• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Analytical Professor

i remember u had agreed with me last time that we should do something about it.

1) Eg Get a letter signed with signatures of Singaporeans and make a representation to the King/Menteri Besar/Police Chief whoever can make a difference. Notice the king stepped in for the Bersih 2.0 rally? If they also sat and did nothing Najib would not have changed. But now the king had to intervene and Najib had to give in. Similarly if we do nothing then crime just wont disappear.

2) HH is pretty blatant in representing crime as it should be. Thanks HH

3) If crime disappears everyone stands to benefit and property prices will head futher north and businesses will do even better....

Agreed with you. Somehow, I get the idea that if we band up to do something about it together, situation might improve. But legally of course. We are not creating troubles, we are just trying to make it a better place to live in... :wink:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Agreed with you. Somehow, I get the idea that if we band up to do something about it together, situation might improve. But legally of course. We are not creating troubles, we are just trying to make it a better place to live in... :wink:

That part is true, anything raised to the authorities should be done in a way not contravening their laws as people tend to forget we are guests here. Our attitudes towards complaining everything under the sun should be left at the causeway.

Investor

i remember u had agreed with me last time that we should do something about it.

1) Eg Get a letter signed with signatures of Singaporeans and make a representation to the King/Menteri Besar/Police Chief whoever can make a difference. Notice the king stepped in for the Bersih 2.0 rally? If they also sat and did nothing Najib would not have changed. But now the king had to intervene and Najib had to give in. Similarly if we do nothing then crime just wont disappear.

2) HH is pretty blatant in representing crime as it should be. Thanks HH

3) If crime disappears everyone stands to benefit and property prices will head futher north and businesses will do even better....

Bro AP, please do something about it since you feel so strongly,i think petition to IRDA would be a good first step followed by what you suggested.

Since Temasek is involved with RM3 billion worth of developments in Medini(their money is at stake if crime rates are high), I think getting them to voice out to Malaysia's government would be a thousand times more powerful than 1000 signatures from us common folks. What do you guys think?

euphony

Bro did u manage to find ur pines?

Only Rm 15 if ur lookin for a small . I just saw the price the other day n remembered to post it for u.

However since ur planning for only one pine i suggest look for something more exotic n unique than what i have.

Also must look for other factors like ease of maintenance.

The other advantage about pines is not much care is usually required after more than 7 months.

wow rm15 is a very good price. I have been window shopping from nursery to nursery to look for different species. narrowed down to a few. But have not bought yet cos have not shifted in as yet. now thinking where to place the pines for the best effect either a single one in the backyard or 2 at both ends of the front car porch... appreciate it for keeping info updated AP!!!

arsenal

thanks for the welcome, I got the intermediate unit. wanted corner at first but all was taken up. the current selling price for Type A intermediate is RM$735,800 to RM$768,800, as for Type B intermediate back facing the golf course is RM$810,000. when I was there there are less than 12 units left after I have chosen my unit.

The corner clusters are going for 1.1m. Cluster prices start from 928K..

arsenal

Where can I find the Pearl grass in JB?

There is another type of grass called Pearl grass, originally from Hawaii, I think. It grows mostly sideways, so height of grass is no longer a major issue. Not anywhere as shiok as walking on carpet grass, but much less work than cow grass.

For those with lots of time on their hands, and if the space is small enough: I once had the great joy of walking on a large patch of small clover, or trefoil 'shamrocks' in Sri Lanka. These are common to find growing wild all over the place. But to painstakingly gather the plants and tend them while they proliferate to fill the space takes a lot of patience and loving care. And supposed to be extremely lucky to have, as in the saying "I'm in clover!"

Drops of Jupiter

Hi everyone,

I've been lurking here for some time, read this thread religiously. (I've read all 391 pages.)
Thanks much to all the posters and especially Wuqi for the contacts (I was looking for a good mechanic and will probably buy a m'sian car).
My wife, 2 young kids, and I will move over to Horizon Hills in Aug/Sept (sub-sales)
Crime is a big concern, and it doesn't help that on top of reading about crime here and in TNP (they're quite fond of JB horror stories, I find), my colleagues all know of a crime story which happened to them or someone they know in JB (bag snatched from someone's lap 'cos car window wound down / colleagues husband had armed slashed during home invasion by parang-wielding robbers).

I have a few solns that I plan to adopt, apart from the precautions of not being out late / wary at petrol stations / secure house w CCTV, grilles, alarm etc... and while waiting for Temasek to lean on the JB police heh.

1) Arm myself. I doubt pepper spray would be very useful? Any views? Buy baseball bat / parang keep in house. Get big torchlight put in car for use as club. Buy LOUD portable alarm. Is it legal to buy firearms here? I read that a guy who shot and killed a robber in Malaysia had a legal shotgun. (but run the risk of having that used against you!) Can buy Taser? (again I think not very useful against someone high on drugs, and also can be used against me)

Problem of course is that if you kill a bad guy you might go to jail!! So I'd rather not hurt or kill anyone if possible. But if it's them or my family...

2) Rehearse armed threat scenarios - how to coordinate my family's response. Regular reminders to be alert.
3) Maybe we can form a neighbourhood watch group, to supplement the guards. Don't need to be armed - visible can already. Of course if carry big torchlight, can always dual purpose. In extreme situations, citizens do become vigilantes. But that's probably a step too far currently.
4) Trust in God. (As Cromwell would say, trust in God, but keep your powder dry)

Actually I'm quite looking fwd to the move in spite of these concerns.

Other things on my to-do on moving in:
1) install water purifier system
2) find cheapest, most convenient, safest way of sending money to M'sia to pay for house (convenient and safe trump cheap)
3) work out commute routine
4) find good cleaning help

Thanks to everyone here, I think I've quite a clear mental picture what to expect. Would appreciate any help I can get with 2) and 4). I know 1) was discussed some pages back, and 2) as well, probably (have to search again)

4) would be really helpful - I need a part-time cleaner, and HH is quite inaccessible for those w/o transport.

Analytical Professor

That is a good idea. But how do we go about it?

Since Temasek is involved with RM3 billion worth of developments in Medini(their money is at stake if crime rates are high), I think getting them to voice out to Malaysia's government would be a thousand times more powerful than 1000 signatures from us common folks. What do you guys think?

LeMans2011

I'm just wondering if there is anything like an "Investors' Association" over here. Although not everyone considers himself an "investor", as long as you purchase a property here you can be considered an investor. If we have an Investors' Association with 1000 members holding property amounting to a total of RM1 billion then that can be quite a voice. But even with just 10% of that magnitude, it is probably substantial enough to represent a voice to speak to IRDA. The significance is, IRDA would feel some threat of publicity.

If there is anything that can be achieved, it will have to be via IRDA as main stakeholder since their masterplan need to succeed. But this needs to be done carefully as we don't want PAP to be clapping hands and glorifying themselves there.

Analytical Professor

Thank you bro.

Sounds like a good sensible n do-able idea.

An association is atleast a starting point.

We can get it registered as well.

Ofcourse we need the support of venerable Wuqi as well. He is a man of action and has lots of good ideas too.

Somehow we gotta get wuqi onboard.

U r right in the property value significance factor.

I'm just wondering if there is anything like an "Investors' Association" over here. Although not everyone considers himself an "investor", as long as you purchase a property here you can be considered an investor. If we have an Investors' Association with 1000 members holding property amounting to a total of RM1 billion then that can be quite a voice. But even with just 10% of that magnitude, it is probably substantial enough to represent a voice to speak to IRDA. The significance is, IRDA would feel some threat of publicity.

If there is anything that can be achieved, it will have to be via IRDA as main stakeholder since their masterplan need to succeed. But this needs to be done carefully as we don't want PAP to be clapping hands and glorifying themselves there.

abugumgum

I shopped at the TESCO.
But was not aware of this.

I have not bought from Tesco KSL before, how to claim the free parking?

Bring receipt to the TESCO customer service counter for redemption (located on the right hand side of the main entrance, next to the trolley station).

I do not know if this redemption will go on indefinitely or just for promo period.

My last redemption was last week. :smile:

abugumgum

I shopped at the TESCO.
But was not aware of this.

For cases where there are guns involved, they should have a shoot to kill policy or like one of the cases where a man held a lady hostage in China. They sent a lady detective who within a split second open fire on the guy and in the end gave him 2 more rounds to end his misery. I can't remember the video but it was on sammyboy at some point.

We watched this video on Channel 8 news, man! she was very cool in carrying it out, sly, fast, effective and lethal.

mallow

Where can I find the Pearl grass in JB?

Most of the bigger plant sales centres can fix you up. Sorry I do not know the current cost (it was something like RM$3) or local name, but the plant people generally know. You can buy it in 2'x1' segments and plant it yourself, or they can come in and plant it for you for a fee. Don't make the stingy mistake I did of breaking it up in the fond hope it would spread out by itself - each segment is quite thick, so now we have a minefield of ankle-twisters. Looks a lot like cow grass. Good luck!

hangyong

Hi everyone,

I've been lurking here for some time, read this thread religiously. (I've read all 391 pages.)
Thanks much to all the posters and especially Wuqi for the contacts (I was looking for a good mechanic and will probably buy a m'sian car).
My wife, 2 young kids, and I will move over to Horizon Hills in Aug/Sept (sub-sales)
Crime is a big concern, and it doesn't help that on top of reading about crime here and in TNP (they're quite fond of JB horror stories, I find), my colleagues all know of a crime story which happened to them or someone they know in JB (bag snatched from someone's lap 'cos car window wound down / colleagues husband had armed slashed during home invasion by parang-wielding robbers).

I have a few solns that I plan to adopt, apart from the precautions of not being out late / wary at petrol stations / secure house w CCTV, grilles, alarm etc... and while waiting for Temasek to lean on the JB police heh.

1) Arm myself. I doubt pepper spray would be very useful? Any views? Buy baseball bat / parang keep in house. Get big torchlight put in car for use as club. Buy LOUD portable alarm. Is it legal to buy firearms here? I read that a guy who shot and killed a robber in Malaysia had a legal shotgun. (but run the risk of having that used against you!) Can buy Taser? (again I think not very useful against someone high on drugs, and also can be used against me)

Problem of course is that if you kill a bad guy you might go to jail!! So I'd rather not hurt or kill anyone if possible. But if it's them or my family...

2) Rehearse armed threat scenarios - how to coordinate my family's response. Regular reminders to be alert.
3) Maybe we can form a neighbourhood watch group, to supplement the guards. Don't need to be armed - visible can already. Of course if carry big torchlight, can always dual purpose. In extreme situations, citizens do become vigilantes. But that's probably a step too far currently.
4) Trust in God. (As Cromwell would say, trust in God, but keep your powder dry)

Actually I'm quite looking fwd to the move in spite of these concerns.

Other things on my to-do on moving in:
1) install water purifier system
2) find cheapest, most convenient, safest way of sending money to M'sia to pay for house (convenient and safe trump cheap)
3) work out commute routine
4) find good cleaning help

Thanks to everyone here, I think I've quite a clear mental picture what to expect. Would appreciate any help I can get with 2) and 4). I know 1) was discussed some pages back, and 2) as well, probably (have to search again)

4) would be really helpful - I need a part-time cleaner, and HH is quite inaccessible for those w/o transport.

Welcome to the thread and HH!!!

wah, your actions/thoughts are pretty drastic leh, but I guess to protect family, it is a must lah.

To pay for house, you can TT money over to your bank account in Malaysia for an admin fee of $10 at many money changers in Singapore.
so far so good.

austin_hts

Austin developer has set up an auxiliary police team (100 plus officers) with help from the Johor Police. Covers Austin Heights housing, international school, industrial & golf resort areas.

There shld be a team for the HH / EL / Bukit Indah area.

http://www.nst.com.my/nst/articles/2axxu/Article/art_print

Developers told to set up auxiliary police teams

By Chuah Bee Kim

2011/05/30

THE state police is urging property developers to set up their own auxiliary police teams to help ensure that their neighbourhood is safe.
Johor police chief Datuk Mohd Mokhtar Mohd Sharif said the presence of an auxiliary team would instil confidence in residents as well as attract more foreign investments to the state.

"The initiative of Austin Heights Sdn Bhd to have its own auxiliary police team is commendable, and should be emulated by property developers in Iskandar Malaysia," Mokhtar said.

He said this after presenting a letter of approval to Austin Heights managing director Datuk Steve Chong recently.

Also present was Johor Baru (south) district police chief Assistant Commissioner Zainuddin Yaacob.

The letter of approval allowed Austin Heights to have an auxiliary police team of up to 100 members.

The members are empowered to patrol the housing estates and carry out checks on suspicious characters within the housing estate.

The team will be led by an assistant superintendent, two inspectors, one sub-inspector, two sergeant majors, eight sergeants, 20 corporals and 66 police constables.

Mokhtar said there are about 2,030 auxiliary police officers in the state, including those stationed at the Tanjung Pelepas port and the Sultan Ismail Airport.

Mokhtar also reminded auxiliary police officers to be disciplined and be committed to their duties, which is to help police ensure that there is security in the state.

Bro AP, please do something about it since you feel so strongly,i think petition to IRDA would be a good first step followed by what you suggested.

Status
Not open for further replies.