• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SDP Teo soh lung: I am disappointed with the opposition parties in singapore

Dear Soh Lung:

I normally refrain from any comments regarding politics, but I will answer your question. It is pretty obvious there is little to protest in Singapore. The nation has working laws, civil institutions, and a somewhat vibrant economy. That's what most people want and can live with it. A few complains here and there, but that's normal, everywhere. Basically, there are regular general elections in Singapore every four or five years, and the people get to choose the leadership to represent them. And whether we agree or not, we all go by the choice of the majority. And they make the law. If one doesn't like it, can always vote again when the chance comes around. I myself am not exactly happy with many of the laws/policies here in Singapore, but will not oppose since they are accepted by the majority of the public. As for the opposition being "inactive," you bet they are. And that's why they don't get much support, they only get the votes from those unhappy with the ruling party. As for the ruling party, they have a somewhat easy job as the region is peaceful, prosperous, and quite settled down without any extreme radicals stirring up shit. So the ruling party gets all the credit for Singapore's progress, which your official newspaper eagerly bestows on them. Meanwhile, the public here are happy as long as they have their char kwey teow and laksa and couldn't give a shit about global warming, ebola, endangered species, or any atrocities elsewhere in the world. Life is happy in Singapore.

That's a superficial perception of life here and it does not address Teo's call for the Opposition to step up.

In your country, the Opposition is always ready to pounce on the government. That's why the government doesn't usally go overboard with their policies or abuse although Stephen Harper behaves more like LKY than the typical Canadian PM.

The WP has been silent when the PAP is attacking the basic rights of the people, even though they are activists.

Life is sinkapore is not that hunky dory ...when takehome median pay is $1700 in one of the most expensive city in the world, the complaints are confined to a minority.

The government has goofed up so frequently that there is so much ammo for the Opposition to humtum the government. That the WP is not doing so, even though it has a forum in Parliament, shows their stupidity. It is time for them to go on the offensive and gradually build up the momentum for election. Minds can't be changed in 8 days. The WP needs to sow the seeds of discontent right now and water them frequently. Come election time, they will be ripe for harvest.

SgParent

The WP has been silent when the PAP is attacking the basic rights of the people, even though they are activists
waah so noble.

you and those who now started to question if oppo parties/individuals deserved your votes, in the past decades, generations of oppo cause, where were you when those who tried to voice out against the white scums were sued till pants drop?

now you got the cheek to ask the remaining few credible oppo parties/individuals to continue to stick their neck out?

this time can they finally trust you to give your vote and support?

SgGoneWrong

waah so noble.

you and those who now started to question if oppo parties/individuals deserved your votes, in the past decades, generations of oppo cause, where were you when those who tried to voice out against the white scums were sued till pants drop?

now you got the cheek to ask the remaining few credible oppo parties/individuals to continue to stick their neck out?

this time can they finally trust you to give your vote and support?

Even very strong supporter of WP like winnipegjets (I questioned on WP long time ago and he always stood up for them) is getting impatient with WP. That shows a lot.
SgParent, if WP doesn't speak up for sinkies now, when do you expect them too? When your child reaches 30 yrs old? What will become of sg then?

She is right. I have always maintained that the Wayang PArty aka Workers Party is fake oppo. What is dissappointing is that the other parties many led by lawyers, would not lend a hand to Roy or HHH either. If I were them, I would actively recruit these popular bloggers to run for them in single constituencies in the next GE. I for one would vote for Roy over any PAP shit they want to field.

too bad I not billionaire lah.........otherwise I set up party recruit all these protestors.........i'll call my party......

Protestors' Action Party............my symbol is a dark cloud inside a square

rushifa666

I didn't even know who is teo until he highlighted his own hypocrisy. What did he do for us? What does he intend to do? Nothing

tanwahp

Few points here:

1. When TSL said "opposition parties" she didn't distinguish between SDP and WP, or SDP and the rest, unlike what many here have miscomprehended.

2. No where else did she give SDP or CSJ any credit even when there was an opportunity to do so, such as mentions of only JBJ and no one else.

3. Her message clearly states support for the individuals and not the causes, as she had named these individuals.

4. If WP's speaking up isn't really speaking up if it's mild, CSJ's speaking up for RN goes by the same definition, as it is mild and added an unnecessary point about calling on RN to apologize without pointing where RN had done wrong.

5. SDP did not support all causes. Vincent Wijeysingha wearing an SDP hat then had called Gilbert Goh's causes "xenophobic". The only opposition leader that turned up for Pinkdot was RP's Kenneth Jeyaretnam.

6. The final point has to do with TSL herself. When SDP did support certain causes and was the only party other than NSP to show up at HLP, TSL was not among the SDP delegates.

That's a superficial perception of life here and it does not address Teo's call for the Opposition to step up.

In your country, the Opposition is always ready to pounce on the government. That's why the government doesn't usally go overboard with their policies or abuse although Stephen Harper behaves more like LKY than the typical Canadian PM.

The WP has been silent when the PAP is attacking the basic rights of the people, even though they are activists.

Life is sinkapore is not that hunky dory ...when takehome median pay is $1700 in one of the most expensive city in the world, the complaints are confined to a minority.

The government has goofed up so frequently that there is so much ammo for the Opposition to humtum the government. That the WP is not doing so, even though it has a forum in Parliament, shows their stupidity. It is time for them to go on the offensive and gradually build up the momentum for election. Minds can't be changed in 8 days. The WP needs to sow the seeds of discontent right now and water them frequently. Come election time, they will be ripe for harvest.

I agree that WP being in parliament should speak up more. I might have missed but they have been pretty quiet since 2011. To me any opposition is good and I voted for WP and hope they can help to address people issues and question PAP policies more.

Good. Now is the time to raise the awareness of those around you – friends, relatives, colleagues – that voting opposition is in their best interest. When a critical mass of citizens have raised their consciousness, we'll see a significant impact at the ballot box. Then toppling the regime by non-violent electoral means becomes feasible.

Activists play an important role in raising the awareness of key issues affecting the people, so they know whether the govt is doing its job and how they should vote at the next election.

In the past when I did that, people will jump to PAP defence but I noticed this has changed in recent years. I think things have deteriorated so much that only those selfish people, traitors and foreigners are still supporting PAP wholeheartedly.

methink

I didn't even know who is teo until he highlighted his own hypocrisy. What did he do for us? What does he intend to do? Nothing

Teo Soh Lung isn't a "he". This show how led and fed you are as a doggie. Told to jump, you jump. Told to write something about teo, you anyhow question and dunno "he" is a SHE!

SgParent

Even very strong supporter of WP like winnipegjets (I questioned on WP long time ago and he always stood up for them) is getting impatient with WP. That shows a lot.
SgParent, if WP doesn't speak up for sinkies now, when do you expect them too? When your child reaches 30 yrs old? What will become of sg then?
many people like you seem to prefer the jbj style.

jbj thought "speaking up" for you people is more important

but if i recall well enough, even as quick witted, sharp tongue as him, jbj was easily shouted down, ridiculed, run-around, cornered, challenged, taunted. at the end jbj was removed easily.

fast forward to today. having seen jbj fell needlessly ah low chose the localized strategy. he focused on winning hearts by looking after those that voted for wp instead of gunning for meaningless praise from breathtaking performance in parliament.

now comparing jbj style and ah low strategy. who has delivered more?

SgParent

Teo Soh Lung isn't a "he". This show how led and fed you are as a doggie. Told to jump, you jump. Told to write something about teo, you anyhow question and dunno "he" is a SHE!
assuming rushisa666 is not being sarcastic, i would not blame him. i blame teo sl for being extremely one track minded.

teo sl is better known to specific activist circles and esp among their honglim park goers.

she would do well contesting for positions in those activist group. but to win parliamentary election to speak up for people on the streets, she'll need more than good luck. maybe getting all her activists friends to shift house to the same ward will help.

SgParent

To me any opposition is good
thumbs up.

nothing beats having real competition that always, always benefits the consumers.

in this sense, with enough competition to their more good year of swiss standard of living, the white scums will finally learn to behave properly and wp will learn to step up.

soIsee

What oppo ready to prounce on PAP?

When this CPF issue was being brought up, not only did the WP remain silent the rest of the not elected oppo also remain so.

Sinkie better throw their coming votes away then to ever elect this sort of oppo.

With ppl like you with this sort of view about Sinkie political scene no wonder they deserved what they are getting now from the PAP.

Cosmos10

When this CPF issue was being brought up, not only did the WP remain silent the rest of the not elected oppo also remain so.

Sinkie better throw their coming votes away then to ever elect this sort of oppo.

With ppl like you with this sort of view about Sinkie political scene no wonder they deserved what they are getting now from the PAP.

Hi bro. soIsee, I do not know enough about the WP and the rest of the oppo parties to speak for them.

I hope you do not mind if I correct what you wrote by saying that the SDP has certainly spoken several times about the CPF issue as shown below: :smile:

http://yoursdp.org/news/this_is_how_our_cpf_and_gic_should_be_managed/2014-07-30-5860

This is how our CPF and GIC should be managed

Added on: Wednesday 30 July 2014

by the Singapore Democrats

There has been much debate in recent weeks over the CPF scheme and how our savings are being managed by the Government. Unfortunately. the recent accounts given by DPM Tharman Shanmugaratnam has raised more questions than answers.

Such a confusion has raised the ire of many Singaporeans, and rightly so. The stewards of public funds must be transparent and consistent in their dealings.

The suspicions of the people over our hard-earned CPF savings would have arisen if the PAP had not reneged on its promises and, worse, kept Singaporeans guessing on how these funds are being managed.

Such an approach needs to be corrected which is not a difficult thing to do. What we need is for the GIC to be fully accountable to the people and for the Government to keep its promises.

In our forthcoming economic policy paper, the SDP proposes the following:

1. Abolish the Minimum Sum Scheme (MSS) and return retirees their CPF savings.

The reason given by the PAP that retirees will squander their CPF cash and therefore the need for the MSS is a non-starter. If the Government is concerned with retirees blowing their savings, why did it establish casinos to further tempt them?

It argues that those who gamble away their fortunes at casinos are a minority. Precisely. If those who are not minded to spend their money prudently, why should the majority who do be penalised by having their savings withheld? Do we ban driving because a minority drink and drive or outlaw football because a few hooligans cause trouble at matches?

2. De-couple housing and healthcare from CPF.

The major reason why Singaporeans are left with insufficient retirement funds is because the PAP gives Singaporeans no choice but to use what is their retirement money to pay for their HDB flats and hospital expenses.

The SDP plan ensures that HDB flats are sold without the inclusion of land cost (see here) and that the Government stops profiting from healthcare (see here) In this way, our CPF savings are left unmolested for retirement.

3. Require the GIC to submit annual reports to Parliament.

All the confusion and allegations stem from the fact that the public is not given full accounting of GIC's transactions. The veil must be lifted by requiring the body to open its books - including all investment activity as well as extracts of the GIC’s financial accounts - for scrutiny and questioning by Parliament.

4. Hold the GIC publicly accountable for its actions.

The Corporation shall give an account of its funds, management costs, investment strategies (including strategies on socially responsible investments), a projection of value creation and risk management of these strategies. These can then be tracked and its managers held accountable for their decisions.

5. Ban ministers/former ministers from GIC leadership.

The current practice of having ministers helm the GIC is undesirable and must be discontinued. Instead, the management team of the GIC should be appointed to limited terms by the President subject to a public confirmation process conducted by Parliament.

The SDP in Parliament will push for the above measures to be enacted.

many people like you seem to prefer the jbj style.

jbj thought "speaking up" for you people is more important

but if i recall well enough, even as quick witted, sharp tongue as him, jbj was easily shouted down, ridiculed, run-around, cornered, challenged, taunted. at the end jbj was removed easily.

fast forward to today. having seen jbj fell needlessly ah low chose the localized strategy. he focused on winning hearts by looking after those that voted for wp instead of gunning for meaningless praise from breathtaking performance in parliament.

now comparing jbj style and ah low strategy. who has delivered more?

U cannot compare then and now, its like apples and oranges. JBJ was in an era with no social networking, no internet, no forums like this, etc. His message was limited by what the Shit Times and local media allowed to be published, and was biased reporting from all lawsuits he faced. U can get his message if you get Worker's Party newspaper. But now with the internet, if he was alive today, he would be much more noticeable and formidable. he would have been the leader of the opposition. He would have run rings around the PAP.

She is right. I have always maintained that the Wayang PArty aka Workers Party is fake oppo. What is dissappointing is that the other parties many led by lawyers, would not lend a hand to Roy or HHH either. If I were them, I would actively recruit these popular bloggers to run for them in single constituencies in the next GE. I for one would vote for Roy over any PAP shit they want to field.

You are the fool. Workers Party is indeed a good Opposition. They do not whack PAP for the sake of whacking. They praise the PAP when PAP do the correct thing and whack PAP when PAP is wrong.

Mark my words, WP will get more votes and seats in the next GE.

SDP and RP will get nothing from voters!

Tonychat shut the fuck up. We are talking about Singapore politics.

Go back home to suck UMNO's dick.

Clone

You are the fool. Workers Party is indeed a good Opposition. They do not whack PAP for the sake of whacking. They praise the PAP when PAP do the correct thing and whack PAP when PAP is wrong.

Mark my words, WP will get more votes and seats in the next GE.

SDP and RP will get nothing from voters!

bro how many more seats can they win in 2016 and next in 2021? :confused:

SgParent

U cannot compare then and now, its like apples and oranges. JBJ was in an era with no social networking, no internet, no forums like this, etc. His message was limited by what the Shit Times and local media allowed to be published, and was biased reporting from all lawsuits he faced. U can get his message if you get Worker's Party newspaper. But now with the internet, if he was alive today, he would be much more noticeable and formidable. he would have been the leader of the opposition. He would have run rings around the PAP.
you are welcome to guess what could have been if jbj is alive.

i too think he should be able to achieve more. how much more? your guess is as good as any1.

coming back to reality.

among so many living oppo like kj, csj, etc, etc, and teo sl herself who are certainly still alive. is at least 1 of them reasonably quick witted, sharp tongued like jbj?

with the availability of your silver bullet called social networking, internet, forum, which of the many living oppo like kj, csj, etc, etc and teo sl herself have gotten their message across, became noticeable and formidable, became oppo leader, ran rings around white scums?

what is so difficult to accept that among the many living oppo, ah low and wp have been the 1 with the vision, patient, hardwork, strategy to kick out white scum after white scum?

what is so difficult to accept that maybe your silver bullet called social networking, internet, forum is not as good as dirtying your shoes walking the pavement, dirtying your hands knocking on doors?

coming back to reality.

among so many living oppo like kj, csj, etc, etc, and teo sl herself who are certainly still alive. is at least 1 of them reasonably quick witted, sharp tongued like jbj?

with the availability of your silver bullet called social networking, internet, forum, which of the many living oppo like kj, csj, etc, etc and teo sl herself have gotten their message across, became noticeable and formidable, became oppo leader, ran rings around white scums?

what is so difficult to accept that among the many living oppo, ah low and wp have been the 1 with the vision, patient, hardwork, strategy to kick out white scum after white scum?

what is so difficult to accept that maybe your silver bullet called social networking, internet, forum is not as good as dirtying your shoes walking the pavement, dirtying your hands knocking on doors?

U are delusional if you think that Low and the WP are the one with vision, etc. Those fucks have voted with the PAP on every single bill in Parliament save one, the population white paper for 6.9 million. What kind of opposition is that? A fake one. They should have voted against the PAP on everything even if they know they will not win. They can start with the budget. Why even vote for a PAP budget that pays their ministers million $ salaries?

As for a JBJ replacement, look no further than Roy. He is not an official member of the opposition but he certainly is not afraid of the PAP and stands against them on many of the same issues that JBJ did (eg CPF) and does so without the benefit of a full party apparatus that BJ had. Roy is exactly using the social media in the way that its meant to be used, and in the way that the other opposition party like WP have not used. When was the last time that Low and the WP organized a protest at Hong Lim? U telling me things are so rosy that there is nothing to protest? Roy is running rings around the PAP. I don't see the WP doing that.