who will give them much needed advice. Lawyers like Subhash Anandan, Ravi and many others will provide the couple with "free" legal advice.

In the Law of Torts, this is known as a "duty of care". That duty of care has to be provided to the newly-wedded couple by the restaurant concerned. As an extension, the hotel management has also erred.
The couple should approach someone from the legal fraternity who will give them much needed advice. Lawyers like Subhash Anandan, Ravi and many others will provide the couple with "free" legal advice.

They didn't pay, it is a breach of contract! hmmmm so, who do we call?? an Ombudsman.:biggrin: The wedding couple, pay first, collect evidence & witness plus medical reports if possible, tackle the resturant with "duty of care" and at the same time report them to C A S E, N E A, etc..

Call our mata...useless! only if the opposition is hosting the party there & don't pay..ahh! that's a different scenario!:biggrin:

Never pay first until an agreement or understanding is reached. There is a rationale for not paying in full in the first place. You are not breaching any law or contractual requirement if you do not pay until the matter has been resolved. Once you pay in full in a dispute, it an agreement that all conditions and terms are fulfilled to the customers satisfaction and there is not motivation for the hotel to engage in any talks to resolve the matter. You however can pay a portion but if it involves embarrassment where the possible compensation can run over the total sum, best not to pay.There was an incident in Raffles Hotel where the hotel wanted to settle by providing a full dinner at their expense as they did not want the guest to have it in their head that the food is forever bad.
They didn't pay, it is a breach of contract! hmmmm so, who do we call?? an Ombudsman.:biggrin: The wedding couple, pay first, collect evidence & witness plus medical reports if possible, tackle the resturant with "duty of care" and at the same time report them to C A S E, N E A, etc..Call our mata...useless! only if the opposition is hosting the party there & don't pay..ahh! that's a different scenario!:biggrin:

cheowyonglee

Yeah, this appears to be a contractual dispute, a civil case. This is Something that should be taken care of in a small claims court & not police. Always thought that police was suppose to handle more serious cases like rioting. However a few years ago, someone who was hurt in a gang fight was told it was a civil case:eek: Obviously our police force has become a tai chi force that only aswers to the PAP:rolleyes:

haaaa...must be lar.

6451835249_b294cd7ff7_o.png

I didn't have any trouble with the food on my wedding nite because my brother inlaw the the chief chef of that restaurant :smile: Only prob it was not a 5star rest like nowadays but 1 of those family rest way back in the 70s with a stage and live performance singers from malaysia and taiwan :smile: Got sharkfin, suckling pig and yam ring and 1 table cost me just over $200 back then during the late 70s

I doubt there are any many 5 star restaurants in Spore as determined by the Michelin Guide. 5 star hotels are common in Spore but it's not the same as being a 5 star restaurant.
I've was curious how the stars are given & looked it up & found the following http://www.superpages.com/supertips/what-is-the-star-rating-for-hotels.html

5-Star Rating: A luxurious hotel, offering the highest degree of personal service. Elegance and style abound, and rooms are equipped with quality linens, VCR, CD stereo, jacuzzi tub and in-room video. There are multiple restaurants on site with extensive, gourmet menus, and room-service is also available 24-7. A fitness center, valet parking and concierge service round out the experience.

4-Star Rating: Formal, large hotels, with top-notch service. There will usually be other hotels of the same caliber clustered nearby, as well as shopping, dining and entertainment. Above-average service, beautifully furnished rooms, restaurants, room service, valet parking, fitness center and a concierge are some amenities to expect.

3-Star Rating: Usually located near a major expressway, business center and/or shopping area, these hotels offer nice, spacious rooms and decorative lobbies. On-site restaurants may be average in size but will offer breakfast, lunch and dinner. Valet and room service, a small fitness center and a pool are often available.

2-Star Rating: These hotels are generally part of a chain that offers consistent quality and limited amenities. They are small or medium in size and rooms will have a phone and TV. While you will not have the convenience of room service, there should be a small restaurant on site.

1-Star Rating: Expect a small hotel managed and operated by the owner. The atmosphere will be more personal and the accommodations basic. Restaurant service should be within walking distance, as well as nearby public transportation, major intersections and entertainment that is reasonable in price.

Windsor

Never pay first until an agreement or understanding is reached. There is a rationale for not paying in full in the first place. You are not breaching any law or contractual requirement if you do not pay until the matter has been resolved. Once you pay in full in a dispute, it an agreement that all conditions and terms are fulfilled to the customers satisfaction and there is not motivation for the hotel to engage in any talks to resolve the matter. You however can pay a portion but if it involves embarrassment where the possible compensation can run over the total sum, best not to pay.There was an incident in Raffles Hotel where the hotel wanted to settle by providing a full dinner at their expense as they did not want the guest to have it in their head that the food is forever bad.

Agree that since it is a contractual agreement, couple should not have paid. Now they are in a weaker position when it comes to making claims. This applies to all contractual agreements.

As an example, imagine having your home renovated and the contractor screwed up and roof is leaking and the tiles keeps popping up. Would you pay up or go through the legal process to fight your case?

cheowyonglee

Last month I attended a friend's wedding in a RWS restaurant. It was a wedding lunch, not dinner. The food was also bad. Every friend and relative were grumping making the new couple very embarrassed. If I ever get married, I won't want a wedding lunch or dinner. I think book a honeymoon tour package is enough.

Wait till you have a boyfriend first then talk about marriage ok!!!

images

cheowyonglee

Not paying is not against the law if food, drink or service isn't delivered as promised. It's just a civil dispurte as to who's more reasonable and on more reasonable grounds. That's why the age-old tradition, whether western or eastern, eat and drink first, pay later.

Nah bei!!! The couple must be very lucky if the police called in by the hotel were all like you!!!

Fook Seng

johnny333 said:
I doubt there are any many 5 star restaurants in Spore as determined by the Michelin Guide. 5 star hotels are common in Spore but it's not the same as being a 5 star restaurant.

I don't think Singapore hotels follow the star rating system.

Unrepented

Within big countries, same numbers of stars but different standard. Varies between countries also.

I don't think Singapore hotels follow the star rating system.

During my younger days, was the buddy of few friends during the wedding. Main job is to assist the bride and groom entertain the guests and also to be the kamikaze team of drinking buddies to absorb the drinks offered to the groom/bride. Many times, things can turn ugly especially after a many drinks. I don't think the hotel is that stupid to call the police just for 8000 dollars. Most likely, some of the guest got really drunk and become violent.

Think about it. It will cost the hotel more for the bad publicity. Who will want to hold their wedding dinner there?