• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Bargain Hen: $26k for Engrish lessons for PLA office is chicken feed & a bargain

LITTLEREDDOT

Re: Real reason Mindef awarded English course to a $1 paid-up company run by Ah Tiong

c.o.r.r.u.p.t.i.o.n.

SgGoneWrong

Re: Real reason Mindef awarded English course to a $1 paid-up company run by Ah Tiong

Wait a minute, sun liqin has Chinese and Singapore citizenships???

steffychun

Next time the same amount of money will be used to teach them commands like behanti, sedia, etc

They have a straight face, while they lie....the money, most likely some form of commission, to "dress" up like, teaching English...Don't they have English Language teachers in CHINA? have we not watch CCTV news in English? & after all, the English & Europeans have been in Cathay for centuries... they need to be taught English in Singapore??? what will they learn..." wah lau...you so big one, there lah!"...??

What a joke....SINgaporeans are so easily hoodwinked...!!

bigboss

Re: MINDEF found doing business with a $1 firm

An extreme absurdity of the papees to have paid this kind of tuition fee for the PRC officer to learn English at the expense of sinkie tax payers.

Sinkies worked hard to pay taxes and the papees just threw the taxed money away like feeds to chickens. Shouldn't the paps have told the PRC to send English speaking officers?

If the PRC now wanted to send whole platoon of their non-English speaking officers to sinkie land for courses, would paps pay for the tuition fees for each and every one of PRC officers?

Surely no other other country in the world would do what the paps had done. It is extremely embarrassing to be seen as being absurd and stupid.

Singaporeans, this is a more pressing issue!

Not the Jover case, not the Yang Yin case, not the HHH case

This case stinks to the highest heavens!

we deserve accountability! Not some lesson on bilateral military exchanges!

Re: Company that won $25k mindef contract to teach prc officer english is a $1 compan

You see, some of the education vendors may be cronies. Connected here, connected there, recommended by friend etc.

This happens all the time in MOE, not a big surprise.

After what happened with AIM and the Brompton bike incidents, no one should be surprised. Singapore is a very corrupted country.

For Singapore it's worse. Because they're so convinced that Singapore is corruption-free, they won't do anything about it. Self-righteousness.

No sir, there is no corruption in singapore! How dare you make such a baseless accusation!

The tender was awarded to the vendor that best met the govt requirement, see? Not just the lowest, the second lowest or the third lowest. Everything in black and white according to the handbook which you are not allowed to see.

Per hour rate is also very reasonable, nevermind how we will keep record on where and when the lessons will be delivered, or if they were delivered at all.

We have always done things this way. Don't try to be smart like you know better huh.

Re: Company that won $25k mindef contract to teach prc officer english is a $1 compan

This bloody "Hen" deserves to be slaughtered and made into Hainanese chicken rice. Why can't the Chink government pay for it instead?

Coming back to basics, why did they not send someone who's already competent in the language before being selected?
There is obviously another agenda.

Stompiss

$25,900 is WHOSE MONEY?

Oh my, the chicken shit that is coming out from Bargain Hen's mouth...

A boy went to a computer store with his mother to buy a game console. The mother said, “Go look around and pick the least expensive one that you like.” The boy picked the most expensive one available. His explanation? “But mum, this is the least expensive one that I REALLY like!”

Earlier, it was revealed that MINDEF tendered for a language course for a PLA officer and chose not the cheapest offer. MINDEF eventually awarded the tender to Language Works Pte Ltd for $25,900.

Nevertheless, Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen told Parliament, “The contract was awarded to the lowest offer that met the requirements” (‘MINDEF spends $26K for 1 PLA officer to learn English‘).

So, why bother with a tender when it can always be said that nothing else “meets the requirements”?

The PLA officer who came to Singapore on a MINDEF exchange programme supposedly had a poor knowledge of the English language. However, it is a known fact that many PRC Chinese have taken the trouble to study English, an almost universal language on this planet.

In fact, in China, it is a graduation requirement for undergraduates in Chinese universities to pass ‘Band 4′ of the national College English Test (CET-4). This is to ensure that Chinese graduates reach the required English levels specified in the National College English Teaching Syllabuses (NCETS) of China [Link].

So, it is a mystery why this PLA officer required special one-to-one English tuition in the first place. Indeed, many sharp netizens are asking the same question: (more chicken shit here)....

http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/11/07/mindef-spends-26k-for-1-pla-officer-to-learn-english/

steffychun

Next time they will spend money to teach them Bahasa Melayu, Tamil and Singlish.

Hopefully, they will be able to locate more $1-00 companies to conduct these - then it will really be a another bargain!!!!
Bargain Hen is truly unique.

dr.wailing

Wait a minute, sun liqin has Chinese and Singapore citizenships???

You sounded surprise, izzit?

There's so many well-connected Ah Tiongs who have Sinkie citizenship too.

Zhao Benshan, currently one of China's most popular comedians, is a Sinkie too.

dr.wailing

Re: Oh my, the chicken shit that is coming out from Bargain Hen's mouth...

So, it is a mystery why this PLA officer required special one-to-one English tuition in the first place. Indeed, many sharp netizens are asking the same question: (more chicken shit here)....

See my post #40 at http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?...-for-PLA-office-is-chicken-feed-amp-a-bargain

Let me tell you what the little bird from the West told me many moons ago:

When Capitaland and Capital Malls plan to build shopping malls, office buildings and what-not in Ah Tiong land, they'll always need to reserve some completed units to be GIFTED to the party boss and some higher-ups. This is the norm in Ah Tiong land.

When the prices of these gifted units rise, these corrupt officials will sell them off, thus earning for themselves millions of USD. Year after year, if they continue with this practice, they will be billionaires in a decade's time.

Ah Tiong land has the second highest number of ultra-billionaires in the world. These have very extensive guanxi ("connections") with the government, princelings, the military and the domestic security apparatus.

sorry double post

danielsim

Look at all the dubious decisions they have made... And the explanation given by them absolutely makes no sense

spotter542

$25,900 is WHOSE MONEY?

Confirmed not Knuckleduster Harry , Penang Cow , Shorty Mah , Guniang Pinky or Bitch Vivian's money :rolleyes:

Twit! Mindef money la.

With an annual kitty of SGD$13 billion , SGD$25,900 is just loose change.
Anyways , just hike ERP rates , COEs , road tax .....

No lah...not like dat.

Bargain Hen thinks Sinkies are very stoopig, you know.....

He will be shocked, at the appropriate time.
Sinkies acting blur, he thinks they are really blur.
To this Bargain Hen, everything is a bargain.