• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Anyone feel guilty eating this?

There will be many more things one can put on the table if one doesn't consume shark's fins soup. Stupidly expensive dish.

You are right, I guess if replacing sharks fins with fish maw it will take great too.

Agoraphobic

You are right, I guess if replacing sharks fins with fish maw it will take great too.

At a Chinese restaurant, the first thing that comes to my mind will be Peking Duck!!!

For soups, I'm not big on them, but someone else will likely make a good choice!

d56260f2.jpg

I actually feel bad now after eating this pot of sizzling hot shark fin soup at Scala restaurant in Chinatown this afternoon. Reason is its like I'm contributing to the inhumane slaughtering of sharks. But I have to confess I don't feel bad while eating. Does anyone of you feel bad while or after eating sharks fin soup?

Nope, I feel extremely happy eating the sharks fin, tasty and delicious...I WANT TO eat more,,,

Maybe I don't have a conscience. I don't feel guilty at all. I enjoy it best at Thai Village.

Bro Unrepented said someone will commercialise it when it tilts towards extinction. I agree.

kukubird58

Bro Unrepented said someone will commercialise it when it tilts towards extinction. I agree.
hahaha....GD, if by commercialising you mean raising them in farms.....then I have to tell you this not possible.
maybe you can contact your brother, Sea Dragon king and see if he can help.

Unrepented

Why not? We are keep sharks for display in aquariums. So technically can be done, just to find a productive and cost efficient method only mah.

Like to hear why cannot.

hahaha....GD, if by commercialising you mean raising them in farms.....then I have to tell you this not possible.
maybe you can contact your brother, Sea Dragon king and see if he can help.

Bike_Tyson

Please lah, you really buy into this rubbish "extinction" or "cruelty" theory??? How about Foire Gras for you? Western food, no regrets, eh?

Have you even seen a real, live shark swimming in the open sea (not aquarium)? How often? So, how could you possibly "missed" them if they are really extinct? And, don't you like to surf, swim and play in shark-free waters?

Go swim in shark-infested waters, get out alive, come back here, then proclaim you support the ban of sharksfin soup. Substitute with turtle soup?

kukubird58

Why not? We are keep sharks for display in aquariums. So technically can be done, just to find a productive and cost efficient method only mah.

Like to hear why cannot.
hahaha....i dunno what to say...i thought it was pretty obvious.
keeping a few sharks for display and farming sharks are 2 different matters.....some of the factors against viable commercial farmings are:
1. most sharks need a big expanse to roam because they have to be constantly on the move to prevent sinking and drowning
2. sharks produce very small number of live youngs per reproductive cycle
3. sharks mature slowly
anyway....i am no shark expert and had suggested that GD consult his brother the Sea Dragon King.

Please lah, you really buy into this rubbish "extinction" or "cruelty" theory??? How about Foire Gras for you? Western food, no regrets, eh?

Bike, I also love to eat foire gras, I know very good place for this in Bangkok. But then you are right when they force feed the goose its quite cruel.

This type so solid sharkfin if I see and dont eat then I feel guilty LOL

You are right Hedge about this pot of sharks fin. At Scala this one is 2000baht per pot (for 1 person) the fins are all in solid pieces not broken up. Put tao-gay inside is very shiok. So when I was eating I cannot think of anything but just eat. But after I ate and I driving I felt bad.

Thick Face Black Heart

I actually feel bad now after eating this pot of sizzling hot shark fin soup at Scala restaurant in Chinatown this afternoon. Reason is its like I'm contributing to the inhumane slaughtering of sharks. But I have to confess I don't feel bad while eating. Does anyone of you feel bad while or after eating sharks fin soup?

Joe,

I am against inhumane slaughtering of animals for food. However, sad to to say, this is not limited to sharks. Govts all around the world are guilty of turning a blind eye to sloppy and substandard pratices by butcher houses.

I will continue to eat sharks and meat in general, but hope people will step up to force govts to enforce international norms of slaughtering animals more effectively.

but hope people will step up to force govts to enforce international norms of slaughtering animals more effectively.

hmmmm very good point TFBH, unfortunately most of us are not aware of what's going on in the slaughterhouse. Is there anyway to find out more?

I heard a BBC report I think just last month that there were some MPs I think who opposed halal food being served in a government building kitchen because they opposed the way animals is being killed the Islamic way which they found it cruel.

fyi i hear that sharks have lots of ammonia on them and you need to do something to them before you can cook them.

I think there is a stall in Tiong Bahru market hawker centre serving Lor Mee with shark meat. I used to buy shark meat to catch crabs at Pasir Panjang.

hmmmm very good point TFBH, unfortunately most of us are not aware of what's going on in the slaughterhouse. Is there anyway to find out more?

I heard a BBC report I think just last month that there were some MPs I think who opposed halal food being served in a government building kitchen because they opposed the way animals is being killed the Islamic way which they found it cruel.

halal way of killing is quite cruel but hey since it's THAT religion it somehow has to be accepted.

Maybe I don't have a conscience. I don't feel guilty at all. I enjoy it best at Thai Village.

Bro, if shark can be captive breed I believe a lot of business minded man will do that .

If ppl want to breed these fish in the future they have to artically inseminate female sharks ( because some shark give live birth ) .. It's is impossible hard to inseminate a shark . And sharks can grow very big in a short time .. And when great white reach adulthood they will also eat other sharks ..