• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

LKY blamed floods in SG on God

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - LKY blamed floods in SG on God</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>Guestman551 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>6:41 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 22) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>36444.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>MM Lee says no amount of engineering can prevent flooding

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=260 align=right><TBODY><TR><TD width=20 align=right> </TD><TD width=240 align=right>
phpyYIJQg.jpg
</TD></TR><TR><TD height=60 vAlign=top> </TD><TD class=update height=80 vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=138>Photos </TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=47>1 of 1</TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=18></TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=19></TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=18></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
dotline_240.gif

Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD class=update> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Mafia Mentor Lee Kuan Yew has said no amount of engineering can prevent flooding.

Speaking to the media after touring the waterfront development at the Kallang and Kolam Ayer areas, Mr Lee emphasised there is a limited amount of space in Singapore that developers can take underground. There is also a limited amount of space for canals.

So if Singapore has extraordinary rainfall, the country has to prepare for it.

Mr Lee noted that Singapore and Singaporeans expect everything to be perfect, which he said the nation's leaders try to do.

But he added that there are some things which are beyond human control as they are acts of God - unless Singaporeans want to have half the country developed with roads, and the rest with canals.

Mr Lee was accompanied by the Environment and Water Resources Minister Yaacob Ibrahim and grassroots leaders.

Earlier in the evening, they visited the Kolam Ayer Active, Beautiful and Clean or ABC Waterfront and The River Vista at Kallang where he was given an update on the developments in the area.

The Active, Beautiful, Clean Waters (ABC Waters) programme is a long-term initiative which transforms Singapore's reservoirs and waterways into vibrant, aesthetically-pleasing rivers and lakes.

Opened to the public in April 2008, the Kolam Ayer ABC Waterfront is the pilot project for this programme.

The demonstration project featured a makeover of a 250-metre stretch of the Kallang River, bringing waterfront living to the doorstep of HDB heartlanders.

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

HTOLAS

If it floods after five hours of heavy rain, it's an act of God. If it happens after 30 minutes, it's an act of man. One man.

Devil Within

Thought they praised themselves previously that they made Singapore flood free? Why did they now make a U-turn? Didn't we pay them millions to do the job?

>But he added that there are some things which are beyond human control as they are acts of God - unless Singaporeans want to have half the country developed with roads, and the rest with canals.

But...but...I thought he is some sort of god, in which his minons, whorship the ground in which he walk??:wink:

Granted, no amount of engineering can control the elements, but we are paying very much to the MIW's, and we expect stellar performance; but severity & occurance of floods is just not acceptable. It is obvious that, there is something is wrong with the ENGINEERING!!

All else fail..don't blame my abang or PUB....they are beyond thir control...blame God..sure!..we all know...

We still have not got to the root of problems yet....we just drag God into the picture...why else could it be? acts of God...

:o

Now add the latest, taichi word to the ever growing list...."caught off guard", "microburst", "acts of God"....what's next?....

borom

...... there is a limited amount of space in Singapore that developers can take underground. There is also a limited amount of space for canals........

But unlimited capacity for FT's from PRC, India, Philippines,Myanmar ect2.

Singapore has long been flooded by FT's but they have simply brushed aside the concerns of locals to fulfill their own agenda.

One reason why they need so much water storage capacity is because they want to rapidly increase the population to 6.5 million.

Retribution indeed.

But he added that there are some things which are beyond human control as they are acts of God - unless Singaporeans want to have half the country developed with roads, and the rest with canals.

=> Why is it not possible? Cos short of land to accomodate another 100k FTrash??? Why then is it OK for Peesai to have the highest density of golf courses in the world leh?

God created floods. The PAP made them 10 times worse than they were before.:rolleyes:

just like those singaporean who cannot find jobs, it must be god will too. and not the under the table money associated with hiring foreigners.

gohsanho

We have to set aside land for 1/3 of extra population the ft so now short of land to keep us dry. Are we sacrificing too much for ft?

pc2009

???? half the land roads n half canals? who is asking for this extreme ? Can't we expect something better from the million-dollars ministers ? Or is this all they can think of ??

If they can't improve the flood problem, just maintain it ! But don't make new areas flood. Are we asking for perfection ?

Who is driving the people n nation for perfection ? who always claim they are number 1 in this and that ?

We have to set aside land for 1/3 of extra population the ft so now short of land to keep us dry. Are we sacrificing too much for ft?

You should learn to use the special character set on your computer.
⅞, ½, ⅔, ⅓ etc

It'll give your messages that professional touch.