• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

beware when you go pattaya ;)

Let's go back to scams in Pattaya.
When renting anything in Pattaya or almost everywhere in LOS. Never use your passport as a security deposit. Give them a photo copy. It's useful to make copies of your passport photo page.

You cannot bargain or negotiate anything when your most important document is not with you.

once when me and pals went to rent bikes to pattaya one rental shop wanted my passport but we refused so cannot rent from them so rented from another shop that allowed us to do so once photos of our passports were taken.

psy83

once when me and pals went to rent bikes to pattaya one rental shop wanted my passport but we refused so cannot rent from them so rented from another shop that allowed us to do so once photos of our passports were taken.

Rent bicycle:biggrin: also must passport ar? Most likely they see your face they know this type of cheap bastard will try to steal and later on sell the bicycle for a few cents profit.:biggrin:

Charlie258

Pattaya Scammers and trickster come in all races/nationalities. Here's the possibilities:

1. Thai con Thai
2. Thai con Foreigners
3. Foreigners con Foreigners
4. Foreigners con Thai

The Thai and Foreigners can further be spilt into Pattaya resident and non-Pattaya resident.
Beware of deals that is too good to be true.

In Bangkok and Pattaya, everything depends on your Thai guide. You get a good guide, you will be briefed on everything that can possibly happen to you, and then you can take action to avoid the unpleasant happenings.

My family, we always have the greatest, most wonderful experiences in Bangkok and Pattaya. All thanks to our wonderful Thai guide.

Our guide even told us not to sit on the beach chairs that line the whole beach in Pattaya, because we'd be charged US$20 per hour for each chair!!!! :biggrin:

mako65

We went to coral island just a boat ride from pattaya itself...the island is bustling with sea-sports. The wife enjoyed the para-gliding and banana boat with my kid while I strolled about and studying the human activities on the beach! Nothing disturbing at all....at nite when returned to pattaya, I had some beers in some sleazy joints when my family was in slumberland and I didn't encounter any problem! Just a relaxing hoilday afterall...

mako65

It might be the fear factor in u that gives yourself away...hahaha! Anyway, be vigilant at all times especially when u're oversea!

In Bangkok and Pattaya, everything depends on your Thai guide. You get a good guide, you will be briefed on everything that can possibly happen to you, and then you can take action to avoid the unpleasant happenings.

My family, we always have the greatest, most wonderful experiences in
Bangkok and Pattaya. All thanks to our wonderful Thai guide.

Our guide even told us not to sit on the beach chairs that line the whole beach in Pattaya, because we'd be charged US$20 per hour for each
chair!!!! :biggrin:

For your case I think you kena con by your tour guide Liao ..no one charge that amount for beach chair .. The only reason your tour guide tell you that because he don't want you to spend too much time on the beach .. He want to bring you go birdnest shop , precious stone shops .... To get commission :wink: .. You been con ..:wink:

Charlie258

For your case I think you kena con by your tour guide Liao ..no one charge that amount for beach chair .. The only reason your tour guide tell you that because he don't want you to spend too much time on the beach .. He want to bring you go birdnest shop , precious stone shops .... To get commission :wink: .. You been con ..:wink:

You are welcome to try your luck at the seedy establishments (or even non-seedy establishments) in Bangkok and Pattaya. For me, I would rather listen to a trusted Thai guide than to a How-Lian know-it-all Sinkiepoorean. I have seen how these How-Lian Sinkiepooreans end up. In fact, I just came back from Genting, and I saw 2 of them upside down in their BMW and Benz, in the ditch by the side of the Expressway!!!! :biggrin:

As for me I rather trust our own Singaporean .

numero uno

yeah sure. tell that to those sinkies who trusted sunshine empire MLM, NKF, ren ci, bankers who sell CDO etc, etc.. in fact alot of these locals are the worst, con millions and practically get away with it.:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Are we in the same topic ? We are talking about advice for Singaporean as a tourist in Thailand :wink:

Actually, the first con man I encountered in LOS was a Sinkee. Tried to pull a fast one using the old 'Kaki Lang' aka 'same same Singaporean in trouble oversea' trick. Will not go to details but I saw through the trick and this 'Kaki Lang' just move on to the next target.

Yes, Many Singapore tourist are too flashy and loud. You can spot them for far away. Most common sign is saying "Wah! So Cheap!" or "Can cheaper or not hah?".

Those well travelled Singaporeans do not behave like this. Hard to blame the locals for treating SG travellers as carrot cake.

konstandy

Let's go back to scams in Pattaya.
When renting anything in Pattaya or almost everywhere in LOS. Never use your passport as a security deposit. Give them a photo copy. It's useful to make copies of your passport photo page.

You cannot bargain or negotiate anything when your most important document is not with you.

was in pattaya recently: heard from hotel owner that many businesses there is run by russian mafia hence u see many russian tourists ....

go anywhere just becareful ... don't be well dressed ... dress like the locals. i usually wear my old clothing when i travel those i'm going to throw so they are full of holes & stains haha ... ppl think i'm the 1 going to rob them not the other way around so they avoid me ...:biggrin:

was in pattaya recently: heard from hotel owner that many businesses there is run by russian mafia hence u see many russian tourists ....

go anywhere just becareful ... don't be well dressed ... dress like the locals. i usually wear my old clothing when i travel those i'm going to throw so they are full of holes & stains haha ... ppl think i'm the 1 going to rob them not the other way around so they avoid me ...:biggrin:
Hehehe. Actually no need to be too conservative here in Pattaya. Just wear and behave reasonably. It's true about the Russian presence but they do not disturb anyone outside their own kind. Known many Russians and PRCs in Pattaya and friends with many of them. Most of them are not trouble makers and mind their own business.
Don't wear too Baan Nork (Countryside), you become an easy target for those who try to 'help' fellow village people. :smile:

HedgeTrader

In Thailand me and friends always wear cheapskate watch, tshirt and bermuda. Friends teach one. Otherwise they expect big tips LOL

fuksin shinnafux

I prefer to go Chiang Mai, local there are sincere.
don't be too sure about that, heard of one fucked up and cursed family there, when brother was in power Thailand got tsunami when sister is in proxy Thailand got flood, when donation came in for flood victims brother and sister channel donated items into the bags printed with brother's name until the next lot they had to seal donated items in the bags printed with curse aim at the siblings

you called that sincere, it's mother of all scam :oIo::oIo::oIo:

No one with any sense who is visiting as a tourist will wear anything of value in Thailand . They are not there to attend the Opera or patronise world class restaurants. Imagine if your friends did not tell, I suppose you will be decked out in expensive slippers, expensive shorts and expensive t-shirt and all for Thailand.

In Thailand me and friends always wear cheapskate watch, tshirt and bermuda. Friends teach one. Otherwise they expect big tips LOL

Actually, the first con man I encountered in LOS was a Sinkee. Tried to pull a fast one using the old 'Kaki Lang' aka 'same same Singaporean in trouble oversea' trick. Will not go to details but I saw through the trick and this 'Kaki Lang' just move on to the next target.

Yes, Many Singapore tourist are too flashy and loud. You can spot them for far away. Most common sign is saying "Wah! So Cheap!" or "Can cheaper or not hah?".

Those well travelled Singaporeans do not behave like this. Hard to blame the locals for treating SG travellers as carrot cake.

really ? can you share your experience here to warn all the brothers in sammyboy ?

No problem. This one started from a local Thai who claims to know a 'wealthy khon Sin Ka Por'. Was not interested in this but gave in because of the persistent pestering I must meet this "wealthy khon Sin Ka Por" to get rich. And so a meeting was arrange at a posh restaurant between myself and this "wealthy Sin Ka Por". This fella already did his homework and know what I like. Show me the photographs of himself with various VIP (including some Cambodian royalties) on his iphone and tried to convince me to invest THB 200,000 on some logging business in Cambodia.

I just say thank you for the offer and thanks for your presence but please allow me to foot the bill. I left shortly and dig a little and found out he still owe another friend THB 5000.

If it's too good to be true then it is not. Though I not in logging business but know THB 200K requested for investment in Logging is a joke! Will be more convincing if he ask for THB 10 million for investment. Till now, he still owe my friend 5K and he stop calling me.