• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Here"s why DBS service is ROTTON...

blissquek

OK... The figures is out in today ST... 4.3 million customers and only 1300 ATMs

This works out to be 3300 customers to one ATM to service this hugh mass. and given on any
one day there will be many outages at many of the machines due cash being depleted, cash deposit
service unavailable due to the maximum limit being reached
and paper print runs out...so the actual numbers of ATM in service is much lower

So now you see the reasons for the long queque at the ATM...

All this and tks to our PM ..LHL... 6 million population policies we are make to bear
and suffer this consequences.

Also..Has MAS checked if the bank service standards is adequate with this auto-teller..??

Quantity of the ATM machine is enough. Blame those withdraw money using ATM never plan when to use the machine
1. On the end of the month and 1st few day of the month the machine will be most busy. Flooded with customer to withdraw money. So plan to use machine before 28th of every month or after 3rd of the month.
2. Try not to withdraw money during night is also peak because most are of duty/work. Mean will be more people using ATM.
3. Or use the machine after 11pm where most go to sleep.

If you plan properly you need not to Q. I never Q for the machine if there 3 person in front of me in the line.

Really ironical, given that there was a 2 page interview in the newspapers with the CEO recently.

Can never forget his remark from a few years ago "We are flushed with depsoits".
Not surprising if u consider that almost every foreigner and sinkee has a POSB or DBS account.
That's probably still true today, if u look at the deposit rates they offer.
Time deposit rate for 18 months is a miserly 0.1%!

Unless u can't help it, can consider using another bank as your main transaction bank.
Not only the ATM but the counter queues are also damn long.
Even the priority banking treasures queues are sometimes longer than the normal queues of other banks.

Cruxx

Of coz flushed with deposits lah. Dumb Sinkie employers insist that their employees use POSB accounts. The truth is that there is no talent in Sinkieland. Only those who exploit their monopolistic positions can make $ in this cesspit of a cuntry. :smile:

i always wonder why ppl die die must use posb/dbs? ppl have govt job got no choice lah but what about the rest of the population? i always have a laugh at ppl who stand in long quene at posb/dbs atm while i just walk to the uob atm beside the posb atm. why those ppl rather wait 10-15 everytime they want to withdraw?

Nobody needs to use CASH anymore. Anyone who queues for half a century to draw money is a real twit. :rolleyes:

What you mean by "CASH":confused:

Singapore-bank-notes-50-10-5-2-Dollars-SGD-posterised-2-DHD.gif

i always wonder why ppl die die must use posb/dbs? ppl have govt job got no choice lah but what about the rest of the population? i always have a laugh at ppl who stand in long quene at posb/dbs atm while i just walk to the uob atm beside the posb atm. why those ppl rather wait 10-15 everytime they want to withdraw?

It's usually for convenience and familiarity.

Also, I've had my POSB account since I was a kid, long before POSB was acquired by DBS.

Queues are not a problem for me as I do Internet banking.

I used to have an OCBC account (before I closed it in protest of the minimum sum rule), and another dormant UOB account with a little money but which I can't be bothered to close.

I don't see the point of using fancier banks e.g. Citibank, HSBC, Stanchart. The interest rate for savings deposit is crap in any bank.

So going cashless means using check books, queuing for bank drafts, etc izit:confused:

No it means internet banking, Eftpos/smartcard/mobilephone, paypal, credit card payments.

I have not drawn cash from an ATM in months.

Unrepented

If cash is just notes and coins, and cashless is referring to internet banking, Eftpos/smartcard/mobilephone, paypal, credit card payments. Which category do checks, bank draft, letter of credit, belong? Looks like limbo.

My definition is used by the rest of the world.

The sinkie definition may be different.

If cash is just notes and coins, and cashless is referring to internet banking, Eftpos/smartcard/mobilephone, paypal, credit card payments. Which category do checks, bank draft, letter of credit, belong? Looks like limbo.

Cheques, letters of credit, bank drafts etc are merely variations of an old fashioned IOU document. They don't describe an actual monetary transaction. In the financial world, they're known as "Negotiable instruments".

"Cash", CCs, Eftpos etc facilitate actual transactions.

Paying by CASH means taking out notes and coins and handing them over.

Paying by CC means I swipe my card and sign or enter my pin. Same applies to Eftpos. In Singapore, a cashless transaction takes place every time you drive along the expressway.

Unrepented

Thank you. I know leow:biggrin:

Cheques, letters of credit, bank drafts etc are merely variations of an old fashioned IOU document. They don't describe an actual monetary transaction. In the financial world, they're known as "Negotiable instruments".

"Cash", CCs, Eftpos etc facilitate actual transactions.

Paying by CASH means taking out notes and coins and handing them over.

Paying by CC means I swipe my card and sign or enter my pin. Same applies to Eftpos. In Singapore, a cashless transaction takes place every time you drive along the expressway.

When I first saw Ah Neh crowded in DBS building at shenton Way, I quietly tell myself it is not a good sign. What if someday our bank kena sabotaged by these "talent" in the backroom? Still waiting for DBS "honest" explanations about computer hijackers. :mad:

Unrepented

It's just "fraud", not hijack or hacked.:p

Investigation still going on........

When I first saw Ah Neh crowded in DBS building at shenton Way, I quietly tell myself it is not a good sign. What if someday our bank kena sabotaged by these "talent" in the backroom? Still waiting for DBS "honest" explanations about computer hijackers. :mad: